Cecil Green Park House

6251 Cecil Green Park Road V6T1Z1 Vancouver (British Columbia) Map · Phone number
Write a review Hired? Save

About Cecil Green Park House

Cecil Green Park House is a Vancouver-based venue that specializes in hosting wedding celebrations and other special events. This heritage mansion boasts stunning views of the mountains and is set by the ocean. This property is ideal for outdoor garden ceremonies and receptions. The team behind Cecil Green has a list of preferred vendors for aspects like accomodation, catering, cakes, DJ services, florists and more.

Facilities and capacity

This venue's facilities include an exclusive and stunningly gorgeous private garden which can host a lovely ceremony, depending on the weather. A gorgeous covered terrace is available for the cocktail hour, ceremony or a full seated dinner of up to 180 seated guests. A reception can also occur in the house which fits up to 180 people and features a wonderful dance floor.

Services offered

Future newlyweds can choose from an extensive variety of services which include the following choices:

  • Ceremony/Reception (includes set up and clean up)
  • Bridal suite
  • Outside vendor referrals
  • Off-site exclusive catering provided by Scholar's Catering

Other facilities

In addition, they offer two more facilities for other types of functions:

  • The Library: This space once housed the former owner's large collection of law books and has a tiled Art Deco fireplace. This room is perfect for private meetings.
  • The Boardroom: What was once the billiard room is now a great meeting space or conference area that can seat up to 20 people.

History

This house was once owned by Edward Davis, a well-known Canadian Pacific Railway lawyer. Built in 1912, its name used to be Kanakla which is West Coast native word that means "house on the cliff". The house was donated to the University of British Columbia by the last owners, Dr. and Mrs. Cecil Green.

  • Number of guests From 12 to 200
  • Maximum Capacity 200
  • Type Historic, mansion, manor
  • Style Classic, garden, vintage
  • Event Services Bridal suite, catering / bar, clean up, liability insurance, outside vendors, set up
  • Reception Site Fee - Peak Season C$ 3,093.00
  • Plated Service (per head) C$ 50.00
More information

More information about Cecil Green Park House

  • What is the minimum number of guests required to book your venue?
    1
  • How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
    5
  • What kind of settings are available?
    Covered outdoor
    Indoor
    Uncovered outdoor
  • Which of the following wedding events does your venue service?
    Ceremony
    Reception
    Bridal shower
    Engagement party
    Rehearsal dinner
  • What catering services do you offer?
    Buffet
    Cocktail reception
    Dessert
    Family style
    French service
    Hors d'oeuvres
    Outside cake
    Plated
    Server(s)
    Stations
    Tastings
  • What bar services do you provide?
    Bartender(s)
    Cash bar
    Champagne toast
    House beer
    House wine
    House liquor
    Limited bar
    Liquor license
    Open bar
    Premium liquor
    Signature drink
    Specialty beer
    Specialty wine
  • What event items are available?
    Audio equipment
    Dance floor
    Furniture
    Chairs
    Tables
  • What food and beverage items are available?
    Barware
    China
    Flatware
    Glassware
    Linens
  • What transportation and access is available?
    Parking
    Wheelchair access
  • Do you have a site fee for wedding receptions at your venue?
    Yes
  • What is the starting site fee for wedding receptions during off-peak season?
    C$ 2049
  • Do you have a site fee for wedding ceremonies at your venue?
    Yes
  • What is the starting site fee for wedding ceremonies during peak season?
    C$ 2537
  • What is the starting site fee for wedding ceremonies during off-peak season?
    C$ 1527
  • Which of the following are included in starting site fee?
    Set up
    Clean up
    Chairs
    Tables
    Bridal suite
  • What is the average catering price per person for buffet service?
    C$ 50
  • What is the average catering price per person for stations?
    C$ 35
  • What is the average catering price per person for hors d'oeurves?
    C$ 15
  • Which of the following are included in the cost of wedding catering?
    Cake cutting
    Server(s)
    Dessert
  • What is the starting price per person for bar service?
    C$ 7
  • Which of the following are included in the starting price for bar service?
    House beer
    House wine
    House liquor
    Bartenders

Did you like this vendor?

Request pricing
  • Photos 27 photos
  • Real Weddings 31 photos
  • Videos 3 videos
  • 360º Tours 1 tour

18 Reviews for Cecil Green Park House


4.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.1
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 3.7
  • Value 3.9
  • Response time 4.2
Sort by:
  • Sepp

    Sepp Sonntag · Married on 10/08/2018

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Look at the fine prints

    We loved this venue in first sight. It looked exactly what we were looking for. We booked a date right away
    Little did we know about the hidden fees associated with their exclusive caterer: scholar catering.
    We asked for a meeting for about four months to go over the day and good options. They add a lot of labor services on top of food charges and other dependencies that we’re very unclear until the very end. Their food is below average and due to the lack of communication, terrible service and hidden fees we decided to cancel this venue last minute.

    Sent on 11/09/2018

    Cecil Green Park House's reply:

    Hi Sepp,

    We are sorry that you felt this way and we did work with you to get the resolution that you wanted. I want to take a moment to address the fees from Scholars', this can be for you or for anyone reading this post. Scholars catering, like almost all caterers charge fees for labour, rentals, food and beverage and gratuities. Labour can include the service staff, chefs, bartenders and supervisors. Scholars charges a flat fee of $10 per person for all rentals, this is just a cost recovery model once you factor in all the glasswear, tablewear, linens, and equipment needed to service large scale events. Food and Beverage is based off consumption and menu choices. Gratuities are at 17%.

    All of these fees are industry standard for special event venues and catering companies. We include them in sample quotes in our sales package.

    Restaurants and hotels are different, you are not charged for staffing or equipment as the business model has them running 5 - 7 days a week, with multiple users. What does happen in the cases of weddings or special events, is that a restaurant or hotel will impose a minimum spend or buyout fee. Almost always this fee is to cover the labour and equipment needed to successfully execute a wedding or event.

    Scholars Catering is the caterer for UBC, we have union staff, that are paid a living wage with benefits we are proud of this.

    We do wish you both the best, and hope have an amazing wedding

    Sincerely
    Nicole Caron
    Operations Manager Cecil Green Park House
  • Alex

    Alex Field · Married on 02/06/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful location and great service

    Obviously the venue looks great -- it's a very beautiful setting. We found that the staff were really friendly and did a great job on the day of. It really helped to have a co-ordinator to deal with our other vendors, we didn't have any stress at all on the day of.

    Sent on 26/06/2018
  • Mae

    Mae Boudreau · Married on 20/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Winter Wonderland Venue

    Thank you so much for making our wedding a delightful day to remember! We enjoyed the venue so much and our guests loved the scenery. We loved getting to know you as the coordinators and we thank you so much for helping us plan our wedding for catering and visiting the venue as much as we can. The couple's tasting is a wonderful idea and I would definitely recommend this as much as possible to couples. A great way to taste our future catering needs for the reception. Thanks again for the communication back and forth and making our day sweet! Cheers!

    Sent on 03/02/2018
  • Cindy

    Cindy Chen · Married on 28/05/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue is gorgeous, perfect for a spring floral wedding. There are separate rooms that you can dedicate to dinner, dancing, greeting guests, bridal dressing area etc. The staff is also very knowledgeable and friendly, though my coordinator was on vacation on my wedding day and only the student coordinator and proctor were there. I would recommend this venue for small weddings, because the dining room was quite cramped and there wasn't much room for people to walk around.

    Sent on 18/07/2017
  • Praveen

    Praveen Imaan

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    My fiance and i book this location for the summer of 2018.

    We were told when that we had to put a down payment in order to keep our date... the Manager Mariella explained to us that even tho the contract said there were penalties for cancellations they would not be in effect if we were to give a fair amount of time and notice. So we put our trust in her word and put down our payment.. We booked a day to come and see the venue with my mom and Mariella never showed up she claimed she had a meeting....we then tried multiple times to get in contact with her to get dimensions and facts on the building and she continued to give us strictly info that was in the booklets that were given to us already..(she was no help at all) We then had to cancel due to personal reasons. and Mariella with ZERO consideration to our prior conversion of over looking the penalties put our cancelation thru to the accounting department and we were penalized $1000 out of the 2500....

    We have since tried to make contact with her by phone and she has ignore our voicemail's and has made no effort to simply answer our questions...

    The location is beautiful but the Woman running the show has poor people skills and a lack of respect and integrity... it would be a so nice if she could simply respond to our messages.

    Sent on 09/12/2017

    Cecil Green Park House's reply:

    We are sorry that you feel this way about your experience with us.

    We started working with you in May 2017 and had our first site tour at the end of June. At this time we put Aug 3, 2018 on hold and Aug 25, 2018 on waitlist. Later that summer Aug 25th became available and we placed it on hold for you. You requested to book this date with us on Aug 16, 2017. We sent you a contract which you reviewed, signed and returned to us on Sept 2nd. A clear cancellation policy is noted in the contract.

    Praveen, you are right, I had missed the meeting with you and your mother on Oct 11th. I’m very sorry about this. When we arranged this meeting I let you know that I may not be able to make it so I left the house open for you to plan in. In reviewing all of our correspondence, I have found that I either replied to or sent you over 30 emails. It is my belief that I responded to your questions promptly and clearly. As you note, some of the information I provided is included in our planning documents; this is because we frequently get the same questions from other clients.

    We do offer flexibility when changing the date of the event to another date. We also allow all our clients to hold a date without a deposit, prior to signing a contract. However, once you sign a contract, our cancellation policy comes into effect. The cancellation policy is in the contract and viewable online.

    We book weddings 1-2 years in advance and Saturdays are in high demand. We had to turn away several clients who were ready to book this date, and not all of them were able to find another date that worked and had to look elsewhere. You cancelled within a year.

    I’d be happy to speak with you over the phone about any concerns you may have.

See more reviews

Cecil Green Park House awards

18

360º Tours Cecil Green Park House

Businesses who collaborate with Cecil Green Park House

Location of Cecil Green Park House

Location of (Cecil Green Park House)
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.