The Gown

40 reviews | Newmarket (Ontario)
See Photos, Pricing and Details

Reviews for The Gown

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Response time 4.8

Awards

40

4 User photos

Order by:
  • Maude

    Maude F. · Getting married on 13/03/2022

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful dress shopping

    Just purchased my dress from here yesterday! I was so impressed with how helpful Emily was and how patient. The store is a delight and they even had a zoom hook up which meant my maid of honour in Calgary was able to be "there". Amazing selection and I really appreciated the upfrontness about what a dress would cost. So happy I went there! Thank you.

    Sent on 11/07/2021

    The Gown's reply:

    Thank you so much for your review, Maude! It means so much to me that you took the time to write about your experience. I had such a good time getting to know you during your appointment! I am so happy you found your gown. It is absolutely perfect on you! We can't wait to see photos of the big day in March!
    xo Emily
  • C

    Claire · Getting married on 30/10/2021

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Tipping consultants

    I found a great dress and the consultant I worked with was very nice. However... The Gown shouldn't ask for tips. I was floored when the cash register prompted me for a tip, floored again when the receptionist suggested I had forgotten to tip, and absolutely shocked when I was notified several months later over the phone that I had "forgotten to tip" when i went to pick up my dress. Pay your employees a decent wage, set your prices based on your profit and overhead. Tipping for a wedding dress is ridiculous.

    Sent on 13/09/2021

    The Gown's reply:

    Hi Claire,
    Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so sorry that you felt that way. It is never our intention to make our brides feel uncomfortable. Your business means so much to us and we would never want you to feel pressured.
    We pride ourselves in our customer care, and only offer a tip option on the machine because we have had so many brides ask about whether they can tip their stylists for their service. It is not a mandatory option and can be skipped in the payment process, however this way, the brides that want to leave something as a thank you, are able to, a bit more discreetly. Our team does not rely on or expect tips, but they are always appreciated.
    We apologize if this made you feel uncomfortable. We want you to be so happy with your purchase and experience. If there is anything we can do, please reach out to us at 289-466-1010. We would be happy to help.
  • Emily

    Emily P. · Married on 04/09/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is What Great Customer Service Looks Like

    I cannot praise the staff at The Gown highly enough for their creative COVID-19 service! I was dress shopping during the lockdown and was unable to shop in-store. While this wasn't ideal, The Gown did all they could to make sure that I could still find the perfect dress. I had my bridal consultation over Zoom, and I then brought home my favourite dresses to try on while meeting with a consultant virtually. It was almost as seamless as if I had shopped in-store. A fantastic experience.

    Sent on 21/09/2021

    The Gown's reply:

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a beautiful and thoughtful review, Emily. It means so much to us! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your At Home Bridal Experience. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of the journey and being open to finding your gown in an unconventional way. It was a joy to work with you! Wishing you all the best! We can't wait to see the photos!

    xo,
    Gown Girls
  • Emily

    Emily R. · Married on 25/06/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Exactly what I was looking for

    The ladies at the gown were wonderful and helped me find my dream dress. All of their dresses are reasonably priced and they always work within your budget! Since the pandemic hit the gown staff adapted and went virtual for their initial appointment. I loved seeing the potential dresses and videos online first and to know exactly what I would try on in store. After finding my dream dress it only took 3 months for my dress to arrive in store. All the staff made me feel important at all times. I would happily recommend this bridal boutique to anyone!

    Sent on 22/07/2021

    The Gown's reply:

    Thank you so much, Emily! Your review means so much to us. It was such a joy to help you find your gown. We wish you and your husband all the best as you start your lives together!

    xo Gown Girls
  • Megan

    Megan · Married on 12/06/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Experience!

    Could not say enough positive things about The Gown and my experience! The staff was amazing! I was worried with COVID to go through the experience but there is no need to worry at all. Their virtual meeting process helps pick out the dresses you like with further detail and meet the staff and the virtual with in-store experience allows friends and family to join you wherever they are! I am beyond happy with my experience and found my perfect dress! I recommend every bride go and see these amazing ladies at The Gown!!

    Sent on 26/08/2020
  • Michelle

    Michelle N. · Married on 15/05/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Plus Size Bride - Dream Experience!!

    Brides.... I cannot say enough amazing things about the store itself and the ladies at The Gown! As a plus sized bride, I was worried what experience I would be having at the stores. They turned out to have a wonderful selection for all sizes which made for an unforgettable experience that was stress free and wonderful!!!

    As soon as you walk in the door, you feel the warm and inviting atmosphere instantly! The store is cozy and pure bridal. They have individual and private suites for your appointments and were able to zoom call in my mom who is stuck in the states right now! It was so special to be able to have her there for my appointment and watch me say yes to the dress! She said she felt like she was in the room, it was such a special moment that I am forever grateful we were able to share together.

    All of the details starting from the sign in the room with my name on it, to the genuine excitement that the employees have for you, was so different than the two other stores I visited. There was never any pressure and they offered their genuine opinion which was so appreciated.

    I cannot recommend this store enough! If you want to feel like a beautiful, special bride, you have to visit The Gown! You will not be disappointed!

    Thank you for making my wedding dress shopping everything I ever imagined!!!! 💜💜💜

    Sent on 01/09/2020
  • Samantha

    Samantha C. · Married on 18/10/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing place in Newmarket

    Went here for my first time trying on dresses and had an amazing experience. I was put in their brand new luxury suite which comfortable held my 6 guests and myself. Everyone was so incredibly welcoming and I had an amazing personal stylist who helped me feel so welcome and gorgeous in the dresses. Since it was my first appointment, I want to keep looking but there were at least 2 dresses that perfectly fit my budget and style. I would highly recommend this place, I really can’t say enough. I was so nervous about trying on dresses because of my body insecurities and I just felt so good my whole time there - I was literally smiling for the whole 2 hours.

    Sent on 13/01/2020

    The Gown's reply:

    Samantha, thank you so much for letting us know how much you loved your appointment! This was our first day with our brand new suite! So happy to hear we exceeded you expectations! We really appreciate it!😁
  • Emily

    Emily · Married on 18/09/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Found the Dress!

    I cannot recommend The Gown enough! I had Emily as my consultant, and she was so friendly and professional! She listened to everything I said as I was trying on gowns, and helped me find the absolutely perfect dress. During COVID, Emily has been professional and kind and making sure I was kept up to date on the status of my dress. I am getting married in 2 weeks and could not be happier!

    Sent on 03/09/2020
  • Ashley

    Ashley · Married on 05/09/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing service

    Highly recommend the gown in new market! They are so friendly and give you a wonderful experience!

    Sent on 22/10/2019

    The Gown's reply:

    Thank you so much for your review Ashley! You were such a pleasure to work with, we can't wait for your dress to come in!
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.