Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Mooch: Custom Confections

Mooch: Custom Confections

Mooch: Custom Confections

Vancouver, British Columbia
4.9 out of 5 rating, 88 reviews
View more information

88 reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 88

142 User photos

  • H
    Hannah Getting married on 24/03/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Saved mothers day!

    Mooch by Megan had this amazing Mother's Day special with Rintzylee Designs. $50, you get a mini 4' cake and a card.

    First of all, Megan was perfect in all areas of communication. She got my order, responded swiftly, and easy to book.

    Secondly, she included delivery. We are in the middle of a pandemic, so it's so sweet that she is able to deliver cakes to moms that do not live with their children.

    Thirdly, this is the best part. There was a little mishap during delivery. My mother-in-law was standing outside doing her gardening while the delivery came. She took the gift thinking it was for her when it was actually for my own mother. My mother-in-law's real gift was downstairs hidden, waiting to be gifted the next day. She had already eaten half the cake when she texted us "thanks for the cake!". I didn't even know how to react but to laugh. I quickly gave Megan a call, and we were both in disbelief this had happened and we just laughed it off. I asked Megan if she is able to bake a new one and I am willing to pay for it and come pick it up. She not only said yes, but she also insisted that I did not need to pay. She was also able to complete the cake 2.5 hours early!!!

    I'm really really thankful for small local business owners like Megan. Extremely helpful and super sweet.

    Megan! Thank you for saving Mother's Day
  • A
    Ada T. Married on 20/08/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Truly goes above and beyond!

    I messaged Megan back in 2019 for my original 2020 wedding. I ended up having to postpone twice due to Covid, and finally got married in 2022. Megan was understanding, extremely flexible and there with us every step of the way. I wanted a flavour for my wedding cake that wasn't on a typical cake flavour list. You know what Megan did? She INVENTED a NEW flavour just for us.... It is now known as High Tea. She even hand painted the cake stand with a gold rim JUST to match our wedding theme.....Who does that?! Megan, that's who! She really cared about making us the wedding cake of our dreams, and she really did it. She's always super responsive and friendly!! Watching her business grow over the years have really been a pleasure. I am so proud of all of her accomplishments! If you're reading this, look no further - Book Mooch asap!
  • Lindsay
    Lindsay Married on 12/08/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Mooch was amazing!

    The cake was not only beautiful but delicious! Megan was amazing with all the changes of dates etc. with COVID. We had to postpone twice! But then we decided to do go ahead with a small family wedding this year and she created something very special for us. It gave our "elopement" a more special and traditional feel. We can't wait to see what she comes up with next for our vow renewal and hopefully big celebration next year!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • D
    Devon K. Married on 06/08/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding cake delivered to Squamish

    Megan was fabulous throughout the whole process of ordering the cake! She delivered it to our venue (a children's camp near Squamish) down a bumpy logging road. The cake tasted and looked amazing and she added beautiful florals to the cake as well. We highly recommend Megan!
  • Ashley
    Ashley A. Married on 22/05/2022
    1.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    The only let down of our wedding : Not what we asked for even slightly

    This review hurts to write. I had been following Megan on Instagram since we booked her in 2020. We had specifically told her it was a rustic wedding and the one thing my fiancé wanted from our three layer classic cake was a layer that looked like wood and that had our initials carved in them.

    A couple of days before the wedding Megan wanted more money for a stand. I understand that her pricing had changed since 2020 but the last thing you need is another cost for something you’d already paid for.

    A few weeks before the wedding she wanted to change the look from the requested succulents down the side to berries and flowers . We again said no and reminded her of our conversation. It was the third time I had to send her screen shots of our conversations / or payment to remind her of our vision . I figured it was just time that had past.

    We decided not to pay her fee of another $100 for the stand as we already had paid $40 for a stand so we said we would use our own as she doesn’t really have rustic stands and I scrambled to do that.

    The day of, the cake arrived and I asked the photographer to take a picture of our initials. She came back and told me that she couldn’t really make it out very well and that she didn’t really see the succulents either when I asked her how it looked.

    This cake looked like I had done it myself. It looked nothing like her Instagram cakes. Or our many inspirational photos. It had TINY flowers around it and instead of a wood looking tied it was solid all white and it looked like a kid or one of the guests had quickly drawn a heart. You couldn’t see our initials. We didn’t even bother doing a fancy photo with it as a result . It was a $500 cake and we had nothing but a hassle for a cake that looked cheap and didn’t fit our theme.

    I expressed my issue with the cake and kindly said that I felt our cake was an afterthought . I told her that what we paid for and what we got didn’t match. She only then gave back the money for the stand we didn’t use and she basically blamed us for the reason the cake wasn’t well done and said that it was a learning experience with regards to the initials not showing up.

    She made no effort to even make anything better. She didn’t seem to underhand that we actually had a detail photo planned for this and had paid a premium for a good cake not just a random white cake with cheap flowers on it.

    I would never recommend her and I was actually really a supporter of her based on her social media and photos.

    Complete disappointment

    Mooch: Custom Confections's reply:

    Dear Ashley,
    I put my all into each and every cake, I want my clients to be happy. To hear that you are unhappy with something I created really cuts deep and makes me feel terrible. I created a design based on the inspiration images I was sent and that both parties have had access to since 2020. I have to trust that the inspiration images and written description that has been seen by the client is accurate. It has been agreed on by both parties via email that in all the inspiration images, the wood design was not included for my reference. Unfortunately the cake that you had asked for was not the cake you had in mind. I will agree, now that I have seen the inspiration photo (sent today) that the wood grain you had in mind was not the same. Unless I am asked for my professional opinion on a design, I do not feel it is my place to question a client’s wishes. I was informed that the design was to be an all white cake- and I even asked to clarify if that meant white on white for the carved wood aspect, this was approved design wise by both you and the groom.
    Please let me clarify, the lesson I learned from this was that a white on white wood grain is subtle in design- not that it is invisible or doesn’t show up at all; the texture is there. The lesson isn’t that this is a bad design, the lesson is to be very clear with the client that this is the effect they are looking for as some clients do want a subtle design. The RD + AA was carved in a heart, as seen in the images I took of the cake and sent your way.

    In regards to the cake stand, it was a $100 deposit that would be returned in full once the stand was returned the following day.

    I know that no monetary value can be put on such a special day such as your wedding day and that nothing can turn back the clocks to change the middle tier of this cake. I apologize that I was not able to give you the cake of your dreams. I understand that you feel upset over the difference in the design you sent me today and the notes I had from before your wedding, however I hope that the other wonderful memories of your wedding day overshadow a cake. I wish you and Ryan all the happiness in the world as you begin your life together.
  • Stephanie
    Stephanie G. Married on 15/05/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Mini elopement cake!

    I found Mooch by Megan on here and Instagram, and loved her mini-cake idea! Our wedding plans had changed this year and we ended up going with a small/intimate elopement. I was unsure about if we needed a cake, but the mini-cake option fit so well we had to do it. Communication was easy, as well as contactless pickup. It was absolutely delicious and super pretty. Thanks so much again!

    Mooch: Custom Confections's reply:

    Thank you for the lovely review, Stephanie! It was such an honour to be part of your elopement, thank you for choosing Mooch. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us, desserts should always be a fun experience!
  • K
    Katherine M. Married on 16/04/2022
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Megan was so responsive and accommodating to help us create a cake for a fairly last minute wedding reception dinner. We were so happy with Megan.

    I strongly recommend working with Megan for your wedding! She was so responsive and friendly. The cake she made for us was so elegant and tasted absolutely delicious (everyone at the event commented on the strawberry vanilla flavour!). We were so happy with how it turned out.
  • A
    Andrew M. Married on 09/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Cake Flavour

    The 3 tier mini cake was delicious and tasted so fresh. Everyone at our wedding (90 guests) enjoyed the cake and kept asking where we got it. I would use Mooch again in a heartbeat.
  • A
    Alice J. Married on 15/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Mooch makes cakes that are not only beautiful but also tastes great.

    If you are unsure what you want for your wedding cake just scroll through Megan’s Instagram page and you are sure to get some inspirations!
  • Elissa
    Elissa M. Married on 01/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful and delicious!

    I ordered my wedding cake from Megan and couldn't be happier. The was perfect and tasted as good as it looked! I also really appreciated how Megan was very responsive and accommodating during the time I was planning my wedding. I would absolutely recommend her services!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message