Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Walper Hotel

Walper Hotel View more information

61 reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 61
  • WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner

22 User photos

  • Rebecca
    Rebecca F. Married on 16/04/2022
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    It was beautiful but details got missed

    Not the smoothest day but good over all. Just be sure to check everything twice on the time line and final menu. Lovely people and event staff
  • H
    Holly W. Married on 23/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Hair stylist

    I love working at the Walper. The team is attentive, kind and professional. As a hair stylist, I want to see the bridal party feel prepared, at ease and most importantly, having fun! This is what the Walper provides.
  • Kendra
    Kendra S. Married on 06/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Modern, clean, excellent staff

    The staff was so helpful when they we're walking us through the venue and explained the packages well. The venue is gorgeous, so full of history and they've really kept to the vintage theme while adding modern elements. I would absolutely recommend!
  • Kristine
    Kristine Married on 23/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Venue

    We had to postpone our wedding like many others due to COVID. Andréa and Ashley were amazing to work with, and very flexible in answering all of our questions and concerns and accommodating with our requests.
  • Alana
    Alana A. Married on 24/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing venue!

    My husband and I recently got married at the Walper Hotel and it was honestly a perfect weekend. The Walper Hotel itself is such a beautiful venue, it made for a perfect intimate wedding with our family and friends. The entire staff, from the wedding coordinators, chef, front reception, to the servers and bartenders at the wedding were outstanding. They made planning the wedding so easy, and we loved staying at the hotel leading up to and after the wedding. The accommodations were excellent and our wedding guests that stayed overnight really loved the hotel. We highly recommend the Walper!
  • Kayla
    Kayla Married on 13/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Above and Beyond

    First of all, this has to be hands down the best customer service I have ever experienced. Andrea was so incredibly accommodating and understanding I truly felt valued and heard. She is so incredibly enthusiastic and made planning so much easier than i ever thought possible. No request, question, or even comment went without an answer, and if she didn't know, had no problem searching until she did. I was absolutely blown away.

    The food at the walper is AH-MAZE-ING! We went for our complementary tasting and ended up adding a few things to our menu since we just had to have them. Andrea, of course, was happy to oblige. I changed my mind so many times and not once did I feel like an inconvenience.

    Then you have the overall splendor that is the walper itself. A perfect one stop shop since you can have the ceremony, dinner, and reception all on one place. No need to go outside at all, unless you want to take gorgeous pictures in the many amazing locations around Kitchener. This also makes this venue perfect for a winter wedding which is what we chose. So gorgeous. So spacious. So affordable. They were happy to work with my budget and never made me feel like I needed to spend more or wasn't spending enough.

    They are surely a team of experts that will happily go the extra mile to make your day everything you hoped and in my experience, even more. Do not overlook them. They will wow you!
  • Lia
    Lia M. Married on 06/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing venue with fantastic staff!

    Andrea and Ashley (The A-Team) were absolutely FANTASTIC in helping our wedding day come together and being on call for anything we needed that day. We felt so supported and knew that everything was being taken care of. It was so helpful to have them both there, guiding us to different portions of the day and helping us stick to the timeline too. Also, Andrea and Ashley created a private text group with me that day, which made asking questions and connecting with them so seamless. We also chose to get the Historic King suite which was perfect for us girls to get ready in the morning and then amazing to have the rest of the day for us and the wedding party to meet back up in. We couldn't have asked for a better day and we were just beaming the whole time ☺

    Our guests had an amazing time too and raved about the food and service. They were really impressed with the flow of the evening and we didn't have a single worry all night. We are so grateful for the staff at the Walper who helped make our wedding day so special. Not only the day of, but also just being there and being so supportive through the booking and postponing process too during the pandemic. We talk all the time about how this pandemic solidified that we absolutely chose the right venue with how they've handled everything and helped us re-envision our day. You won't be disappointed in choosing the Walper!
  • K
    Karla S. Married on 30/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Walper & Changes due to Covid

    We first went to the Walper in Oct 2019 and knew right away we would be booking the venue for our Dec. 2020 wedding. Due to the unknowns with Covid and many factors at play, my fiance and I began to feel uneasy about whether we should do our wedding in Dec. I reached out to Andrea (our coordinator - who is amazing!) and told her our concerns. The Walper has been nothing but supportive, accommodating and flexible during this challenging time. Despite what other venues may have said was too early to change, the Walper told us we could change our date at no extra cost. We have now switched to a 2021 wedding and we couldn't be happier with our decision to go with the Walper. If you are considering this venue, we highly recommend it. Not only is it a gorgeous venue, but the people working at the Walper are also amazing!!
  • Kristen
    Kristen R. Married on 02/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent experience

    My husband and I initially choose The Walper Hotel after Covid hit and we needed to postpone our wedding. Not only is the venue itself beyond beautiful, Andrea who was our main wedding coordinator, was beyond amazing to work with - there are so many amazing things I could say about her. She was great through the whole process, even when we had to postpone our wedding one more time. She listened to what we wanted and gave many creative suggestions along the way. Her and her team were so flexible, it made the planning easy. On the day of the wedding, the girls were great. They checked on me throughout the day, setup the ceremony, super responsive to my request. I can’t thank The Walper Hotel enough for how wonderful they are. I highly recommend them!