Weddings

Reviews for The Royal Ambassador

The Royal Ambassador

The Royal Ambassador

Caledon, Ontario
Rating 4.1 out of 5, 95 reviews
View more information

95 reviews

Rated
4.1
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.1 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 4 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.1 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.1 out of 5

Awards

  • 95
Order by:
  • S
    Susan Married on 17/10/2021
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fall Wedding Reception postponed due to Covid

    After having to cancel our event due to Covid until the following year, the staff at Royal Ambassador was more than helpful and accommodating to us in finding a new date for our reception. In the end, we had many positive comments from our guests about the venue and the food served as most of them had never been to this venue before.

    We found the pricing to be very competitive and the food and service was excellent.

    We would highly recommend this venue and the staff of Royal Ambassador.
    Susan
  • S
    Steve Married on 17/09/2021
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Great final result

    I wanted to leave a review for RA to try and leave a balanced perspective for anyone considering. We had attended the NYE event a few times in the past, and always loved the venue/food/bar, so that's why we booked it.

    This venue is definitely a busy venue, booking many events per day. If you want intimacy and to be the only event, this isn't your place. However, the grounds and spaces are great, and their bar/food setups are (in my opinion) awesome to host a really fun event. We were in the Embassy West, postponed fall 2020 to Sept 2021 to a Friday. We lucked out that the East room was empty, so it wasn't very busy in our area beyond just our own event. Our day of experience was pretty much perfect (note: we did have an amazing coordinator, Bridal Solutions). I would strongly advise a coordinator for this venue.

    There were some hiccups when COVID-19 hit, in terms of re-booking such as attempted time changes from contract, price speculation of increases, etc.. We wound up landing in a fair place but there was definitely some frustration along the way (obviously many businesses were/are trying to navigate covid). They aren't super easy to get ahold of, seeing as how busy they are. But when we did get ahold of Stella, she was reassuring. Ultimately we definitely had an amazing day when it was all said and done, but there were times it certainly wasn't perfect in the time prior.

    Overall: the venue, food and bar set ups are conducive to a really great event if you don't care about other events/weddings held nearby. They are super busy and can be hard to get ahold of. They make it clear they are not coordinators, which is fair. A lot of the issues were covid related, and were sorted out leading to us ultimately having a great day. We love this venue at the end of the day and will definitely be back, but also realize this venue may not be for everyone.
  • A
    Andrea Married on 19/06/2021
    Rating 1.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.0 out of 5

    Horrible experience

    I fell in love with the venue after having the first meeting. I called back to book for our wedding and it was literally impossible to get a response. 2 months goes by and the lady we met with at the meeting, made a very rude passive aggressive comment to our wedding planner basically about us being pushy and she will get back to us when she does. I didn’t realize waiting over 2 months to get a response (which we still never got) was us being pushy. Very disappointed in their customer service, and sad we couldn’t go with our number one choice because of that reason.
  • Ambika
    Ambika P. Married on 25/10/2020
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    You dont want this on your wedding day.

    Paid the banquet for spoiling my wedding day!
    Customer service has stooped to a new level in Toronto. A lot of businesses as well as people are suffering from the COVID pandemic. My wedding got cancelled due to the pandemic and a lot of vendors could not refund the deposit. Some of them were upfront and others sneaky. With my money stuck at other venues and vendors, I still decided to have a small 20 people ceremony on October 25th,2020 at Royal Ambassador, Caledon. A well reputed banquet who I simply paid for messing up my wedding day.
    I should have guessed their intention from start was just to snatch as much money as possible. It took me several attempts to reach them as soon as the contract was signed. The sales representative Diana assured to provide an exceptional service, but it all went down the drain. The event coordinator Stella ensured presence of 2 service people to take care of the guests and be there herself. I had complained right away about their lack of communication, last minute moving of food tent and last-minute hidden charges which were never mentioned while signing the contract.
    The start time was 7 am and I reached the banquet at 8am only to find the place deserted. I ran around in my wedding dress looking for people and found one lady “Chloe” in the kitchen. My family was running around the entire morning to organize things. It took me 15 attempts to get patio heaters – which I was charged extra for to be brought to the gazebo. 3 hours at the venue, Chloe was the only one available and heaters never worked and no beverage served which cost me 1400$
    I had to pay money for:
    The lakeside gazebo (1800$)- which thankfully was “still there” on the wedding day
    The tent and industrial heater (1200$)– location moved just few days before and 5 mins walk away from my ceremony, the pictures were only sent a day before after repeated requests
    The tea and coffee service (1400$)– no service people present, no milk, my friends were serving the cold tea and coffee to my guests
    The 3 additional patio heaters (525$) – Paid extra and wasn’t present at the start and never worked until 3 hours into the ceremony
    My caterer was running around trying to confirm his spot for setup and was informed last minute to setup out in the cold whereas he was assured indoor location. All the delay caused because of there disgusting service lead to delay in the entire timeline. Yet they shamelessly pushed my guests outside while they were having lunch. The only time towards the end of ceremony that 3 people showed up.
    On contacting the banquet to refund my money for scamming me and informing them of their awful service, the lady/owner “Daisy” who I saw once at the end of wedding fought back shamelessly defending and spooling bunch of lies that 4 service people were present. Instead of accepting the mess up, she challenged me that I could never prove this happened. I told her I have witnesses, video recordings and call records showing how just one person was present and I never saw her at the venue. Yet, this crooked lady stuck to her lies and refused to accept her business messed up my entire wedding. The stress that a couple has on their most important day was tripled by this awful banquet. It’s my first ever experience with cheaters like them. Her blatant lies to convince me that I was daydreaming about my family friends running around handling the fuck ups they made and did not see these 4 imaginary service people has broken my trust into such corrupt businesses. Stay aware of these scammers and warn anyone planning on hiring them. They ruined my wedding day and all I have is sour memories thanks to them. In these tough times, I thank all my other vendors who held their promises and managed to give me few sweet memories.
  • A
    Alexander C. Married on 25/07/2020
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Took advantage of a young couple during the COVID-19 Pandemic

    While most venues were offering a new date after the pandemic is over with, Royal Ambassador sought to do the opposite and profit off the situation. The original deposit for the 2020 date was taken and the couple had to pay a new deposit for the new date, plus an "inflation" fee of 5% (inflation is 2% on average, so I'm not sure where they are getting these numbers). In a time such as a global pandemic it is pathetic to see a company taking advantage of people. I get that finances are tight, but to screw people over. There's a special ring of hell for people like that.

    The Royal Ambassador's reply:

    Royal Ambassador (RA) typically does not respond to online reviews, as we appreciate both the positive and negative. While positive reviews reinforce the good things we are doing, negative ones help us to focus our energy on improving the level of service we provide to all our customers.
    However, we feel strongly about responding to this particular review given that our policies, as they pertain to Covid-19, have not been communicated accurately to you. As a result, your understanding of our policy goes against the very foundation on which our business has been built upon since RA was founded 17 years ago. We pride ourselves in dealing honestly, fairly, and transparently with all our customers.
    To be clear, we have not taken a new deposit from any customer who has been impacted by the current pandemic. Our policies, even before the mandated government restrictions were implemented, were communicated to every customer who had events scheduled in March, April, and May of 2020.
    RA gave each of those customers the opportunity of moving their event, without penalty, to an available date up to March 31, 2021.
    Given the fluid nature of the situation, RA advised any customer who inquired about events scheduled post-May 2020 that we would develop a firm policy regarding their events as the situation developed. All events are being dealt with in a chronological order, not on a first-come-first-served basis.
    Events that cannot be postponed to a date within 12 months of the originally scheduled date are the only events that are subject to the increase in price per person.
    While you are correct in stating that inflation generally runs at an average of 2% annually, RA needs to allow for a substantial increase in the cost of goods and services as suppliers adjust to the substantial losses of 2020 and the inevitable major slow-down in the economy once the new “normal” sets in. There is already evidence of increases in the 25% - 30% range in food purchases for our current take-out business.
    As such, we have decided on a 5% increase for inflation due to the increase in raw materials, the costs all event centres have incurred in accommodating customers’ needs to reschedule events, and all the lost revenue in 2020. We believe this percentage to be more than fair for both our business and our customers.
    I think it’s accurate to say that RA is certainly not taking advantage, nor is it trying to profit from the current global pandemic. We are doing the best we can to be fair and keep costs down for customers while protecting the common interests of our customers and RA…there isn’t one without the other.
    If anyone wishes to contact us directly by telephone for further clarification, one of our consultants will be happy to take your call.
    Please stay safe!
  • Rebecca
    Rebecca N. Married on 27/06/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great venue

    The Royal Ambassador was a great venue to work with. We booked them for our 2020 wedding back in 2018 after we fell in love with everything about the venue. We postponed once due to covid and ended up having our wedding in May 2021. During the whole process, Stella was very helpful and reassuring. They worked with us to accommodate us as best as possible given the different restrictions. Stella was great at communicating with me over the years and helped calm me down during the process. Our ceremony was stunning at the lakeside gazebo. The scenery and perfectly manicured grounds never cease to amazing me - and our pictures turned out amazing with the scenery in the background. They provided us with catering to take home as covid restrictions prevented us from having our reception and the food was AMAZING. Our guests all kept complimenting everything that we ate (the beef tenderloin was phenomenal). I am so thankful to the Royal Ambassador and Stella for my wedding experience and would highly recommend this venue. Thank you again!!
  • Lisa
    Lisa Married on 02/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing experience!

    My husband and I just got married November 2, 2019 at the Royal Ambassador. It was phenomenal. From the beginning planning stages, through to the bridal shower, to the rehearsal dinner, and to the wedding day. Every detail was taken care of. The staff are amazing. We worked a lot with Diana, Stella, and Daisy- who are fantastic and so easy to work with. I recommend this venue 100x over. Our guests have been raving about the food and overall experience still!! If I am ever in need of a space for a function, I will definitely be coming to the Royal Ambassador and Consulate!!!
  • D
    Danielle Married on 05/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Day of My Life!

    I couldn’t have envisioned my wedding reception any other way- the outdoor patio and lakeside gazebo on the grounds of the royal ambassador gave such an enchanting feel to that day. There, we had our live band playing music for our guests to enjoy, overlooking the beautiful escarpment and devouring the delicious food. It was so perfect greeting our guests outdoor then eventually making our way inside the hall. John, Daisy and Stella treated us with the upmost respect and ensured our day was perfect from start to end.
  • Kelly
    Kelly B. Married on 17/08/2019
    Rating 2.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5

    Very difficult to get an answer from the staff.

    This wedding venue is beautiful.
    Unfortunately they are very slow to respond to emails, they are not organized what so ever! I had to ask for the table layout and break down of our day. They had so many weddings the day we got married, they clearly couldn’t handle the volume. The couple to use the gazebo before us were 2 hours late(stuck in traffic) we had to ask the staff to remove their guests so ours could be seated.
    No clear signs to where what wedding was taking place. We had a few guest from an other wedding come enjoy our open bar on the patio. I personally didn’t care....open bar is an open bar ;)
    They are so disorganized on every level!!
    Unless you have a wedding planner that is ontop of them or have time to harass them about everything I don’t suggest this venue.
    There only saving grace is the beautiful views......but know this they have geese and lots of geese poo. If you have a beautiful expensive dress it will drag through the poo. :(
  • D
    Daniella Married on 14/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Exceptional Service!

    I have hosted over 5 events with The Royal Ambassador and the reason why I will always go back is because the exceptional food and service. My family is European and very picky eaters and it is for this reason that I wouldn’t go anywhere else. The office staff is very friendly and organized, the serving staff and floor managers are constantly on top of everything and the food...... absolutely delish! I look forward to visiting soon at The Consulate Dining Lounge and hosting yet another event at the RA.