Derks Formals & Menswear

43 reviews | Edmonton (Alberta)
See Photos, Pricing and Details

Reviews for Derks Formals & Menswear

4.2 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.1
  • Professionalism 4.2
  • Flexibility 4.2
  • Value 4.2
  • Response time 4.3

Awards

43

3 User photos

Order by:
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 21/08/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Looked Sharp!

    My groomsman and I looked very dapper on the big day! we had a ton of help getting fitted, which was a challenge since two of my guys were out of town, but everything came in, got altered, and was ready to rock on the big day.

    Sent on 24/08/2021

    Derks Formals & Menswear's reply:

    Hi Samantha, thank you for your review! We are happy to have been a part of your big day, congratulations!
  • Kaylar

    Kayla R. · Married on 07/08/2021

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Perfect for our day

    Derks was very accommodating with scheduling during the pandemic. They were easy to book with but the only negative was that they were supposed to confirm our appointment with a phone call the week of the fittings and we never received one.

    Sent on 28/03/2021

    Derks Formals & Menswear's reply:

    Hi Kayla, thank you for this feedback! We are always looking for ways to improve and we will share your comments with our floor staff. Congratulations on your big day!
  • Sonia

    · Married on 07/11/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best quality

    Renting suits from Derk's Formal is amazing. We were in communication regarding the groom and groomsmen suits measurements and rentals.

    One groomsmen manage to get everything sorted out in Saskatchewan for his measurements and everything worked out perfectly.

    Sent on 10/11/2020
  • Ayla

    Ayla · Married on 17/10/2020

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Avoid this place like the plague

    Worst experience ever. Would not recommend. The staff was nothing but rude. We started looking for suits in September 2019. Made an appointment and headed in. We originally dealt with Avery who was so scatterbrained. She left us in the fitting area. Forgot to bring different suit sizes and when we decided to just leave she told us next time to book an appointment even though we did and she was the one that checked us in. A few months later we went back and dealt with Min who honestly is the only person I would recommend dealing with. He got us all set up, helped my husband find a suit and all was perfect. Once Covid hit we postponed our original plans and reached out immediately. Again dealing with Avery who forgot to change our date and we had to call back several times to confirm. Closer to our new date we went in to confirm everything. Derks lost our groomsmen’s deposits and sizes that were called in. And I was met with rude remarks from an older lady working there who basically told me that they didn’t call in and that I was lying even though we had payment proof from the groomsmen. She was so rude to me I left in tears out of frustration. One of my groomsmen called in an updated size and she had also stated on the phone with him “wow, you sure got big”. We were called the Tuesday before our wedding saying everything was ready for pick up, but when we went into pick up our suits they were not ready. The day of the wedding the sizing was all wrong and half the suits were missing cufflinks, and one of the shoes were damaged and looked like garbage. It was overall a dumpster fire and I would not recommend Derks to anyone looking at renting suits. The customer service was appalling. We would have cancelled but they were refusing refunds which given the circumstances was unacceptable.

    ***As a business who’s primary focus is creating an experience they sure did a terrible job at that. Buyer beware.

    Sent on 21/10/2020
  • Kate

    Kate P. · Married on 09/10/2020

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Nice suits, but check before you pickup

    We ordered suits for the groom and 3 groomsmen. All but 1 suit had a problem with the order (wrong size, color, cut...). As our wedding was out of town, we were leaving a day early, but due to the error a groomsmen had to stay behind and go in the day before the wedding to pick up the correct pieces. Once we got everything we needed, the suits were decent, but one pair of pants was still the wrong size.
    I’m not sure if the mistakes were because of poor measuring at the fitting or the employee picking the order picked the wrong sizes but there were a lot of mistakes.

    Sent on 29/12/2020
  • Kayley

    Kayley C. · Married on 14/07/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    10/10 experience!

    The boys’ tuxedos looked GREAT & the prices for rentals were awesome!! The manager of the 82 ave location was so helpful in helping us pick Bridesman attire too! Thanks so much!!

    Sent on 16/08/2020
  • Shawn

    Shawn C. · Married on 10/06/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic Customer Service

    These gentleman went out of their way to resolve an "over-budget" suit purchase my son naively made. Both Sterling and Brandon were exceptional. Polite, flexible, and willing to work together to find a solution. I can't recommend highly enough. We'll be returning for future formal wear purchases.

    Sent on 10/06/2020
  • Sarah

    Sarah · Married on 18/01/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very helpful, great selection

    Derks was very helpful both with purchasing a suit for my fiancé and renting suits for our groomsmen who were scattered across Alberta and BC. Derk's had very helpful staff who made recommendations and weren't afraid to tell us if something didn't look quite right. They also had a much larger rental selection than most of the other places we visited.

    Sent on 27/01/2020
  • T

    Tina W. · Married on 31/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great experience!

    Very happy with the price and choices of tux! Would definitely rent from them again

    Sent on 27/02/2020
  • Éva

    Éva K. · Married on 05/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome suit colours

    We had such a hard time finding a good red suit for my husband and they delivered! We love it it photographed well and also dry cleaned so well.

    Sent on 23/10/2019
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.