Restaurant L'Ambroisie

4020 Saint-Ambroise - Door 140 H4C 2C7 Montreal (Quebec) Map
Write a review Hired? Save
20 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
Number of guests 60 to 275
Share

About Restaurant L'Ambroisie

In the heart of Chateau Saint-Ambroise, Restaurant L'Ambroisie is situated atop the banks of the Lachine Canal, where it has cultivated an excellent reputation for its restaurant and hosting private events. Events large and small have enjoyed their terraces and elegant banquet halls. Weddings are a specialty of theirs, and they will reduce your planning stress by offering you venues for both the ceremony and reception.

Facilities and Capacity

Offering some of the most sought after banquet halls in the city, this restaurant has two rooms on offer. First is its namesake room, L’Ambroisie, with its arresting Greco-Roman columns, baroque styling, and a Hollywood art deco bar. This dreamy room seats120 guests. Second is the Canal Room. Decked out in urban chic and looking very cosmopolitan, this well-known room offers seating for as many as 275 guests. Each room has its own dance floor with audio-visual appointments, a spacious terrace, and a full service designer bar.

Services Offered

The house uses its own kitchen for catering and offers bar service. Clients will want to confer with owner and chef Stuart Abrams for putting together a customized wedding menu. The business can also help with offerings for DJ and staff services.

Cuisine

The menus are inspired by international and French cuisine, as the establishment uses local, fresh, and seasonal products when possible. Some sample menu items are medallions de porc, tartar de boeuf, escalope de poulet, and more.

  • Number of guests From 60 to 275
  • Maximum Capacity 275/600
  • Type Banquet hall, historic, restaurant
  • Style City, eclectic, garden, glamorous, vintage, waterfront
  • Event Services Bridal suite, cake, catering / bar, clean up, event planning, event rentals, liability insurance,…View more
  • Reception Site Fee - Peak Season C$ 331.00
  • Plated Service (per head) C$ 60.00
More information

More information about Restaurant L'Ambroisie

  • What is the minimum number of guests required to book your venue?
    60 ambroisie/120 canal
  • How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
    2
  • What kind of settings are available?
    Covered outdoor
    Indoor
    Uncovered outdoor
  • Which of the following wedding events does your venue service?
    Ceremony
    Reception
    Bridal shower
    Engagement party
    Rehearsal dinner
  • What catering services do you offer?
    Buffet
    Cocktail reception
    Dessert
    Family style
    Hors d'oeuvres
    Outside cake
    Plated
    Server(s)
    Stations
    Tastings
  • What bar services do you provide?
    Bartender(s)
    Cash bar
    Champagne toast
    House wine
    Liquor license
    Open bar
    Premium liquor
    Signature drink
    Specialty wine
  • What event items are available?
    Audio equipment
    Chair covers
    Dance floor
    Decor
    Furniture
    Lighting
    Chairs
    Tables
  • What food and beverage items are available?
    Barware
    China
    Chocolate fountain
    Flatware
    Glassware
    Linens
  • What transportation and access is available?
    Parking
    Wheelchair access
  • Do you have a site fee for wedding receptions at your venue?
    Yes
  • Do you have a site fee for wedding ceremonies at your venue?
    Yes
  • What is the starting site fee for wedding ceremonies during peak season?
    C$ 523
  • Which of the following are included in starting site fee?
    Set up
    Clean up
    Chairs
    Tables
    Linens
    China
    Flatware
    Glassware
    Lighting/sound
    Bridal suite
  • What is the average catering price per person for buffet service?
    C$ 60
  • What is the average catering price per person for stations?
    C$ 60
  • Which of the following are included in the cost of wedding catering?
    Cake cutting
    Server(s)
    Dessert
  • What is the starting price per person for bar service?
    C$ 55
  • Which of the following are included in the starting price for bar service?
    Open bar
    House beer
    House wine
    House liquor
    Signature drink
    Bartenders

Couples have also viewed:

  • Canvas Montreal Reception Loft
  • InterContinental Montreal
  • Buffet Il Gabbiano

Did you like this vendor?

Request pricing
Photos 23 photos
Real Weddings 4 photos

20 Reviews for Restaurant L'Ambroisie


4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Response time 4.8

15 User photos

Sort by:
  • Sarah

    Sarah Elizabeth Pepler · Married on 24/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alexandra is really amazing and answers all of my thousands of questions in a very short delay!!!

    The place us gorgeous!!! Really unique on the Lachine canal. Alexandra, one of the coordinators is absolutely amazing in responding so nicely and quickly to my thousands of questions. She really takes the time to answer correctly each and every one of them. Very good service!! Can't wait for my big day in August!

    Sent on 17/02/2019

    Restaurant L'Ambroisie's reply:

    Thank you Sarah! Alexandra says she is very touch by your kind words and she is looking forward to meeting with you later this week for your tasting. Cheers! ~ Fanoue Fortier, VP marketing
  • Geneviève

    Geneviève L. Blain · Married on 15/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect wedding day!

    We chose L'Espace Canal for our wedding which took place on June 15, 2019. We were completely charmed by the industrial style of this place. Everything went perfectly on D-Day! Despite the rain, we had a beautiful indoor ceremony. The service was fast and impeccable; our guests did not miss anything! The staff was professional and attentive. The food was hot and delicious, and the portions more than generous! The DJ service of Deep Waters Events was also amazing! Thank you for helping to make this day unforgettable, we are extremely grateful!

    Sent on 27/08/2019

    Restaurant L'Ambroisie's reply:

    Cheers to all of it, but mostly cheers to the happy couple! The pictures are amazing, thank you for sharing. Congratulations again and to many more perfect days to come.
  • Natalie

    N.d. · Married on 18/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff here is extremely professional and welcoming. Nathalie, who is the sales director, was extremely friendly and responsive with all my emails and questions. Their pricing is very fair and flexible which is great when figuring out our budget. More importantly, there were no hidden costs anywhere unlike some venues we've visited. This establishment is very upfront about their prices.

    No request was ever too big or too small. On the day of the wedding, Alexandra and Kevin were coordinators and were amazing! Everything went very smoothly and they made sure that everything was according to schedule which made the day less stressful. One of the things we appreciated the most was that they have a storage room where you can place your decorations a few days before the event so you're not worried about bringing everything the day before. I provided them a list of instructions on how to place things throughout the room and the staff followed them exactly.

    The food was good and plentiful and the service by the waiters and bar staff were efficient.

    We chose the Espace Canal room which was perfect. It is bright and airy with a lovely outdoor terrasse overlooking the Lachine Canal and the garden where we had our ceremony. It really was the perfect venue for us!

    Sent on 20/07/2017

    Restaurant L'Ambroisie's reply:

    Thank you! May your life together be filled with unforgettable moments and endless tenderness! ~ team L'Ambroisie
  • Hannah

    Hannah Arseneau-Danielis · Married on 03/01/2020

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Started Out Strong, Then Flopped

    When I first approached L'Ambroiserie and L'Espace Canal to host my wedding they were very excited to have a January 3rd event. The event coordinator, Alexandra, responded quickly to all of my emails and questions and was very accommodating. I live in Northern Quebec so I was not always in Montreal, and it was always possible to work around the dates when I was in town. The restaurant was supposed to be closed at that time, but was willing to open to host my wedding.
    I visited the venue with my then fiance during the summer and returned later with my parents for a tasting. All of this went fine. I had booked to have a winter wedding with an outdoor ceremony on the terrace facing the Lachine Canal. The terrace was empty when I booked the venue.
    In November I happened to be in the area and stopped by the restaurant with my sister, who had not seen the venue yet. When we went I found that they had installed a carport toward the front of the terrace, basically right beside where we had discussed having my ceremony take place. I was horrified, and made it clear that I did not want this tempo to remain there during my ceremony. Suddenly the staff's attitude changed dramatically. Alexandra was on vacation so I assumed the disrespectful and dismissive attitude that I (and my parents and future husband) received from Alexa would go away when the event coordinator returned. This was not at all the case. I was told the chairs for my ceremony were being stored there and it was absolutely non-negotiable to move it. I received this response from Alexandra as well. Suddenly L'Ambroiserie hosting my wedding was cast as a huge favor to me since they technically were not open at this time ---which they weren't, but if it means treating clients poorly then don't agree to dates that inconvenience you. I was extremely put off by this whole performance, but they refused to back down on the tempo, even though it was not there or even mentioned when I signed a contract and gave a deposit on the venue. I would also like to know where they store all of the chairs for their summer weddings, since they use them then as well yet there is no tempo during those months. We ended up having to purchase Christmas trees to cover this eyesore as well as have my ceremony face the complete opposite direction that I had planned.
    Fast forward to the wedding...well it did not go as planned for several reasons and I will forever be disappointed since I only intend to get married once. I had drawn a picture-map as well as explained to Alexandra in person how I wanted the decorations done on the terrace. I had also asked that she decorate outdoors before the reception hall since my photographer wanted to be back at the venue for 5:15pm. Alexandra said it may take until 5:30pm, which I was fine with. My ceremony was supposed to begin at 7pm, we were doing all the wedding party and family photos beforehand. When I arrived with everyone to take photos outdoors on the terrace, I found that she had done the exact opposite of what I had asked. The inside of the venue was ready to go, and the chairs had not even been set up on the terrace. Furious does not even describe how I feel about this. I ended up taking my family photos in a parking lot, which was incredibly disappointing. These are photos that were extremely important to me that I will never have the opportunity to take again. In fact, they scrambled around trying to set up the terrace for so long that I ended up having to go inside the building and hide because guests were not being seated outside for the ceremony. The terrace itself was not shovelled except for a path down the aisle, so our guests sat with their feet in a few inches of snow. My ceremony started 15-20 minutes late, not because I wasn't ready, but because the staff at L'Ambroiserie weren't. Alexandra did not start seating guests until 7pm. Not to mention that we walked down an extremely steep 'wheelchair' ramp to get out of the reception hall and go down the aisle. There is no chance it is to code, it was not salted and fortunately no one was in a wheelchair. The best man had to push my sister back up the ramp when the ceremony was over because it was so steep and slippery. We had to use this ramp or enter the aisle from another door that would have put us in the middle of our rows of guests since we had to change the placement of the altar due to the tempo that L'Ambroiserie refused to move. This was not the only area that was not shovelled or salted, even though we had provided salt for L’Ambroiserie to use. The front entrance to L’Espace Canal was not shovelled or salted either, so people trampled through what became slush and slipped for the entire evening.
    To add to my frustration, following the ceremony I felt as though I was being rushed by Alexandra to complete things like my first dance and wedding speeches because we were behind schedule. In reality, it was her lack of professionalism that resulted in things being off schedule yet she could not seem to understand that I was frustrated and wanted her to leave me alone about these things so that I could socialize with my guests for the hour or so following my ceremony like I had planned. It was actually a huge relief for me when her shift ended, I felt like I could start to forget how angry I was about this whole thing.
    Eugenie, another employee, tried her best to arrange the Nordique Terrace we had wanted beautifully outside so I could take more photos. Unfortunately, the ceremony didn’t finish until almost 8pm and I could not keep my guests waiting while I went to do more at this hour.
    The food that was passed out seems to have been cold half of the time, based on my own experience as well as what I heard from several guests. This was disappointing since it had been so good at the tasting. There also did not seem to be a plan for passing out the hors d’oeuvres, we did a cocktail style reception, and so some tables were served while others received very little. I worked in the restaurant industry for 10+ years (including serving weddings) and usually there is a plan with sections for serving food, this did not appear to be the case.
    My last comment will be about the DJ services provided through L’Ambroiserie et L’Espace Canal. I strongly recommend against them. I had requested a song to be instrumental only during my ceremony and much to my horror it was not. The lyrics to the chorus were still being sung. This meant that in preparation for my wedding this DJ was not able to spend more than 20-30 seconds listening to songs that he was planning to use during my ceremony. It was probably the worst thing that could happen before walking down the aisle (aside from having to start putting down your own wedding dress train because Alexandra let me walk out the door with my parents and then disappeared after she had said she would put it down, leaving us in a state of panic). I can’t say the DJ stuck to the list he was given, which was a list of requests from my RSVPs so I knew what the guests wanted to hear. Then at the end of the night he played about 30 seconds of Norah Jones’ “Come Away With Me” before abruptly cutting the music and telling us all the night was over. I could have asked him to stay longer but it slipped my mind, oddly of all the things the staff wanted to harass me over on my wedding night, asking the DJ to play an extra hour was not one of them. They had the lights on within seconds and began dismantling the reception hall before guests had even had a chance to figure out what was going on.
    Overall, I would say my experience was disappointing to say the least. I would not recommend L’Ambroiserie et L’Espace Canal under any circumstances. It was a terrible mistake and I regret having my wedding there.

    Sent on 24/01/2020

    Restaurant L'Ambroisie's reply:

    Hello Hannah, I am Stuart Abrams, owner and Chef of L’Ambroisie. I’m sorry that you had a bad experience with us, we strive to go out of our way to serve each client to the best of our abilities, but in some cases our best is evidently not enough. I would like to mention that I am very familiar with your event, I authorized opening for you during our usual holiday closing period and even though you did not meet our minimum number of guests for that room, Alexandra assured me that you were a very nice couple that really had to have that specific date in mind for personal reasons and I agreed. Upon reading the review you left us, I was shocked; when you left that night you were hugging staff and telling them how happy you were and what an amazing job they did, so I now feel compelled to respond to your review, in kind and in detail. I take my on-line presence and reputation very seriously and I don’t think many of your comments are merited, especially to the point of saying we ruined your marriage.

    Let me begin by saying that we have hosted well over 1000 weddings and through that experience we have become very good at what we do. The secret, we have found, is flexibility. For the planning and execution of something as important as a wedding, we need to be open and responsive to the needs and desires of our clients. from custom menus to specialty bars, over the top room decors, live entertainment, timelines and schedules we have been proven to be one of the most adaptive, flexible and customizable event spaces in the city, our reputation and reviews speak for themselves. The only time we find it challenging to satisfy a guest is when we encounter someone who does not want to listen to the advice and guidance given by the coordinator and management. The advice and direction given by our team is not given as a point of argument or intended to diminish your event, in fact it is the opposite. We are trying to stop you from mistakes or mis-judgments that we have seen in the past and know will not work whether for safety, logistical or bad guest experience reasons (a clients poor choice of some feature could easily reflect poorly on the house, they assume it was our choice). We are not trying to kill your fun when we tell you something can’t or shouldn't be done, and we always strive to offer a solution that is superior to the original request.
    I strongly believe that the issue of the service Tempo on the terasse put a bad spin on your event from the minute you saw it out there and although this had been explained to you numerous times at all levels of management, i will again explain why the decision was made and how we tried to improve your situation.
    the Tempo is always placed in the rear corner of the terasse in the winter. this is because that is the area of least sunlight in the winter months and the view from that seating position has you facing directly into the corner of the building, the least chosen of our ceremony set ups. Your guests view from that set up also has them looking directly into the kitchen and living room of a building tenant and the commercial gym of another, this situation has been the cause of some awkward moments throughout the years for both our guests and the tenants. This coupled with the fact that that corner hosts wall mounted video cameras, wifi antennas, air vents and wiring, we have elected to annually mount the Tempo in that corner. The Tempo is also situated beside the service door of the hall, this door and its ramp (which, you are correct, is not to code as a wheelchair ramp, because its not a wheelchair ramp, it has no electric opening device nor is it marked or labelled as a handicap door. Its main use is as a loading and unloading door for decor, deliveries, food and bar items for outdoor events etc. brought in on 2 wheeled dollies and carts). All this added to the fact that the snow we remove to clear space on the north end of the terasse is blown and piled directly on the south side of the space, exactly where you wanted to hold your ceremony. It would have taken a bulldozer to clear the area of the 4 foot mountain of frozen snow and ice that remains there until spring. That alone is reason enough for us to not entertain the idea of hosting an event on that spot. But all of this was explained to you numerous times over the months leading up to the wedding.
    The contents of the Tempo are not just chairs, but mainly the equipment and tools of maintaining a winter terasse, there are snow blowers, heat lamps, fire pits, shovels and picks, salt, sand, propane and various other objects as well as a couple dozen chairs and a few tables. the Tempo itself is generally firmly stuck to the ground with snow and ice. it would take a Herculean effort and would probably damage either the tempo or the surface of the terasse to remove it in the first place. Once we dismantled and removed the tent, the next question is where to store the items inside of it. These items are driven over by truck in the fall and the tent is installed for the entire winter, as Parks Canada does not plow the path from around the Chateau back to our terasse. To take them to our garage storage space would require many staff hand carrying this equipment over the snow and around the building. then once your event was over, carry it all back and set it up again. This is something we do not do. You were told this several months in advance of the event. Logistically it is far more work than it is worth. I suppose we could have affixed you a set-up fee and undertaken the tasks, but i doubt you would have accepted that. Instead we offed the best solution possible, which is our regular set up for winter wedding packages. Its on the same terasse, 20 feet to the left, facing outward to the canal. The disposition would now be directly facing the canal, not the unlit corner of the building, the area is cleared of snow and ice to the best of our abilities and you would enter and exit through the central door of the hall, straight up the aisle. That area would also be lit by the 2 large angel statue lamp posts and the wall lighting on the building, this is gravely important as you were conducting your ceremony at 7pm on January 3rd it would be pitch black outside, and darker still in the corner you were hoping to use. Unfortunately, this was not an option that you found acceptable. I think a big part of your bad experience was just not letting go of the ceremony facing left, instead of right.
    The rest of the issues are to me, important, but not worthy of ruining the entire wedding: ceremony 15 min late? yes unacceptable, but ruinous? I don’t think so. Alexandra wasn’t able to help you turn down the train of your gown at the moment that you required, this is true, at the time she had arrived to help you, you had the train in your arms and were walking with your family to the door, but in the end this is not her job or responsibility, to carry your train to the ceremony. Alex had offered to help with the train, but you were already on it and she has other duties to perform. Your friends and family helped you, it was definitely not the ruin of the marriage.

    Our floor plan for service was done, but your plan called for tables of 8 set for dinner, yet you served only several passed canapes as the main meal, the servers passing from seat to seat depositing a canape on each plate. A dinatoire usually calls for standing guests with servers circulating trays of hot and cold hors d oeuvres, by the time the servers made it to the seated guests at the back of the room, after previous guests loading up on specific canapes to fill their plates I apologize but yes, some items may have been shorted or gotten cold. We strongly advised you that the amount of canapes allocated to your event would not be enough, yet you declined to add more. This mix of service types may have confused both my staff and your guests.

    I am not sure I understand your comments about the DJ correctly. Are you giving us a negative review because you feel the DJ should have somehow sensed your thoughts and volunteered to stay an hour after his contract ended? The DJ was contracted, by you, to play from a set time until a set time. I don't think he should be criticized for doing exactly that. You said yourself that you didn’t even mention staying later to him or to our staff, perhaps he may have done it, but he can not read your mind. As far as song selection and playing requests goes, if you wanted a specific version of a specific track for this very important day in your life, most of our guests opt to sending a text attachment, emailing a link to the exact song or loading it on to a usb key, or at the very least verifying with the DJ at some point before the event that he has downloaded the correct version of the song you desire. As for requests; we have had guests in the past ask each guest to provide a song on their RSVP card, and have found that this is a very bad idea, as I am sure the DJ would have informed you had you asked. If you have 100 guests who each pick a 4-5-minute song to play that’s 400 minutes of music, or 6.5 hours of continuous music. At that point you don’t need a live DJ, you need an iPad with a playlist. our DJs will always do their best to play requests, but they also have mixes and styles of their own and to ask him to just play 120 random requests in a row is a waste of having a live professional DJ at all.

    In closing I would like to return to my original point. Our Coordinators and event managers are experienced and tested, you can plainly see multiple positive comments about their efficiency and professionalism in reviews, letters and on social media. They are there to help you make the best event possible, if you reject their advice and insist on unreasonable or unobtainable goals, take an adversarial position with them or just don’t communicate with them at all, then you are heading down a very slippery slope. By criticizing them for the delays on your schedule and then in the next paragraph criticize them again for enforcing the timelines on the same schedule because you want to “sit and socialize with your friends” and “don’t understand what her rush is”, or being “happy that she finally left” tells me clearly that you did not appreciate or use her guidance to make the best event possible. You began the event in a negative state of mind and let that guide you for the rest of the night, I don’t think we could have done anything more for you from that point on.

    I again apologize that your wedding was not to your satisfaction, though I think it was far from being a disaster, many of the guests we spoke to that evening thanked us for an amazing event! it is our wish that every event we execute is the best it can be but sometimes it is very hard to satisfy someone who is intent on disrupting their own party. If flexibility is the key to hosting amazing events, then there must be some flexibility on both sides to accomplish this goal.
  • Melissa

    · Married on 12/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Get Married Here!

    The wedding turned out exactly as I had envisioned it. Alexandra and the rest of the staff were very attentive and thought of the finer details. There really isn't enough space to fully express my gratitude for all they did.

    Sent on 12/08/2019

    Restaurant L'Ambroisie's reply:

    Merci Melissa! We try to keep our eyes on the ball at every moment. We are like ninjas! We will share your feedback with Alexandra and the team. Congratulations again! Stuart & Fanoue

See more reviews

Restaurant L'Ambroisie awards

20

Restaurant L'Ambroisie Real Weddings

View all Real Weddings

Location of Restaurant L'Ambroisie

Location of (Restaurant L'Ambroisie)
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.