Hilton Toronto/Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa
8500 Warden Avenue L6G 1A5 Markham (Ontario) Map · Phone number
Write a review Hired? Save

Reviews for Hilton Toronto/Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.6
  • Response time 4.8

Awards

22

3 User photos

Hilton Toronto/Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa 1
Hilton Toronto/Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa 2
Hilton Toronto/Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa 3
Order by:
  • A

    Antonia Lobo · Married on 11/05/2019

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Spring wedding at Hilton Markham Suites

    We chose Hilton for our wedding.The Events Manager Nellie was very professional and prompt to respond to our requirements, she tried to accommodate to the best of her ability. The head chef came to us during the tasting and was very responsive to our needs and the food was excellent including the presentation and quantity. The service was good had a few guests complaint about getting a wrong meal from a rude server on a particular table but for most guests said service was good. Guests got free parking during the reception which was good.We were told there would be signs to indicate to guests where to go for cocktail hour but that was missing , so we had to ask friends to assist as lot of guests were going in the wrong direction.We expected the Zen garden to be in full bloom but it was not ready for the event , we were told flowers would be planted but dint see any , so the garden looked quite bare in the pictures which was disappointing after paying for it.We had to buy two cherry blossom trees and some flowers the night before and bring them which was inconvenient and expensive.We wanted to have smoke effects during our first dance but told we couldn’t and had to pay additional for it and it was a huge amount so we waited for weeks to check an alternative which was the cold sparks , found a vendor , got special approvals to have that which was a hit .Majority of our international guests stayed there , we were offered special rates but guests found better rates online and said everything was good in the room apart from the breakfast, they expected a better spread for the amount paid. In terms of the Markham ballroom I think they could have new chandeliers and nicer dance floor in future which would make a huge difference to their space.Overall 7/10 experience.

    Hilton Toronto/Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa 4
    Hilton Toronto/Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa 5
    Hilton Toronto/Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa 6
    Sent on 17/07/2019
  • Ashley

    Ashley Martin · Married on 14/10/2018

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Gorgeous hotel with spacious rooms, makes a great venue

    We had our wedding ceremony at the Hilton Toronto/Markham. We were captivated by the marble walls and outdoor garden. The rooms were really nice and the staff were friendly. Nellie accommodated our every need! AV equipment rental was pricey (it's outsourced), other than that, no complaints!

    Sent on 07/11/2018
  • Andrea

    Andrea Lee · Married on 23/09/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chinese wedding reception Sep 2017

    Lorraine was great to work with! She was very responsive in answering my emails and questions and coordinating all the details of our wedding reception. She worked very closely with the Chinese caterer (Rovey) and the whole planning process went very smoothly! We found other venues were pushy in their sales tactics and really put a price tag on every single thing but with Lorraine, she was very patient and didn't rush us in our decision making and accomodated our requests. We enjoyed working with her and really appreciated all her help! The venue was a nice and open space with high ceilings which made it feel open and not cramped. Everything was well spaced out and our guests had a lot of room the move around. The were another wedding in the lower level in their smaller ballroom and there was some confusion between our guests and their guests. There were signs around directing guests but maybe more signs were needed to make it easier. Overall the reception ran smoothly with no hiccups and the head waiter servicing the head table was amazing and very experienced with working weddings - he was great! The wedding package included a one-night stay at the hotel which was very convenient after a long day! We also ended up getting hotel rooms for our wedding party which they appreciated a lot!

    Sent on 17/05/2018
  • Cindy

    Cindy Pang · Married on 02/07/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The food was excellent. Some of the server wasn't train well. The food and drink are a bit on the pricey side and some extra fee will apply. The Zen garden are very pretty, but no clear direction of where the guest goes. The manager and organizer are ver responsive and checked out on the day of the wedding.

    Sent on 04/07/2017
  • C

    Cherry Cheng · Married on 10/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We really think we made the right choice going with Hilton as our venue provider. The entire team was such a pleasant to work with!! This includes Lorraine, the coordinator, who has been so responsive and helpful with all our questions we had. She is very flexible, giving us different options to explore for our floor plan to accommodate all our guests. On top of that, she was also very organized and professional, making our process easy. Their Banquets team, especially Peter and Cammy, were also an immense help during the night, making sure we were taken care of and leading us around to say cheers to our guests. The team at Hilton has a lot of experience, which made us enjoyed both our planning process and our wedding night. We would recommend Hilton to anyone who is looking for a beautiful venue with extremely helpful and highly experienced staff who makes the entire planning and execution easy!

    Sent on 14/06/2017
  • Audrey

    Audrey Lew · Married on 20/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The interaction with Lorraine Shum from Day 1 was excellent. I was able to discuss various price options and scenarios with her, without judgement. The wait staff during the reception was also exceptional. Kudos to the Hilton

    Sent on 07/06/2017
  • M

    Mandy · Married on 15/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lorraine was the most helpful person ever. She made sure the wedding ran smoothly. All the servers were amazing too, especially Peter who helped the head table. I can't get over how beautiful everything was and how at ease I felt because the staff were so helpful. I am so glad my husband and I decided to host our wedding here, it was the best decision we ever made. We are so satisfied with the food from Rovey Catering as well. Harvey is great, everyone loved the food and it was so filling.

    Sent on 17/10/2016
  • Leona

    Leona Jasmin Cua · Married on 08/10/2016

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Professional team to work with. Lorraine, Wedding Planner very easy to work with... she responds to questions at a timely manner. Banquet captain very attentive. It was a eventful night. Didn't have to worry about anything.

    Sent on 16/11/2016
  • C

    Carina and Rodney · Married on 10/09/2016

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    My fiancee and I were looking for a place where we could both get ready, and have our ceremony. We wanted to minimize running around and the Hilton Markham fit the bill.

    We booked a room 8 months from our wedding day, and I was really looking forward to the Hilton Markham, as it was close by to our banquet hall, and for a hotel was quite nice. I had really wanted to like the Hilton Markham, and had high expectations - but due to a couple of snags I unfortunately can not give a full 5 star review.

    Our coordinator from start to finish was awesome (Lorraine Shum - she deserves 5 out of 5 stars). Unfortunately there were a few things that came up that were beyond her control.

    One week before our wedding, we were informed that the hotel would be undergoing "minor renovations" for the front lobby. The large open space was one of the main reasons we liked the hotel in the first place, and while we were dissapointed, I was still optimistic that it wouldnt be that bad.

    Come day of when we arrived, the entire front lobby was sealed off with plastic and large construction walls - rendering the entire area utterly unusable for any sort of photos/video. Also due to the construction, our videographer had to get creative as when we were talking you would randomly hear a drill or a saw going on in the background.

    I have NO clue whos bright idea it was to plan a 3 week construction project at the beginning of Sept when its still VERY busy for weddings. There were 3 other weddings happening that day there. I feel bad for the other couples that had their full reception there to deal with all that. There is an "off season" for maintenance such as this.

    Our ceremony room for some reason seemed to NOT have any form of air circulation. I had asked one of the staff to turn up the AC but everyone in the room was still uncomfortably warm. After the ceremony everyone ran for the water station.

    Lastly, during our photoshoot we had wanted to take some photos inside the hotel - basically the main reason why we booked the hotel in the first place. During our photoshoot there was an individual that was lingering around, maybe just a gawker. But then this individual came to my wedding party and told us that we had to LEAVE since we were not allowed to take photos.

    My wedding party had to spend time explaining that we just got MARRIED UPSTAIRS and we were absolutely allowed to take photos.

    We were not disrupting anyone or in anyones way whatsoever. After a brief discussion, this individual had to "talk to the front desk". After a bit of back and forth he informed us he would "give us another 5 minutes".

    I was only informed of this after our photoshoot but this really annoyed me. From what I was told this individual worked for the Hilton with a name tag.

    We had 4 rooms booked for more then 1 night, got married upstairs, and given the construction was forced to use one of the side hallways and to STILL be interrupted and "warned" that we were not allowed to take photos is why I have to dock a few stars. Its not one single event, none of the things I mentioned were "catastrophic" but overall this experience failed to meet my expectations.

    I had spoken with our coordinator afterwards which she profusely apologized and said she would investigate.

    I do not blame our coordinator as she was on the ball from start to finish and these were circumstances beyond her control.

    The construction, the circulation in our ceremony room, and the individual that so rudely interrupted our photo session were all things beyond our coordinator's control - but given its the Hilton I really was dissapointed.

    For anyone else looking to use this location for a ceremony location I would highly advise to also ASK what other events may be happening on your big day to avoid dissapointment. Events AND construction. And to also make sure to tell your coordinator to tell the front desk that you will be there taking photos on your big day to avoid any aggravation.

    Despite these short comings I would still recommend the Hilton - as Lorraine is really THAT good and organized. The Hilton is very lucky to have her to compensate for their other short comings.

    I just wish the rest of the staff was as good as her.

    Sent on 19/10/2016
  • A

    Angel Juan · Married on 18/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Wedding & Special Events Manager was Lorraine Shum. She has been super accommodating and helpful from day one till the last day. Throughout the process she was super responsive to the billions of questions we had and very thoughtful to help us keep things within our budget. She never complained about any changes that we've made and was quick to come up with a solution to meet our needs. We could not have asked for a better person to work with!! We were so pleased with her! Even on the wedding when it was past her work hours, she still stayed back to check up on our banquet to make sure things were going smoothly. She went above and beyond for us! And the service at Hilton was flawless. ALL the servers and our banquet manager of the night were not only professional but very friendly and considerate as well. Their good service is consistent because we were there 2 weeks ago for another family member's wedding and the service was JUST as amazing. We loved our experience there and felt very well attended to. Hilton was amazing and Lorraine Shum our Wedding & Special Events Manager made the biggest impact of this all!!!! Thank you Hilton & Lorraine!!! You made our wedding day the best day of our life!!!

    Sent on 21/06/2016
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.