Estates of Sunnybrook
2075 Bayview Avenue M4N 3M5 Toronto (Ontario) Map · Phone number
Write a review Hired? Save
51 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
Number of guests 25 to 160
Share

Reviews for Estates of Sunnybrook

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.6
  • Response time 4.6

Awards

51

9 User photos

Order by:
  • Marina

    Marina C · Married on 17/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful location with amazing food

    I had my wedding at Vaughan Estates and it was spectacular. The Maitre D Philip and my coordinator Tara Lea were amazing. I can't believe how smoothly everything went. The food was amazing and a lot of people said it was good. Plus, the location is so beautiful. It's worth every penny

    Sent on 04/09/2019

    Estates of Sunnybrook's reply:

    Dear Marina,

    Thank you for your kind words and sharing your experience. It was a pleasure to work with you! Most importantly we are so happy to hear that your wedding day was amazing and that everyone loved the food and location. We hope to see you again. All the best with your future.

    Taralea Cutler, Social Sales Manager
  • Thuy

    Thuy Huynh · Married on 11/08/2019

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue!

    We had our wedding reception at the Vaughan Estate Main Ballroom and wedding ceremony in their outdoor Arbour. The venue was beautiful and lovely for an August wedding. We were able to combine both an outdoor nature ceremony with a french-style vineyard indoor reception, so that we didn't have to worry about the heat or rain.

    Response from our coordinator was slowed at first, but it got significantly better the month of our wedding. The kitchen staff forgot about one of our dishes on the day of, but they were able to resolve the issue quickly and no one knew about the problem, other than me (the bride). I'm glad the maitre'd checked in with me.

    When we booked, we thought the prices were high, but the service, quality and quantity of food made it all worth it. The service on the day of our wedding was top-notch and our guests raved about the food. We would choose to have our wedding here again.

    Sent on 16/11/2019
  • Becca

    Becca Zhang · Married on 01/06/2019

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Great food but horrible coordinators

    Firstly the Vaughan estates, the food (Vaughan Buffet) and the service staff (esp Bill) was wonderful. However the sales team is another story (they coordinate your event with the caterers and service staff). First we had Eliz who we signed the contract with. We were trying to ask her questions but no response. During the open house 6 month later we found out she had left with no communication from their side. We then had Phylicia as our sales coordinator (who I understand is new to the role). If we asked her 5 questions she would respond in 2-5 days with answers to 3 of them and “get back” to us regarding the rest, which we would never hear from until we asked her again. The worst of it all was them sending us the bar bill after the wedding that was ridiculous (80 bottles of wine for 116 people) which we asked them to investigate. When they had prepared another invoice the bar bill was much higher ($700 more) than the prior “final invoice” and they charged our card without consent. It was also impossible to tell what was paid (we had already paid for cocktails and Prosecco) for and what wasn’t from their invoice. When I spoke with their sales director (Ann) on the phone there were no apologies for the miscommunications but rather excuses of why things happened this way. There are many competitive wedding venues in Toronto and if you would like to have a smooth experience throughout the planning process I would suggest you to book elsewhere. At least these events in the background did our sour our guest experiences

    Sent on 19/09/2019

    Estates of Sunnybrook's reply:

    Hi Becca,

    I happy to hear that your guests had a good time and am sorry to hear if there were misunderstandings throughout the process of your event. Our sales team does their best to anticipate our clientele's needs and expectations and generally answers correspondence as promptly as the situation allows.

    Regarding your final invoice, it is our policy to have an event order signed and your full payment due three weeks before your wedding. We require your credit card information on file for "all incidentals such as beverage bar over consumption and/or add on's" due after your event (#20 on the terms and conditions of the contract) and will send you an itemized invoice. We have always been respectful if there is a dispute. Again, my apologies for any confusion around this process. We will be sure to be more clear with all brides moving forward. Thank you for your feedback.

    - Estates of Sunnybrook
  • Margaret

    Margaret · Married on 13/04/2019

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Think twice before you book this place.

    Customer service matters the most when something goes wrong. It is that time when you need them most to help solve your difficulty. Think twice before you sign the papers --> READ THE SMALL PRINT

    Sent on 06/02/2019
  • Hayley

    Hayley · Married on 08/09/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gorgeous Venues for All Sizes

    I had my September 8th wedding at the Estates of Sunnybrook - McLean House. We had 60 guests, and it was the perfect venue. We were looking for somewhere with outdoor space, and a casual vibe - something that wasn't your typical event space. The McLean House delivered! We hosted the ceremony and cocktail hour in the beautiful back garden, surrounded by trees and flowers. The dinner and dancing were held inside, but there was ample room for everyone! We got tons of compliments on the food, and no one left hungry! The event staff at the McLean House was amazing and super helpful - they were always there to help, or to make sure we were staying on schedule. The venue is affordable, as there is a ceremony/venue rental fee and then a minimum spend, which we found reasonable for a Toronto venue. There is also tons of parking - which is definitely an added bonus! We also loved that all the event profits go to Sunnybrook hospital! Overall, this is a beautiful gem of a venue, and they have facilities to fit all sizes of weddings!

    Sent on 04/10/2018

    Estates of Sunnybrook's reply:

    Dear Hayley,

    Thank you for your lovely review of your experience at the McLean House. Your wedding day sounds amazing and we are happy to hear that everyone enjoyed the environment and food. Our staff are dedicated to delivering a professional and personal experience from beginning to end. I hope that we have the opportunity to see you and Matthew again. All the best from the Estates of Sunnybrook!

    Warm Regards,
    Taralea Cutler | Social Sales Manager
  • L

    Lucy Sun · Married on 02/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect venue couldn’t have asked for more

    We had our wedding at the McLean House on September 2nd. Everything was simply perfect. Gorgeous and perfectly manicured garden, delicious food, extremely accommodating staff, amazing attention to small detail. Laura Gibson was my coordinator in the months leading up to the wedding- thank you so much Laura for all your fast responses to my neuroticism. We ended up going way below our alcohol budget and sunnybrook was super reliable in returning the difference to us (basically one week post wedding). It rained a bit right before our garden ceremony and I saw the staff actually meticulously wiping each chair dry. The only sad thing I guess was that the water fountain in the garden wasn’t working ... but aside from that perfect venue.

    Sent on 29/09/2018

    Estates of Sunnybrook's reply:

    Hi Lucy, thank you for your wonderful review. It is very helpful for future brides to hear genuine feedback about questions they also have concerns about - selecting a venue is a big decision. I will pass on your kind works to Laura in Catering. All the best with your future (we hope to see you again)! Warm Regards, Taralea Cutler | Social Sales Manager
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 16/06/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue

    The McLean House is a stunning mansion behind Sunnybrook. It is gorgeous and the food is beyond amazing. The staff was great and attentive. I am extremely pleased with the experience on my wedding day and would definitely recommend this venue.

    Sent on 19/06/2018

    Estates of Sunnybrook's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words Jessica! It looks like you had great weather too. I will be sure to share your glowing review to our dedicated and caring staff. We wish you all the best and hope to see you again in the future.
    Warm Regards, Taralea Cutler - Social Sales Manager
  • Toria

    Toria · Married on 07/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderfully Amazing

    The expertise and professionalism from the staff was excellent. The staff work with you to make your day one to remember. The cuisine was magnificent. The staff, lovely, venue, stunning, and price spot on.

    Sent on 21/04/2018

    Estates of Sunnybrook's reply:

    Thank you Toria, we are happy to hear that you had a wonderful wedding and appreciate your kind words - I will pass them onto our staff! All the best with your future. Warm Regards, Taralea Cutler | Social Sales Manager
  • Ashley

    Ashley Oehlerking · Married on 07/10/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    McClean House Wedding

    Gorgeous backdrop for an intimate wedding!! You will not be disappointed in quality of food and opportunities for beautiful pictures around the estates and at the McClean House. Paula was fabulous to work with!

    Sent on 18/10/2018
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.