Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Queer As Funk

Queer As Funk

Queer As Funk

Vancouver, British Columbia
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 16 reviews
View more information

16 reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 16

18 User photos

  • Ian
    Ian D. Married on 29/08/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Queer as Funk - what an epic and amazing experience !

    An evening with Queer as Funk is one of the most fun nights we have had in a long time ! We saw them on New Years Eve and they rocked the Wise Hall ! The energy they put out and how they got the crowd up and dancing was infectious. We were thinking about hiring them for our wedding, and that night we walked home and couldn't stop talking about how they were going to make the wedding something really special.

    From the moment we inquired with Alison, she was super informative and professional- she responded to all of our questions quickly, and was really helpful - from helping us decide the best place to set up to ensure the guests had a great time, to providing us with some great song list options. Unfortunately, we have had to put our 2020 wedding plans on hold like many other couples, and Queer as Funk was the most flexible vendor we worked with. During such a difficult and stressful time, they were so accommodating and genuinely supportive- made us feel that they really cared about us even during the chaos and stress of the last year.

    We will 100% be booking with them once we are able to re-schedule our wedding.

    Queer As Funk's reply:

    Ian, this is so kind, thank you! I’m so glad you made it out to party with us on NYE. While we’re sad the big wedding celebration got postponed, we’ll have to have you and Mariella out on another occasion to celebrate your beautiful marriage and family.
  • Anne-Marie
    Anne-Marie A. Married on 28/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Queer as Funk

    Hiring Queer As Funk for the after party to our wedding was the best decision we made (after choosing each other, of course). We live on a small island and invited the whole community to join the party. Months later, everyone is still raving about it and asking when the band is coming back. People were up and dancing from the moment Queer As Funk took the stage until DJ Slade closed out the night. Alison was amazing to work with and the band totally rocked it. We’d hire them again in a heartbeat! Queer As Funk was the perfect way to celebrate our queer love, marriage and community.

    Queer As Funk's reply:

    Anne-Marie and Deb, thank you so much! What a magical night. We loved celebrating with you, your friends and family, and the awesome community of Quadra Island. We haven't stopped talking about it. Big love to you both!
  • Janelle
    Janelle Z. Married on 01/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best experience ever!

    If you need an incredible band to set the mood for your incredible party or wedding, you CAN'T go wrong with Queer as Funk. Having them perform at our wedding was amazing and I can't picture the day without them! They are all phenomenal musicians on their own, and together they're mind-blowing! Book them if you can!!

    Queer As Funk's reply:

    Janelle and Patricia, thank you so much! The best part was having Janelle join us on stage, of COURSE! You slayed. :) Thank you for including us in your amazing day.
  • Danny
    Danny B. Married on 18/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    best band ever!

    These guys ROCKED our wedding. Not only were they TOTAL pros, handling the delays and unexpected turns required of a big party, but they were sooooo nice and accommodating of our every request. They played requests, and even learned a tune for the occasion. They played a great Hava Nagila for a big Hora dance, were super nice to our guests, and gave a great show that kept us all dancing right till the end of the party.

    Queer As Funk's reply:

    Ah, we had so much fun playing your wedding, it was SPECTACULAR! Such an amazing, musical, beautiful group of people. The Hora was a blast. Thank you so much for having us, Danny and Nina, and happy first wedding anniversary!
  • Halley
    Halley K. Married on 17/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredibly talented, fun, unique band and GREAT at throwing a party!

    My wife and I are SO happy with our decision to hire Queer as Funk for our wedding reception. What a blast it was. They played songs for all generations and are extremely talented. They are also interactive and fun - real crowd pleasers. Alison was incredibly helpful and responsive before the event as well, and even met us for coffee to chat about exactly what we wanted from. We couldn't be happier and can't wait to see them again when they are playing next near us!

    Queer As Funk's reply:

    Halley and Angie, thank you so much for having Queer As Funk at your reception, it was our absolute pleasure to celebrate with you! The night was amazing - we all still can't get over the Beyonce serenade. Goosebumps!! Thanks friends, all the best.
  • M
    Michael H. Married on 15/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Wedding Band You Can Hire!

    They are amazing. The dance floor was full and hopping all night long. I have had many of our guests come up to us at and after the wedding to say how great the band was. They were a joy to deal with as well. If you want a great band for your wedding, HIRE THEM!!!!!!!

    Queer As Funk's reply:

    That night was AMAZING. What an incredible group of friends and family, you are loved by so many. Your wedding was next level. Sending so much love and congratulations from everyone in the band to you both.
  • Kristen
    Kristen S. Married on 25/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely Amazing!

    I can’t even begin to tell you how wonderful, amazing and so so so much fun this band brings to the table!!

    Don’t hesitate, don’t deliberate, just do it. Next to marrying the person you love this will be the next best decision ever made!!

    This group of fabulous people know their stuff, they put their heart and soul into their performances and your family and friends will talk about YOUR wedding for a long long time!!

    Queer As Funk's reply:

    Your wedding was fabulous! It was our absolute honour to celebrate with you and Leigh, as well as your sons on this beautiful occasion. Thank you so much for including Queer As Funk, it was a magical night. Love to you all!
  • A
    Aviva F. Married on 25/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    You need Queer as Funk at your wedding or next event!!

    We hired Queer as Funk to play at our wedding in August of 2018 and we can not say enough good things about them. They truly made our wedding an amazing experience and our guests are still talking about them months later. They were a pleasure to deal with, responded quickly to all of our emails and addressed any questions promptly and professionally.

    They were, without a doubt, the highlight and our favourite part of our wedding and we can't recommend them highly enough.

    Queer As Funk's reply:

    Kim and Aviva, thank you so much! Your wedding was fabulous, and we are so honoured to have been a part of it.
  • M
    Mira O. Married on 29/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Simply, the best

    When we envisioned getting married, we always imagined having Queer As Funk as part of the day. We are longtime fans of their music (greatest dance band in town!), their politics and the band members as people. Everything about working with them exceeded our expectations. They were flexible, professional, full of great song suggestions and ideas, and most importantly their music was exquisite. We strongly recommend them for any occasion.

    Queer As Funk's reply:

    Thank you so much, Mira and Stepan! It was our absolute honour to play at your wedding - what a perfect day.
  • Patti
    Patti P. Married on 15/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Wedding Dance Band Ever

    I LOVE this band. They are exciting, tight, playing both old-school r&b, funk and soul AND up to date numbers; the energy never lagged, the band was SO fun to watch as well as dance to. It was my wedding day and I was exhausted, but I could NOT. STOP. DANCING. They even emailed me beforehand to ask what song we wanted for our first dance, and gave me suggestions. And any band that has that much fun on stage should be at your wedding. Great value! Plus, we're as queer as the band is, which is lovely to have that reflection of our community on stage.

    Queer As Funk's reply:

    Thank you, Patti! We had so much fun with you and Emilie at your wedding, what an amazing night! 💕 You are such a beautiful, generous couple, we wish you all the happiness in the world.