Skip to main content
Weddings

Something New Wedding & Event Design

Canmore, Alberta View map

About

Something New Wedding & Event Design is a Canmore-based company that specializes in creating wedding and event planning solutions for brides in Canmore, Banff, Lake Louise and Emerald Lake. The team of planners will create a stylish and memorable event with a strong emphasis on the beautiful, natural surroundings of the Canadian Rockies.

Services offered

The services they offered through their numerous packages include the following:

  • Partial & all inclusive planning
  • All inclusive mountain elopments
  • All inclusive mountain weddings

They also offer decor rentals with items that include:

  • Arches
  • Chairs
  • Signs
  • Tablecloths
  • Candle lanterns
  • Votive holders
  • Crystal candelabras


Highlights

Wedding Planning Services

Day-of coordination, event design, full planning, partial planning

Number of Planners

2

Day-Of Coordination - Starting Price

$1,500

Full Wedding Planning - Starting Price

$1,000

Hourly Rate

$50

More information

What wedding events do you provide services for?

Ceremony
Reception
Rehearsal dinner

What types of weddings do you accommodate?

Civil
Cultural
Destination
Non-religious
Religious

What is the starting price for partial wedding planning?

$1,000

Do you offer an hourly rate?

False
illustration question

Any other questions?

Request pricing

48 reviews

Write a review
Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

63 User photos

  • Maja
    Maja M. Married on 25/07/2022
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly recommend!

    I got married 2 weeks ago and I am so pleased with Danielle!! Banff is a tough market because it is a destination wedding and most couples aren't there so you really have to rely on your vendors. Most of the other wedding planning companies are really expensive and don't offer month of planning services, Danielle was one of the only companies I found in the mid-market range and she was fantastic! I agree with the other reviews that if you go with the month of planning package, you will not hear from Danielle until that time. But if you are okay with this and comfortable with planning most aspects of the wedding yourself, Danielle is a gem and I highly recommend working with her. She came to the rehearsal the day before which was great. On the day of the wedding. she set up all of the decor I brought beautifully - even better than I imagined! I was really impressed. She also came back at the end of the evening and packed and cleaned everything up for us, it was a life savor. I enjoyed planning all of the details of my wedding and being very hands on, so I really only needed someone on site the day of the wedding to keep the timeline moving, set up all the decor, and take everything down at the end of the evening and Danielle did exactly that! Highly recommend.
  • Janel
    Janel J. Married on 11/07/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Mountain Dream

    Danielle made the wedding of my dreams come true! Everything I mentioned she managed to make happen.
    As previous reviewers have mentioned, she can have slow response times BUT once you get closer to your date she is quick and on the ball. So don't let the slow response worry you at all.
    She has an itinerary all laid out for you so that no details get missed as you plan.
    I am just so so impressed! Being from saskatchewan i had nooo idea at all with where to start and I'm so glad that I hired her.
    10/10 would recommend her :)
  • Robin
    Robin A. Married on 22/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Last minute assistance

    Danielle stepped in with a couple of weeks before our wedding when my (now) husband coordinated with her to get some help for me for our wedding day. I was trying to do too much and didn't have answers to questions like: who is going to cue the music? who will ensure chairs are placed in the best spot? who will set up decorations at our reception? Danielle ensured our day went smoothly and she was so helpful and lovely! I highly recommend her services if you're aiming for a stress-free wedding. Thanks, Danielle!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Request pricing
  • Natasha
    Natasha C. Married on 16/03/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our Banff elopement was perfect!

    We just got back from our Banff elopement (March 2022). It was perfect! Danielle made the planning so easy and stress-free. All we had to do was show up, get ourselves all dolled up, and make the memories happen. The girls from Mountain Beauties did an amazing job on our hair and makeup, Emilia from Maginfik photography had the best places for some amazing photos, and our commissioner Aydin was really sweet and funny. Danielle really put together a great team for us for our big day. She even offered to loan me her coat because it was windy, and in the hustle to get to Cascade Pond I had left mine at the hotel. I would 100% recommend her to anyone looking to elope in a beautiful mountain location. We came from out of province, so we really appreciated Danielle's knowledge and expertise.
  • Eva
    Eva Married on 03/09/2021
    1.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.0 out of 5 rating

    Terrible service

    We got married 2 months ago, I decided to wait until my emotions weren't so high so I could write a fair review. Our experience with Danielle was extremely upsetting and unprofessional on many levels:

    1) Her response time was VERY long. There were many times I had left multiple emails until I heard back. I had to phone multiple times and leave multiple messages before I would hear back. It was extremely frustrating to communicate with her and try to work together to plan a wedding in COVID.
    2) ON the day of the wedding everything she was in charge of or was responsible for went wrong.
    -Now I will say before hand there was an accident on the major road from where she was located to the wedding site that delayed some things, but despite that there were a lot of things that I felt the accident shouldn't have impacted.
    a) before the wedding I asked her if I could get a family member to run the music for the ceremony because it was important to us to set the tone and mood for the wedding. She emailed back asking why we would want someone else to do it when she was a professional. In the end we decided to let her run the music. When I arrived on site for the ceremony there was NO music playing and I had to ask her 3 times to start the music until she did. I also gave her a list of 4-5 songs for the ceremony...she played one song on repeat.
    b) before the ceremony she showed up at my hotel room with the flowers which were incorrect. We had requested white flowers, with greyish greens and some blues. In our email back and forth I had requested the colors to be closer to gray than blue, but the bouquet came pure white. This was very frustrating as we requesting a certain look to represent my passed away father, When she handed me the flowers I told her they were incorrect and not what I had ordered. Her response was, "that is what they gave me". That was HUGE red flag as she as the professional and the one in charge of the details of our wedding should have caught that and known the details and done the due diligence of familiarizing herself with our wedding before it started. When we brought up our disappointment after the wedding she told me that the florists had creative freedom. I asked her why d=she had not mentioned that prior and what was the point of sending pictures of our ideas? I also told her I wanted the flowers to look a certain to represent my dads favorite flowers. She said I should have mentioned it before, although I don't see why I should have had to mention it when pictures were asked for.
    c) After the flower incident she went to see the groom and said him "you look very calm" and my husband responded that he was normally a calm guy and she went on to comment, "well the bride is freaking out" I don't understand why she had to say that to the groom before the ceremony. He told me he went from that moment until he saw me anxious about something wrong and had no way to talk to me until we saw each other.
    d) She brought her small children to set up the ceremony. I personally didn't have an issue with this, but I had multiple guests mention it saying it was unprofessional and how she organized the set up looked very unprofessional. many of the guests asked me if our wedding was her first time setting up a wedding.
    e) I had set up photos of family who had passed away and asked her prior to the wedding if she could have it set up for the ceremony, as one of those people were my father. This was VERY important to me because he wasn't there to walk me down the aisle and I wanted to look over and see his picture. She had not put out any of those photos, and said she forgot. This again makes feel that her job as the wedding planner did not look over our file and out itinerary prior to to prioritize what was important and to know the details of our wedding.
    f)The wedding cake was wrong. The shape was wrong even though indicated in our emails multiple times what I wanted. I thought it was odd there was no prior follow up from her with the vendor to make sure things were on track according to plan.
    g) She took no accountability about the things that went wrong and blamed all the vendors. I found this very frustrating as it was her job to be in coordination with the vendors on our behalf and should have followed up prior to. We ended up get refunded some money, but before that even happened there was a lot of back and forth about how it was somebody else's fault and not hers. She tried making me feel bad about how I made her do an extra set up of things for the reception ( I asked if she could set up some twinkle lights) and made it seem like she was out of her way to do it, even though there were so many issues during the details,

    In the end we knew it was important to be married, but it was very hard to not be frustrated and angry on the day. We hired a wedding planner so that someone else could take care of the details and we could enjoy our day. That did not happen. I'm sure she's a nice person, but I feel she is in the wrong job, She obviously didn't know her capacity for how many wedding she could handle as her excuse for not getting back to us in a decent time frame was she was doing other weddings. I felt it was important to write this review to give people to for-sight of some of her professionalism.

  • Mitchell
    Mitchell W. Married on 21/07/2021
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    unprofessional, needs a new career, impossible to get ahold of,

    if I were able to give 0 stars I would based on Danielle's performance. Firstly do not expect a response for at least 4 weeks in between emails. Secondly, organization/details are a complete fail. Lastly, no ownership to any mistake on her part. we requested the white cake and got the yellow cheesecake instead 🤦‍♂️

    Something New Wedding & Event Design's reply:

    Hello Mitchell, I am truly sorry for any disappointment you and Heather felt on your wedding day. I offered my apologies to Heather on the wedding day and in follow up communications since then. Unfortunately the elopement package you purchased did not include a wedding cake and there was no cake added to the elopement package at any time during planning. There is no cake in the contract you signed and no cake in the event itinerary which outlines all services to be provided on the wedding day. I discovered only a couple hours before the ceremony that Heather expected a cake and immediately contacted every bakery in town trying to find something suitable. When I could not come up with a suitable cake I asked the restaurant to put your cake topper on the cheesecake you would be having with dinner. This was the best option available to me at the time. Sorry I was not able to do more.
  • Bona
    Bona Z. Married on 04/07/2021
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    I got the perfect wedding after re-scheduling four times due to the pandemic...

    My husband and I had a really great experience working with Danielle and Something New Banff. She essentially helped us plan four different weddings, because we had to change dates, guest lists, decor, etc four times, thanks to our persistent companion Covid. There was also the added challenge of doing completely remotely (we are from Edmonton, and were planning our wedding in Banff). Danielle did her job extremely well, and we trusted her to get things done. She was so flexible, understanding, and adapted to our ever-changing plans and to the uncertainty of government restrictions. The day was everything we imagined it would be! We are so grateful we decided to leave things to an experienced wedding planner, and would definitely recommend Danielle to any of our friends or family thinking of getting married in the Banff area!

    Something New Wedding & Event Design's reply:

    Thank you Bona it was truly a pleasure to be present on your wedding day to witness the deep and special love that you and Joel share!!!
  • Ashley
    Ashley S. Married on 06/11/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommended!

    I can't thank Danielle enough for everything she did for us to make our big day a reality. Because of covid we had to postpone our August wedding. When we were last minute able to make it happen in November, she put everything together in an extremely short time frame. Everything about our wedding was amazing and it is all thanks to Danielle!
  • Jessica
    Jessica K. Married on 04/10/2020
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    She is a pro

    Danielle was everything I imagined and more! I am confident that the evening ran as smooth as it did because of her guidance and coordinating. The rehearsal made us feel prepared, the decorations were set up beautifully, and everyone involved (professionally) knew what to do. I felt stress free on my wedding day because of her and the wedding went off without a hitch!
  • Cassidy
    Cassidy R. Married on 03/10/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply amazing!!

    Danielle was so wonderful to work with. We are located on the other side of Canada and she was able to make our day so special with email as our only form of communication. Everything was absolutely perfect!

Awards

  • 48

Something New Wedding & Event Design Real Weddings

  • Shawna & Derek
    7 Photos · 28/Feb/2020
  • Brook & Matthew
    38 Photos · 04/Jan/2020
  • Lisa & Gavin
    9 Photos · 31/Aug/2019

Map

123-300 Palliser Lane T1W 0H5 Canmore (Alberta)

Location of(Something New Wedding & Event Design)

Other vendors in Alberta for your wedding

Wedding Vendors