Promises and Lace
390 Brant Street L7R 4J4 Burlington (Ontario) Map
Write a review Hired? Save

Reviews for Promises and Lace

3.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 3.6
  • Professionalism 3.4
  • Flexibility 3.8
  • Value 3.9
  • Response time 3.9

Awards

8

4 User photos

Promises and Lace 1
Promises and Lace 2
Promises and Lace 3
Promises and Lace 4
Order by:
  • VICKY

    Vicky Giang · Getting married on 30 of May of 2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Decision!

    From the moment my family and I stepped into the store, the staff at Promises and Lace were so kind, patient and accommodating. The owner Lynn was exceptionally helpful, going above and beyond to ensure I was completely satisfied and happy with my purchase. She is one of the most genuine and kindhearted people I've ever met. Their customer service and selection of dresses are amazing. So glad I came here, highly recommended!

    Sent on 08/11/2019
  • Amanda

    Amanda Stewart · Married on 19 of October of 2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent experience!

    We had a great experience wedding dress shopping here. Our stylist pulled dresses that were exactly what I thought I wanted but also pulled dressed that she thought would look good on my body type. We ended up going with one she picked! We had the option of buying off the rack to save money which was also appreciated. I got my dress altered in store and my mother also got hers altered there and both turned out perfect. Would recommend.

    Sent on 03/11/2019
  • Karen

    Karen Gore · Married on 12 of October of 2019

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    The team feels like family!

    Carole and the team at Promises and Lace made us feel like family from the moment we walked in the door. Anna (our seamstress) worked tirelessly to ensure my dress was pictured perfect and just how I wanted it. This team will do what’s needed to ensure you find your perfect dress and you are happy!!

    The only issue we ran into was with the owner (Lynn) as there seemed to be a miscommunication with the staff who ensured me my dress would be in by July, when truly the delivery date was over a month later. Everything worked out but I was made to feel like I was in the wrong and that’s stressful as a bride who’s 6 weeks out from her wedding with zero communication from the owner as to status.

    Promises and Lace 5
    Promises and Lace 6
    Promises and Lace 7
    Sent on 19/10/2019
  • J

    Jill · Married on 05 of September of 2019

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Rude and pretentious

    I brought in a headpiece from another store to try on with a dress, it was thrown around and uncared for my the sales associates, I had to untangle all the snags they put in it. Looking for a dress they were rude and acted like it was a burden to be helping me. I highly do not recommend this store. Unless your spending +++money or buying multiple dresses your not good enough to shop here.

    Sent on 05/09/2019
  • J

    Julia Barr · Married on 27 of October of 2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Exceptional experience ( amazing staff)

    oWhat can I say to express the joy and profoundly wonderful experience we had while seeking out not 1 but 2 Wedding Dresses for a ceremony both in Italy and in Niagara On The Lake! Carol from the get go was most knowledgeable, fun, honest and totally professional. Every step of the process was a pleasant and memorable time spent. Carol and the owner Lynn's whole focus was on listening to what was needed and with no pressure. Each dress was very different and pricing very competitive. we found that we were always looking forward to seeing Carol and Lynn when we had an appointment. At Promises & Lace they know their stuff and are extremely positive, helpful and most importantly "REAL"! In fact we plan to stop by close to Christmas for a "catch up" visit. If you are getting married and want a truly fantastic experience with all the bells & whistles.....then make an appointment with Promises and Lace.....they made the difference!!!

    Sent on 28/11/2018
  • A

    Anonymous · Married on 30 of September of 2018

    2.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    a stressful experience

    The purchasing of my dress for my wedding was a fine experience. I would say I have no issues with that. BUT that could be because I found THE dress downtown and wanted to purchase closer to home, so I came to the store with a purpose.

    Although this could seem somewhat unreasonable, I had an absolute struggle of a time with having my alterations done at P&L. They were painful and extremely frustrating. No one would listen to me, the dress was much too big when I picked it up and even bigger on my wedding day somehow? I eventually threw in the towel since I was treated by staff like I didn’t know what I was looking at.... even though not ONCE did anyone look up the gallery of how the dress looked on the designers website. And no one would listen to my requests or inquiries on how I wanted to look in the dress ...
    I’m no model by any means; but there are seams and natural lines that are able to be transposed to other body types!
    It was one of the worst experiences during the wedding process and caused extreme levels of stress and anxiety knowing I would feel like trash in my dress given that the fit was unflattering and unjust to the total vision I had for the big day.

    Ladies, I would say go ahead and buy your dress there if the price is right but if you have an actual shape to you (hourglass, pear, whatever ... I would caution you doing your alterations at P&L since there is no level of collaboration and they really just want to raise a hem & cut some straps - they will avoid any monumental adjustments hence why my dress looked... MEH on my big day.

    Sent on 15/10/2018
  • Lisa

    Lisa Stevenson · Married on 15 of September of 2018

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Unfriendly & Rude

    My soon to be mother-in law was treated with disrespect and rudely. The sales staff openly commented on our heritage, culture and race.

    The prices were competitive and there was a large selection. However the service was inexcusable and shocking.

    Thumbs Down.


    Sent on 12/03/2018
  • Chantal

    Chantal Seguin · Married on 15 of September of 2018

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Easy Process for Your Bridesmaids

    3 of my bridesmaids and my lovely mom ordered their dresses for our wedding from Promises and Lace. They had a nice area for us to try on dresses together. Both of the ladies were there to help us wit h whatever we needed. Only heads up we would give is that there are only 2 change rooms. That's the only thing! Not a downfall just so those with many bridesmaids know :). Overall a great experience.

    Promises and Lace 8
    Sent on 05/11/2018
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.