The Gown
83 Dawson Manor Blvd. L3X 2H5 Newmarket (Ontario) View map

Reviews from The Gown

16 reviews

4.6 out of 5.0

4.6 / 5

  • Quality of service

    4.7

    Value

    4.6
  • Professionalism

    4.8

    Responsiveness

    4.7
  • Flexibility

    4.7
Order by :
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The staff were amazing! I found my gown after the 6th dress - the consultant helping us was phenomenal! She pulled the dresses that we wanted, and a few extras to "fill in the holes" for styles. They made me feel so welcome, and were right there with the "oohs and ahhs" which really helped drive home my wedding dress choice. I cant wait to wear it down the aisle! The person that does alterations, also chimed in and is going to help created the veil that I have always dreamed of having! Will definitely be going back to look at mother of the bride/groom dresses and bridesmaid dresses!

    Sent on 10/09/2015
  • Ashley Belanger, Married on 16/10/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The Gown was literally the best! Unlike many brides, buying a dress wasn't high on my priority list. I just wanted to get it over with. I had gone to one other store before, and hated my experience! Thankfully, I made an appointment at The Gown and ended up buying my dream dress! The girls there are AMAZING! They make you so comfortable and show you so many options. I ended up going twice because I'm super indecisive and couldn't pick between two dresses. When I finally made up my mind and went back to order the dress, they showed me something that had just come in, and it was love at first sight! I tried it on, and before I took it off, was filling out my order form! The Gown will also put you in touch with the most amazing seamstress ever! They made my dress shopping experience perfect and I will be telling everyone to go there!!

    Sent on 02/11/2016

    The Gown's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words Ashley! We are so happy to have been involved in your big day! We would love to see pictures!!

  • Charlene Chin, Married on 09/07/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    My wedding is a whiles away. But I was just browsing one day and saw a beautiful dress on sale and in my size.. could it be that easy :o! So I went in to try it on without an appointment. They were able to accommodate me and give me a room (I do suggest booking an appointment though)... EVERYONE there was so friendly. But this was the first time I ever tried a dress, and I really wanted to make sure this was IT! They let me put the dress on hold for an entire week and even booked a full appointment for me so I could try on a bunch to make sure that it was the dress I wanted. After trying on 6-7 other dresses I ended up buying the first one I picked out :)

    I am able to go back next year to fix all the little imperfections from an off the rack gown. I'm very happy to have found this store and my dress :)!

    Sent on 25/06/2015
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    My experience at the Gown was beyond phenomenal. The girls at the gown made my girls and I feel welcome and we had such a good time at every fitting. My dress fit me perfectly thanks to Tanis!! I am so happy with the service the Gown provides and would highly recommend visiting them for your dress & alternations!!!

    Sent on 19/11/2015
  • Danielle Bruno, Married on 01/08/2015

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Just bought my dress from the Gown and absolutely loved the experience! It was the first store I looked at, and after 6 dresses, I fell in love! The associates really listen to what you want and what budget you wish to stay within! Im so glad I went to the gown first!

    Sent on 15/09/2014
  • Heather Straw, Married on 11/07/2015

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    When shopping for my wedding dress, I went to The Gown, and although I did not find the dress for me, I loved the service I received there. When I found "my dress", I asked if I could bring it to them for alterations and services, and they were so nice to let me! I had my dress altered by Tanis, who was amazing at what she does, and also made me a necklace and earrings to match my dress perfectly!

    Sent on 23/09/2015
  • [Private User]


    I had the worst experience at The Gown - I don't know where to start. I purchased my wedding gown off the rack in October and on the same day also placed my Mom's dress order - she will be walking me down the isle on February 14, 2015. We found a beautiful dress for my mom and ordered it in a blush pink to match the colour theme of my wedding. My mom went for her alterations appointment yesterday, Sunday, January 25th and noticed immediately that her dress was purple and not the blush pink we had requested. GREAT! 21 days before my wedding and my mother has NO DRESS!The owner, Shannon, told my mom that she could buy one of the sample dresses at full cost if she could find something on the floor because they wouldn't have time to get the proper colour in. My mom agreed to purchase the sample dress of the dress she originally ordered (the sample was black) and asked for a discount as the dress was torn and needed to be repaired, has been tried on probably a hundred times and for the simple fact that The Gown ordered the wrong colour of her dress and she will not be able to walk me down the isle in the dress we both loved. Shannon was incredibly rude and told my mom that SHE would be losing money if she were to discount the sample dress for my mom (she should be losing money, her employee ordered the wrong dress - all my mom saw on the order form was "dusty rose", the store codes mean nothing to a customer and we trusted that the sales woman ordered what we asked for - my mom even tried on a different dress in the desired pink colour, the girl confirmed to us she had ordered that colour). I told my mom to get her full deposit back and leave immediately out of principle. The Gown ordered the wrong dress and then the owner proceeded to be rude to us for their mistake. Shannon's customer service is horrific. I did not enjoy any of my experiences at this store. Shannon is a miserable woman and I will never recommend her boutique to any one.

    Sent on 26/01/2015

    The Gown's reply:

    Ms. Ivory, I have read your review. Thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. Kate, I can see that you are upset, but I am surprised about the comments on my behaviour as you were not at the store with your mom and when she left, she did not appear upset. Your mom’s dress was ordered exactly as it was requested with the correct designer, style, size and colour. This information was all included on the contract that your mom signed when she ordered her dress. We would be happy to provide you with a copy of the contract. We are transparent about the names of our designers and we use colour names, not codes, which can be meaningless to clients reviewing their contracts. The contract says that the dress was to be ordered in Dusty Rose not Blush. As it was signed and paid for as such, it was ordered as such. When your mom was here to pick up her dress and upset about the colour, we tried to give her options, as you mentioned, to help her. One of our solutions was to sell her our sample. We do not usually sell our samples as they are kept in store to show to all our clients, however because your wedding is soon, we offered it to her as a favour. The dress is clean and in excellent repair except for one tack which our tailor could have fixed on the spot at no charge. Your mom demanded a discount for our sample dress because it is black, not in bad repair. I am sorry if she thought I was rude for not offering her a discount. The signed contract also says that all special orders are final. We do not issue refunds because our vendors do not accept returns on special orders. However, your mom demanded a refund and we were happy to do so as it has never been our intention to upset any of our clients. When your mom left with a refund for her special order dress, we thought she was satisfied. It was not our intention that any of these solutions be perceived as rude or miserable in any way. Shannon McColl, Owner, The Gown

  • Jen and Mike Rockey/Feherty, Married on 11/10/2014

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The Gown was fabulous! all the ladies especially Danielle were so helpful and helped make our day perfect! My dress was amazing and gorgeous.

    Sent on 05/11/2014

    The Gown's reply:

    Thanks for the review Jen! Congratulations once again!

  • Erin Enns, Married on 06/09/2014

    • Quality of service:
      Good
    • Responsiveness:
      Good
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Good

    Great experience with the gown. They helped me find my perfect dress, within my budget and their alterations person was great as well. My dress ended up coming in within 3 months but the gown made the decision to send it back because it did not live up to their expectations, which was fine with me because version 2 arrived in time and looked great. Very nice Atmosphere and staff, I did not feel rushed at all and me and my bridesmaids got a nice private room to sit in.

    Sent on 20/09/2014
  • Kristy Lusk, Married on 23/08/2014

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    I had the most amazing bridal experience at The Gown. All of the ladies there are so amazing and I couldn't imagine buying my dream dress anywhere else!

    Sent on 19/12/2012

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Send an inquiry through WeddingWire and for each visit or contract with a vendor, you'll have more chances to win. Good luck! + info