Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Strathmere

Strathmere View more information

111 reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 111
  • WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2015 Winner

67 User photos

  • Fiona
    Fiona F. Married on 15/10/2021
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect in every way

    Strathmere is breathtaking and we knew once we set our eyes on The Lodge that it was perfect. Beautiful countryside, walking trails and the leaves changing in fall - it was a winner from the start. We have received so many compliments with regards to the venue and the food that we have lost track. Our guests were blown away. Planning a wedding during a pandemic is far from easy. It was a definite roller coaster ride but Strathmere was there every single step of the way - keeping us informed, answering all our questions and easing our nerves. We met with our wedding co-ordinator and then there was a last minute change and poof - Mel appeared. Mel is the most kind, warm and helpful person you'll ever meet who made our wedding day flawless. She answered all our questions with no delay, checked, double checked and triple checked everything so nothing was missed. She was even there the night before helping us set up until close to midnight as well as midnight the day of. There are no words to describe how amazing she is. We would definitely recommend Strathmere and if you get Mel then you are in for a special treat as you should consider yourselves very lucky...as you have the best of the best.
  • Amanda
    Amanda L. Married on 14/08/2021
    4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    Our wedding coordinator made it all worth it

    Strathmere is an absolutely beautiful wedding venue. So much so that you don't even need to decorate much as it shines on its own. The food is out of this world, and so fresh as they grow so much of the food themselves.

    We booked our wedding in early 2019 for August 2020. Although it was very pricey, it seemed to be worth it and they even wanted to work with us to create a custom vegan menu. After Covid hit, things were quite frustrating. At first, they didn't want to postpone our wedding, even though we knew by the end of March that a wedding would not be happening in 2020. Finally they agreed to postpone our wedding a year. Which was perfect for us. In spring of 2021, when covid was still bad, we asked if we could reduce our guest list because we didn't feel a 100 person wedding was responsible. They continued to push for us to have 100 people until the very last minute when I had to be firm and tell them we need to send out invitations and we are not inviting people at the last minute. Reluctantly, they agreed. Out of all of vendors, strathmere was the least flexible and helpful when it came to planning a wedding during a global pandemic.

    Then, we met our wedding coordinator, Mel. Upon meeting her, she was warm and more than willing to ask any questions we had. On our day, she was so incredibly helpful and always asking us to make sure things were going well. Honestly it was like having my own fairy godmother. She was just amazing and we are so blessed to work with her. There were a few bumps along the road but she made it all worth it. Anyone would be lucky to have a wedding coordinator like Mel.

    All in all, I would recommend Strathmere. Maybe it will be easier outside of the pandemic!
  • Laura
    Laura M. Married on 23/07/2021
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredibly enjoyable experience.

    Strathmere was attentive to our needs and provided excellent service. We had a few guests with severe dietary restrictions, and Strathmere was incredibly attentive to their needs.
    The ONLY issues I had was providing information. During the COVID era, we found that information wasn’t passed along as efficiently as we would’ve liked. To be fair, we also understand that they were left in the dark themselves from government mandates.
    Overall, I would recommend them to anyone getting married.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Chelsey
    Chelsey H. Married on 01/05/2021
    1.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Unprofessional disappointing experience

    When we first saw the grounds at Strathmere we were impressed. We had a tour and an initial discussion about what we wanted for our wedding which was simple BBQ style buffet foods, bring our own pie instead of wedding cake, and overall a simple wedding on a smaller budget. We were told this is all possible and signed the contract and paid the deposit.
    The first issues started cropping up with the menu: we were told we could have a custom menu, but the first draft price well exceeded our budget and what we had said in the initial discussion. We started the discussion by choosing items directly off the a la carte menu we were provided. The menu returned to us had been completely changed, the price raised, and no explanation was sent with it, just a word doc. We sent back a revision with explanations as to why we wanted things changed. We were then referred to the ‘Food Stylist’ directly. She sent another revised menu which still did not meet our changes (which were based on allergies and intolerances - we would only have been able to eat half of the things on there) again with no explanation as to why, and a lower price but still not what we had been told was possible in the beginning. We emailed substituting some menu items within this revision with items from the first menu sent to us and sent it back. We heard no response for a month (granted it was over Christmas time so...). We got a third revised menu and things had been added and changed yet again seemingly randomly and moving farther away from what we wanted in the first place, again with no explanation for the changes. We decided to call as we assumed there was some miscommunication happening. During this call my fiancé and I were referred to by the Food Stylist as ‘the kids’ which I find completely unprofessional as we are most certainly not children and should not have been referred to with such condescension.
    We had in the initial discussion mentioned we wanted to have pie instead of the traditional cake for our wedding and were told that it was fine, no problems at all. We had asked in an email for some vendors with a focus on pies and tarts and 2 suggestions with links were sent. When we came to actually planning this we were told that “Strathmere must provide and serve all food and beverages, except the wedding cake and cupcakes”. We emailed expressing our confusion at this, mentioning that we had been told in the initial visit it was fine and that we had been sent suggestions. This was met with Strathmere asking to resend the emails where they said this as they “cannot find it in the system”. Their reason for refusing to allow us to have pies was that they are “very messy and difficult for this type of service”.
    We also found it hard to communicate with Strathmere as our questions were answered with vague and generalized answers that did not help very much in the planning of our wedding. Or the emails were not answered at all. We had to resend emails twice asking if they had somehow gotten lost because there was no response for weeks.
    Covid became another issue entirely. We were allowed to postpone our wedding with no financial penalty or extras back in March when this all started, however the new date had to be before April 30th 2021 (we had been planning to get married in May). We could not just move it to the same date next year or anything nearer to our date. We did eventually get a May date but it was a struggle. As everyone knows Covid is still very prevalent and as our new wedding date drew nearer we wanted to know Strathmere’s policy concerning Covid. What they sent back was very vague and required a minimum payment of 45 adults no matter what the restrictions were. (So if 10 people were the max allowed at weddings we would still be paying for 45 people total). We received a second communication about Covid a few weeks later which indicated that we could remain with or date or postpone again, HOWEVER this postponement came with additional cost! If it was before December 15 2021 we were to pay an extra deposit of $500, OR we could postpone up to July 31 of 2022 but we would need to pay an extra $1000. This is on top of the large deposit we had already paid to Strathmere originally.
    We ultimately decided to cancel our wedding as we did not feel Strathmere’s focus was on safety during Covid and their options for postponement did not feel reasonable to us. When we cancelled we were met with an email that reiterated we could pay the extra money to postpone, mentioned how hard done they were by Covid, and how our cancellation of our wedding meant a significant loss to Strathmere. Their focus was only on their financial loss; there was no mention of our wedding day being lost to us, or any regrets extended at our suffering.
    Overall we have been displeased with the service offered from Strathmere. The headaches, stress, and anxiety caused by the lack of communication, the unwillingness to explain or compromise, and the general attitude towards us expressed by Strathmere have left us with nothing but resentment and more grief.
  • Stephanie
    Stephanie C. Married on 05/12/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome work beautiful venue

    This venue was so accommodating due to covid, I would recommend them for sure.
    We had to re-plan our wedding 3 times due to restrictions and they where always acomdating. Communication was slow at frist but once we got our coordinator it's was speedy and efficient. They did forget heat lamps we purchased and didn't refund us but those are minor detail that we were not going to fight them on. Covid postponed alot of wedding but if your willing to compromise and still have a beautiful day, this venue is perfect!! Thank you for making our day beautiful!
  • Natalie
    Natalie C. Married on 27/09/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thoughtful, accommodating venue!

    I have nothing but kind words to say about Strathmere. They have been with us through the pandemic and have been supportive through our decision to postpone our wedding from May 2020 to September 2020. We held our wedding at the Garden House this month, and we felt extremely safe with all of their COVID-19 protocols put in place. Our wedding coordinator, Lisa, and all of the staff at Strathmere were nothing but helpful and genuine with us throughout the whole process. The venue was beautiful, the food was excellent and I could not recommend them enough.

    If you are looking for a rustic venue with beautiful backdrops for your pictures, helpful staff and a wonderful experience overall, look no further!
  • Wendy
    Wendy L. Married on 26/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing wedding at strathmere

    Our daughter got married at the Garden House on Oct 26, 2019 (Maegan Lynch & Marc Branchaud). Everything was utter perfection! The food was very delicious and the decor that was supplied was very elegant. Our wedding coordinator was very attentive and checking to make sure everything was good. It was a spectacular day and the grounds of Strathmere were gorgeous. Thanks to everyone who made this day go smoothly and very special.

    Wendy & Kevin Lynch
  • M
    Maegan L. Married on 26/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Perfect Venue

    We just had our wedding at Strathmere's Garden House this past weekend, and to say that it was the perfect venue still doesn't do it justice! They really go above and beyond in all aspects of their business.

    The staff is very kind and professional. They help keep your planning on track, and are always available if you have questions.

    They also make sure to focus on the smaller details that really could easily go unnoticed. Things like making sure we (the new bride and groom) got to try the hors d'oeuvres by having staff bring it out to us while we were out and about doing family photos. That sort of small gesture means a huge deal, and we truly appreciated it.

    Our wedding coordinator (which is another service Strathmere provides in their wedding packages!) answered all of our questions in a timely fashion. During the wedding, she also made rounds to the tables and ensured that the guests were well looked after.

    I would highly recommend Strathmere to any couples looking for a venue. It's beautiful, professional, and pretty much an "all in one" spot. So much is taken care of for you, leaving you to enjoy your wedding day. 10/10!
  • Jessica
    Jessica E. Married on 12/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Modern Rustic Setting

    My wife and I had our wedding at Strathmere on October 12, 2019. The ceremony and the reception were held at The Lodge, which fit into our "modern rustic" theme.

    The food was amazing, our wedding coordinator Crystal was fantastic and ever understanding. Laura, another member of the team at Strathmere offered to create our seating chart and the rest of our signage for a very reasonable price and they looked fantastic.

    In short, Strathmere and its team made one of the most "stressful" days one can endure relaxed, enjoyable and beautiful. Their ability to accommodate is second to none, and the location was breathtaking in the fall.

    We would both highly recommend this venue to any couple looking to get married.

    Thank you again Strathmere!
  • A
    Angele H. Married on 27/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our day was perfect

    Thank you for making this day so easy for us. We couldn’t of done it without all of you!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message