Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Dave Shannon DJ

Dave Shannon DJ

Dave Shannon DJ

Edmonton, Alberta
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 88 reviews
View more information

88 reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 88
  • WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2015 Winner
  • P
    Patti Married on 21/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Outstanding

    Dave provided expert guidance with our music plans, ensuring our wedding was tailored for us! Dave was always easy to reach and helpful. The music set the background we were looking for and got the guests up dancing after dinner.
  • T
    T R Married on 03/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely awesome!!!

    Dave Shannon was Absolutely awesome! I am so glad that someone on a Facebook page recommended him. Right from the start Dave was awesome to work with. He did an awesome job for our wedding. He did our ceremony music, he was our MC and he did all our music from cocktails right till we closed down the night, people were on the dance floor all night. We appreciated everything he did for us and our wedding. Dave even made it very special to me in how he introduced my grandpa and made a point to bring him up a few times in the night. Without me even asking, it meant so much!! Thank you so much Dave!!!
  • Kelsey
    Kelsey T. Married on 27/08/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Definitely Recommend

    Dave Shannon was wonderful to work with ! Extremely easy to contact at any hour. Had lots of songs to choose from for the ceremony and reception. Was on time !! Stuck around at the end of the night to chat with my husband and myself. Dave is an all around easy going and relaxed guy. He was able to play requested cultural songs along with anything our guests requested. He dressed professional and everyone was very happy with the service he provided ! Thank you Dave !!!!!
  • Leah
    Leah F. Married on 11/04/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We danced the night away!

    Dave took the time to understand what we were looking for from his DJ and MC service. He made sure everyone was out on the dance floor all night! He knows how to read a room and took the pressure off us so we didn't have to ask one of our guests to MC. He was the perfect choice for our wedding!
  • R
    Rebekah S. Married on 27/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome wedding DJ

    Dave Shannon Music was excellent to work with. They were flexible with meeting and discussing details. They were diligent in communicating the weeks leading up to the wedding. They provided microphones, projector and a screen. Great music was played all night. I enjoyed every moment of our wedding night! Thank you!
  • Katrina
    Katrina L. Married on 03/11/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    100% recommend!’

    Absolutely incredible!! He was so great to work with and extremely accommodating to song requests and played a great mix! Our crowd was going all night! We couldn’t have chosen a better DJ and his prices are unbeatable!!

    Dave Shannon DJ's reply:

    Hi Katrina!

    You and Cody truly made my job stress-free allowing me to provide the VERY best services possible. You are a DREAM couple and it was so awesome to be a part of making your special day EXTRA special!

    Warm Regards & All The Very Best!
    - Dave -
  • E
    Linda Married on 18/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Music Ever

    Everyone said they loved the music at our wedding the dance floor was NEVER empty. My Brother and Sister also used Dave Shannon I would recommend them to anyone. Any requests were played right away keeping all guests happy
  • Jamie
    Jamie H. Married on 11/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Went above and beyond

    Dave was the DJ at one of my friend's wedding and was highly recommended. Throughout the entire process, from the initial meeting to the wedding day, Dave went above and beyond and did not disappoint. Dave was always very accommodating and met me at both my ceremony and reception venues ahead of time to make sure everything would be set up perfectly. My father composed and recorded music to play at the ceremony and performed live at the reception and Dave spent lots of time communicating back and forth to ensure everything was exactly as my father hoped. Dave was friendly, considerate and professional and was an integral part of making our wedding day so special. I would highly recommend!
  • H
    Heather Married on 04/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome DJ

    We booked last minute after not being able to decide on whether we wanted a DJ or not-definitely glad we did!He had great suggestions for music and you could tell has lots of experience! Def recommend

    Dave Shannon DJ's reply:

    Hi Heather!

    Helping you plan and be a part of your special day was just so "easy peasy". Playing the music for both your ceremony and reception was great. You and Nick are such a great match and I'm very happy you found each other. Thanks for giving me the chance to help make sure you had a GREAT wedding day!

    Warmest Regards,
    ~ Dave ~
  • A
    Amanda K. Married on 14/07/2018
    Rating 2.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.0 out of 5

    Not what we asked for, rude to guests

    My husband and I were not happy with the quality of the service Dave
    provided for the dance at our wedding. He did a good job of the music at the
    ceremony though and I was pleased with how the ceremony went. In my opinion,
    he didn't understand what we were looking for at our dance and I feel that
    he didn't comply with what we requested. I am disappointed in how he has
    conducted communications with us following the event as well.

    Dave Shannon DJ's reply:

    The above comments were received 1/2 year after the wedding. Here are the comments received directly after the wedding:

    25 Jul 2018, 15:56
    to DaveShannonMusic

    Hi Dave,

    I got an email about sending a review. I wanted to send you an email personally rather than post to a website.

    First, I was extremely pleased with everything for the ceremony. The music, the set-up, the sound…everything was great and I couldn’t have been happier with how it went.

    We were not as thrilled with the dance. I realise that this is your profession and that you need to take some liberties with song selection, timing etc. That being said, there are some items that Michael and I were not happy with.

    You had requested a song list, which I had harassed Michael for and he finally spent a fair amount of time going through his library and YouTube to come up with. I acknowledged in the email when I sent it to you that his list was lengthy and that I understood if you couldn’t get to all of the songs. Unfortunately, I don’t recall hearing any of them. Michael was waiting for some of his songs to be played and neither of us recall hearing any of them. He brought this up to me a few times that night asking me if I had heard any of them and he mentioned towards the end of the night that he was mad because none of the songs he requested were played. He doesn’t understand why you requested a list of songs if you didn’t intend on playing them.

    · In one email to you I specifically requested that the Chicken Dance song NOT be played and you played it anyway.

    · I had to do a lot of mingling so wasn’t on the dance floor a lot, however, ironically you did play a song that I had requested – however you played the exact same song twice – George Straight, I just wanna dance with you. I possibly wouldn’t have even noticed in a different situation, but I only two-stepped to three songs and two of them were the same. This was also noticed by a couple of my other friends who are the big “two-step country loving folks”.

    · Apparently there was some sort of an incident with kids running around on the dance floor…something about you being worried about them damaging your equipment. I am guessing there was some kind of a misunderstanding. I know for a fact that my maid of honour had a conversation with the kids prior to the dance to stay away from the equipment, but that they could play on the dance floor away from your table and speakers. Her and I had chatted about it on the Friday night while we were setting the hall up. She let me know that she did in fact speak with the kids (there were only 4 of them) and that she felt they all understood and were complying with her requests. Two of the children were hers and the other two are children of friends of ours. I was not present during the discussion that you had with one our guests, but I feel that it could have been handled better by both parties involved.

    I want to stress, that I do understand that you can’t be told exactly what to do and that you as an experienced DJ need to be able to take some liberties in how you conduct the evening. That being said however, I would have appreciated an email back letting us know in advance that you didn’t have or wouldn’t be able to play any of the songs Michael requested. I understand that its part of your job to try to ensure that all the folks attending of various ages and musical preferences all have a good time…but as the couple getting married and footing the bill, we also need to feel like our money was well spent. I got some feedback from our guests about how everything went from their perspective. In the end we basically feel like you didn’t genuinely take into account our preferences and you played a pre-formatted wedding list that was a bit out-dated.

    It was by no means a disaster, but I can also tell you we didn’t come away feeling thrilled. Instead we were a bit disappointed and unfortunately (or maybe fortunately) this was one of the few things that day that didn’t meet our expectations.

    Amanda