Skip to main content
Weddings

The Rolling Pin

Toronto, Ontario View map

About

J’Adore Cakes Co. is a boutique bakery located in Scarborough, Ontario. They specialize in creating custom cakes for weddings and other special events. They offer a wide variety of baked goods to ensure that every customer can find something that satisfies their sweet tooth and eye for detail. The brainchild of Vanessa Baudanza and Isabelle Loiacono, J’Adore Cakes Co pour every once of passion into creating amazong wedding cakes.

Products offered

Everything they do is custom designed and made from style size to colours and flavours. They take all of your details into account such as your flowers, dress and even the type of invitations you have sent out.

J’Adore Cakes Co. offers a number of baked goods that are available for weddings and other events. Their desserts include:

  • Cakes
  • Cookies
  • Cupcakes
  • Dessert buffet
  • Pastries

Highlights

Desserts

Cake pops, cakes, cookies, croquembouche, cupcakes, dessert buffet, groom's cake, pastries

Cake Services

Consultations, custom cake design, delivery, setup, tastings - private

Dietary Needs

Gluten free

Buttercream Cakes (per slice)

$3

Cupcakes (per cupcake)

$3

More information

What cake items do you provide?

Cake stands
Cake toppers

What special ingredients do you use?

Local

Are you licensed by the health department?

Yes

What is the starting price for fondant wedding cakes (per slice, without tax)?

$5

Which of the following are included in the cost of the cake?

Top tier of the cake

What services do your prices include?

Consultation
Custom cake design
Tasting - private

10 reviews

Write a review
Rated
3.9
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    Rating 3.9 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 3.7 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 3.7 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 3.8 out of 5

4 User photos

  • Caitlyn
    Caitlyn S. Married on 18/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The cake had me in tiers!

    We were blown away by our wedding cake! It looked exactly like what we asked for, the colour was perfect, the design was perfect. We got red velvet and dulche de leche cake and it was so moist and flavourful.

    They’re so friendly at the Rolling Pin and always responded to our inquiries very quickly.
  • Katie
    Katie Married on 05/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best donuts/cake in Toronto!

    My husband and I love the donuts at The Rolling Pin so we knew were were going to get our cake from here, but when we found out we could get mini donuts for our wedding, done deal! We ended up doing a donut tower and a 6-inch cake on top for my husband and me to cut. It was a hit! Everyone thought it looked so cute that we had to tell people it wasn't just for display and they could take them! Our cake was a simple vanilla cake with dulce de leche filling and it was to die for! So good!
  • Sophie
    Sophie L. Married on 13/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Bakery in Toronto

    I have been going to the Rolling Pin for years. Its was the obvious choice when it came time for a wedding cake. Their treats are as beautiful as they are delicious. I can't wait for my next event so I have an excuse to order another cake!
  • K Perry
    K Perry Married on 08/12/2018
    Rating 1.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.0 out of 5

    Wedding Cake Did Not Show Up!

    My fiance and I ordered a beautiful wedding cake from the Rolling Pin and paid for the delivery fee. Following the ceremony we entered the hall and our coordinator told us that our wedding cake had not arrived - it was 3 hours late. My family, the best man, the coordinator, the florist - EVERYONE tried calling them and were unable to get through. No one on the contact sheet we gave them had received a call from them, either. The florist how to go out and buy us a grocery store cake, fearing ours wouldn't arrive at all.
    Finally at 4:30, just before dinner began, they ran in with an exclude about a delivery truck stalling (for over 4 hours??? the cake was supposed to arrive at 1) with the cake and set it on the cake table, beside the head table - but all of our guests were seated waiting for our grand entrance into the hall so it was EXTREMELY obvious that they were late and very embarrassing for us. The florals we paid for for the cake couldn't be attached because by that time we'd told our amazing florist to call it a day.
    The worst part is that when I reached out on the next day, they were unapologetic, refused to give me a refund (only offered to refund the delivery fee) and said they don't contact the families on the day of because they are often unavailable.
    Awful customer service, do NOT trust them to make your wedding cake - yours might not show up at all!

    The Rolling Pin's reply:

    Hi Kayla here is the email we sent to you the day after your wedding:

    Hi Kayla,

    We do sincerely apologize for your experience on Saturday. We had an issue with our drivers car, and he was unfortunately delayed. One of our staff members met him to pick up the cake to take it to your venue as quickly as possible.

    We do not contact the bride or groom on the day of the event, as they are most likely unavailable as they are either in their ceremony or getting ready.

    There was no contact provided, or day of coordinator to call. We tried calling the venue, but it went to voicemail. As for our phones, we are a very busy bakery, and our phone lines are usually quite busy, especially on Saturdays before the holidays.

    Our staff member was very inconspicuous, and quickly exited the venue the best they could. As per our bakery policy, we do not provide refunds unless the cake is returned. The cake was delivered as designed, without any damage by 4:30pm. Our contract states that some causes are beyond our control, (such as our delivery car stalling) and we did our best to bring the cake to the venue, before the start, which we did. We understand the florals were not put on the cake, as there was only a bouquet left on the table, which we assumed was for the bouquet toss.

    You came to us, after your initial wedding cake maker cancelled. We accommodated you and provided you with the best customer service, as we pride ourselves in helping our customers with the best products we can make. We delivered a beautiful and delicious cake that we are sure was enjoyed by all your guests. Again, we sincerely apologize for this mishap that was beyond our control.

    For your inconvenience, we will gladly refund you the $70 for the delivery fee, and provide you with a 1 year anniversary cake on us.

    ----------------------------------------------------

    As a busy business we provide a delivery window which is between 2-4pm for all wedding cake deliveries, as we do have several weddings and cannot guarantee a specific delivery time.

    Between that time we had to drive to our driver's stalled truck location, and pick up your wedding cake then drive to the venue.

    Your cake did arrive to your venue by 4:30pm, and was enjoyed by all that evening.

    This has never happened to us, and we apologized multiple times that the cake was late.

    We are so glad that we were able to save the day from your first wedding cake maker last minute cancellation, and we wish you and your husband nothing but the best in the future.

    Our sincerest apologies,
    The Rolling Pin Team




  • Kyla
    Kyla E. Married on 15/09/2018
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Cake Was Delicious AND Beautiful!

    We found out about The Rolling Pin Bakery from a wedding show we attended, they caught my eye with their Rosie The Rebel-like logo. I reached out to them about setting up a cake tasting and their replies were always prompt and professional. It was important to us that our cake look nice but more importantly that it would taste good, so we chose to go with this bakery because the cakes from the tasting were all SO good. They helped us stay in our budget by doing a cheaper slab cake for guests, with a smaller decorated one to cut, while all being the same cake. They delivered it on time and it was displayed perfectly, and it was SO good. I am sad to say I wasn't able to save any after the wedding, so we'll be going back for our 1 year anniversary to enjoy it again :)
  • ERIN
    Erin F. Married on 15/08/2020
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Delicious!

    We ordered a small wedding cake from the Rolling Pin for our Micro wedding and it was absolutely delicious!!!
  • K
    Kevin Married on 19/03/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious doughnuts!

    We ordered over a hundred doughnuts for our wedding to be delivered in Newmarket. Ordering over the phone was an easy process and the doughnuts came in exactly as instructed. The doughnuts were delicious and packaged nicely. Our guests enjoyed them as well. We would recommend them to anyone looking for gourmet doughnuts for their wedding.
  • J
    Jessica Married on 06/10/2018
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Horrible customer service

    I booked an appt 3 weeks in advance to meet with one of the owners to do a cake tasting for my wedding. I ended up being in the area about an hour early to see if someone was able to take us early. No one could and that was fine so we came back at our scheduled time. We were asked to wait by the front counter. After 15 minutes of standing there and watching another couple receive amazing customer service. I asked the cashier what was happening. She asked who I had an appt with and I told her one of the owners. She said "oh both of the owners left for the day." She then yelled across the room to a woman who was helping the other couple and the woman yelled back that she would be with us when she could. We decided to leave about 5 minutes after that. To say the least, I was very disappointed with experience at the Rolling Pin. The fact that no one addressed us to tell us they were running late or to offer us anything while we waited, shows poor customer service. I emailed the owner as soon as I got home. I told her that I can appreciate she is running a business but that it is a busy time for me as well. I told her that I don't think she appreciates my business. She emailed me back right away and asked for my number and said she would give me a call. It's a week later and I haven't heard from her since. I guess they really don't care about their customers or my business. I took the time out of my day to drive to their location on avenue road they don't even have the decency to show up?!? Wow
  • R
    Rian W. Married on 15/04/2017
    Rating 3.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    After trying their cake, we hired The Rolling Pin to do our wedding cake. Our initial meeting was fine, but when going back for the follow up meeting, one of the managers didn't show up for this and we waited for her for an hour. She didn't apologize for several weeks even after I sent an e-mail to her days after this meeting was to take place. We were a little bit nervous that there would be an issue on the day of the wedding, however, we were happy that everything went off without a hitch. The cake turned out VERY beautiful and was so delicious. It looked exactly like we wanted it to and received many compliments on it. We would recommend The Rolling Pin for any events that you want a cake for!
  • D
    Dorian A. Married on 22/06/2013
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    The cake is very good. It tastes fresh and all works together so well. The only thing is that it was a very hot day and my cake did end up almost falling apart before I got the chance to cut it. I know that cakes are temperamental but there must be some sort of safeguard against this. Overall, the cake was very good and looked good as well.

Awards

  • 10

The Rolling Pin Real Weddings

  • Erin & Adam
    24 Photos · 15/Aug/2020
  • Caitlyn & Christian
    24 Photos · 18/Jan/2020
  • Zsuzsi & Josh
    88 Photos · 18/May/2019
  • Lisa & Anthony
    12 Photos · 14/Oct/2017
  • Amanda & Aslam
    54 Photos · 27/Aug/2017

Preferred Vendors

Map

1970 Avenue Road M4N 2N1 Toronto (Ontario)

Location of(The Rolling Pin)

Other vendors in Toronto for your wedding

Wedding Vendors