The Doctor's House

123 reviews | Vaughan (Ontario)
See Photos, Pricing and Details

Reviews for The Doctor's House

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.2
  • Value 4.6
  • Response time 4.5

Awards

123

97 User photos

Order by:
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 02/10/2020

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Doctors House made our dream wedding a reality!

    Everything about our wedding turned out more perfect than we could’ve ever imagined! All of our guests are still raving about how beautiful the venue was, how good the food and drinks were and how accommodating the staff was all throughout the evening. Due to COVID19, our original May 2020 wedding didn't work out as planned, but the Doctors House worked with us to make our dream 2020 wedding FINALLY come true in October and we couldn't be more thankful.

    Sent on 12/10/2020
  • E

    Elise · Married on 26/09/2020

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Doctor's House Wedding

    We hosted our wedding at the Doctor's House in September 2020. There were a few hiccups with the venue throughout the planning process due to Covid unfortunately.
    However, our actual wedding day was absolutely perfect. The Doctor's House staff went above and beyond to make sure that we had an amazing day. The service was excellent, the servers were very attentive and I didn't go 5 minutes without having one of them ask if I needed anything. Jessica Da Silva was our coordinator and she was present on that day and extremely helpful and supportive.
    The food was excellent and the venue is stunning. We have gotten so much good feedback from our guests, and we were so happy with our overall experience!

    Sent on 06/10/2020
  • Grace (Wenli)

    Grace · Married on 28/08/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Professional, great at customization and very beautiful place.

    Very flexible at customer need. Customized our wedding package the way we wanted.

    Sent on 26/02/2020
  • Christina

    Christina R. · Married on 07/08/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Wedding at The Doctor's House During Pandemic

    Despite 2020 being an extremely difficult year, with the COVID pandemic and all of the surrounding unknowns, Zoe, Ben and all staff at The Doctor's House worked with us to create a beautiful wedding reception held within the guidelines recommended by Health Canada. They were very quick to respond and communicate with us during the ever-changing days preceding our wedding on August 7th 2020. They were committed to our vision of celebrating our wedding on our chosen date no matter what changes would be required to stay within safe guidelines at the time. They were flexible, understanding, and extremely prompt in all their efforts to help us. We are extremely grateful for all of the staff at the Doctor's House for making our wedding celebration more beautiful, intentional and special than we ever imagined. Simply put, they were as devoted as we were to creating an elegant day in the midst of a turbulent season. We will never forget The Doctor's House efforts and praise them for handling our situation in a helpful, diligent and courteous manner.

    Sincerely,
    Christina and Robert

    Sent on 31/03/2021
  • M

    Megan K. · Married on 20/06/2020

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    September 2020 Wedding

    My husband and I got married at The Doctors House, in the chapel and the great hall, in September 2020. We were originally supposed to get married in May with 280 guests but with Covid restrictions we had to postpone until 2021. The Doctors House was accommodating when we inquired about having a 50 person wedding in September rather than waiting to see what 2021 held. We ended up having an AMAZING wedding day and couldn’t be happier with how smooth everything went. We weren’t quite sure what to expect with a small wedding and Covid restrictions but the venue did an excellent job to make our special day just as special as it would have been without the pandemic. The grounds were stunning, the chapel is a beautiful space, and the great hall is breathtaking. Zoe was a fantastic coordinator and Platinum Entertainment (the preferred vendor) was absolutely awesome.
    A big thank you to everyone at the venue for making this day happen!

    Sent on 27/09/2020
  • K

    Kyra D. · Married on 31/01/2020

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Good experience

    We had a blast at this venue. The food was delicious, the communication with our venue coordinator was excellent and extremely responsive and they were accommodating to our requests. I would recommend, as with all vendors and contracts, retaining a copy of your contract and any time it changes as occasionally a communication issue came up but ultimately it was resolved. They have very good customer service and a dedicated staff. It's a beautiful venue at any time of year, and the chapel is particularly sweet with their Bell ringing tradition. My photographer loved this venue for all the amazing spots to take photos and my makeup/hair artist liked the bridal suite because it had a counter, sink, chair and room to move around. The overnight suite was also very nice! Overall a very positive experience.

    Sent on 02/02/2020
  • John

    John S. · Married on 25/01/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible Experience!

    We recently got married at this venue and have nothing but positive things to say about it. The venue was gorgeous, with a beautiful chapel and recently renovated reception room. The staff were incredibly helpful before the event in planning and during the day to make everything run smoothly. The cost of the venue was equal or cheaper than almost every alternative we looked at, particularly ones that would have involved organizing of catering, tables, etc. The food was absolutely incredible, with canapes, multiple courses, and a midnight snack that left absolutely no one hungry. There was nothing we would have changed with regards to the Doctor's House and we will recommend this venue to others!

    Sent on 30/01/2020
  • Nikki

    Nikki S. · Married on 31/12/2019

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Okay start, AMAZING finish

    Everybody's experience with TDH seems to be an individual experience. For those who are looking to book with TDH, remember that bad reviews should not deter you. There were things that happened (read below) that could have caused me to write a negative review but it really depends how you view the situation. Every venue will have good/bad things that happen, nothing is ever perfect.

    Jessica Coles was our guide when it came to touring and booking the venue and room. She was wonderful; very friendly, answered our questions, provided us with options, and made verbal promises that were later (almost) not honoured. Advice: get EVERYTHING in writing. We initially signed the contract for The Heritage Room, with no room rental fee mentioned; upon booking this room, Jessica Coles informed us that as long as there wasn't another wedding booked on this day, we could upgrade to The Great Hall at any time. Jessica Coles ended up going on a sick leave however we were not informed of this until after I had tried to email her a few times; I wish it would have been communicated to us that she had left as there were a few emails that went unanswered for a period of time. I found the communication in the beginning (before our coordinator was assigned) a bit slow/disappointing.

    6 months after booking The Heritage Room, I had decided to go see it set up for a wedding of about 120 people. I was really disappointed with the size of the dance floor, so we decided to upgrade to The Great Hall. When a new contract was drafted for us, we were informed that we were being charged a $1500 room rental fee. We were shocked - how could they possibly try to charge us this fee when we had already signed a contract where this fee did NOT apply, and we were giving them more money by upgrading to a new room? Their reasoning was that it was a "new policy" that had been implemented. This was the most disappointing part of our experience because it was completely unprofessional. After many discussions via email and on the phone with Paula the Office Manager, Marc Graci (another manager, I believe) and Jessica Da Silva (later to be our assigned coordinator), they finally agreed to waive the room rental fee and we upgraded to The Great Hall room.

    From this point on, the rest of our experience with TDH was good. Jessica Da Silva was our assigned coordinator and she was easy to work with. She was prompt in replying to my emails, was able to answer our questions and she worked hard to honour the changes/promises that Jessica Coles initially informed us of. In addition, Jessica Da Silva made sure that my requests were honoured - i.e. I asked for the receiving table & head table linens to be steamed; I asked for specific furniture to be removed from the room, etc and she made it all happen.

    Our wedding day is where I can confidently rate our experience an 11/10. Ugee, the Operations Manager, as well as the kitchen captain were absolutely outstanding. Ugee provided us with exceptional customer service and professionalism, and truly made the reception spectacular. There was a small hiccup with seating and he made sure to assure me that everything was fine; he made sure the kitchen made extra food in case there were future hiccups; he brought my husband and I a plate of the cocktail hour hors d'oeuvres to our seat to ensure we were able to eat; he consistently brought us bottled water while we were in the receiving line; he brought me TWO different types of seafood platters (I have a dairy allergy) , and brought me my own version of the late night station right to my seat (again due to dietary restriction). He always made sure to ask us how the food was; if there was anything we needed; offered to bring us drinks to our seat, etc. Even our guests were complimenting the customer service! We cannot say enough good things about him and the captain; the captain made sure to introduce herself to me and assure me if there was anything we needed, she would make it happen. At the end of the night, they packed us a "to go" bag with food (adjusted to my dietary restrictions), bottled water, and chips to take with us to the hotel; this was so kind of him & definitely came in handy!

    We received SO many compliments from guests about the food and the overall experience. The bartenders were so quick that night with the drinks, there was very minimal waiting at the bar for drinks. All of the staff and servers were very kind; we have absolutely nothing bad to say about the execution of the wedding reception. Food and experience were 11/10.

    We were also the only wedding that day (thankfully) so we had the entire venue/grounds to ourselves They allowed us to take pictures indoors and outdoors; Ugee even approached us to let us know they were unlocking the chapel for us so that my husband and I could take pictures inside. He made us feel so comfortable the entire evening, and he was incredibly kind and helpful.

    I was worried that we would have a disappointing experience based on the few issues that occurred upon initially booking, however everything turned around and the day of our wedding was incredible. Thank you to Ugee, the kitchen captain, and Jessica Da Silva for a wonderful experience at TDH.

    Sent on 04/01/2020
  • Sauwmi

    Sauwmi H. · Married on 14/12/2019

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Great venue

    Not much to say here. We enjoyed the venue (The Great Hall) and our wedding. But leading up to the wedding the inflexibility of the doctors house did affect our feelings about them. My main critical issue is that they provided nowhere indoor for us to take pictures after the ceremony - as it was horrible weather.

    Actually they did provide an area but strictly said only immediate family and bridal party allowed. We had many guests that were only attending the ceremony and we never got any pictures with them or say thank you to them for coming.

    The food was really good. All guests enjoyed it. The only reason I would not recommend them is because they are very inflexible. Everyone that works there though are very lovely and the inflexibility isn’t their fault. An example would be the doctors house wanting to charge us $1.50/pp for chilli flakes per table. Which I think is pretty ridiculous.

    Sent on 08/01/2020
  • S

    Sherry P. · Married on 07/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing experience and excellent support

    Zoe and the team were wonderful from start to finish, responsive and open to suggestions for the menu and timings. They really know what they are doing and run the day efficiently and professionally, while making you feel special and supported.

    Sent on 28/12/2019
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.