Focus Production
3640 mcnicoll avenue M1X 1G5 Markham (Ontario) Map
Write a review Hired? Save

Reviews for Focus Production

Recommended by 96% of couples · Write a review

257
4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Response time 4.8
Order by:
  • Gracie

    Gracie · Married on 16/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding

    From the beginning this company was amazing. Lee was responsive, understanding and accommodating. We hired Tyler to photograph our wedding and we were not disappointed, he was extremely detailed and made sure he captured all the important moments. I’m so glad we picked focus to capture the most important day in our lives. Thank you so much Lee and Tyler you were both amazing

    Sent on 19/03/2019
  • Lindsay

    Lindsay · Married on 26/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMAZING! Would highly recommend.

    I highly recommend Focus Productions. Their service and quality is amazing so far! I booked a full wedding package with them which included photography, videography, photo booth and engagement photos. Firstly, their rates are very competitive, and I thought totally great for all of the things included in the package. Tyler was our photographer for the engagement session and he was THE BEST. It didn’t feel awkward and he was so great at giving directions and knew which poses I would find unflattering. We got the pictures back so quickly and I fell in love with so many of them there were too many great shots to choose from!

    For our wedding our team was Tyler, Eway, Cindy and Jack. All 4 of them were super friendly, professional and went the extra mile to capture every moment of our day. Many people commented on how great the day of video was and how surprised they were it was cut and edited so quickly and professionally. Once again, they were SO GOOD at giving direction to a large bridal party group which we are so thankful for as I have been in photos before where it was the same couple poses over and over again. This team had awesome ideas with lots of variety that were fun and not just the “look at each other and laugh”. They also put up with all my crazy ideas and managed to fit everything into the hectic schedule. Our wedding just happened a couple weeks ago so I am waiting to get the pictures back but I am very confident they will be fabulous.

    Lastly, one note on the photo booth. Most I’ve seen at weddings snap 3-4 photos in succession and you get what you get. I will say one thing that stood out was that you could see each photo and click yes or no so if there was a terrible one you could retake! I’ve not seen that before as an option so thought it was worth noting! The props were great too!

    Focus was super quick to respond to emails as well. Look no further – book them while you can!

    Sent on 13/02/2019
  • D

    Dana Graham · Married on 03/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Honest and Detailed Review Of Our Experience With Focus

    Very happy I booked with Focus. They were above my budget at first, but after meeting with Lee, I felt they were worth the higher pricing.

    Let's start with the booking process, it was easy and smooth, we liked that they allowed us to book right away, instead of the usual back and forth with other vendors that we dealt with.

    During the consultation, we felt at ease, Lee did not give us any pressure to go with them, even said that if we found another vendor that fit our budget and we liked their work, we should go with them. That honesty was what attracted us towards focus even more. A plus point was their office is huge! We met some other photographers at Starbucks or in a small office, focus had a different feeling to them that gained our trust from the moment we walked in.

    On the wedding day, they were very flexible. My husband had a last minute change of address the day of because of some unexpected issue, Lee adjusted the team and they did not miss a beat!

    What impressed us the MOST, was their delivery time. We read a lot of horror stories of couples who did not receive their wedding photos after a year after! Based on their contract, we were expecting a turn around time of 3 months, which from what we know from visiting other vendors, is pretty standard. GUESS WHAT? We got our photos and videos back WITHIN 2 WEEKS! and it was BEAUTIFUL.

    We read other reviews that focus had, some negative reviews regarding how the clients never received their products, but then we dug further, seeing the team's reply of it was the client going past the deadline of re editing. We had initial worry at first, but this was never a factor with us as I myself work in customer service, and the fact that focus put in the effort to reply the negative reviews shows me that they are a good company.

    I hope this review helps future couples who are picking photographers! Spend a little more, and avoid meeting at starbucks!

    Sent on 29/05/2019
  • C

    Chrisalla · Married on 27/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved our experience with Focus Production!

    We used Focus Production for our Wedding day. From day one they were very professional. On the day of the wedding, Ted (photo) and Vince (video) did an amazing job making us feel comfortable. They were so creative with their photos and videos, it made it so easy for us. During our reception they made sure to take a lot of pictures with our family members and always stayed close and accessible for us. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 29/10/2018
  • J

    Jeff Chang · Married on 16/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A pleasant experience

    We hired focus after consulting with few companies. We got their $5000 promotion. Ted and Vincent were our chosen team.
    Our wedding photos and videos were very good. Would recommend focus to anyone who wants a fast delivery and great results.

    Sent on 23/05/2019
  • E

    Elizabeth Liu · Married on 01/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding Day With Focus

    We signed with focus after consulting few companies around. They seemed to have the best price for the value of service.

    Same day edit was great and a crowd pleaser. We got their photo booth services too. Our team was Tyler and Eway.

    Lee was the manager who was in charge of our file, he made everything easy to deal with. We are currently designing our albums with Amy. Just happy to drop a review as they really do deserve it.

    Sent on 01/06/2019
  • Arma

    Arma Mohsin · Married on 21/07/2018

    1.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    The worst vendor experience

    Focus has been a nightmare to deal with since my wedding in July 2018. I have been sending emails and phone calls without a clear sufficient answer. All we received after paying several thousands of dollars is a Dropbox link with uncut and unedited videos for a three day event they only somewhat organized one event coverage. My husband and I personally sat down with their rep and spent hours explaining exactly what the expectation was as we figured there may have been miscommunication but now 4 months later nothing has been done and no one has replied to our emails. We were also promised a glass top photo book which we haven’t even received a template for... it’s just ridiculous how difficult it is to get a response from them let alone the promised final product. I do not trust or recommend them at all.

    Sent on 12/03/2019

    Focus Production's reply:

    Hi Arma,

    first off let me apologize for the experience you received from focus, that is definitely not the experience that we want our clients to have.

    Let me start off addressing and clarifying few points.

    1. we were very fast in replying your inquiries even on the day of, when a change of time + location was mentioned 2 hours before the shoot, our team stayed over time on the day of the shoot due to a 2 hour delay too.

    2. You got your multi day videos within the timeframe of 12 to 20 weeks as per contract. We gave you a full feature + all the unedited raws + the short film. The only issue is the song choice, we did mention to you that you have to send us enough song choice, or else we will not be able to fill up more than 1 hour of footage with songs.

    3. We sent you the album template since the beginning of the initial consultation, and we mentioned multiple times, you only have to pick out 80 to 140 photos at this point. As any of our other clients can confirm, that is the standard process. The picking of the photos must be done from the client's end.

    4. Your re edit notes were given way past after the editing deadline as per contract. as mentioned
    in term 15.
    Client must inform Focus of these edit within 3 weeks of collecting the final product, if not an additional $200 editing fee will be collected. If no editing requirement is submitted within 3 weeks, it will be acknowledged that the Clients are satisfied with the product. Video editing guideline is included in a "welcome" pdf package. 10 complimentary edits notes are available for the modification process.

    we hope to hear from you soon regarding the album selection photos.

    thanks
    Lee
  • J

    Jordan Donovan · Married on 21/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nothing but praises

    My wife and I have our dream wedding perfectly preserved for the rest of time thanks to Lee and his team. Their professionalism in handling all aspects of the wedding is no joke and we highly recommend their services.

    We had a mixed cultural ceremony, the team was very attentive to details, and nothing was missed. We got our photos within 4 weeks!

    Communication leading up to the wedding was smooth and fast. All our inquiries were attended in a very fast manner. Take example, we sent an email at 2:30 AM, we would get an email reply at 2:35 AM.

    Very impressed with them. If you want a stress-free wedding vendor, we would recommend focus.

    Sent on 31/05/2019
  • Charlie

    Charlie YT · Married on 27/05/2018

    2.6
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Mixed Experience

    I was a bride who worked with Focus for a wedding in August 2018.

    Quality of service
    Pros: The photographers and videographers were clearly skilled in capturing all the important details of your wedding day and more. They were very meticulous, not being afraid to direct you to ensure that the shots turn out beautifully. I also appreciated the editing and naturalistic colour grading work of the photos.
    Cons: Their ability to deliver a polished, final product for the videography was deterred by the disorganization and lack of communication within the Focus team. The people editing your videos are different from the videographers. This should not be a problem, but my instructions on how I wanted my video were not communicated to the rest of the team. For instance, they used the wrong song and ignored my request of excluding certain footage for the wedding video trailer. Moreover, I had notified them of an editing “mistake” (i.e. an abrupt split second clip inserted awkwardly, likely residual footage from editing) in the final wedding trailer in November 2018. They assured me that this would be fixed, but the final product I received in April 2019 still contained the mistake.

    Responsiveness
    Pros: None.
    Cons: Over 90% of my communication with Focus was initiated by myself. They were the only wedding vendor I had to chase after. I was the one who had to reach out to them to schedule the engagement shoot, to ensure attendance of their staff on my wedding day, and to follow up on deadlines. They are quite unresponsive by phone, but do better with email and texting. Even so, it can take them more than three business days to get back to you, especially if you have a complaint. It really did feel like they were avoiding me at several points.
    They were also extremely late with deadlines. To give you a sense, our wedding was in August 2018. We received all physical products (albums, photo prints, usb with files) in April 2019.

    Professionalism
    Pros: The staff were generally courteous and patient. The videographers and photographers made me feel very comfortable the day of my wedding and it felt like I was working with old friends. Interactions were always polite, no matter the mode of communication.
    Cons: Even though each individual was professional, the organization as a whole was so fragmented, resulting in an unprofessional presentation. There was no consistent person you could touch base with. Your communication with them depends on who is in the office that day. As such, I would find myself explaining my situation multiple times to different people.

    Value
    Pros: Overall, Focus offered great value packages. I would consider their price in the moderate range and they are very willing to negotiate with you to customize your package.
    Cons: None.

    Flexibility
    Pros: Focus is very flexible. They understand the changing nature of weddings and adapt well to any surprises on the day of the wedding. I was unhappy with a portion of my purchased package and they were willing to renegotiate my package. They do give off an earnest and genuine desire to do well by the client.
    Cons: Focus is known for a particular style of editing. I think they would do well with couples who want what they see on the Focus website. They have perfected the standard wedding formula. I would not, however, recommend Focus for couples who wish for some final product they do not see on the company website. For instance, for my “Love Story Video”, I wanted an editing style that was more akin to what you see in trendy Q&A youtube videos lately. I had provided them with examples and instructions on how I wanted the video to turn out. The staff I worked with on this project were enthusiastic and lovely. However, the video itself turned out to be subpar and really behind schedule. It was not something we felt comfortable showing our loved ones.

    Do I recommend?
    There were some really great things about working with Focus and some really terrible things as well. Given that wedding photography and videography companies are quite prolific in the GTA, I would recommend brides to go with another company because there are just so many other options out there.

    Sent on 13/05/2019
  • C

    Charmaine Gan · Married on 27/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nothing but praises

    Booked focus after our consultation. Lee was always attentive to our needs and questions, even going out of his way to make certain adjustments for us due to some scheduling conflict on our end. Team was professional throughout the whole wedding. We got Rocco and Vincent as our team. Got the photos and videos back fairly quickly, approximately 5 weeks. Beautiful, no complaints.

    Note to potential couples - this is the rare company that offers raw footages for free. Just thought we would add that note, we were very happy about that. Will recommend to others.

    Sent on 03/06/2019

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.

Hired this vendor?