The Royal Ambassador

92 reviews | Caledon (Ontario)
See Photos, Pricing and Details

Reviews for The Royal Ambassador

4.1 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.1
  • Professionalism 4.0
  • Flexibility 4.0
  • Value 4.1
  • Response time 4.0

Awards

92
Order by:
  • A

    Andrea · Getting married on 19/06/2021

    1.6
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Horrible experience

    I fell in love with the venue after having the first meeting. I called back to book for our wedding and it was literally impossible to get a response. 2 months goes by and the lady we met with at the meeting, made a very rude passive aggressive comment to our wedding planner basically about us being pushy and she will get back to us when she does. I didn’t realize waiting over 2 months to get a response (which we still never got) was us being pushy. Very disappointed in their customer service, and sad we couldn’t go with our number one choice because of that reason.

    Sent on 07/09/2020
  • Ambika

    Ambika P. · Married on 25/10/2020

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    You dont want this on your wedding day.

    Paid the banquet for spoiling my wedding day!
    Customer service has stooped to a new level in Toronto. A lot of businesses as well as people are suffering from the COVID pandemic. My wedding got cancelled due to the pandemic and a lot of vendors could not refund the deposit. Some of them were upfront and others sneaky. With my money stuck at other venues and vendors, I still decided to have a small 20 people ceremony on October 25th,2020 at Royal Ambassador, Caledon. A well reputed banquet who I simply paid for messing up my wedding day.
    I should have guessed their intention from start was just to snatch as much money as possible. It took me several attempts to reach them as soon as the contract was signed. The sales representative Diana assured to provide an exceptional service, but it all went down the drain. The event coordinator Stella ensured presence of 2 service people to take care of the guests and be there herself. I had complained right away about their lack of communication, last minute moving of food tent and last-minute hidden charges which were never mentioned while signing the contract.
    The start time was 7 am and I reached the banquet at 8am only to find the place deserted. I ran around in my wedding dress looking for people and found one lady “Chloe” in the kitchen. My family was running around the entire morning to organize things. It took me 15 attempts to get patio heaters – which I was charged extra for to be brought to the gazebo. 3 hours at the venue, Chloe was the only one available and heaters never worked and no beverage served which cost me 1400$
    I had to pay money for:
    The lakeside gazebo (1800$)- which thankfully was “still there” on the wedding day
    The tent and industrial heater (1200$)– location moved just few days before and 5 mins walk away from my ceremony, the pictures were only sent a day before after repeated requests
    The tea and coffee service (1400$)– no service people present, no milk, my friends were serving the cold tea and coffee to my guests
    The 3 additional patio heaters (525$) – Paid extra and wasn’t present at the start and never worked until 3 hours into the ceremony
    My caterer was running around trying to confirm his spot for setup and was informed last minute to setup out in the cold whereas he was assured indoor location. All the delay caused because of there disgusting service lead to delay in the entire timeline. Yet they shamelessly pushed my guests outside while they were having lunch. The only time towards the end of ceremony that 3 people showed up.
    On contacting the banquet to refund my money for scamming me and informing them of their awful service, the lady/owner “Daisy” who I saw once at the end of wedding fought back shamelessly defending and spooling bunch of lies that 4 service people were present. Instead of accepting the mess up, she challenged me that I could never prove this happened. I told her I have witnesses, video recordings and call records showing how just one person was present and I never saw her at the venue. Yet, this crooked lady stuck to her lies and refused to accept her business messed up my entire wedding. The stress that a couple has on their most important day was tripled by this awful banquet. It’s my first ever experience with cheaters like them. Her blatant lies to convince me that I was daydreaming about my family friends running around handling the fuck ups they made and did not see these 4 imaginary service people has broken my trust into such corrupt businesses. Stay aware of these scammers and warn anyone planning on hiring them. They ruined my wedding day and all I have is sour memories thanks to them. In these tough times, I thank all my other vendors who held their promises and managed to give me few sweet memories.

    Sent on 21/02/2021
  • A

    Alexander C. · Married on 25/07/2020

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Took advantage of a young couple during the COVID-19 Pandemic

    While most venues were offering a new date after the pandemic is over with, Royal Ambassador sought to do the opposite and profit off the situation. The original deposit for the 2020 date was taken and the couple had to pay a new deposit for the new date, plus an "inflation" fee of 5% (inflation is 2% on average, so I'm not sure where they are getting these numbers). In a time such as a global pandemic it is pathetic to see a company taking advantage of people. I get that finances are tight, but to screw people over. There's a special ring of hell for people like that.

    Sent on 09/04/2020

    The Royal Ambassador's reply:

    Royal Ambassador (RA) typically does not respond to online reviews, as we appreciate both the positive and negative. While positive reviews reinforce the good things we are doing, negative ones help us to focus our energy on improving the level of service we provide to all our customers.
    However, we feel strongly about responding to this particular review given that our policies, as they pertain to Covid-19, have not been communicated accurately to you. As a result, your understanding of our policy goes against the very foundation on which our business has been built upon since RA was founded 17 years ago. We pride ourselves in dealing honestly, fairly, and transparently with all our customers.
    To be clear, we have not taken a new deposit from any customer who has been impacted by the current pandemic. Our policies, even before the mandated government restrictions were implemented, were communicated to every customer who had events scheduled in March, April, and May of 2020.
    RA gave each of those customers the opportunity of moving their event, without penalty, to an available date up to March 31, 2021.
    Given the fluid nature of the situation, RA advised any customer who inquired about events scheduled post-May 2020 that we would develop a firm policy regarding their events as the situation developed. All events are being dealt with in a chronological order, not on a first-come-first-served basis.
    Events that cannot be postponed to a date within 12 months of the originally scheduled date are the only events that are subject to the increase in price per person.
    While you are correct in stating that inflation generally runs at an average of 2% annually, RA needs to allow for a substantial increase in the cost of goods and services as suppliers adjust to the substantial losses of 2020 and the inevitable major slow-down in the economy once the new “normal” sets in. There is already evidence of increases in the 25% - 30% range in food purchases for our current take-out business.
    As such, we have decided on a 5% increase for inflation due to the increase in raw materials, the costs all event centres have incurred in accommodating customers’ needs to reschedule events, and all the lost revenue in 2020. We believe this percentage to be more than fair for both our business and our customers.
    I think it’s accurate to say that RA is certainly not taking advantage, nor is it trying to profit from the current global pandemic. We are doing the best we can to be fair and keep costs down for customers while protecting the common interests of our customers and RA…there isn’t one without the other.
    If anyone wishes to contact us directly by telephone for further clarification, one of our consultants will be happy to take your call.
    Please stay safe!
  • Lisa

    Lisa · Married on 02/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing experience!

    My husband and I just got married November 2, 2019 at the Royal Ambassador. It was phenomenal. From the beginning planning stages, through to the bridal shower, to the rehearsal dinner, and to the wedding day. Every detail was taken care of. The staff are amazing. We worked a lot with Diana, Stella, and Daisy- who are fantastic and so easy to work with. I recommend this venue 100x over. Our guests have been raving about the food and overall experience still!! If I am ever in need of a space for a function, I will definitely be coming to the Royal Ambassador and Consulate!!!

    Sent on 15/11/2019
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 05/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Day of My Life!

    I couldn’t have envisioned my wedding reception any other way- the outdoor patio and lakeside gazebo on the grounds of the royal ambassador gave such an enchanting feel to that day. There, we had our live band playing music for our guests to enjoy, overlooking the beautiful escarpment and devouring the delicious food. It was so perfect greeting our guests outdoor then eventually making our way inside the hall. John, Daisy and Stella treated us with the upmost respect and ensured our day was perfect from start to end.

    Sent on 29/03/2020
  • Kelly

    Kelly B. · Married on 17/08/2019

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Very difficult to get an answer from the staff.

    This wedding venue is beautiful.
    Unfortunately they are very slow to respond to emails, they are not organized what so ever! I had to ask for the table layout and break down of our day. They had so many weddings the day we got married, they clearly couldn’t handle the volume. The couple to use the gazebo before us were 2 hours late(stuck in traffic) we had to ask the staff to remove their guests so ours could be seated.
    No clear signs to where what wedding was taking place. We had a few guest from an other wedding come enjoy our open bar on the patio. I personally didn’t care....open bar is an open bar ;)
    They are so disorganized on every level!!
    Unless you have a wedding planner that is ontop of them or have time to harass them about everything I don’t suggest this venue.
    There only saving grace is the beautiful views......but know this they have geese and lots of geese poo. If you have a beautiful expensive dress it will drag through the poo. :(

    Sent on 20/03/2020
  • D

    Daniella · Married on 14/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Exceptional Service!

    I have hosted over 5 events with The Royal Ambassador and the reason why I will always go back is because the exceptional food and service. My family is European and very picky eaters and it is for this reason that I wouldn’t go anywhere else. The office staff is very friendly and organized, the serving staff and floor managers are constantly on top of everything and the food...... absolutely delish! I look forward to visiting soon at The Consulate Dining Lounge and hosting yet another event at the RA.

    Sent on 29/03/2020
  • Justin

    Justin F. · Married on 29/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A Perfect Day!

    Diana from Royal Ambassador was so wonderful to work with. She was quick at responding to our emails and phone calls, very professional, focused and extremely patient. Thank you so much for your help, advice and guidance during our wedding planning process!

    The food was absolutely delicious and the service and quality was second to none. The wait staff were super attentive and polite and even brought us food to nibble on and drinks to keep us refreshed during our pictures, pre-reception and throughout the night.

    Our guests had nothing but great things to say about Royal Ambassador! The food was amazing, the venue grounds are beautiful and the staff were great!

    Sent on 08/09/2019
  • Christina

    Christina · Married on 01/06/2019

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Do not book here!

    WARNING! Do NOT book your events here. Extremely unprofessional and a complete scam. They go through staff changes like crazy and the lack of communication is beyond unprofessional. I agree with another review on here, DO NOT deal with Diana. We never dealt with her once and then suddenly get told our rep no longer works there so Diana is taking over. The night of our tasting is when we met her and she didn’t even introduce herself. We had to ask “Are you Diana??” Then when we questioned Daisy the owner we get told Diana is one of her best staff members. Complete joke, these people do not know how to run a business it’s so terrible. We had our wedding here recently, none of the contract was followed regarding our food and the bartenders water down your drinks. Extremely embarrassing to have multiple guests tell you how much they consumed and how odd it was they left completely sober. We had two types of meats clearly stated on our contract and the servers go around asking your guests secretly if they want one or the other, not to mention the wrong size of meat was being served. THIS IS NOT OKAY! You pay so much money per plate and find out you are being ripped off. The cook of the meat was sooo dry guests came up to our head table to let us know they were choking from how dry it was. They also fail to tell you the food is cooked elsewhere and then they transfer it over and place it in warmers, we found this out the night of during dinner when my dad had to go to the back kitchen to question the sneaky business that was going on regarding the servers providing the wrong size of meat, cook of the meat, and only offering one or the other when our contract stated both. It was even confirmed at our tasting and multiple times after the tasting we had TWO types of meat. This is the venue just being shady behind your back thinking we wouldn’t notice. The icing on the cake was when our night ended and the manager on site came to tell us we had to clear up everything in the back THAT NIGHT! It was 2:30am and that moment we are being told EVERYTHING must go or it’s thrown outside. My father and a friend had to return with two pick up trucks at 3:30am after driving some guests home to find our belongings actually thrown outside IN THE RAIN like trash. We were in complete shock! After all the money we paid this joke of a venue our stuff along with our vendors belongings got thrown outside like literal garbage. What bride and groom go to a banquet hall with a uhaul prepared to pack up everything that same night?? Not even our vendors who do weddings every single weekend have ever heard such nonsense. I could go on and on with everything that went wrong, I just want to warn all brides and grooms or anyone looking to have an event there, please DO NOT book this place. You will be ripped off, they want your money before hand for reasons like this. They will not sit down with you to resolve any matters because they have already been paid in full and will deny anything was wrong on their end. PLEASE stay away, do not book this scam of a venue, save your money, time and stress and book elsewhere.

    Sent on 21/06/2019
  • D

    Danielle R. · Married on 01/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    5 star venue and experience!

    I just had my event at The Royal Ambassador and it was FANTASTIC! The service and quality I received throughout the entire planning process from the management at Royal Ambassador was exceptional. The food was not only delicious but was beautifully plated with care and the wait staff was amazing. My guests enjoyed the venue space as well as the beautiful scenery and grounds day of. I would highly recommend planning your next event at The Royal Ambassador! 5 STARS!

    Sent on 21/06/2019
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.