Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Nyquest Entertainment

Nyquest Entertainment

Nyquest Entertainment

Edmonton, Alberta
5.0 out of 5 rating, 220 reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
5.0 out of 5 rating
220 reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

220
  • V
    Victoria B. Sent on 15/07/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great party/experience

    Jordan and Morgan were such a pleasure to work with! Jordan was so helpful with the planning, he is so knowledgeable about weddings and gave us a lot of really great advice! Morgan was our DJ for the day and he was so fun and kept the party going all night! He also helped us and did some emcee’ing and did such a good job. We got so many complements on the music, and the dance floor was full all the way till 2am! We would strongly recommend them to anyone looking for DJ services.
  • B
    Brooke H. Sent on 15/07/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Day Banger!

    We had the pleasure of having Tariq as our dj for our day and he absolutely knocked it out of the park! He was professional yet fun and knew how to get everyone on the dance floor at least once throughout the night:) I would highly recommend them to anyone who has a special day coming up.
  • Nicole
    Nicole Sent on 15/07/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Keeps Everyone Dancing

    Jordan was such a dream to work with! He was so incredibly helpful throughout the whole process. He was so good at reading the crowd and kept everyone dancing all night, we told him we wanted it to feel like a late 2000/early 2010s middle school dance and he totally hit the vibe
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Rachel
    Rachel B. Sent on 10/07/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Worth every single penny! Best DJ around.

    We booked with Jordan/Nyquest Entertainment on a recommendation from my cousin, who also used him for their beautiful wedding. By far the BEST decision we made! From the very start, he was great to work with. Jordan is professional, fun, timely, organized, attentive, and made the process so easy. We would 100% recommend DJ Nyquest and Jordan to anyone looking for a DJ. 10/10! Big thanks to Jordan and the team! :)
  • B
    Brynn Sent on 09/07/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Jordan is amazing!!!!

    Jordan really goes above & beyond for your big day. His attention to detail is phenomenal, and he ensures the whole day goes smooth. You receive a lot more than DJ services form Jordan - he really works with you on the flow of your day, MC notes, overall timeline, ETC. I would recommend him 100000X!
  • S
    Sandra Sent on 03/07/2024
    2.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    Roller Coaster Wedding Day - 06/22/2024

    I was really hoping to be leaving a 5 star raving review however I can not do so in good conscience nor does this vendor deserve it with the surplus of mistakes made on our wedding day. We booked nyquest nearly a year and a half in advance with such high hopes and we could not have been more disappointed. It was the only DJ company on our list and though Jordan was booked for our date he assured us that Vernon who ended up being our DJ is just as amazing as he is. From the start of the day everything went wrong and each time something went right another error occurred making for a roller coaster of a day for us. I truly regret booking and am left feeling like we wasted our money on services that could have been better provided by our MC’s, a family member, or even a plug in playlist. We spent so much time and effort choosing our songs, filling out forms, and having multiple meetings to ensure that everything went smoothly and it honestly felt like our big day had no importance to Nyquest based on the output. It truly breaks my heart to see all these positive reviews and know that we had full trust in this vendor and they utterly failed us over and over again on one of the most important days of our lives. It was very clear that no time was taken to review our song choices prior to wedding day nor the less matched up to the notes we filled out and everything we went over in meetings. I don’t know how many times I’ve cried thinking about how avoidable each mistake was with more care and preparation. Not to mention how embarrassed we feel as we boasted about how wonderful our DJ would be to friends and family and after all that happened we would not recommend or use nyquest again. It’s an absolute shame that this is how we have to remember our day and that this vendor ruined so many parts of our day. It’s stressful enough planning a wedding, you should not have to triple check or hand hold anyone you hire. This was not a birthday party, school dance, or just any event … it was our wedding day and at best we got 30% of the services we anticipated and paid for.

    Here’s what went wrong and the few things that went right.

    All of our songs for the processional and recessional of the wedding ceremony were played on repeat prior to the actual wedding ceremony. This completely takes away from the ceremony itself with guests already hearing our songs nor the less ruined my fiancé and I’s first touch as that’s what I could hear as I walked out to meet him and was the first thing I said to him nearly in tears asking why they are playing all our songs. We also had video so I imagine I don’t look impressed in that special moment. I was told that the DJ settings were not adjusted according, not sure how that occurred and understand things happen but had Vernon known our songs by simply listening to them prior to the wedding he would have known those ones should not be playing at that time. This tells us that nothing was actually reviewed prior to our wedding to ensure quality of service and accuracy on the day of.

    My fiancé was suppose to walk out to John legend - All of Me with words - instead the instrumental version was played which completely threw him off and his timing for walking down the aisle as we rehearsed to the version with words. Nor the less was not the song he wanted for his entrance.

    I recorded a special clip for my fiancé that was edited into the beginning of my entrance song for walking down the aisle. This was so special to me and I would have loved to see my fiancé and our guests reactions but this moment was taken from me as this version was not played. Instead the original song was played. My heart dropped right before walking down the aisle knowing that moment was not what I wanted it to be, the coordinator did not even have time to adjust my train or my veil due to panic and again the timing for coming out to the song was off nor the less my entire demeanour for something I literally dreamed of my entire life and planned 19 months for. My fiancé could even tell something was off when I got to the alter and that’s all that what was running through my head as I walked up so it completely took away from looking at him/his reaction and being in that moment. Side note - Had this version been played it would have been heard by guests while being seated due to the first error made.

    We had a spotlight dance to the correct version of my walking down song during reception which was nice however it was not explained as to why this being done… so guests were confused and did not even hear the clip as it was played when guests were not even seated or just coming back from getting dessert/drinks so obviously it was not the same. All Vernon said is it’s time for a special spotlight dance. I would have appreciated more background and taking accountability for the mistake by saying the bride has something very special for the groom, it was not included in the ceremony so they will be doing a spotlight dance.

    The DJ was also setup behind my bridal party/behind the alter area…. Not sure why this was the spot placement he chose. We just got our wedding ceremony video back and noticed that he’s in the background of the entire thing. I’m just praying this is not the case for our photos.

    The correct songs were played for the wedding party walking down, the signing, walking back down the aisle, and for the champagne toast. Given all guests already heard the entire playlist our song choices did not feel very special by that time. We made a few playlists for parts of the day that I want to think we’re actually used/played.

    We did receive a refund for the ceremony however that does not change what happened and it affecting our day from the very beginning of it basically until the end. I feel so robbed of all the moments I thought I would have. I was so calm and ready for our day and just felt like a bridezilla complaining nearly all day and still to this day because of these blunders. There were more things that went wrong than right so we don’t feel that’s sufficient to the severity of the situation considering the issues that continued to occur during reception onward. What we paid and the services we got, I will disagree with all other reviews and say it was not worth every penny having our day ruined. I’m still so bothered because these were not minor mistakes and it was one thing after another which was that worst part. We would move on from what happened and then something else occurred, these mistakes all could have been avoided but this company chose not to take time to review any of the information provided so I guess our wedding did not matter to them.

    As for the reception

    Our bridesmaids/groomsman and our Mr. & Mrs. Entrances went well overall. However the groomsman song was suppose to be the clean version of we dem boyz, it was not. The other two songs were played correctly.

    For our first dance we paid for lessons and had a cute choreographed dance routine for Cal - Dressed up in white. The wrong version of the song was played… It was the music video version not the actual song played which sounds completely different (more acoustic), has a very long intro and various sound effects like people laughing/cheering and a dog barking within the song. We thought it was the wrong song when it came on and made for a confusing/slightly embarrassing moment of is this the right song in front of everyone… before going on the dance floor. You would think hiring a professional that this would not happen, I would have rather had someone press a button on a playlist and get it right. Vernon wasn't even certain if it was the right song… so I think that speaks for itself that the list we had prepared was not actually reviewed/ran through or this error would have been caught. This obviously took away from another special moment, slightly embarrassed/threw us off and we had video so you can just see my expression change to disappointment and me saying omg it’s the wrong version of our song. All these mistakes really defeated the video services that we had.

    We had a list of do not play songs and a few of these were still played. Highway to Hell was one. We also had a list of play these songs and I don’t recall a single one being played. Even the genres of music that we listed to be played were not incorporated. I love country and there were no country songs played…. I even had guests say to me that they were surprised that there was no country and that the music was very generic wedding music. I really wish we just made our own playlist for the dance portion of the night. I wanted music that spoke to who we are and that did not happen. I don’t have time on my wedding day to be monitoring vendors we hire to do what they specialize in. I also had someone mention that the DJ did not know how to read a room, Bloodhound Gang was playing with two little children on the dance floor. Even the song we chose as the last one of the night was not played. We may as well have not wasted time and effort on filling out nyquests forms because majority of the songs/details were not played/followed or the wrong versions were played.

    I was told by multiple guests that song requests were not being taken for some reason, or if they were taken they were told it would play later and never did. I get that our venue was in the country and service may have been spotty but I would think the DJ would come prepared with a variety of up to date music. I requested Morgan Wallen - I had some help and they did not have that song and blamed wifi on why it could not be added/played. Side note that I had no issues with wifi myself so I do feel there were a lot of excuses but in reality it was just lack of preparation and effort.

    I dedicated my bouquet to my mother instead of a bouquet toss and had a beautiful speech for it that brought us both to tears. The song I picked to play at that time was completely missed/not played.

    For our Photo Booth the tripod stand broke in setup so it was placed on a table instead which isn't what we hoped for looks wise but worked fine. The attendant was great and our printed photos looked very nice. However guests did not receive their copies to SMS even though they all gave contact numbers. Not sure what happened there but I have to send these out myself to guests… which is something I should not have to do as it was included in the services we paid for.

    The dancing on a cloud effect for our first dance was fine, our cake cutting song was correct, music was playing all night (even if it wasn’t music we wanted plated), and some announcements were made. Jordan was wonderful for communicating with leading up to the wedding. Very quick to respond, professional and organized in meetings however I feel that he should have double checked Vernon’s list before sending him out or perhaps our meetings should have been with Vernon or all of us not just him as it did not seem like they were on the same page at all. Vernon is a great guy but he did not come in prepared and perhaps the first mistake of the day took him for a loop and caused a snowball of further mistakes for the rest of the event because he was not successful in meeting the quality standard of what was expected.

    All in all we made the best of our day, what else is our choice on that day but there were so many issues that looking back I can’t say this experience was positive and we give it a 3 out of 10 score for output.
  • C
    Caitlin V. Sent on 28/06/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Experience!

    Words can't express how incredible Jordan was for our wedding day! He was so helpful through the entire process, provided advice, and was so accommodating with any adjustments we had. He helped to make our wedding day absolutely perfect!! During the dance, he read the crowd and the music was ON POINT! He went over and above. We couldn't have asked for a better experience.
  • H
    Hannah K. Sent on 25/06/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Would recommend to a friend!

    Jordan and Dwayne were awesome! Jordan answered any questions that we may have and helped us by providing feedback and suggestions for us which I found extremely helpful! Dwayne was our DJ for our wedding and he was amazing! 10/10 would recommend!
  • Jessica
    Jessica A. Sent on 24/06/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Made the party happen!

    Jordan is incredibly knowledgeable and great at what he does. He had tons of outlines and programs available for my reference when I had no idea what I was doing and floundering. I found him to be so comforting in what he knew and his confidence in doing it. He made me feel a lot more calm and less overwhelmed during the planning process! Then on the day of the wedding he read the room, got the party going and was absolutely fantastic! We got cold sparklers, and the photobooth as additions and they were definitely worth every penny. Such a memorable night!!
  • B
    Brooklyn D. Sent on 24/06/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Ceremony and Reception Review

    I truly cannot recommend Jordan, Morgan and NyQuest entertainment enough. Jordan made sure everything leading up to our day was perfect. His attention to detail is second to none, and I truly did not have to worry about one thing the day of, I just knew it was handled. Jordan even went as far to share timeline and emcee note examples with us to help make our planning that much easier! Morgan was our DJ for our actual wedding day and was very kind to all of our guests and did such a good job of reading the room. Us and our guests had the best time on the dance floor. If you need a DJ for your wedding, NyQuest Entertainment should be the one
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message