Katlyn Jane Photography & Weddings

Choosing your wedding date is tough stuff. You may have a season or month in mind, but you probably do not know the exact date that you want to say your "I two". To help you narrow it down, we've created a list of dates showing all the major Canadian holidays, religious observances and special events in 2020 and 2021, so you know exactly when you should not be aiming for. Why are these dates the ones to avoid? Many reasons - guests will probably already have plans, it will be hard to find accommodations, vendors will be busy and therefore unavailable or more expensive. Stay away from these days and planning should be just a little bit easier. Pro tip: if you do choose a long weekend, be sure to give your wedding guests plenty of notice so they can plan accordingly.

Here are some wedding dates you should avoid in 2020 and 2021.

WINTER

New Year's Day: Wednesday, January 1, 2020; Friday, January 1, 2021

Super Bowl Sunday: Sunday, February 2, 2020; Sunday, February 7, 2021

Valentine's Day: Friday, February 14, 2020; Sunday, February 14, 2021

Chinese New Year: Saturday, January 25, 2020; Friday, February 12, 2021

Family Day: Monday, February 17, 2020; Monday, February 15, 2021

Academy Awards: Sunday, February 23, 2020; Sunday, February 28, 2021

SPRING

April Fool's Day: Wednesday, April 1, 2020; Thursday, April 1, 2021

Palm Sunday: Sunday, April 5, 2020; Sunday, March 28, 2021

Passover:  Wednesday, April 8, 2020 - Thursday, April 16, 2020; Saturday, March 27, 2021 - Saturday, April 3, 2021

Good Friday: Friday, April 10, 2020; Friday, April 2, 2021

Easter: Sunday, April 12, 2020; Sunday, April 3, 2021

Mother's Day: Sunday, May 10, 2020; Sunday, May 9, 2021

Victoria Day: Monday, May 18, 2020; Monday, May 24, 2021

Eid-al-Fitr: Saturday, May 23, 2020 - Sunday, May 24, 2020; Wednesday, May 12, 2021 - Thursday, May 13, 2021

Father's Day: Sunday, June 21, 2020; Sunday, June 20, 2021

SUMMER

Canada Day: Wednesday, July 1, 2020, Thursday, July 1, 2021

August Long Weekend: Monday, August 3, 2020; Monday, August 2, 2021

Eid-al-Adha: Thursday, July 30, 2020 - Monday, August 3, 2020; Monday, July 19, 2021 - Tuesday, July 20, 2021

Labour Day: Monday, September 7, 2020; Monday, September 6, 2021

FALL

Rosh Hashanah: Friday, September 18, 2020 - Sunday, September 20, 2020; Monday, September 6, 2021 - Wednesday, September 8, 2021

Yom Kippur: Sunday, September 27, 2020 - Monday, September 28, 2020; Wednesday, September 15, 2021 - Thursday, September 16, 2021 

Thanksgiving: Monday, October 12, 2020; Monday, October 11, 2021

Halloween: Saturday, October 31, 2020; Sunday, October 31, 2021

Diwali: Saturday, November 14, 2020; Thursday, November 4, 2021

Remembrance Day: Wednesday, November 11, 2020; Thursday, November 11, 2021

Grey Cup: Sunday, November 22, 2020 (Regina, SK); Sunday, November 21, 2021 (Hamilton, ON)

WINTER

Hanukkah: Thursday, December 10, 2020 - Friday, December 18, 2020; Sunday, November 28, 2021 - Monday, December 6, 2021

Christmas: Friday, December 25, 2020; Saturday, December 25, 2021

Kwanzaa: Saturday, December 26, 2020 - Friday, January 1, 2021; Sunday, December 26, 2021 -Saturday, January 1, 2022

New Year's Eve: Thursday, December 31, 2020; Friday, December 31, 2021

Stay organized with WeddingWire's FREE wedding planning tools and mobile app »