Old Mill Toronto
71
21 Old Mill Road M8X 1G5 Toronto (Ontario) View map
4.6 out of 5.0
Overall rating:

Reviews of Old Mill Toronto

  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had our wedding at the Old Mill and we have to say it was freaking fantastic! Everyone from our wedding planner and Captain on the day to the organist and reverent were amazing and full of smiles. Before the wedding they all worked with us to ensure we had things just as we wanted them to be, and on the day of they helped keep our excitable nerves down and helped keep everything running smoothly. Our small wedding was nice and intimate but still felt like a huge party!

    Thank you from us to you for making our day one will never forget!
    M&J

    Sent on 12/01/2017
  • Married on 15/10/2016 From Melissa Soo

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had our wedding in the Brule Rooms and everything went exceptionally well. Many of our guests complimented on the wonderful service received from their servers. The entire day went very smooth.

    Rebecca was extremely patient and accommodating with us during our planning. She was always available to answer all of our numerous questions. And she was able to cater our entire day to meet all of our needs to a tee. We could not have asked for a better day. Thank you!!

    Melissa & Brian

    Sent on 30/11/2016
  • Married on 08/10/2016 From Hannah Rusen

    • Quality of service:
      Good
    • Responsiveness:
      Good
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We booked our wedding at the Old Mill a few weeks ago - We were so impressed that on our first visit, they offered a detailed estimate of the ACTUAL cost of our wedding based on our selections. Everywhere else we visited was extremely vague about costs and had no specifics ready. We worked with Rita - she was so professional and pleasant, it was such a lovely and stress free experience that it made it an absolute no-brainer to book here. We wanted to come back a second time with our parents to make absolutely sure, and Rita graciously made time at the last minute in her schedule to show us around once again. The grounds are so beautiful and the Brulee Ballroom, which we booked, is so unique. Everyone involved with our booking at the Old Mill was nothing but friendly, professional and responsive. It really gives me peace of mind leading up to our wedding date.

    Sent on 08/05/2015

    Old Mill Toronto's reply:

    Hi Hannah, Did you know we are having a Wedding Open House on February 23rd? You can get more information on our website, if you wish to join us. Thank you for posting your wonderful comments I will be sure to pass them along.

  • Married on 01/10/2016 From Katerina

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    My husband and I were just married at the Old Mill this weekend and it was an incredible experience! From the beginning, the knowledgeable staff helped to ensure everything went smoothly for our big day! The meals were exquisite and the service was wonderful! The staff did everything they could to accommodate our guests, including at one point playing with the daughter of one of my bridesmaids so that she could enjoy her meal. The grounds are stunning and the accommodations spectacular. We couldn't be happier with how everything went. We highly recommend this venue for any special occasion or celebration.

    Sent on 04/10/2016
  • Married on 01/10/2016 From samantha Kilby-Lechman

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Choosing to get married at The Old Mill was one of the best decisions my husband and I have ever made! From the moment we reached out to schedule a meeting, catering executives, Lauren, Rebecca, and Rita were professional, timely, and thorough! We truly appreciated having several detailed planning meetings with Rebecca. She laid out everything (including things I didn't even think of) and was there every step of the way within the final few weeks before the big day. She communicated with me via email and telephone and was always prompt in her replies. We received many compliments on the food at our wedding and everything came out perfectly (including the late night menu items).

    Alex, our day-of captain was excellent and was readily available during the reception when I needed to ask him a question.

    I rented the Deluxe King Suite the night before and the night of the wedding. What an absolutely stunning space. I paid extra for flowers in the sitting and dining areas and they were absolutely stunning. I could barely contain my excitement when I first opened the door! I can't wait to see my getting-ready photos. Definitely consider booking a suite for your big day!

    I also had my rehearsal dinner and day-after brunch in the Old Mill Dining Room. Everything was fantastic and service was excellent.

    I have nothing bad to say about this venue. The grounds are beautiful and it is such an elegant space. I would choose this venue again in a heart beat!

    Sent on 12/10/2016
  • Married on 01/10/2016 From Keiko & Mark Cummings

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Facilities were so beautiful building. The chapel and the reception room were gorgeous.
    The staff members are excellent & professional people. On our wedding day, they made excellent arrangements with
    kindness and consideration. The Old Mill Chaplain conducted an excellent and beautiful ceremony, which made our wedding more special. Overall, Old Mill is a dream- come - true wedding venue, and we highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a very special and meaningful wedding. We were so happy to have married at Old Mills.
    Keiko & Mark Oct 1, 2016

    Sent on 11/11/2016
  • Married on 24/09/2016 From Emily

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The Old Mill really made our wedding special. Rebecca was fantastic and always willing to help us. Our wedding guests are still talking about the food and our venue two weeks post wedding. It was so beautiful and the servers were exceptional; they were accommodating and understanding. We highly recommend having your wedding or celebration at the Old Mill. You will not be disappointed!!

    Sent on 07/10/2016
  • Married on 24/09/2016 From Leena Dow-Kalvik

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    My advice to couples planning a wedding is to check out 'The Old Mill' when looking for a venue! The staff is friendly and responsive, the gounds are beautifully manicured and there are many lovely and unique banquet halls to choose from. And the food & service is five-star!!! The 'Old Mill" is a full-service wedding location and/or venue for anyone looking for a place to have a memorable & hassle-free wedding!

    Sent on 18/10/2016
  • Married on 24/09/2016 From Miranda Mcshane

    • Quality of service:
      Regular
    • Responsiveness:
      Regular
    • Value:
      Regular
    • Flexibility:
      Regular
    • Professionalism:
      Regular

    We had our wedding in Brule C this past September, and have mixed feelings about the venue.

    The Good:
    -We worked with Caroline to book our wedding -- she was lovely and patiently answered all my questions promptly leading up to our big day. Fantastic lady to work with, especially if you're a bit A-type and want everything organized perfectly.
    -The venue and room itself was BEAUTIFUL, and the food was amazing!
    -Reverand Charles was our officient (booked through the Old Mill), and he was great. Very stern but also a lot of fun. He met with us prior to the wedding and walked us through EVERY part of the ceremony, discussed all of our options, and gave very clear instructions for next steps. He checked if we wanted serious or a but of humour with our rehearsal and ceremony (a nice touch!) and did a great job. He was the perfect blend of stern, humerous and personable -- our wedding party and guests loved him, and so did we.

    The Bad:
    Some of the servers at dinner were lovely, but others were very rude. A few of our guests complained after the wedding about the attitude some had.
    We were told we'd have a Captain assigned to our wedding that would oversee our reception for the evening, Alex, however with the exception of introducing himself before our ceremony, we literally did not see him again for the entire evening. Thank GOD we hired outside event coordinators... our evening would not have turned out so well if it weren't for them -- they ended up taking care of EVERYTHING. If you are booking your wedding at the Old Mill, I definitely would recommend hiring event coordinators to help out as you cannot rely on your captain.
    We were supposed to have access to a bridal changeroom for the duration of the event -- picked up the key the morning of our wedding, and it kept getting reset throughout the afternoon/evening. My bridesmaids and I were to wait in the room before the ceremony and were unable to get in -- our Captain had to have the key reset. After the ceremony and picutres, my new husband and I had scheduled a few moments alone (in a very tight itinerary) and were planning to spend a few moments in the room together -- guess what: our moment alone was spent in the HALLWAY outside of our bridal changeroom because the key was reset yet again (one of our event coordinators had to take care of this as our captain was nowhere to be found). Finally, my bridesmaids and I went to the changeroom one more time right before dinner to freshen up (all of our bags were in the room), and ended up spending the next 10 minutes standing in the hallway yet again as our event coordinator (because where was our captain?!) chased someone down to try and get our key reset AGAIN. We finally gave up and brought all of our bags in to the reception room with us and hid them under a table.
    I stayed at the hotel the night before the wedding, and the night of in one of the suites. Check-in was a joke for myself, and all of our guests that checked in the day of our wedding. Every single guest that I've spoken to since the wedding said there was one woman in particular at the front desk that was HORRIBLE. She was rude to everyone that came in. Unfortunately I don't know her name. The room service we received was also terrible, with the exception of ONE member of staff. A gentleman came to deliver chilled champagne glasses to my MOH and I the night before the wedding. He was very quick and very polite. Everyone else we dealt with acted like it was a burden, AND the cleaning lady had the nerve to ask my MOH to get us to leave the room early (on my wedding day!!!! while my party and I were in the room getting ready for my wedding!!!) so she could get in and clean before her shift was over. The room was beautiful, but I was so disappointed with our hotel stay (and embarrassed that our guests had similar experiences) that we plan to NEVER stay at the Old Mill again. This is unfortunate as it would have been a nice anniversary idea. It's an expensive stay, and would be worth it if the service wasn't so atrocious.
    If you are considering this venue, keep in mind the Old Mill is basically a wedding factory. We expected to see other weddings/brides as there are so many event rooms, but between walking to the chapel, taking pictures after the ceremony, walking between the washroom and our event room, and walking back to our hotel room after the reception, we saw or chatted to every single other wedding party there that day.

    Overall:
    It's a lovely wedding venue -- beautiful reception and hotel rooms, and excellent food. Unfortunately due to the service at the hotel and the above mentioned issues we ran in to, I wouldn't recommend the Old Mill as a wedding venue to anyone I know. If I were to go back and redo our wedding, I would have definitely picked a different venue.

    Sent on 14/12/2016
  • Married on 24/09/2016 From Miranda McShane

    • Quality of service:
      Regular
    • Responsiveness:
      Regular
    • Value:
      Regular
    • Flexibility:
      Regular
    • Professionalism:
      Regular

    I would not recommend this venue for a wedding. The rooms and food were fabulous, SOME of the staff and our officiant were amazing, but overall was not the best experience. The customer service at the hotel was awful -- as a bride spending a lot of money, I didn't appreciate the service... and to make matters worse all of our guests complained. It was embarrassing. Our captain was nowhere to be seen all night, we had setbacks with our bridal change room several times throughout the evening, and the place is basically a wedding factory -- you will run in to literally every other bride there that day.

    Sent on 14/12/2016

My Awards

71 reviews
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner

2016 COUPLES'
CHOICE