Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Oakview Terrace Reception Centre

Oakview Terrace Reception Centre

Oakview Terrace Reception Centre

Richmond Hill, Ontario
Rating 4.3 out of 5, 21 reviews
View more information

21 reviews

Rated
4.3
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.1 out of 5

Awards

  • 21

3 User photos

  • U
    Upset G. Married on 12/06/2022
    Rating 1.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5

    I did recommend this venue, NEVER again!

    New owners need to step up their game. The grounds were left to grow over with weeds, not ideal for photos! Dinner service, very slow, unorganized - if you order a vegetarian meal, be prepared to eat alone. This meal was served first at the table and was a good 15-20 minutes before the rest of the table was served - this was for all courses! Service is unprofessional - plates were removed from the table before guest were finished. They didn’t even ask if you were done. Served coffee by picking up your cup with their hand over the cup and all fingers around the brim. I don’t want to drink where your fingers have been! Very unorganized while serving dinner - at times there were 8 serve staff buzzing around the table and an average of 3 people handled your plate in front of your before it was placed. If felt like “dinner and a show” - a comedy horror!
  • Taleen
    Taleen Married on 17/09/2021
    Rating 1.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.0 out of 5

    Great food & grounds, but very disappointing service!

    The scenery/grounds are beautiful, and Chef Raj's food is absolutely delicious. Unfortunately, everything else was a bust. Original coordinators Alessia and Grace suddenly disappeared at the end of July, leaving the new coordinator May with an empty file and none of our details a month before our wedding. The new coordinator May had good intentions but ultimately did not deliver on the quality of service we expected. On the day of, service of waitstaff was awful - inexperienced waitstaff misled our guests to think we had a mini bar instead of the open bar, didn't know how to serve basic drinks, and then butchered our wedding cake into tiny squares of frosting or cake. Tried addressing our concerns and asked for some sort of compensation, at least for the open bar, but they refused to take any responsibility and blamed it on our planners. Disrespectful and unprofessional! I would not recommend until a complete staff update.
  • J
    Jennifer C. Married on 12/06/2021
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Everything we could have hoped for! Perfect ceremony!

    We just had our wedding ceremony last week. Before we planned to have our ceremony and reception on the same day. However, due to covid restrictions, we decided to only have the ceremony this year and have the reception next year to accommodate more guests. Our venue coordinators, Grace and Alessia, were very accommodating and allowed us to make the final decision only two weeks before our wedding date. Then, 5 days before the wedding, the government opened up the restrictions so we could have 50ppl for the ceremony instead of 10ppl. Oakview allowed us to make last minute changes to our guest list and ceremony setup to accommodate 50ppl so we could have the ceremony that we wanted.

    Throughout the planning process, they made sure to constantly update us on government restrictions and provided us with alternative options from what they were allowed to provide. Both of them were very quick to respond to our emails and many questions that we had during our wedding planning process. On the day of the wedding, both Grace and Alessia were there to help out and make sure everything we asked for was setup according to plan. The ceremony couldn’t have been more perfect we really look forward to having the reception there next year!
  • John
    John Z. Married on 09/06/2019
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Ceremony and Reception Venue

    Set in a remote part of Richmond Hill, overlooking a big pond. This place is not very well known to many. There's a beautiful well maintained garden and the Chapel is right next to the reception hall. Food was not mindblowing but it was quite good, especially the Hors d'Oeuvres. Dining hall was not very big but easily accommodated 125 guests. Our contact, Sylvia, also coordinated many of the items during wedding day to make sure things went smoothly. They recently had a make-over and also includes Chiavari Chairs. Overall, a great venue and offers the option to have both Ceremony and Reception at the same place. Would definitely recommend!
  • L
    Lisa W. Married on 18/08/2018
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Beautiful venue for intimate wedding ceremony

    Beautiful location and wedding chapel -- we loved it and our guests loved it too! Sylvia responded quickly to our emails and was very kind and helpful in guiding us through our wedding ceremony. Definitely would recommend to anyone looking for a venue that can host 100-150 people, is sheltered but feels almost like outdoors, and has that rustic feel.
  • J
    Joyce B. Married on 01/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect Day

    I just had my engagement party in here and it was nothing but perfect. I especially love the chapel and would recommend to my friends. I also think I would have my wedding here in the near future as well.
  • E
    Emma P. Married on 29/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Lovely Wedding

    What a nice place for me to have my weeding ceremony. Excellent environment, tasty food and dessert. I would highly recommend this place for my best friend for her upcoming weeding. I have had a perfect wedding.
  • Vivian
    Vivian C. Married on 28/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A Lovely Memory

    Oakview terrace was absolutely amazing and I couldn't have asked for a better team to help me with my wedding and make my dream come true. They always responded within in a reasonable time and were very attentive to detail. The space is so beautiful and classy and elevated my wedding. I couldn't have asked for anything more. Thank you so very much for everything!

    Oakview Terrace Reception Centre's reply:

    It was our absolute pleasure to have you, Vivian! Thank you for having us be a part of your special day!

    Best,
    Oakview Terrace Team
  • A
    Nw Married on 24/09/2017
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    I would highly recommend Oakview Terrace to any couple hosting a wedding of 200 guests or less. The terrace grounds are beautifully kept, the chapel with open-concept shutters provides a rustic feel, and the privacy of the location gives your event a cozy feel as you would not have to share the space with any other party. Jan and her team are super responsive - what I appreciated from them was that their communication was efficient and straight-to-the-point .....no fluff, no nonsense. The price was very reasonable, especially since the $1,000 fee gets waived if your event is a Friday or Sunday. The additional $200 for a minister was well worth it - go with Lloyd Cooper. The food was good overall, but my guests heavily favoured the salmon over the steak (steak was on the thin side and overcooked). Jan was flexible with our appetizer and hors d'ouevres selections, as we deviated slightly from what the wedding package provided. Since we had a lunch function and didn't go with an open bar, we were allowed to bring in our own beverages of choice, as long as they weren't soft drinks. Definitely flexible, if you make the effort to ask them ahead of time. The key is to plan ahead, don't leave things to the last minute and the staff will certainly be willing to accommodate your needs. We had a great experience working with Oakview Terrace and we thoroughly enjoyed our wedding day.

    Oakview Terrace Reception Centre's reply:

    Thank you for your lovely comments. It was our pleasure to work with you

    Could we share on our website?
    Mary Lynn