Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Hockley Valley Resort

Hockley Valley Resort

Hockley Valley Resort

Mono, Ontario
Rating 4.8 out of 5, 34 reviews
View more information

34 reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.7 out of 5

Awards

  • 34

62 User photos

  • Nicole & Kevin
    Kevin V. Married on 04/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    September 2021 Wedding

    We could not have chosen a better venue for our Wedding. We loved the ceremony and reception space, it was a perfect size for us and a great outdoor and indoor space.

    But the experience would not have been as great as it was, if it wasn't for the staff. Tamara was the first one we dealt with that helped us with arranging everything up until the date of our wedding. She and the rest of the team were so helpful and accommodating, especially with the changes due to the pandemic. They were with us every step of the way and answered the hundreds of questions that we had.

    Kendra was our day of coordinator and she helped make sure that everything that we needed and the last of our questions were taken care of.

    The catering team and on site team for the day of the wedding were fantastic. We have nothing bad to say about the food, and the catering team gave us a pleasant and amazing experience.

    Thank you Hockley Valley for making our Wedding day perfect.
    - Nicole and Kevin

    Hockley Valley Resort's reply:

    Thank you so much for your review - we are thrilled to have been a part of your special day nd have forwarded your comments to our team!
  • S
    Sarah J. Married on 14/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    August 2021 Wedding

    After postponing several times because of COVID-19, we decided to have our ceremony on the Montclair patio. The venue was amazing, Kendra was so sweet and helpful in making our big day so special for us. Unfortunately we could not get into a restaurant there afterwards but we enjoyed relaxing after a long day with some room service in our bridal suite. Thank you again to everyone at Hockley Valley for making our wedding ceremony a dream come true!
  • Megan
    Megan S. Married on 12/06/2021
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    June 12.2021

    They were extremely accommodating during covid times
  • Livia
    Livia J. Married on 16/10/2020
    Rating 3.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Great wedding with some tips for future brides/grooms

    Overall, we had a great day at Hockley Valley. The venue is gorgeous and good value for the price. Hockley was very flexible during COVID-19 for our wedding during COVID on October 16, 2020. Kendra and the banquet hall staff were excellent to work with and they tried to be accommodating throughout. The Aida Ballroom is lovely and Montclair Patio is gorgeous. The grounds are gorgeous during the autumn for a wedding. My main complaints are with the hotel. A few tips:

    1) Make sure you have adequate help for decor set up and take down, as Hockley generally only provides 1 hour prior to the ceremony for set up. We got a bit extra time due to COVID-19 (there was a bit more availability on our Friday day), but we had a lot of custom intricate decor with the arch, lanterns with florals, candles, etc. and hired a professional decorator and florist team to assist. We wouldn't have been able to do it otherwise in 1 hour or less. Our bridal party was busy getting ready and I wouldn't leave it to acquaintances to assist with, especially if it's during COVID-19. Hire professionals even just for setup because you will need it! I saw a few people mentioned that they were grateful for the help. Hockley will help with setting up chairs, tables for the reception but any custom decor we trusted to our team to ensure it was properly done as they don't have the time to do anything much more.

    2) We were given the wrong room. We specifically wanted the bridal suite for our wedding (then again, who doesn't) but I think because of the date change due to COVID-19, we were given a corporate suite instead. My husband, the groom, was given a room that was quite crappy -- the shower didn't work, the coffee maker didn't work, so he had to switch rooms the day of the wedding!! We didn't get much more than an apology well after the wedding day, although that is something. But seeing other reviews saying they got a welcome basket and complimentary wine, etc. - we didn't even get a glass of water or wine in our fridge, it was completely bare -- do NOT expect them to go above and beyond in any way with the hotel, especially during COVID-19.

    3) This relates to the above. If you want any leniency during check in or check out, don't expect it. The day after our wedding day, some family came by our bridal suite to chat and drop off gifts (we couldn't do the typical breakfast get-together due to COVID-19) and when I asked for an extra 30 minutes check out as we had a TON of stuff to remove such as my wedding dress, gifts, etc., the hotel staff were very rude in saying I had 20 minutes max and that was it. This made no sense as due to COVID-19, I was advised (and told all my guests in writing a week before the wedding) that their rooms would be left empty before and after for 24-48 hours. However, this was clearly NOT true as they said I had to be out within 20 minutes max, as they would be brining in new guests soon after! Obviously after cleaning but this didn't provide a ton of comfort to know the information we were all provided wasn't true. My family had to scramble to get me a Dollie (they offered zero assistance here), to get out ASAP. After spending a ton of money on my wedding here, I definitely didn't feel any extra effort or attention. I wasn't even asked upon check out if I enjoyed my stay, basically just viewed as a complete number. It's obvious that Hockley prefers their business/golf clientele unfortunately, so if you are looking for any above & beyond experience on your wedding day, I'd recommend nearby hotels or spas for that. I certainly didn't feel that way.

    3) Don't order anything from the restaurant the day of your wedding. The groomsmen, my husband and some guests went down to Restaurant 85 for lunch the day of the wedding and were left wondering if something was wrong with the Kitchen, they took over an hour to get a simple sandwich or burger and my husband ended up having to take his burger to go because he was walking down the aisle within 30 minutes at that point. I luckily just got a fruit/cheese platter and took it upstairs to my suite so the girls were fine, but I wouldn't depend on restaurant service the day of your wedding if you are pressed for time. They will not show any courtesy to you the day of your wedding to ensure that your meal comes quickly, etc.

    Overall, Aida and Montclair was lovely and I don't have any regrets about that. The actual hotel booking, in retrospect, wasn't the best but I'd recommend you CALL and ensure the bridal suite is actually what you are getting along with a good suite for the groomsmen as well. :)
  • Emily
    Emily Married on 03/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Made the best out of our Covid-19 wedding!

    We were super happy with how our Oct 3, 2020 wedding at Hockley Valley turned out! It was the only venue we toured and loved that we could do everything in one spot (rehearsal, hotel, getting ready, ceremony, reception, pictures etc.). We originally had 250+ people on our guest list and we were pleased that Hockley could accommodate everyone, including having the hotel for those who wanted to stay.

    Unfortunately Covid-19 did result in some big changes for us. Last minute, we cancelled at Hockley and started planning a back yard wedding hoping we could accommodate more guests with the restrictions at the time, however the restrictions changed yet again only a few weeks before, and we were so relieved when Hockley still had our date available and helped us replan our wedding there in only a short few weeks. They were very understanding and accommodating. Kendra helped us organize everything and she was very attentive.

    We ended up with 50 guests, which was still a great time. We did our rehearsal on the Montclair Patio the night before and had a rehearsal dinner at Babbo. We couldn’t make reservations but it all worked out, we spaced out a different tables and dinner was great. The bridal suite was no longer available to us due to our last minute reschedule, but the suite we got was nice with lots of room for the girls to get ready in on the day of. The spa was closed so we couldn’t get ready there as originally planned. We pre-ordered room service for the day of (put our orders in the week prior) and Kendra delivered breakfast to our rooms as scheduled. We also had a complimentary bottle of wine with a hand written note from Kendra in our room. Our ceremony was on the Montclair Patio which is beautiful. We had a videographer do a live stream so the rest of our guests could watch from home. It was a cool fall day, but we captured many great pictures outside with the fall colours and beautiful backdrops that Hockley offers. Our reception was in part of the Montclair Ballroom which was also nice. We kept our decor very simple and made it more about the experience. We couldn’t have our DJ and dance, but we did speeches and did the bride/groom shoe game. We brought a speaker and made our own playlist for background music.

    The staff were all very attentive and made it a memorable experience for us. Kendra was listening carefully during our planning when my husband mentioned that he is not a big dessert guy and prefers more bread after dinner (he was joking but not lying) - the servers at our reception brought dessert to everyone, but brought my husband another big basket of fresh bread & balsamic for dipping. The same server/manager that was at our reception was also serving at breakfast in the morning at Restaurant 85 and brought us a complimentary fruit tray with “congratulations” written in chocolate syrup.

    Overall, while it wasn’t the day we originally planned, we were so glad we went through with it. We weren’t sure what to expect, but we decided to make the best out of a changed situation, and were super pleased! Thank you Hockey.

    Hockley Valley Resort's reply:

    Congratulations and thank you so much for the review - we were thrilled to help make your special day amazing!
  • Stephanie
    Stephanie Married on 29/02/2020
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing!!!

    Hockley Valley was the first and only venue my husband and I looked at when planning our wedding. We fell in love with it right away. We had a lot of out of town people coming in, so to make it easier we wanted our entire day at one location. Hockley made our dream happen.
    We worked with Kendra throughout our wedding planning process and she was great! Hockley was very flexible in terms of menu, room accommodations, etc. Their food is AMAZING! We still get compliments on how great the food was!!

    We had our Rehearsal dinner at the Adamo Winery the night before. It was an Italian family style dinner in their cellar room. It was absolutely delicious. Hockley provided a shuttle service to take us to and from so we did not have to worry about drivers. Our ceremony and reception the next day took place inside the Aida Ballroom. It was incredible! The staff were amazing and so attentive. The room and lounge area were perfect to have people space out throughout the evening.

    Wr had also booked the Executive Loft for the girls to space out and get ready in. The spa hair and makeup services there were fantastic. Sasha and Suzette were an amazing team and made all of us ladies look absolutely beautiful!

    Hockley even accommodated my husband and I when we came back two days after our wedding for our “Trash we the dress, ski photo shoot”. They truly go above and beyond for their customers.

    Thank you Kendra & Hockley Valley for making our special day absolutely perfect!!! ❤️

    Steph & Neil
  • Alana
    Alana T. Married on 26/10/2019
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Wonderful autumn wedding at beautiful Hockley Valley

    My husband and I were married in October 2019 at Hockley Valley Resort in Restaurant 85. It was a fantastic experience from beginning to end working with Hockley and hosting our wedding there. We had the pleasure of working with Kendra, Catering Sales & Event Manager. Kendra was with us every step of the way from our first meeting to seeing us both down the aisle! She made it so easy and ensured we were well informed of the process, knew when and how to make the best decisions for our special day. And answered every one of my one million questions!
    What I loved most about Hockley, was that we were able to make our wedding our own. We could customize where we wanted to and ensure this day was about us! We created a fantastic menu (which is still being talked about) paired with wine from their local winery. The staff were all amazing and super accommodating to us. Not to mention the breathtaking views and picture opportunities!
    I am so happy we celebrated our marriage at Hockley Valley Resort, it was exactly how to envisioned our special day. We cannot wait to go back to celebrate our anniversary!
  • Karina
    Karina S. Married on 04/10/2019
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fall wedding

    We booked about a year before our date after visiting twice and asking a million questions. We dealt with Eric and he was super nice, friendly, and flexible. A couple months before the wedding we emailed him trying to book our first planning meeting as we were told we would hear from him or Kendra, but heard from no one. We got an automatic reply that Eric was no longer with the company and to reach out to Kendra. It took a little longer for her to reply than we would have liked, but it worked out. Kendra was super friendly and helpful as well and we were in good hands with her.

    We were disappointed to find out they do not provide tastings and at no point was this brought to our attention. Even after mentioning that we would like to bring our parents to our tasting! We had dinner at The Cabin one night to try the food and felt reassured that the food would be great and it was! Our guests raved about the whole meal and the food at our rehearsal dinner was AMAZING. My in laws booked the private dining room off of Restaurant 85 (where our reception was) and ordered the Italian dinner. There was so much food and it was so good! They were completely amazing about dietary restrictions and even made my sister in law a last minute dinner during the reception when she announced she couldn't have dairy (we were unaware up til this point). The bartenders were amazing and had everyone's preferred drinks memorized right away which was pretty cool haha We loved having the lounge area by the bar because guests who didn't want to dance still felt part of the party.

    I had made bathroom baskets that got picked apart by the time cocktail hour started because random people who were not our guests were using the bathrooms. When we mentioned this to our coordinator she shrugged and said yeah, that happens. We were a little disappointed by that and wish Hockley would have monitored that as a random guy came out of the bathrooms and stood directly infront of us while our DJ was trying to introduce us into our reception *face palm*

    Our room block was for 13 rooms and we were able to extend that as people booked but by the time our guests started booking the hotel was already full outside of our block. Our guests were booking 5 months in advance! So heads up on that for guests. We didn't end up needing more rooms so it all worked out.

    We hired a coordinator from their preferred vendors list and she was wonderful! (Elegant Professionals). I definitely recommend a coordinator to set up the spaces as we weren't allowed into the ceremony space (Montclair Patio) until only an hour before the ceremony. We were allowed into the reception space (Restaurant 85) a little earlier than that, but we definitely would have been stressed setting to up ourselves with that timing.

    We asked about taking photos up on the ski hills as it was fall and the colours were really nice. We were allowed up there through an access road and those are our favorite photos! Highly recommend this if you can manage the timing!
    All in all it was a great day and our guests had a blast!
  • Mallory
    Mallory Married on 28/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfection

    Hockley Valley Resort provided the perfect backdrop for my wedding. The venue itself is gorgeously decorated and I had to do very little to make my space aesthetic. The food was unbelievable. The staff goes above and beyond to help provide the best service. And Kendra made the whole planning experience easy and was very prompt in replying to emails. She always had a smile and was so warm and friendly. I couldn't have asked for better.

    Hockley Valley Resort's reply:

    Thank you so much for your feedback, we're thrilled to have helped make your special day extra special!
  • Mcmaningwell
    Married on 27/09/2019
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Our Wedding was perfect!

    We upgraded our dinners to Prime Rib, and let me tell you, we were stunned by the portion sizes we received! Everyone left our wedding with a belly FULL of delicious food, and they still rave to us about how delicious the whole meal was.
    The venue was a perfect fit for our style, and the Restaurant 85 Manager was excellent at working with us and being proactive to avoid any delays or issues on the day of our event.
    We would definitely go back for a delicious meal from time to time!

    Hockley Valley Resort's reply:

    Thank you so much - we're thrilled to have been a part of your special day! Looking forward to welcoming you back for a visit.