Weddings

Reviews for Portrait Ceremonies

Portrait Ceremonies

Portrait Ceremonies

Newmarket, Ontario
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 41 reviews
View more information

41 reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 41

14 User photos

Order by:
  • Gazelle
    Gazelle Married on 19/06/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best of the best!

    Laura is one of the people in this wedding industry whom I feel is genuinely passionate about the people, and the work she does.
    We initially spoke with her on Zoom. She was so warm, and so interested in learning more about us. I felt immediately she would be able to do our love story justice and be an amazing officiant!

    Due to some unforeseen circumstances, we had to split up our wedding in two. A legal ceremony and then at a later date- a symbolic ceremony.

    Laura was SO flexible and helpful. Not only did she officiate our social distanced legal ceremony which only included us, our moms and sister, and Laura- but she then wrote us a much longer detailed script for the symbolic ceremony!

    Our legal ceremony was short and sweet. From start to finish – it was no longer than 10 minutes. Laura’s words made it the MOST MEMORABLE day of all. She tied in words on my father in law, who had passed, and his memorial tree in which we stood in front of as we said “I do”.
    This was the first time we saw her in person and she radiated positive energy all around!

    The script for our symbolic ceremony was PERFECTION. She was able to really balance the sentimental with a bit of sweet comedy. The script had a beautiful flow to it. She included this prayer that was so heartwarming, I had my eyes closed the entire time of it during the ceremony just to hear every word of it!
    My cousin officiated our symbolic ceremony – with Laura’s guidance of course. Laura spent time giving my cousin tips and tricks- which I feel was just out of the goodness of her heart. My cousin did an amazing job – no thanks to Laura :)

    Simply put – Laura is FANTASTIC. Her writing is style is exceptional. Her attention to detail is amazing. Her commitment to ensuring your ceremony is flawless is unparalleled.

    Laura- we cannot THANK YOU enough!!!

    Portrait Ceremonies's reply:

    Oh Gazelle! I am so touched by your incredibly thoughtful words. What you have shared here means so very much to me. It is experiences like this that make being an officiant so meaningful for me. I absolutely loved working with you and Anatoly and helping to make both your ceremonies meaningful and special. I cherish the memory of your legal ceremony by your father-in-law's memorial stone. I loved writing your story in the symbolic ceremony - all the beautiful words and details you and Anatoly shared with me really inspired me. Thank you so much for asking me to be your Celebrant. It was truly an honour. My best wishes to you both for a long and happy life together. xo
  • Heather
    Heather Married on 03/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Simply fabulous

    Laura goes above and beyond, and is incredibly hardworking, detail-oriented, and so warm and personal about your special day. Recommend her very highly

    Portrait Ceremonies's reply:

    Thanks Heather so much for your kind words. It was an absolute pleasure working with you and David to make your wedding special. Best wishes!
  • J
    John S. Married on 21/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely Outstanding!

    Laura was just amazing from start to finish. She created a beautiful and unique story for our wedding that made the day unforgettable. Laura is very professional and maintained communication throughout the process. Would definitely recommend if your are looking for something truly amazing!

    Portrait Ceremonies's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words! Crafting a unique ceremony for you and Julie was such a pleasure - you have such a beautiful true love story and a wonderful, tender connection that is moving to witness. Thank you for allowing me to be your celebrant - it's been an honour and pleasure. I wish you so much love and happiness.
  • A
    Amy J. Married on 09/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Look no further! You have found your Officiant!

    We got married literally 6 days ago and I couldn't wait to recommend Laura! We wanted our ceremony to be more of a celebration of our family becoming married, as we already have two young children together. At this point in our lives, it's not just about us, but about all of us as a family going through life together. I had an idea, but no idea how to make this happen. Well, Laura knew EXACTLY what to do to create this! Our ceremony even included vows to our kids! it was perfect! Laura was so easy to talk to and she gave excellent ideas and suggestions. She was professional and kind and everything you could ask for in an officiant. DO not hesitate to hire her. You will not be disappointed!

    Portrait Ceremonies's reply:

    Amy, thank you so much for this kind review. I loved working with you and your family to include your children and have it be meaningful and fun for all of you. It was a terrific experience for me creating your family-centred ceremony and I loved seeing how it all unfolded in the moment. You are a wonderful family and it’s been such a pleasure to celebrate that with you through your wedding ceremony. Warm wishes for a beautiful future! xo
  • Suzanne
    Suzanne C. Married on 02/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Laura is AMAZING, makes the most beautiful ceremonies

    We booked Laura for our wedding and to say she is incredible is an understatement. We booked her after one Skype meeting because she was so kind and reassuring and we just got a great feeling from her from day one. The way she structures her ceremonies is unlike anything we had ever dreamed of. We really loved that we were able to pick from her variety of pre-written options for each portion of the ceremony so that it was personal to us. We also really loved how she privately asked for us to pick a theme and to answer a questionnaire about each other to add to the ceremony. When it came time for the ceremony she was a very calming presence to be around, especially when you have a crowd of people watching you, she really helped us to be in the moment as a couple. When the ceremony was over and we were meeting with our guests during cocktail hour, the first thing that was said to us by the majority of our guests was how they had never seen such a beautiful and touching ceremony as the one Laura put together for us. It really meant the world to us that we could have a ceremony that perfectly illustrated who we are as a couple and wasn’t just a standard ceremony. We cannot recommend Laura enough and anyone who books with her will definitely have a ceremony more beautiful than they possibly could have imagined. Thank you Laura for creating our dream ceremony!

    Portrait Ceremonies's reply:

    Suzanne and Collin, I am so touched by your kind words. I enjoyed every moment working with you and am so glad that you and your friends and family enjoyed the ceremony so much! You are a very special couple and I wish you every happiness in your marriage. Thanks so much for the opportunity to help make your day extra-special. xo
  • Dana
    Dana L. Married on 26/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Laura was AMAZING and our ceremony was perfect!!

    Laura officiated our wedding this past weekend. She was such a pleasure to work with during the entire ceremony decision making/crafting process. She was recommended to us by our photographer, who actually had Laura officiate her own wedding ceremony a few years prior!

    Even through all my indecision (of which there was plenty), Laura was there to help guide us along. We ended up having a fully custom ceremony written by her, with input from us based on some questionnaires we answered. Laura created an initial draft for us, and we had the ability to make edits as we saw fit.

    She has a wonderful personality and her writing is phenomenal. Laura really captured the essence of us and our relationship. She even did her own research into some of our interests (video game related) and incorporated them into our ceremony in a subtle way that we could enjoy without it be too overt!

    Her delivery of the ceremony was also perfect. You can totally see and feel her kindness and sincerity in everything she does. Any communication we had with her was met with incredibly timely responses that were very thoughtful and helpful. She also helped us with some of the logistics, e.g. connecting with our vendors as necessary.

    We would not hesitate to wholeheartedly recommend Laura to anyone who wants a personal, custom ceremony for their wedding. Thank you so much Laura - we're so grateful for your work!

    Portrait Ceremonies's reply:

    Dear Dana,
    Your words mean so much to me. I’m so glad you had such a positive experience! I loved working with you to create the ceremony (and incorporating the video game references in a subtle way was so much fun)! It has been my pleasure to be in touch with you in the months leading up to the wedding, to share ideas as the ceremony plan and script took shape. The way it all unfolded on the wedding day was just beautiful and seeing the love you share with each other and your family and friends in that intimate and lovely setting was so meaningful. Thanks Dana for choosing me as your Celebrant! Warm wishes to you both.
  • K
    Kaitlin Married on 04/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great experience & beautiful ceremony

    Laura was fabulous from our first call. We admittedly left finding an officiant, or even figuring out the basics of our ceremony, until about 6 weeks before our wedding. Admittedly, sitting down to write the ceremony and vows was task both of us were a tad intimidated by and definitely procrastinating about. Thank goodness Laura made all of it so easy! She was organized, prepared and thoughtful throughout - helping walk us through each step to craft a very meaningful and personal ceremony. Laura took the time to learn about each of us, and our story, then wove this beautifully into her words. We were thrilled with the outcome and had so many complements on the ceremony from our guests! Would 10/10 recommend.

    Portrait Ceremonies's reply:

    Thanks Kaitlin so much for this kind feedback! I loved collaborating with you to create your ceremony and I’m so glad you enjoyed the outcome and that your guests did as well. The love between you was beautiful to see as was the love of your friends and family. It was a joy to work with you and Martin and I wish you every happiness!
  • Angela
    Angela L. Married on 21/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best decision we made!

    My husband and I got married about a month ago, and without a doubt, Laura's ceremony was the highlight of our wedding. At least 15 people came up to us immediately after and told us it was the most beautiful and personal ceremony they had ever seen, and more have said the same since. Working with Laura was wonderful from the start - she is exceptionally organized, prepared with helpful guides and templates, and walked us through every step. Using information she gleaned from us, she curated a beautiful, personal, meaningful, just-for-us ceremony that we will remember for the rest of our lives. I can't stress it enough - she is truly wonderful at what she does, and she was the best decision we made in our wedding planning process! If you are looking for a "cheap" officiant, remember that you get what you pay for - Laura's service is truly unbeatable and worth every penny.

    Portrait Ceremonies's reply:

    Angela, Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It means a lot to me that you saw such value for the investment you made. I put heart into every ceremony, and that heart came from you and Ben - inspired by all the beautiful things you shared with me about each other. I'm so glad that it was meaningful for you and for your family and friends. That means so much to me. It was a pleasure working with you!
  • T
    Toni C. Married on 14/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    An unforgettable and deeply beautiful touchstone for your relationship with your partner.

    Laura has a singular gift for really listening to her clients, seeing the beauty in their individuality, and creating a ceremony that captures the very heart of their union. She is an incredibly thoughtful, creative, and compassionate person who pours herself and her artistry into her work. The result is an unforgettable and deeply beautiful touchstone for your relationship with your partner.

    Laura, we can’t thank you enough. Your beautiful ceremony was the very heart of our special day, and is an important part of the bedrock of our life together.

    Portrait Ceremonies's reply:

    I can't thank you enough Toni for your kind words. Working with you to create and officiate your ceremony was such a meaningful and beautiful experience for me and I'll always be grateful to have been invited to celebrate your love and union. Much love Toni.
  • Matt
    Matt J. Married on 07/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing experience

    Laura was awesome. She is so organized and knows the exact process to get the right stuff out of you. She was so professional and caring, a dynamic combo.

    Portrait Ceremonies's reply:

    Thank you Matt! That means a lot to me. :) It was a pleasure being your Celebrant. Warm wishes for a beautiful future!