Divinity DJs

19 reviews | Edmonton (Alberta)
See Photos, Pricing and Details

Reviews for Divinity DJs

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Response time 5.0

Awards

19

2 User photos

Order by:
  • Jennifer

    Jennifer G. 路 Married on 24/09/2021

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fun and easy

    Never got annoyed with my million questions, was very prepared and made sure we were too. Personable, professional, and fun! Was able to play music based off the crowd and situation perfectly. Highly recommend! Photo booth was AWESOME!

    Sent on 03/10/2021
  • Shalisa

    Shalisa P. 路 Married on 03/09/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best ever!

    From day one when I booked Divinity Djs they completely blew me away! They are extremely organized and made the planning process very easy and personable. My guests did NOT want to go home at the end of the night..that is how amazing Jeremy was. The photobooth was also a HUGE hit. Just an overall fantastic night 馃コ

    Sent on 08/09/2021

    Divinity DJs's reply:

    Thank you Shalisa, I appreciate the warm comments. Hope you have a wonderful day and make sure to keep in touch.
  • A

    Alyssa W. 路 Married on 24/07/2021

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Wedding DJ

    We hired divinity for our wedding before covid and they were very helpful when we changed the date to this year which we greatly appreciate. This was the only positive as we had many issues with our DJ the day of our wedding...

    Ceremony: we paid $300 extra for him to bring sound equipment and dj the ceremony and cocktail hour. I had printed off songs and timings for him since he was not at the rehearsal but he still didnt stop playing the welcome background music when he was supposed to to cue the groomsmen to come out. My MC was told to inform the dj that equipment should be set up to ensure the speakers were placed off the stage and not in thr pictures - this did not happen and they ended up being in all of our pictures at the alter. But worst of all? We paid $300 extra for the use of his equipment and when my father picked up the microphone to start the ceremony the mic started making awful feedback sounds extremely loud to the point where he had to shut it off and we did our ceremony WITH NO AMPLIFICATION so only 10 out of the 100+ people at our ceremony couldnt hear anything that was said for the entire ceremony!!!

    Cocktail hour: I arrived to cocktail hour to see my dj sitting on a chair and no music playing. I was busy with family pictures and part way through the cocktail hour he begin playing music inside the reception venue and never ended up playing any music outside even though we paid for cocktail hour music and even spoke to him on the phone days before about this and he knew exactly what we were looking for.

    Reception: he set up his equipment in our reception venue and the same issue happened when my MC used his equipment - extremely loud and awful feedback to the point he couldnt even stand at the mc pulpit to do his speaking.聽 We ended up having to do our speeches in front of our cake at the other end of the stage to avoid the feedback which looked absolutely awful in our pictures as we had decorated the puplit for this purpose.

    He was instructed to invite everyone to join our first dance 2 minutes in and a specific song request from my husband to be the next song played after - instead, at 2 minutes he shut our first dance song off and started playing my husbands requested absolutely ruining our first dance as we stood there completely confused as to what was going on.

    To top it off, i had been very specific about what to play/not to play - we were in a rustic venue but knew that most of our guests didnt know line dancing/two stepping so i specifically asked for dance music. He ended up playing so many songs that no one knew the dances to that our dance floor was completely empty an hour after it began so my husband and i came back from sunset photos to an empty dancefloor. He then proceeded to play hip hop music for every song with awful fading into the next song and i heard nothing about complaints all night. We eneded up having an empty venue meer hours after the dance started because everyone said they werent into the music. At this point i asked him to switch things up which he did but by then we had 20 people left in the venue and i just cared about dancing with who was left.

    I know people will wonder why I didnt intervene before and honestly those are probably people that haven't been a bride because I honestly had no time to do anything about it or knew what was going on until it was too late as I was talking to people outside and getting outdoor photos taken and honestly I didnt hire a professional and soend time telling him our needs just to babysit him on my wedding day.

    I do believe he had the best of intentions but if you arent going to listen to what the bride and groom have decided based on their knowledge of the guest list and plan to use intuition instead, he should've been able to see that everyone wasnt into the music and navigated accordingly.

    Sent on 09/08/2021

    Divinity DJs's reply:

    Hi Alyssa,

    Sorry to hear about your experience. Our Customer Happiness team will contact you to find out more.
  • C

    Cheryl 路 Married on 10/07/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great music, great wedding!

    Sam our DJ made our day wonderful! We are very thankful that Sam was so accommodating in helping us out with our Covid-19 minimony.
    Please consider Divinty DJs for your special event.

    Sent on 14/07/2020
  • Charity

    Charity 路 Married on 12/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing DJ and Emcee

    Divinity DJs is absolutely wonderful if you want an amazing wedding!
    Sam our DJ and owner of the company has so much knowledge and insight through his experience with weddings, various events and most importantly people. You will definitely be in good hands.

    When our plans changed from a destination wedding to a local wedding we had a short timeframe to pick our vendors. I believe at that time he said we had the record of the shortest time to book a dj (about 3-4 weeks before the day of), yet with luck in August (the luck of being a weekday) we had them book and Sam as our DJ. Rule of Thumb - for less stress book months in advance.

    We had also a problem of not having an Emcee but he was able to take the role with ease. Even though he did not know us very well (and told our guests that fact) it felt he was an old friend who had that outgoing personality perfect for the job.

    He knew when to cut in, move on, tell a story and fill the awkward void during the reception. He was able to adjust when the speeches were too long and the timeframe wasn't as planned. Games and questions that were asked to us, the bridal party and our guests were funny and smart. He saw that my dress was awkwardly to large to move to the podium from where I was sitting and he quickly just gave me the mike to say my words. He saw what was needed to be done and did it knowingly without needing any guidance or hints. That is truly being a pro at what you do.

    The music at the ceremony and reception was clear and the sound was crisp. All the specific songs played on time without a hitch. He picked great music when the dance floor opened up. He chose a great placement for the Photo Booth (next to the dance floor) which was loved by all. And he provided a wonderfully large screen for our slideshow. The equipment and services impeccable.

    It may be understated but I want to make it clear, he does have that understanding to work a crowd through music and speech and he has passion for it. It is an art and he has made it one of his.

    He knows these events are not just another event but an event that matters very much to the people he does it for and the people who are invited to them.

    Thank you Sam from Tony and I for making our wedding forever memorable!

    Sent on 12/12/2019
  • Pieter

    Pieter H. 路 Married on 06/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome DJ!!

    Sam was a wonderful business owner to work with. He cared about how the service he provides makes people feel and really wants to connect. It was a pleasure having him run our music, lights, and photobooth for us! Not only that he gave us an amazing platform to do our slideshow on

    Sent on 13/08/2019
  • K

    Karla 路 Married on 22/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best DJ ever!

    Jeremy was our DJ and he was amazing. He kept the party going and had the dance floor bumpin鈥 till 1:30. He was also incredibly nice and super easy to work with. Just a stand up guy

    Sent on 16/07/2019
  • Krystie

    Krystie J. 路 Married on 26/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Was the cherry on top of a perfect night

    Sam with Divinity DJ's was one of the best wedding vendors to work with. He was fantastic at replying quickly to all my questions over the 6 month period from booking until the day of our wedding. He always answered all my questions and provided helpful information. The day of, I didn't have anything specific planned, I just wanted to ensure the guests were engaged and had a good time. He brought a kissing wheel, played a shoe game, did another fun game for the groom and did some awesome table trivia to select tables to go up to the buffet line. He played all the songs I requested and didn't play the ones I had asked not to be played. He kept the crowd entertained all night and everyone had a blast in the photo-booth! I cannot more highly recommend Sam and Divinity DJs. They are fabulous and will make sure your night in unforgettable! Thanks again!

    Sent on 09/09/2018
  • J

    Jeremy 路 Married on 18/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The DJ to hire when it comes to your wedding!

    DJ A-SLAM is the hands down one of the BEST DJ's we've ever had and no doubt did he rock our wedding party. My wife and I are big 90's throwback fans and DJ A-Slam teared the dance floor with our favourite jams. Everyone had a great time at the wedding and we loved how he incorporated the dance battle near the end. In addition, I want to thank him so much for helping us make the wedding as memorable as possible by helping me perform a surprise performance for my wife and crowd. From the beginning to end, Hussein was responsive and action orientated when it came to our requests. He had all the qualities of a great person - friendly, sincere, and trustworthy. The day couldn't of been perfect without him and I HIGHLY recommend you hire Divinity DJs for our wedding!

    Sent on 25/08/2018
  • B

    Allison 路 Married on 11/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Divinity DJ's review from our wedding

    My wife and I booked a Divinity DJ鈥檚 package for our wedding, which included an interactive DJ, the light up dance floor, the 3D pixel tube lighting, and the photo booth. We were incredibly happy with everything Divinity DJ鈥檚 provided, and were extremely happy we made the choice to hire them for our wedding. They were awesome leading up to the wedding and great on our wedding day.
    Sam sold us the premium package and he was the person we were in contact with leading up to our wedding day. Sam was really informative and enthusiastic about Divinity DJ's cool new features and world-class DJ's, but he never pressured us into purchasing anything. He was super friendly and responded to our emails very quickly, which made planning our wedding much easier.
    The light up dance floor and the 3D pixel tube lighting are definitely worth the extra money. These kept our guests on the dance floor; even the people we weren鈥檛 used to seeing out there. The photo booth Divinity DJ's provided was great, it was being used all night. Also, the program they provided for slideshows made it easy to add some style to presenting your pictures.
    My wife and I had the opportunity to see Sam DJ an event before our wedding and he was great. We talked to him and requested that he be the DJ for our wedding. Instead, Sam told us he had another DJ, Stacey, that was perfect for the type of music we wanted at our wedding. We couldn鈥檛 have been happier with Stacey, she was great as a DJ and incredibly friendly!
    Thanks Sam and Stacey!

    Sent on 16/08/2018
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.