Old Mill Toronto
21 Old Mill Road M8X 1G5 Toronto (Ontario) View map
106 reviews

Number of guests 10 to 500

Reviews for Old Mill Toronto

4.7 / 5 Write a review
  • Quality of service

    4.7

    Value

    4.7
  • Professionalism

    4.8

    Reply

    4.7
  • Flexibility

    4.5
106 reviews
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner
Order by :
  • Kate , Married on 27/10/2018

    4.4 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Good
    • Responsiveness:
      Good
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Good

    Beautiful venue but room for improvement

    The wait staff and bartender went above and beyond to make sure that our guests had a good time. Our guests had lots of great things to say about our day. However, there's definitely room for improvement when it comes to attention to detail. I would highly recommend hiring a wedding day coordinator and or planner to iron out all the details for you so you can just enjoy your special day.

    Sent on 30/10/2018

    Old Mill Toronto's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very pleased our staff went above and beyond to ensure your guests had a good time. We are seeing the trend with most of our customers now hiring outside wedding planners to assist with the day of their wedding. We are currently considering providing this additional service in-house.

  • Sara

    Sara Quintero , Married on 12/10/2018

    4.8 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    A dream come true

    It was magical. The catering team was super responsive, they answered every question we had promptly and thoroughly. They food was superb, every single one of our guests enjoyed it and made comment. The venue was beautiful and the ceremony was unforgettable. There were tears all around. They were also very accommodating to our requests which was such a stress reliever. Thank you!

    Sent on 15/10/2018

    Old Mill Toronto's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, we truly appreciate your wonderful feedback. An unforgettable ceremony, a beautiful venue and superb food are all wonderful compliments to our staff, thank you.

  • Kay

    Kay Paulo , Married on 05/10/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Couldn’t have done it without them

    The old Mill is such a beautiful reception area. The coordinator we dealt with was amazing throughout the whole process. She guided us and answered any and all questions along the way. All the photos are so beautiful because of this gorgeous venue. We were given a day of coordinator and he was just wonderful as well and we couldn’t have pulled it off without these amazing people.

    Sent on 06/10/2018

    Old Mill Toronto's reply:

    It is wonderful to read your feedback regarding your most important day. Our venue does allow for beautiful picture taking, so we are thrilled you were happy with our gorgeous venue. Our Wedding Executives and Banquet Captains strive to make your Wedding Day exceptional.

  • Amanda Mccausland , Married on 08/09/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Excellent Experience

    My co-coordinator Lauren was amazing and very patient! She took the time to go over all my options and answered all my questions! Highly recommended and we are beyond excited to be having our wedding at this location!

    Sent on 04/02/2018

    Old Mill Toronto's reply:

    Lauren is a wonderful attribute to our wedding team. You are definitely in good hands. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we look forward to your special day.

  • Britt

    Brittainie Skrba , Married on 07/09/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Couldn't have asked for a better venue

    I loved the venue from the moment I saw it. What made me love it even more was how affordable getting married at The Old Mill actually was.

    After pricing out a few different places, the value of having everything in the same place really made it an easy decision. The staff at The Old Mill was incredible, so organized and a dream to work with. Julie and Rebecca really made the whole process enjoyable and as stress free as possible.

    Also, they never rolled their eyes at the "I don't know, I've never been married" joke, so that right there was a bonus.

    I would love for The Old Mill to be "our place" and no ones else, but I can't help recommend it to all my friends & family just starting their wedding planning journey.

    Sent on 10/10/2018

    Old Mill Toronto's reply:

    Thank you for celebrating your Wedding Day with us at Old Mill Toronto. I'm glad Julie and Rebecca were a "dream to work with" and helped in planning your most important day. We appreciate your feedback and recommendation to your friends and family as they begin their wedding planning journey.

  • Rachel Nashi , Married on 19/08/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Our wedding at the Old Mill

    Our wedding was held at The Old Mill, Guildhall, on 14-Sep-2018. It was by far one of the most beautiful days of my life and The Old Mill and its staff contributed to the success and beauty of the day. We worked with Lauren, a senior catering executive at the Old Mill. Lauren was so positive and accommodating during all our conversations with her. She made my husband and I feel so comfortable and made the various changes we requested happen. I was finishing up a Masters degree and did many things last minute, Lauren was super responsive even with last minute items. All our requests were executed beautifully. In addition, each and every one of our guests was mesmerized by the beauty of The Old Mill. I would encourage bride and husband-to-be's to give the old mill a visit and consider it for their wedding day. I would not change a thing about my wedding day at the Old Mill, I just wish it lasted longer; thank you Lauren so much for helping us make our dreams come true!!

    The wedding of Rachel Nashi and Old Mill Toronto 1
    The wedding of Rachel Nashi and Old Mill Toronto 2
    The wedding of Rachel Nashi and Old Mill Toronto 3
    The wedding of Rachel Nashi and Old Mill Toronto 4
    The wedding of Rachel Nashi and Old Mill Toronto 5
    Sent on 06/10/2018

    Old Mill Toronto's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your wedding day at Old Mill Toronto. Lauren is a wonderful attribute to our team and is very responsive with last minute details. I'm glad we mesmerized your guests with the beauty of our venue. We appreciate you encouraging other engaged couples to pay us a visit.

  • Alisa Magarelli , Married on 12/08/2018

    4.6 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Beautiful venue

    The grounds are the real reason I picked the old Mill. Having Guild Hall in the summer is the most amazing location. Being able to combine the indoor dinner with cocktails and the bar on the patio created an atmosphere everyone loved. It's was so stunning.

    Sent on 13/09/2018

    Old Mill Toronto's reply:

    Guildhall is one of our favourite rooms for that very reason. Combining dinner inside with the cocktails on the patio works very well in the warmer months and I'm glad your guests enjoyed the stunning atmosphere.

  • Francesca Roh , Married on 21/07/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Love OldMill!!!

    We had our wedding here in July 2018, and it was the best decision we have made towards planning our wedding. One of the few venues in the City that is subway accessible, and has nature, tons of beautiful picturesque spots right on the grounds, and you can have your ceremony and reception all in the same place. 

    The event coordinators (Special thanks to Lauren Bucci) really know their stuff and made the whole event with very little effort on our part. The staff were polite, professional and well coordinated. The venue itself is beautiful and comes pre-decorated so it really requires little in additional decor. The food was delicious! (I didn’t have chance to eat anything with my dress on tho..lol)

    The venue is very helpful, accommodating and professional. I would not hesitate to recommend this venue to friends for their wedding. Even my never happy guests had nothing but nice things to say. Our guests were giving us endless compliments on the event ... which the venue really deserves. 

    Additionally, we had to do a second photo session at the Old Mill after few weeks of our wedding day, Lauren managed to gave us the changing room and free parking & access to any spot in Old Mill. We had a such an amazing and great time there. (We couldn’t take enough photos on the wedding day cos of 2 hours delays.)

    Thank you for all the hard work and for making us happy in any way.
    Thank you very much,
    Francesca

    The wedding of Francesca Roh and Old Mill Toronto 6
    The wedding of Francesca Roh and Old Mill Toronto 7
    Sent on 23/08/2018
  • William Suh , Married on 15/07/2018

    4.8 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Lauren at Old Mill Toronto

    We decided to have our wedding ceremony and reception at the Old Mill Toronto.

    Lauren was the executive whose guided us on preparing for our wedding. She was very sweet and willing to listen to our opinions and provide the proper suggestions.

    Lauren was very professional and personal at the same time which gave more intimate preparation up until the wedding date.

    She was responsive and coordinated with everything. To see our wedding unfold in front of our eyes was very beautiful and heartwarming.

    We've chosen Garden Room (Reception) & Garden Patio (Ceremony) which was recommended by Lauren as well and it was wonderful.

    Thank you very much!

    Sent on 22/07/2018
  • Alessia D , Married on 30/06/2018

    1.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Unacceptable
    • Responsiveness:
      Unacceptable
    • Value:
      Unacceptable
    • Flexibility:
      Unacceptable
    • Professionalism:
      Unacceptable

    Lack of Attention to Detail, Poor Service, Beautiful Venue, Great Food

    We picked the Old Mill for it's ambience and architecture, we do not recommend the Old Mill for it's Catering Office - both the wedding coordinators and staff.

    The issues were not irrecoverable, we recommend the following to other couples:
    Suggestions:
    1. Get your Wedding Captain's contact info ahead of time and review your expectations with them. Do not take no for an answer. Our wedding captain was great and very accommodating, but she was not properly briefed.
    2. If you receive any incomplete documentation ahead of the wedding, demand the full document. We booked two rooms, and only received a final floor plan for 1 - the second room was not set up properly.
    3. Make sure your prospectus is worded exactly as you communicated to the staff, and in the correct subsection of the document. All drink exceptions to be listed in drinks, all dessert exceptions, allergies, etc. to be listed under that meal.

    Below is why:
    Our wedding co-ordinator was Rita, and she was assigned to us a few moths before the wedding date as our original co-odinator was going on maternity leave. We got the impression she was inattentive as emails would go un-answered for days until a payment deadline arose, she was unaware of any of the arrangements we had made with the previous coordinator, and when asking for anything outside of the standard our requests was often met with a no, and we'd have to get creative with our own alternatives.

    The day of the wedding several items we had discussed were not followed, and poor protocol was also followed around a slip in the schedule. The wrong room was set-up for our antipasto bar, our alcoholic bar was closed earlier than dinner was served, even though the catering office had noted it should close with dinner (things ran late on our part we admit). The espresso machine never made it to our venue hall, and after pulling teeth our groomsman convinced the staff to go down to the restaurant for coffee orders. Our cake was not brought out with the dessert table. There was more, but these were the items that gave our guests a poor experience, and so they were most frustrating to us.

    We contacted the Old Mill about these mishaps after the wedding - both Rita and the head of Catering, Barbara, and we were met once again with poor service. It took 6 weeks to get back to us, blamed on vacations. We were called back as soon as Barbara returned, and overall we were offered about 1% back in what we paid to the Old Mill. I was disappointed, but I was so tired of dealing with them I left it at that.

    I will say the beauty of the venue was appreciated, and can save you a lot of money in decorations. Our food tasted great, we had the Wedding Amore menu and the texture, flavor and warmth of the food was always perfect.

    Sent on 03/09/2018

    Old Mill Toronto's reply:

    I’m very pleased you enjoyed the Wedding Amore menu and the beauty of the Old Mill Toronto on your Wedding Day. As we addressed earlier off-line, the second room was booked incase it was raining on the day of your wedding as inclement weather would not be conducive for your patio cocktail reception. As it was a beautiful summer day, albeit warm as our summer has been this year, the additional room was not required. We did however set up the room for you when you made this request on the day of your wedding. In hind sight you probably agree that it wasn’t necessary, as your guests remained outside enjoying the patio and the beautiful atmosphere. Prior to the wedding day, we are so pleased to go over the wedding details with our clients to ensure that we meet and exceed their expectations. As you know, this happens over the course of many phone calls because we want to get it just right for your special day. To finish off, we then review the documented details on our Propectus which is shared with you. Capturing the details is what we pride ourselves on. We strive to provide the best possible service to all of our guests and we are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations. As we are new to ‘The Knot’, you are the first review. Our countless positive reviews can be found on ‘Wedding Wire’ and trust that these are more reflective of the wonderful service we can and do provide. Thank you for choosing the Old Mill and we do appreciate your feedback.

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.