The Doctor's House
21 Nashville Road L0J 1C0 Vaughan (Ontario) Map · Phone number
Write a review Hired? Save

Reviews for The Doctor's House

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.3
  • Value 4.6
  • Response time 4.5

Awards

107

81 User photos

The Doctor's House 1
The Doctor's House 2
The Doctor's House 3
The Doctor's House 4
The Doctor's House 5
+ 77
Order by:
  • Gwyneth

    Gwyneth Hodgins Married on 02/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Would definitely recommend!

    We had our wedding ceremony and reception at the Doctor's House May 2019 - we used the chapel and the Heritage and Colony rooms. We were initially attracted by the wood beams in the Heritage room and the competitive pricing (if you're willing to do a Friday winter wedding, which we were). We first met with Jessica, who showed us around and helped us decide on a day and a package, and was able to negotiate a few extras for us, since we were taking a day that was under-booked at the time. We were then told that we could visit anytime as we planned our decor, and would be contacted a couple of months before the big day to go over details with our Venue Logistics Manager.
    In the interim, we contacted the venue's in-house officiant about personalizing our ceremony, but we never heard back from him so we opted to hire someone else. He was there on the day and was very friendly and helpful in ushering.
    We also emailed the in-house organist far ahead because we wanted her to play a special piece of music not on her regular list. I got a bit anxious because she didn't reply until the week before the wedding, but when she did she was very responsive and assured us she could play the music. It's important to note, though, that only the organ is included in the chapel price. If you want a piece of music played on the keyboard instead to sound like a piano, that is an extra $50 fee.
    About 3 months before the wedding, we heard from our Logistics Manager Katy. We could not say enough good things about Katy. She was super friendly and clearly knew what she was talking about. If ever she wasn't sure about something, she assured us she would look into it and updated us as soon as she had an answer. She was incredibly detail-oriented and flexible with all our requests. After our details meeting, she was the one who continued to update our contract and information as changes were made, right up until the day before. In the week or two leading up to the wedding I must have sent her at least one email a day, sometimes more, as I got late RSVPs, changed my mind about various details, or had last minute questions. She replied to each and every one of them and kept all the details straight for us. And she never once gave me the impression that she was annoyed by me (I have no idea how I compare to other brides, so who knows, maybe I was a piece of cake!?)
    She was at our rehearsal the day before and was very calming as she directed our wedding party about where to be, how to walk and pace themselves, etc.
    On the day, she was there for our ceremony and directed everyone again, and everything went so smoothly!
    Once we got to the reception, we got so many compliments about the attentiveness and professionalism of the Doctor's House Staff. My mother-in-law uses a mobility scooter to get around and she said that the staff were so helpful with getting her to the elevator, moving furniture if it was in her way, and just generally checking in with her to see if she needed anything.
    The food was great, we met with the executive chef for our tasting and he explained the fancy new technology they use to cook the food so it doesn't spend time under a heat lamp and everything tastes fresh, even when they're serving over a hundred guests at a time. The service was a little slower than expected, but we didn't even notice until dinner was over and we realized the time - it didn't feel like we were waiting around or anything!
    We stayed in Bridal Suite 1 which was beautiful, and the housekeeper was so friendly and lovely when she came by to refresh the room in the morning.
    And the front desk staff were consistently so friendly and helpful, we always felt welcomed when we came to visit.
    The only issue we had could be quite easily resolved by putting a rope barrier or a sign or something at the bottom of the stairs indicating that it was a private event - we had several people coming upstairs from other weddings to use our washroom, even though each room has its own washrooms. My husband even intercepted a couple of ladies trying to enter the Heritage Room - maybe they were just curious and looking around? Of course the Doctor's House is not responsible for other people's guests, but putting a sign or a rope I believe would stop 90% of our bathroom crashers. (Seriously, I personally saw about 15 non-guests going into our washrooms and I was not close to the landing most of the night - our bathrooms got a bit yucky by the end of the night and I think that's because of all our extra visitors).
    Other than that though, everything was great and it doesn't change the fact that we are so happy with our choice of venue, and would 100% recommend them to others!

    Sent on 12/05/2019
  • Lesley

    Lesley · Married on 02 of November of 2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful wedding space and amazing staff

    We had our wedding at the Doctors House a couple weeks ago using their chapel for our ceremony and the reception in the Heritage Room space. The space itself is stunning! The chapel is beautiful and has so much character and the Heritage Room with the exposed wooden beams is gorgeous. The grounds are beautiful for pictures and the food was unreal, flexible with the menu and the most delicious food I’ve ever had. All the staff on the day of our wedding were fantastic, super attentive and made sure things ran smoothly. Lastly, our coordinator, Zoe - we feel so lucky to have gotten to work with her. She made sure we were happy with everything, was so quick and responsive with emails, was accommodating and so easy to work with. I would definitely recommend this venue again and again! Thank you for making our wedding so incredible!

    The Doctor's House 6
    The Doctor's House 7
    The Doctor's House 8
    Sent on 11/11/2019
  • D

    Doris Tang · Married on 22 of September of 2019

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Beautiful venue

    We had our wedding at The Heritage Room here and the room is so beautiful, especially when the string lights are set up. The food was mostly good, although the main entree (steak and chicken) fell flat. The service (waiters, floor captains, day-of coordinator) was impeccable; even when a few hiccups happened, our day-of coordinator handled it calmly and so smoothly that we didn't even notice that they weren't according to plan. The bartender was great, as was the person manning the late night station. We were lucky in that we were the only wedding booked that day so we had the whole place to ourselves for photos!

    Sent on 01/10/2019
  • Rebecca

    Rebecca · Married on 23 of August of 2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing staff, beautiful day!

    We had out wedding there end of August and had an amazing day. The staff was all fantastic, so friendly and attentive! Our wedding planner there was Savannah who did a great job:) Everyone said that there was tons of food and that the venue was gorgeous! We loved having our wedding there:)

    Sent on 10/09/2019
  • R

    Rebecca Peters · Married on 09 of August of 2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything and more!

    I had my wedding in The Great Hall at the doctors house, and it was a dream! We were blessed with wonderful family and friends present, and great food. Savannah and Paula were great and very helpful in our entire planning process and never failed to answer my 800 emails quickly and kindly! Thank you so so much, I would highly recommend this fairytale venue!

    Sent on 15/08/2019
  • Nelly

    Nelly Nashid · Married on 05 of August of 2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gorgeous Venue with Top Services

    I got married at the Doctor's House recently on August 5th, 2019. I am sooooo happy we chose this venue to have our wedding reception at. Words cannot express how grateful I am to all the staff members at the Doctor's House who made the special day so perfect! We had our wedding reception in the Country Fare which was absolutely stunning and allowed for an elegant and intimate affair! Before we even finalized booking this venue, the sales manager Joy Grenon was extremely helpful and diligently responded to every email to answer any and all questions we had. After many emails back and forth, we were assigned the logistics manager Jessica Da Silva who went above and beyond and was soo helpful and quick to answer all queries via email and phone calls. She was extremely friendly, accommodating, and detail oriented and we felt like our day was in good hands. After months of emailing back and forth, when our day finally arrived the venue was styled exactly as we requested. The food was exactly as we requested and cooked to perfection. Unlike many couples that don't have a chance to eat their food, I the bride got to try every dish and I have never tried food at a wedding that is served at the perfect temperature and is so delicious! The steak was cooked to perfection and exactly as we requested. We had many people with dietary restrictions and they were able to accommodate for them and provide alternative dishes. We had no complaints from any of our guests. People raved about the venue and said it was one of the best weddings they had ever attended! Thank you to Carm, Jessica, Joy, the bartenders, the executive chef, and all the servers for making our day so memorable! We will definitely come back to visit the restaurant in the future!

    The Doctor's House 9
    The Doctor's House 10
    The Doctor's House 11
    The Doctor's House 12
    Sent on 08/08/2019
  • Jennifer

    Jennifer Ko · Married on 04 of August of 2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Truly wonderful!

    We were married at the Doctor’s House and had our ceremony in the chapel followed by reception dinner in the Heritage Room. The venue suited our personalities and what we envisioned our wedding day to look like. It is an absolutely beautiful place for a wedding and the food was delicious! The staff were great and very accommodating to help us set up out tea ceremony. All our guests had wonderful compliments about the venue and loved celebrating our wedding day at The Doctor’s House!

    Sent on 19/08/2019
  • Emily

    Emily Nhan · Married on 27 of July of 2019

    1.6
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Terrible Service. Legit terrible.

    Let me start by saying I loved my wedding, it was honestly one of the best days of my life but it's DESPITE Doctor's House's terrible service and professionalism.

    BOOKING
    Touring and booking the DH was one of my highlights with working with them. We had Jessica Coles give us a tour and work through contract details with us and she was great. Smart, knew her stuff, efficient, and made us feel welcomed and special. It only took 1 hour with her to know that we wanted to have our wedding at the DH in the Great Hall.

    WORKING WITH THEM
    Okay here's where things got sticky. After booking, when we had questions or needed input from DH to square away other vendors we worked with Jessica because we had not been assigned a designated coordinator (we were told this person would be given to us 3 months prior to our wedding day). Jessica was not as responsive or friendly as she had been prior to us booking but she was still helpful and able to provide us with the info we needed within a few days.

    3 months prior to our wedding, we were assigned Katy Keogh as our 'coordinator'. She was super slow to respond.. slash barely every responded. Eventually after following up a few time we got an auto response that she was no longer with DH. Only because we followed up a ton of times we were made aware of this, noone reached out to let us know and assign us a new coordinator. So we reached out to DH to get a new coordinator, and were assigned Erica Mongiovi. Similar to Katy she was slow to respond, she was also likely not given the proper tools or information to do her job well because she often contradicted what other people at DH had told us, herself, and our contract. One of our biggest issues while working with Erica was she didn't seem to know the table sizes at our venue. We just needed confirmation to be able to properly plan how many guests with charger plates could fit, she provided us with varying information - often contradicting herself and other DH employees.. at this point we were also super frustrated with the level of service from DH so we reached out to their operations manager Carmelina Onofrio and gave her a rundown of all of our grievances. She quickly set up a call with us to apologize and reassure us that at that point forward, our wedding would receive immaculate service and attention from her team... this turned out not to be true.

    After a lot of frustrating back and forth on table sizes with Erica, we eventually got the same auto-response that she no longer worked at DH.. again.. no one communicated to us that she would be leaving and no one assigned us a new coordinator. After reaching out to DH again to get another coordinator (at this point, we're like 1 month out from the wedding), we were finally assigned Savannah Cassiello. First time working with Savannah was our final meeting at DH (3 weeks prior to our wedding), Savannah admitted she was new and hadn't done too many weddings at DH so she wasn't able to answer a lot of our questions which was frustrating.. our final meeting should be where all our questions got answered. She made notes and advised she would follow up with answers after our meeting.. this wasn't really the case. We ended up having to follow up on most outstanding items, luckily our wedding planner (Sloan Moss, Maguire Events & Co) was on the ball and took extensive notes during our final meeting so we could follow up on each line item.

    Savannah, similar to Katy & Erica also just didn't seem like she was equipped with the right tools to be a strong coordinator. She often didn't have answers for us, often needed following up, often needed prompting/pushing. This made us super not confident in everything she DID confirm for us, so we often times double/triple checked everything she was saying against our contract, other vendors, our wedding planner.

    Overall it all worked out in the end, and I had a beautiful wedding day.. but it was not a great experience getting there. As a bride, you hope that all the money you spend on a venue (especially one as reputable as DH) will provide you with piece of mind that the coordinators know what they're doing and have your best interest at heart.. I assure you I did not feel that way at all. As lovely as the DH space is (it's beautiful), I would not recommend it to anyone. The amount of stress and anxiety their incompetence caused was not worth it, there are a ton of beautiful venues in the GTA that I'm sure have their ducks in a row much better than DH does.

    Sent on 12/08/2019

    The Doctor's House's reply:

    Hi Emily,
    We greatly appreciate all reviews, both positive and negative. Your review outlines feedback necessary to recognize our strengths as a leader in the wedding industry and areas where we need to improve as a business.

    To date, we have made several new adjustments within our team. These adjustments are complete with having the right team members on board to provide you with The Doctor's House service and experience our guests have come to expect.

    As you know, your follow-up meeting is hosted roughly 2 month's prior to your wedding date where a member of our team meets alongside you to review your catering package, your ceremony details, floor plan and the overall details pertaining to your big day. At this point of the planning process, we strive to answer any of your questions correctly and efficiently with your best interest at heart.

    While we are recognized as a beautiful and historical landmark venue, our primary focus is to provide an outstanding event experience that defines our core team values. With that being said, it is unfortunate to read your experience on-line and would appreciate the opportunity to clarify your feedback.

    Review aside, we genuinely enjoyed working alongside you and your family on this special day.

    Regards,
    The Doctor's House
  • S

    Sheila Beals · Married on 27 of July of 2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved the Venue and our Coordinator!!

    Our wedding was stunning, and turned out magical! Our coordinator Savannah was wonderful, and I tip my hat to her because she does so much and does it so well! I highly recommend the doctors house!

    Sent on 02/08/2019
  • Ashley

    Ashley Lewington · Married on 06 of July of 2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A perfect venue for our special day

    The Doctor’s House was the first venue that we looked at when searching for venues but we instantly felt a connection to the charm and space of the venue and quickly booked our reception for the Heritage Room. Over the time that we were engaged we were able to contact the Doctor’s House and they quickly responded to any questions that emerged in the wedding planning process. They also completely updated and renovated the colony and heritage room prior to our wedding which was an additional plus! Our guests all enjoyed the food and the staff were attentive throughout the entire event, Our venue logistics coordinators were flexible and helped the day run smoothly and for our vision to come to life. The grounds were also a perfect background for our wedding photos!

    Sent on 19/08/2019
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.