The Doctor's House
21 Nashville Road L0J 1C0 Vaughan (Ontario) Map · Phone number
Write a review Hired? Save
120 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
Number of guests 90 to 280
Share

Reviews for The Doctor's House

4.4 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.2
  • Value 4.5
  • Response time 4.4

Awards

120

96 User photos

Order by:
  • Grace (Wenli)

    Grace · Married on 28/08/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Professional, great at customization and very beautiful place.

    Very flexible at customer need. Customized our wedding package the way we wanted.

    Sent on 26/02/2020
  • M

    Megan Kistner · Married on 20/06/2020

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    September 2020 Wedding

    My husband and I got married at The Doctors House, in the chapel and the great hall, in September 2020. We were originally supposed to get married in May with 280 guests but with Covid restrictions we had to postpone until 2021. The Doctors House was accommodating when we inquired about having a 50 person wedding in September rather than waiting to see what 2021 held. We ended up having an AMAZING wedding day and couldn’t be happier with how smooth everything went. We weren’t quite sure what to expect with a small wedding and Covid restrictions but the venue did an excellent job to make our special day just as special as it would have been without the pandemic. The grounds were stunning, the chapel is a beautiful space, and the great hall is breathtaking. Zoe was a fantastic coordinator and Platinum Entertainment (the preferred vendor) was absolutely awesome.
    A big thank you to everyone at the venue for making this day happen!

    Sent on 27/09/2020
  • K

    Kyra Dunlop · Married on 31/01/2020

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Good experience

    We had a blast at this venue. The food was delicious, the communication with our venue coordinator was excellent and extremely responsive and they were accommodating to our requests. I would recommend, as with all vendors and contracts, retaining a copy of your contract and any time it changes as occasionally a communication issue came up but ultimately it was resolved. They have very good customer service and a dedicated staff. It's a beautiful venue at any time of year, and the chapel is particularly sweet with their Bell ringing tradition. My photographer loved this venue for all the amazing spots to take photos and my makeup/hair artist liked the bridal suite because it had a counter, sink, chair and room to move around. The overnight suite was also very nice! Overall a very positive experience.

    Sent on 02/02/2020
  • John

    John Stimson · Married on 25/01/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible Experience!

    We recently got married at this venue and have nothing but positive things to say about it. The venue was gorgeous, with a beautiful chapel and recently renovated reception room. The staff were incredibly helpful before the event in planning and during the day to make everything run smoothly. The cost of the venue was equal or cheaper than almost every alternative we looked at, particularly ones that would have involved organizing of catering, tables, etc. The food was absolutely incredible, with canapes, multiple courses, and a midnight snack that left absolutely no one hungry. There was nothing we would have changed with regards to the Doctor's House and we will recommend this venue to others!

    Sent on 30/01/2020
  • Nikki

    Nikki Sisera · Married on 31/12/2019

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Okay start, AMAZING finish

    Everybody's experience with TDH seems to be an individual experience. For those who are looking to book with TDH, remember that bad reviews should not deter you. There were things that happened (read below) that could have caused me to write a negative review but it really depends how you view the situation. Every venue will have good/bad things that happen, nothing is ever perfect.

    Jessica Coles was our guide when it came to touring and booking the venue and room. She was wonderful; very friendly, answered our questions, provided us with options, and made verbal promises that were later (almost) not honoured. Advice: get EVERYTHING in writing. We initially signed the contract for The Heritage Room, with no room rental fee mentioned; upon booking this room, Jessica Coles informed us that as long as there wasn't another wedding booked on this day, we could upgrade to The Great Hall at any time. Jessica Coles ended up going on a sick leave however we were not informed of this until after I had tried to email her a few times; I wish it would have been communicated to us that she had left as there were a few emails that went unanswered for a period of time. I found the communication in the beginning (before our coordinator was assigned) a bit slow/disappointing.

    6 months after booking The Heritage Room, I had decided to go see it set up for a wedding of about 120 people. I was really disappointed with the size of the dance floor, so we decided to upgrade to The Great Hall. When a new contract was drafted for us, we were informed that we were being charged a $1500 room rental fee. We were shocked - how could they possibly try to charge us this fee when we had already signed a contract where this fee did NOT apply, and we were giving them more money by upgrading to a new room? Their reasoning was that it was a "new policy" that had been implemented. This was the most disappointing part of our experience because it was completely unprofessional. After many discussions via email and on the phone with Paula the Office Manager, Marc Graci (another manager, I believe) and Jessica Da Silva (later to be our assigned coordinator), they finally agreed to waive the room rental fee and we upgraded to The Great Hall room.

    From this point on, the rest of our experience with TDH was good. Jessica Da Silva was our assigned coordinator and she was easy to work with. She was prompt in replying to my emails, was able to answer our questions and she worked hard to honour the changes/promises that Jessica Coles initially informed us of. In addition, Jessica Da Silva made sure that my requests were honoured - i.e. I asked for the receiving table & head table linens to be steamed; I asked for specific furniture to be removed from the room, etc and she made it all happen.

    Our wedding day is where I can confidently rate our experience an 11/10. Ugee, the Operations Manager, as well as the kitchen captain were absolutely outstanding. Ugee provided us with exceptional customer service and professionalism, and truly made the reception spectacular. There was a small hiccup with seating and he made sure to assure me that everything was fine; he made sure the kitchen made extra food in case there were future hiccups; he brought my husband and I a plate of the cocktail hour hors d'oeuvres to our seat to ensure we were able to eat; he consistently brought us bottled water while we were in the receiving line; he brought me TWO different types of seafood platters (I have a dairy allergy) , and brought me my own version of the late night station right to my seat (again due to dietary restriction). He always made sure to ask us how the food was; if there was anything we needed; offered to bring us drinks to our seat, etc. Even our guests were complimenting the customer service! We cannot say enough good things about him and the captain; the captain made sure to introduce herself to me and assure me if there was anything we needed, she would make it happen. At the end of the night, they packed us a "to go" bag with food (adjusted to my dietary restrictions), bottled water, and chips to take with us to the hotel; this was so kind of him & definitely came in handy!

    We received SO many compliments from guests about the food and the overall experience. The bartenders were so quick that night with the drinks, there was very minimal waiting at the bar for drinks. All of the staff and servers were very kind; we have absolutely nothing bad to say about the execution of the wedding reception. Food and experience were 11/10.

    We were also the only wedding that day (thankfully) so we had the entire venue/grounds to ourselves They allowed us to take pictures indoors and outdoors; Ugee even approached us to let us know they were unlocking the chapel for us so that my husband and I could take pictures inside. He made us feel so comfortable the entire evening, and he was incredibly kind and helpful.

    I was worried that we would have a disappointing experience based on the few issues that occurred upon initially booking, however everything turned around and the day of our wedding was incredible. Thank you to Ugee, the kitchen captain, and Jessica Da Silva for a wonderful experience at TDH.

    Sent on 04/01/2020
  • Sauwmi

    Sauwmi Herman · Married on 14/12/2019

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Great venue

    Not much to say here. We enjoyed the venue (The Great Hall) and our wedding. But leading up to the wedding the inflexibility of the doctors house did affect our feelings about them. My main critical issue is that they provided nowhere indoor for us to take pictures after the ceremony - as it was horrible weather.

    Actually they did provide an area but strictly said only immediate family and bridal party allowed. We had many guests that were only attending the ceremony and we never got any pictures with them or say thank you to them for coming.

    The food was really good. All guests enjoyed it. The only reason I would not recommend them is because they are very inflexible. Everyone that works there though are very lovely and the inflexibility isn’t their fault. An example would be the doctors house wanting to charge us $1.50/pp for chilli flakes per table. Which I think is pretty ridiculous.

    Sent on 08/01/2020
  • S

    Sherry Perreault · Married on 07/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing experience and excellent support

    Zoe and the team were wonderful from start to finish, responsive and open to suggestions for the menu and timings. They really know what they are doing and run the day efficiently and professionally, while making you feel special and supported.

    Sent on 28/12/2019
  • B

    Bronwyn · Married on 16/11/2019

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great In house options - limited outside Vendors

    The Doctor's House was the Groom's find - I instantly fell in love with it - especially having EVERYTHING on site. We opted for an off-peak date, this venue is on the higher end for the area, to off-set some costs. We were however limited to onsite food except for the cake and they have an agreement with a specific dj that if not used warranted a $600 plug in fee - The DJ however was amazing but we didn't appreciate the limiting aspects of our reception.

    Sent on 21/11/2019
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Made our day perfect.

    We got married last November at the Doctor's House and could not be happier in choosing The Great Hall for our venue space!

    From the very beginning in reaching out to the team, Zoe was very attentive to our hopes for the day, shared her expertise in suggesting ideas that complimented our vision, was respectful of our budget and organized in following up with any questions.

    In choosing to move forward with the Doctor's House, the team articulated our next steps and provided a package to walk us through key milestones for the timeline ahead of us.

    Leading up to the day, Zoe was wonderful to work with. She was so efficient in following up on messages, was collaborative in working with our other vendors (who also sent their compliments!), and made sure we were happy at every checkpoint. Even when one of the courses did not taste as we hoped during our Menu tasting, Zoe worked with the chefs to correct the issue and scheduled a second tasting to make sure everything was perfect.

    On the day of, Zoe + the Doctor's House team executed flawlessly. The food was piping hot, service was always on point and space was taken care of. 3 months later, all of our guests are still complimenting us on how lovely everything was.

    Thank you so much to everyone at the Doctor's House for everything. We truly got to enjoy our day because of how much everything was taken care of and will never forget the feeling in the room.

    And we need to express an extra special thank you to Zoe. Zoe — you were nothing short of incredible to work with and we will be forever thankful for your positivity throughout this whole process! You are a rockstar.

    Jessica + Joseph

    Sent on 11/01/2020
  • Gwyneth

    Gwyneth Hodgins · Married on 02/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Would definitely recommend!

    We had our wedding ceremony and reception at the Doctor's House May 2019 - we used the chapel and the Heritage and Colony rooms. We were initially attracted by the wood beams in the Heritage room and the competitive pricing (if you're willing to do a Friday winter wedding, which we were). We first met with Jessica, who showed us around and helped us decide on a day and a package, and was able to negotiate a few extras for us, since we were taking a day that was under-booked at the time. We were then told that we could visit anytime as we planned our decor, and would be contacted a couple of months before the big day to go over details with our Venue Logistics Manager.
    In the interim, we contacted the venue's in-house officiant about personalizing our ceremony, but we never heard back from him so we opted to hire someone else. He was there on the day and was very friendly and helpful in ushering.
    We also emailed the in-house organist far ahead because we wanted her to play a special piece of music not on her regular list. I got a bit anxious because she didn't reply until the week before the wedding, but when she did she was very responsive and assured us she could play the music. It's important to note, though, that only the organ is included in the chapel price. If you want a piece of music played on the keyboard instead to sound like a piano, that is an extra $50 fee.
    About 3 months before the wedding, we heard from our Logistics Manager Katy. We could not say enough good things about Katy. She was super friendly and clearly knew what she was talking about. If ever she wasn't sure about something, she assured us she would look into it and updated us as soon as she had an answer. She was incredibly detail-oriented and flexible with all our requests. After our details meeting, she was the one who continued to update our contract and information as changes were made, right up until the day before. In the week or two leading up to the wedding I must have sent her at least one email a day, sometimes more, as I got late RSVPs, changed my mind about various details, or had last minute questions. She replied to each and every one of them and kept all the details straight for us. And she never once gave me the impression that she was annoyed by me (I have no idea how I compare to other brides, so who knows, maybe I was a piece of cake!?)
    She was at our rehearsal the day before and was very calming as she directed our wedding party about where to be, how to walk and pace themselves, etc.
    On the day, she was there for our ceremony and directed everyone again, and everything went so smoothly!
    Once we got to the reception, we got so many compliments about the attentiveness and professionalism of the Doctor's House Staff. My mother-in-law uses a mobility scooter to get around and she said that the staff were so helpful with getting her to the elevator, moving furniture if it was in her way, and just generally checking in with her to see if she needed anything.
    The food was great, we met with the executive chef for our tasting and he explained the fancy new technology they use to cook the food so it doesn't spend time under a heat lamp and everything tastes fresh, even when they're serving over a hundred guests at a time. The service was a little slower than expected, but we didn't even notice until dinner was over and we realized the time - it didn't feel like we were waiting around or anything!
    We stayed in Bridal Suite 1 which was beautiful, and the housekeeper was so friendly and lovely when she came by to refresh the room in the morning.
    And the front desk staff were consistently so friendly and helpful, we always felt welcomed when we came to visit.
    The only issue we had could be quite easily resolved by putting a rope barrier or a sign or something at the bottom of the stairs indicating that it was a private event - we had several people coming upstairs from other weddings to use our washroom, even though each room has its own washrooms. My husband even intercepted a couple of ladies trying to enter the Heritage Room - maybe they were just curious and looking around? Of course the Doctor's House is not responsible for other people's guests, but putting a sign or a rope I believe would stop 90% of our bathroom crashers. (Seriously, I personally saw about 15 non-guests going into our washrooms and I was not close to the landing most of the night - our bathrooms got a bit yucky by the end of the night and I think that's because of all our extra visitors).
    Other than that though, everything was great and it doesn't change the fact that we are so happy with our choice of venue, and would 100% recommend them to others!

    Sent on 12/05/2019
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.