Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Old Mill Toronto

Old Mill Toronto View more information

Reviews

4.7 out of 5 rating
4.7 out of 5 rating
154 reviews
94% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.6 out of 5 rating

Awards

154
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner
  • Cecil
    Cecil L. Sent on 15/03/2024
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent event

    My wife and I had our wedding reception at the Old Mill on Saturday, February 24th, 2024. Our initial visit and consultation was with Lotoya, who did a great job in taking us around to the different rooms and the venue. We initially booked the Victoria and Garret rooms, but as our guest list grew from 40 to over 50, we were shown larger rooms by Rebecca who took over our event. We ended up in the Westminster room, which was much more appropriate for our numbers.

    We chose the Old Mill because of its reputation for events, and for the beautiful interior and exterior of the building. Also, the space is primarily an event space, away from other busy neighbourhoods. The location is also a big reason we choose the venue. I have friends who live in Mississauga and friends who live in Toronto, so it was in the middle. I also like that it’s right at Old Mill station on the TTC line, as many downtown guests could take advantage of this.

    The planning and communication with Rebecca was very professional. She always responded to us in a timely fashion, and addressed all of our questions and concerns thoroughly.

    The night of the event was close to perfect. I want to shout out to Dimitri, our banquet captain. He was very attentive, and always present. The bartender (we went with a host paid bar) Robert was also a superstar. He was very personable to us and all of our guests, extremely attentive, professional, and a great bartender overall. The wait staff was also extremely professional, personable, and the dinner service was flawless. The food was of high quality and very generous portions (we went with guests choosing their own entrees beforehand, so we chose their beef, chicken, veggie, or fish entrees). The OMT cake was very well made and beautiful. It was also very competitive in pricing to other bakeries nearby, so I don’t feel there is any need to go elsewhere since they make the cake on premises - one more thing to not worry about delivery-wise. The late night pizza we ordered was also very high quality, and our guests ate it all.

    The only glitch I’ll point out is that the Westminster’s house lights flickered once they were set to below half of full brightness. This made it impossible to turn the lights down enough to be inviting. We had to keep them bright to avoid the flickering. Dimitri noted that usually they are turned down during the cocktail hour to be more inviting, and when the table candles are lit. This was not possible without a very annoying flickering of the lights. In the end, it was not a huge problem, but would have been nice to have them lowered. During the dancing part, they were turned all the way down, and our DJ’s excellent lighting took over.

    All things considered, I’d say the event was very well priced for what we got. We splurged for the host-paid bar, served dinner, each guest chose their own entree, host-paid coat check, and host-paid parking passes. The host-paid bar is paid up front by averaging the number of drinks per guest (I think it was seven drinks), and then adjusted after the event for actual consumption. Since many of our guests don’t drink, we got a pleasant surprise after the event in the form of a refund.

    I would absolutely recommend the Old Mill as a venue for a wedding or similar evening event.
  • M
    Marilyn Sent on 15/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Venue

    Old Mill was a great venue for wedding. We celebrated our wedding here and the staff are all amazing from the consultation until to our wedding day Rebecca the Assistant Director of Catering was very helpful and accommodating to our needs. The minister who conducted our wedding ceremony assist and guide us of what will happen to our wedding. Our Supervising Captain Alex was amazing and the rest of the staff who served and prepared the foods and the venue on our wedding day was all outstanding. Thank you so much Old Mill Staff for your wonderful service.
    From,
    Marilyn & Melvin
    (Wedding October 28,2023)
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • A
    Alyssa Sent on 06/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We love the Old Mill!

    If you are looking for the perfect venue for your wedding, we highly recommend choosing the Old Mill. We experienced an foreseeable cancellation at another venue just two weeks before our wedding, and the Old Mill was able to accommodate our wedding at the last minute, to absolute perfection. We worked with Rebecca, the Event Coordinator, who helped us plan every detail perfectly and helped us put together our vision on an accelerated schedule. She took so much care in every single detail of our wedding.

    On the day of our wedding, our ceremony, event room, and dinner were all perfection and high quality. There are also so many unique parts of the venue that were amazing for photos. The staff that we worked with day of were so kind, incredibly organized, and ensured that our wedding stayed on schedule. Our guests had such an amazing time and the Old Mill helped us have the best wedding day ever. We highly recommend this venue!
  • Amybelle
    Amybelle G. Sent on 08/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfectly amazing!

    It is a One stop shop. You can have your ceremony, Couple and family pictures and reception in one place. It saves you time, money and guests are not confuse with timing and location. Our venue coordinator was easy to communicate with and very responsive. Their officiant gave us a wonderful ceremony and we could not ask for more.

    When the wedding day was done, we got a refund of the actual guests count on the day of and drinks that we only consumed.

    We highly recommend this place if you want to have an awesome wedding day👏👍
  • Alice
    Alice L. Sent on 03/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Above and Beyond!

    We initially hesitated to book a venue that looked so traditional, but Rebecca was responsive, professional, patient, and informative from day 1 of our wedding planning process. She gave us a thorough tour, answered all of my many questions, and broke down the expenses for us based on our estimated guest numbers before even booking. None of the other venues that we looked at provided that information for us. We literally booked the Old Mill and changed our ideas for our wedding because of her professionalism, and that was 120% the right move!

    The garden is a beautiful place to take pictures. We didn't need a studio or other place to go to on the day of - everything happened at the Old Mill.

    The event team were truly mind readers and provided decorations that we weren't even aware would be provided. I had mentioned in passing that I wasn't a huge fan of a fence on the Guildhall patio and was told that nothing could be done so I let it be. Lo and behold, it was covered with greenery and potted flowers on the day of our wedding! The cabinet behind the head table was beautifully decorated with candles and ornaments that were beyond our expectations. The catering & service team greeted us on arrival, and Robert, our bartender, got rave reviews from our friends and family. The food was excellent - the steak was perfectly cooked, and the strawberry shortcake was the perfect end to dinner. Our non-vegetarian friends were even jealous of the tagine that our vegetarian friends got - not an easy feat! Our guests were also stunned by the kindness and efficiency of the wait staff. Their timing was impeccable - they allowed the flow of the wedding to go uninterrupted.

    All in all, the food, service, and atmosphere of the Old Mill was exceptional. Their long history of planning events made the whole process way less stressful than it could have been. If you want a venue that can cater and execute a wedding in their sleep with little involvement from you on the day of, then we would highly recommend Old Mill!
  • Amy
    Amy S. Sent on 03/06/2023
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue and wonderful people

    Old Mill was beautiful, there were many great places for picture both inside and outside. The staff the day of were wonderful from Dimitri the day of coordinator, Willima the ceremony lead, Mark the officiant, Robert the bartender and all the servers they were very professional and warm. The bridal suit was perfect for a land zone for stuff and pre ceremony snacks.
  • B
    Brittany G. Sent on 28/05/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue and amazing experience

    The team at Old Mill were truly remarkable to work with. We started planning our wedding during the pandemic and they were extremely flexible and accommodating with us. Rebecca guided us through the whole process and she was there to answer all of our questions. We really could not have had such a seamless wedding without Rebecca’s guidance and input.

    The staff on the day of the wedding was so nice and friendly. It is clear that everyone there enjoys what they do.

    I would definitely recommend this venue to others for their wedding. The food was great too!
  • Jessica
    Jessica M. Sent on 07/04/2023
    1.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    The Worst Wedding Venue

    We recently had a very disappointing experience at the Old Mill. While the location itself is undeniably stunning, my overall impression of the place was quite negative.

    First and foremost, the customer service was absolutely terrible. The staff seemed to be disinterested and disorganized, making it difficult to communicate effectively. I had to make multiple attempts just to get a response to my inquiries, and even then, the information I received was incomplete and unhelpful.

    During our tasting, the food was subpar at best. It was mostly bland and unappetizing, and we left feeling extremely underwhelmed. We're not tough food critics but the bread was clearly stale, pasta was cold (it was like they took the noodles out of the fridge and poured hot sauce over it), soup was tasteless, fish was not fresh.. I could go on and on.

    It makes me wonder how people host good weddings here? I couldn't imagine subjecting my guests to such lacklustre customer service and cuisine on such an important occasion.

    Overall, I was thoroughly disappointed with my experience at the Old Mill. I would highly advise anyone considering this venue to look elsewhere. We obviously did not book Old Mill for our wedding and if you are on the fence, this is your sign to not waste your money. There are SO many more beautiful venues that are similar in the Toronto area that are more than happy to have your business, it was clear Old Mill had no care to have ours.
  • C
    Camille Sent on 06/11/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing venue!

    We Celebrated Our Wedding Ceremony and Reception at the Old Mill on 9 July, 2022. Our Ceremony was held at the Chapel, Reception and Cocktail was held in the Garrett and Victoria Room adjoining each other, which is absolutely beautiful with large windows allowing the light to enter,. Our guest enjoyed having cocktails in the Garrett Room and Dinner and dance in the Victoria Room. The floral arrangement complimented the white table linen and chairs. Our guests is still talking about how beautiful the venue is . Definately a one stop for all your wedding needs, a Chapel-Hotel-Restaurant and beautiful Gardens which is perfect for wedding photography and videos. Dinner was superb we choose chickem and beef tenderloin served French Style. The desert of Strawberry Short cake was so delicious. Our guests is still talking about Robert our bartender who kept the cocktails flowing satisfying their thirst. Our Coordinator Rita Belknap, Room Captain WIilma and servers was just outstanding. We definItely will recommend the OLD MILL.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours