Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for The Spice Factory

The Spice Factory

The Spice Factory

Hamilton, Ontario
4.5 out of 5 rating, 16 reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.5 out of 5 rating
16 reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.4 out of 5 rating
89% Recommended by couples

Awards

16

28 User photos

  • C
    Cassaundra L. Sent on 14/06/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Venue for elegant yet casual

    My partner and I were looking for a wedding venue that could host our ceremony, cocktail, and reception. Spice Factory was amazing during our year of planning. They were so collaborative and always focused on making our ideas and dreams happen. On the day of, the staff was very attentive and ensured our guests were looked after including well fed and quickly served at the bar. Jana and her team are amazing at making it all happen on the day of. We had 0 wedding regrets about our venue and wish we could do it all again.
  • Alana
    Alana M. Sent on 22/08/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best decision we made

    If you are considering booking The Spice Factory for your wedding, do not hesitate! Our wedding could not have been what it was without The Spice Factory staff. We original booked our wedding for August 2021, but we had to reschedule due to the pandemic. The Spice Factory was more than accommodating and we actually got more than we originally paid for due to all the amazing updates the venue made during the pandemic. Haley, the venue cooridinator, is phenomenal!! She's is quick to respond and was available for anything I needed. She has lots of great insight, experience and opinions. Much like Haley, the rest of the staff are great. Chef Dez and the team in the kitchen work quickly and prepared an amazing meal for our guests. We loved having access to the entire venue. We had our ceremony on the top floor, dinner on the second, and finished the night with dancing and drinks on the first floor and patio. The bridal suite is massive and has lots of great natural light which our hair and makeup team really appreciated. The venue has lots of great decor available and I was able to setup early which made the day of so much more enjoyable. The venue is beautiful and gives the perfect modern/industrial feel. Thanks to The Spice Factory, our wedding day will be a day that we remember forever.
  • L
    Lizzy K. Sent on 23/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible in every way

    Planned a wedding in the middle of a pandemic and I could NOT have asked for a better venue to go through it with. Throughout the entire process and with ongoing changes in restrictions/lockdowns etc. they remained professional, reasonable, punctual and informative. Haley and Chef Dez were kind, knowledgeable and incredibly accommodating.
    The day of was amazing, set up was beautiful, the flow of the day was well organized, even when using all three floors. The staff on the day of were great, guests were raving about the kindness of servers and bartenders. Food was delicious and beautifully presented.
    The mood and ambiance of the Spice Factory is unmatched for a true Hamilton wedding experience. I would recommend this venue a hundred times over.

    Photos by @nauticalstudios
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Stephanie
    Stephanie S. Sent on 11/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Run don't walk...

    Words cannot fully describe our experience with The Spice Factory.
    We booked our wedding for September 2021 back in 2019, before the pandemic. A world away from where we are now.

    With all the stress of planning a wedding through Covid-19, starting a new job and just watching the world burn, I was an absolute nervous wreck and very disorganized. The on-site wedding planner I had met before the pandemic was no longer working there, so I met the new planner, Haley, in the months prior to the wedding.

    Haley was an absolute DREAM to work with. (Truly the entire staff was incredible, but Haley deserves a shoutout for dealing with my many emails and phone calls.)
    Throughout this entire process she was just a call away. Always helpful, efficient and kind. She was constantly checking in with my MOH the day of the wedding to ensure everything was running smoothly.
    Thank you Haley so very much for all you did for me leading up to the wedding!

    The Food. Where do I begin? Absolutely delicious. Our guests were blown away by the cocktail hour and the dinner. Chef Dez and his team have curated a number of gorgeous menus and were so accommodating with any substitutions/adjustments that we needed. (Sick getting a sad, damp portobello mushroom as the veg/gluten-free option at most venues? That won't happen here.)

    The Bar & Service. The bar staff were so much fun and our guests had the best time with them while ordering their drinks. They brought so much personality and fun to their service while being very professional.

    For the sake of writing a review that people will actually read, I should wrap it up here.
    You will not be disappointed with entrusting your wedding/event with the team at The Spice Factory. 10/10 all across the board.

    TLDR; Our wedding day was perfect, and The Spice Factory was perfect :)
  • A
    Andre M. Sent on 24/07/2021
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    No flexibility

    The Spice Factory is absolutely beautiful and we were looking forward to having our wedding here in November 2020. However due to all the uncertainty surrounding COVID 19 we made the decision to postpone our wedding to 2021. This is where everything went wrong and the staff and owner at the Spice Factory continue to be unreasonable and refuse to honour our contract. When we originally signed our contract in August 2019 we included the option to bring our own outside caterer in the signed contract and put down a deposit with both the Spice Factory and our outside caterer. When we decided to postpone our wedding due to these extraordinary circumstances surrounding the coronavirus our caterer and other vendors were extremely accommodating. The same cannot be said for the Spice Factory. If we wanted to postpone our wedding and still use the outside caterer as per our contract we were told we could only reschedule to a date between January-April 2021 and that if we wanted a date between May-December 2021 we would have to use the Spice Factory in house caterer since they are planning on phasing out using outside catering. We then asked for our deposit back because that would not work for us and we thought they would be understanding due to everything going on with COVID 19. If we were to use their in house caterer it would be significantly more expensive than using the caterer we had already hired plus we would loose our deposit with the caterer we had put a deposit down with. We also asked that they please make an exception due to COVID 19 and let us use our outside caterer for a date between May-December 2021. They still refuse to accommodate. We do not think we are being unreasonable as no one could have expected this to happen.
  • N
    Natalie L. Sent on 20/08/2020
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Covid19 wedding disaster

    The Spice Factory is absolutely beautiful and we were looking forward to having our wedding here in November 2020. However due to all the uncertainty surrounding COVID 19 we made the decision to postpone our wedding to 2021. This is where everything went wrong and the staff and owner at the Spice Factory continue to be unreasonable and refuse to honour our contract. When we originally signed our contract in August 2019 we included the option to bring our own outside caterer in the signed contract and put down a deposit with both the Spice Factory and our outside caterer. When we decided to postpone our wedding due to these extraordinary circumstances surrounding the coronavirus our caterer and other vendors were extremely accommodating. The same cannot be said for the Spice Factory. If we wanted to postpone our wedding and still use the outside caterer as per our contract we were told we could only reschedule to a date between January-April 2021 and that if we wanted a date between May-December 2021 we would have to use the Spice Factory in house caterer since they are planning on phasing out using outside catering. We then asked for our deposit back because that would not work for us and we thought they would be understanding due to everything going on with COVID 19. If we were to use their in house caterer it would be significantly more expensive than using the caterer we had already hired plus we would loose our deposit with the caterer we had put a deposit down with. We also asked that they please make an exception due to COVID 19 and let us use our outside caterer for a date between May-December 2021. They still refuse to accommodate. We do not think we are being unreasonable as no one could have expected this to happen.
  • Graeme
    Graeme M. Sent on 10/01/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Spice Factory was magical on our wedding day!

    The Spice Factory was an amazing venue for our wedding ceremony and reception. It is spacious and accessible, and allowed for an effortless flow through our day with the multi-level event spaces. The backdrops this building offers really shocked us, and the staff throughout the day were amazing, very accommodating to our guests needs. Chef Dez also did not disappoint - the food was awesome, and our guests were offered GF, V and Veg options. Highly recommend!

    The Spice Factory's reply:

    Thank you to both of you for your kind words and for choosing our team to execute your most valued day!
    We wish you both the best of luck and we hope we see you again soon...
    Warm regards
    The Spice Team
  • A
    Ariane Sent on 21/09/2020
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect little COVID wedding

    We hired the Spice Factory for our June 2020 wedding but of course, had to postpone due to COVID19. Spice Factory was great during the pandemic - they let us choose a backup date anytime in the next year. Choosing to be optimistic, we went for an early September date and are so glad we did.
    Spice Factory adapted to the new regulations and let us know what the new reality would look like. We worked with Natasha who designed floor plans to match our bubbles for both tables and ceremony. She also helped us do almost everything on the patio, flipping it after the ceremony so our guests could stay outside. While we lucked out with weather Natasha mentioned that they'll be putting an awning in next year so that more people can be outside no matter the weather.
    Our wedding motto was 'whatever is easiest' which although that got complicated with the pandemic, Spic Factory met our every expectation of easy. I loved that they provided everything - linens, furniture, some of the decor, and beautiful getting ready space. It's centrally located and they are so flexible with what they allow you to do in the space (we brought a ping-pong table).
    It was heartbreaking to change our plans but in the end, I could not have been more pleased with our wedding. Thank you, Natasha and Des, for your hard work leading up to the wedding and on the day of.
  • Claudia
    Claudia P. Sent on 30/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Venue & Staff

    What an amazing place to get married! We had initially settled on the Spice Factory as one of our top venue choices based on the style of the building, we fell in love with the exposed brick and harvest tables we saw in pictures. Once we visited and spoke with Natasha we realized the venue couldn't be more perfect for us! Important things like the chairs, tables, linens, ceremony arbor, and a day-of coordinator were included, and the responsiveness of the staff was fantastic! They were always available to answer any questions we had!

    The day of our wedding the staff went ABOVE and BEYOND and helped out with all the small details that no bride wants to be thinking about on their wedding day! And they were very flexible with any last minute changes we had.

    I would give them a solid 10/10 and recommend the venue and staff to anyone!! Thank you again Spice Factory team!
  • Anni
    Anni B. Sent on 02/05/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Downtown Hamilton Wedding Venue

    We got married at the Spice Factory on November 2, 2019. Throughout the planning process the staff were accommodating and very helpful. They made the whole thing a breeze! They communicated with our caterer and made sure he was able to see visit before and check out the kitchen area, and he had nothing but great things to say. Our wedding day was PERFECT. Natasha was fantastic. It was really the best day ever. Our guests loved the venue and we did too. There are also lots of cool spots close by to take photos. We lucked out with the weather and were able to take photos on the patio area and in a nearby alleyway, but the pictures we got inside were great too. Thank you Spice Factory for making our wedding day so wonderful!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message