Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Westwood Plateau Golf and Country Club

Westwood Plateau Golf and Country Club

Westwood Plateau Golf and Country Club

Coquitlam, British Columbia
4.7 out of 5 rating, 32 reviews
View more information

32 reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.7 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 32

8 User photos

  • Frey
    Frey P. Married on 29/05/2022
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our day at Westwood

    Our wedding was at Westwood Plateau golf course, both ceremony and reception. We did have a great day - some things could have been better though.

    Our day of coordinators were very unprofessional, they were unorganized and had a different itinerary that they followed. They wanted us to push the speeches to fill time before dinner. They were also very unreliable at our rehearsal.
    Communication from the venue could have been better, the banquet/ special event manager is out of the office a lot, making asking questions a bit difficult at times.

    Overall though, we still had the day of our dreams and we are happy with how it turned out! Guests loved the food and setting.

    Westwood Plateau Golf and Country Club's reply:

    Hello Freya,

    Thank you very much for your response.

    First, we'd like to say you we are so pleased to hear that you were happy with the overall turnout of your wedding.

    With this being said, I apologize that we failed to exceed your expectations the weekend of your wedding and want you to know that we have followed up with the entire team working that evening to share your valid concerns and discuss ways to avoid similar situations in future.

    We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. While it can be difficult to know when we’ve missed the mark on a guest’s experience, its integral to the continued success of our business.

    Wishing you all the best in the future.

    The Special Events Department at Westwood Plateau
  • NA
    Anonymous Married on 05/05/2022
    2.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue, good food, but poor event management

    The venue is beautiful and our day of coordinator was great! The day of coordinator seemed experienced and was very helpful. Our guests enjoyed the food and the setting very much and the night went well as planned. However, I wish the work leading up to the event was better and less stressful.
    Overall, the management of the event was very poor with slow response time, poor communication, and lack of flexibility despite the agreement stating that some conditions are negotiable. Even when committed to a deadline, the banquet personnel was always late to provide the information (and out of office a lot, which didn't help). Attention to detail was poor, with errors all over the itinerary, which made us nervous as we were 1) not sure if they didn't understand what we wanted and 2) concerned that the quality of service would translate to the quality of the event. Luckily, the event went smoothly and well. I would highly recommend the venue for events if the events team could improve their coordination, communication, and event management style.

    Westwood Plateau Golf and Country Club's reply:

    Hello Ada and Peter,

    Thank you for taking the time to detail out your experience here with us at Westwood Plateau Golf and Country Club.

    While your wedding was not the perfect day you'd hoped for, I'm glad to hear that your Day of Coordinator made the experience that much more enjoyable and that you feel as if your event went overall smoothly on the actual day.

    Please note that your concerns will be properly addressed here with my colleagues and I send my most sincere apologies that this caused you some unnecessary stress leading up to your big day.

    We thank you for your future recommendations and we will certainly strive to provide all Above and Beyond experiences across the board in the future.

    Sincerely,

    Danielle and the Special Events Department
  • K
    Kai G. Married on 27/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Flexible experience

    Had an amazing experience with them. They were very flexible during COVID comparatively to other venues I've heard were not as easy to work with, in fact, they eased all our worries and concerns when we met them for the final meeting...this was when no weddings were allowed yet and we would only know 12 days before the wedding if it would happen. They were flexible on deadlines last minute changes and everything else. Extremely lovely service as well, had our appetizers rolled up to the bridal room for our wedding party to eat. The food is amazing, hands down the best wedding venue.

    Westwood Plateau Golf and Country Club's reply:

    Thank you so very much for your kind words Kai! It was such a pleasure working with you both and we were happy to have you as our first group back post COVID. Wishing you all the best in the future and hope to see you here on the Plateau again soon.

    Danielle and the WWP Banquet Team
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • Lisa
    Lisa Married on 17/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Couldn’t have gone any better.

    Westwood is SO beautiful. Danielle and the team went above and beyond to make our day so special. There were many buffet choices at Westwood and the food was absolutely amazing. Highly recommend!!

    Westwood Plateau Golf and Country Club's reply:

    Thank you so very much Lisa!

    We were so pleased that everything worked out well for both yourself and Brandon.

    All the best to you in the future.

    Danielle & The Westwood Plateau team.
  • Trina
    Trina F. Married on 23/05/2021
    3.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Venue for Value

    The Westwood Plateau Golf & Country Club is a beautiful place for a wedding. It has everything you need, breathtaking views, and offers a lot of value. We had a small, intimate wedding there over the May Long Weekend, and it all went well on the day; however, planning with their wedding coordinator, Marlee, beforehand was not very enjoyable. Their staff works part-time, so they are not always available. They led us astray on guest counts during Covid-19 and weren't planning on letting us know we could only have 10 guests until the last minute. It wasn't until the day of the wedding that they stepped up their game. Two staff members on the day of our wedding and rehearsal are what changed it all - Madre and Janet. They made me feel so at ease, reduced my stress, and ensured everything was perfect. Because of them, I felt a lot better about the whole situation. All in all, it was a great experience, and we are glad we chose The Westwood Plateau.

    Westwood Plateau Golf and Country Club's reply:

    Hello Trina,

    Thank you for taking the time to write us a review about your experience with Westwood Plateau Golf & Country Club.

    Overall, we are happy to know that regardless of the everchanging restrictions due to Covid19 during your planning process, and the challenges and uncertainties we all have faced during the ability to host gatherings, that you had a lovely experience and that our staff were able to assist you and accommodate your needs to make it a day to remember. We truly enjoyed assisting you with the planning of your Ceremony and at every point our intention was to be able to provide you with all possibilities of what was permitted as far as the restrictions and protocols set out by the BC government and PHO at that current time.

    We wish you all the best and hope to host you again in the future!
  • L
    Lisa L. Married on 01/01/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Danielle Is The BEST!

    It has been a rough year for everyone in the events and wedding industry, especially venues. I want to praise Danielle at the WWP, who has been incredibly supportive, knowledgeable and responsive throughout the entire process for us!

    I can't even imagine the amount of time Danielle and the WWP team had to invest to read, learn and implement the ever changing rules of Covid-19. The WWP has the most detailed protocols list for their clients and I so appreciate it. It shows that the health and safety of their clients and team is their top priority.

    Unfortunately, the wedding has been postponed but I appreciate all the discussions we had with Danielle. Thank you for your time to sketch out floor plans, mock up invoices, go over menus, draft a detailed banquet event order, the list goes on ...

    Danielle, you have been a true professional through the planning process. We hope to get back into the planning soon! Thank you!
  • Jon
    Jon O. Married on 06/09/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream Wedding

    Having our wedding here was Absolutely Amazing. From the moment Marlee helped us organize and plan it all was seamless and easy. It was more than we could have dreamed off. The views and venue were breath taking. The food was phenomenal. The staff was incredibly helpful. Considering the way of the world with Covid right now, they made it all become a dream come true. If you are planning a wedding this is the best place to have it.
  • Shannon
    Shannon L. Married on 25/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream Wedding Experience

    My wedding here was absolutely sensational. Working with Marlee and Danielle to make all of the arrangements was seamless and easy.

    The day of, Madre was my coordinator and she was incredible. She took such good care of myself and my husband through the entire event.

    The food was incredible - my guests are still talking about it days later! The buffet spread was divine!

    All of the staff worked tirelessly to provide a perfect night for myself, my husband and our guests. The planning and execution was virtually stress free!
  • C
    Caroline S. Married on 12/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Venue

    The staff were amazing to work with. The food was incredible.
  • Catriona
    Catriona H. Married on 20/07/2019
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    AMAZING! Food, pictures, coordinator,

    My husband and I got married at Westwood Plateau on July 20, 2019 and had our reception in the Gallery room. It was FANTASTIC! We had 110 guests and every one of them said it was a flawless day - we have Westwood to thank for that!

    Westwood is such beautiful location and the price was right (great value). We really liked what Westwood had to offer in terms of a "wedding package". Food, onsite day of coordinator, linens, use of golf cart, some décor item rentals available, bridal room, etc. - we felt this was great value. Once we visited the venue for the first time we fell in love. We loved the picturesque setting and knew the photo opportunities at Westwood would be amazing - and we were right - the photos are beautiful!

    We loved that the ceremony backup plan room (in case of rain) was as beautiful as the outside ceremony location. We knew our wedding was going to be beautiful no matter what the weather was! As it turned out the weather was sunny so we had the ceremony outside on the lovely grass surrounded by flowers. The Gallery room itself was so lovely. It has a huge stone fireplace which got my creative juices flowing as soon as I saw it. We also fell in love with the wooden beams. The natural light in the room was heavenly. Although we got married on a super hot July day, the reception room stayed cool all day/evening. We hired a day of coordinator to display the decor items I made and purchased as Westwood does not assist with decor. Westwood staff worked very well with our vendors. The outdoor patio IS MASSIVE and undercover so nice and cool and sheltered from rain. Everyone took full advantage of the patio - it is literally almost as big as the room itself so it provides a great extra space for guests to roam.

    The food was delicious! We had heard great things about the food and we were NOT disappointed!

    On a Saturday in the height of summer there will likely be 2 weddings going on at Westwood, as there are two rooms available for rental. I never once saw the other bride in the 12 hours I was there and felt completely separate from the other wedding. In fact we forgot there was even another one happening. Westwood does a fantastic job staggering the weddings in order for each couple and their guests to have their own separate experience.

    Danielle and her team are detail orientated and are a pleasure to work with. I highly recommend Westwood Plateau Golf & Country Club as your wedding venue.
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message