Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Evan McMaster Photography & Illustration

Evan McMaster Photography & Illustration

Evan McMaster Photography & Illustration

Halifax, Nova Scotia
5.0 out of 5 rating, 100 reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
100 reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
100% Recommended by couples

Awards

100
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner

74 User photos

  • T
    Taylor Sent on 19/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful, Professional Photographer

    Choosing Evan to capture our wedding day was one of the best decisions that we made! From start to finish, he was amazing to work with. Evan’s calm and friendly demeanour allowed us to feel comfortable and at ease and he candidly captured every aspect of our wedding day. Evan truly went above and beyond, becoming a part of our day. For instance, he was happy to help my husband and his groomsmen with their boutonnieres! Thanks to Evan, we have photos that are genuine and beautiful which we will cherish for the rest of our lives. We would highly recommend Evan to any couple for their special day!

    Taylor & Matt
  • Vanessa
    Vanessa B. Sent on 05/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Photographer!

    We highly recommend Evan for multiple reasons. For people who aren’t used to having their pictures taken we were put right at ease. Both of our experiences (wedding and engagement photoshoot) were natural, easy and relaxed. We can even say that we barely noticed he was there taking pictures, but yet, he managed to capture all of the joy and love shared during our wedding day. His level of professionalism is unmatched. He is super flexible and easy to work with, making the whole experience very much enjoyable. Friends and family alike had nothing but good things to say and were very impressed by the way he goes about his business. Even now, months after the wedding we are stilling hearing echoes from people who attended the wedding about his professionalism. We have already recommended Evan to some people and will continue to do so.
  • Crawford
    Crawford R. Sent on 21/07/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wish we had a second wedding to hire Evan again!

    I cannot express enough how great it was to work with Evan for our wedding. Kind, down-to-earth, easy-going, and the results were amazing.

    My wife and I traveled from BC to Nova Scotia for our wedding and it was held in Shelburne, which is about a 2.5 hour drive from Halifax. We found Evan's website and liked how he captured candid moments. We were more interested in having Evan capture the day, rather than focus on portraits. He helped us find the perfect balance between the two.

    In terms of business, Evan was by far the best value and flexible in terms of the contract. We also found his fees for traveling the most affordable. He was easy to communicate with (essentially all by email given the time-difference prior to our arrival), and always responded promptly.

    He arrived on the day on time and prepared. He was both present when he needed to be, and gave us some direction, but he also just melded into the background during the day's events. Our day had a loose itinerary, but no strict structure, and Evan was happy to just go with the flow. Evan also agreed to stay a bit longer than we had originally planned in order to capture a few more shots in the evening. Not only that, but he unpacked his camera after he had put everything away and was ready to go to capture a few final shots of a special moment - unprompted, he just saw it and shot it!

    And the results - we couldn't be more pleased. The photos are better than we imagined and full of candid moments. They are well composed and perfectly edited. It rained on our wedding day and he was able to edit some of the wet/dirty bits from the base of the wedding dress from the photos. A few of our guests ended up having to isolate from the rest of the group, but Evan was able to take a couple photographs and stitch them together. The end result is a photo that looks like the whole wedding party is together!

    In summary, we cannot recommend Evan enough and do not have any critical comments to provide. He was a pleasure to work with and hope he's able to make others as happy as he made us.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • J
    Jodi Sent on 11/07/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Evan the Incredible!

    My husband and I cannot recommend Evan enough! Evan photographed our wedding at Digby Pines this June. He fit right in with our friends and family and photographed from the morning until late into the evening (which is definitely hard to come by!). We received the photos within two weeks, which completely blew us out of the water! Evan also used a polaroid camera on our wedding day, which the flower girls absolutely loved and the photos turned out amazing. Evan captured so many special moments that my husband and I will treasure forever. I cannot say enough good things about Evan and I am so grateful that he was there to document our special day.
  • Corey
    Corey Sent on 21/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delightful!

    Evan was an absolute pleasure to work with!
  • Laura
    Laura M. Sent on 29/05/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Best Photographer

    Evan is amazing! His work is very creative and we knew as soon as we saw it that we had to hire him for capture our wedding day. He took our engagement photos as well as our wedding photos. He captured literally every special moment and everything in between and best of all he was amazing with our dog :)
  • George
    George W. Sent on 12/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Wedding Photographer

    Evan worked with us to photograph our wedding through the COVID19 Pandemic. He was responsive and flexible through rescheduling our wedding date multiple times. Once we finally got to the big day, Evan was there as long as we needed and truly captured all the emotions of our wedding. He is easy to work with, great to have around, and produces amazing photographs that you will cherish forever!
  • Andrea
    Andrea M. Sent on 14/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Could not be happier

    It's been absolutely lovely working with Evan. From the beginning, he has been professional, easy to communicate with, coming up with great ideas. Having Evan as our wedding photographer felt so seamless, he was truly part of the crew and captured the best candid moments. My husband I would give him 10 out of 5 stars if possible!
  • Marquita
    Marquita D. Sent on 30/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Captured our day perfectly!

    Evan came highly revered from loved ones and choosing Evan as our photographer was the easiest and best decision for our wedding day. Evan is not only incredibly talented and super down-to-earth, but he is a true professional and makes sure to capture the little things you had no idea would be so important for remembering your special day fully.

    We absolutely adore our wedding photos and could not be more pleased with how they all turned out. We will definitely be reaching back out to Evan for future gigs!
  • K
    Keith R. Sent on 05/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    An Integral Part of Our Day

    Evan’s contribution to our wedding day extended beyond documenting the ceremony.

    His ability to organize our excited wedding party, make seemingly mundane backdrops extraordinary, and capture candid moments between our guests seemed effortless. The result? Unique and timeless photos that we will cherish for years to come.

    Evan was an integral part of our day and one of the best decisions we made during our planning process. We cannot recommend him enough!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message