Waterstone Estate and Farms
17900 Dufferin Street L3Y 4V9 Newmarket (Ontario) Map · Phone number
Write a review Hired? Save

Reviews for Waterstone Estate and Farms

Recommended by 91% of couples · Write a review

38
4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.7
  • Response time 4.5
Order by:
  • M

    Megan · Married on 03/11/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lovely, cozy venue

    We were married in November 2018, and couldn't have chosen a better venue. Our ceremony was outside, and despite the cool weather, our guests were comfortable in the gazebo. The staff were great, the food was delicious, and the venue looked incredible. We supplied our own alcohol (which is a great cost saver), and the reception building is so naturally beautiful that our added decor was minimal and super manageable without a planner.

    Sent on 06/02/2019

    Waterstone Estate and Farms's reply:

    Hi Megan and Jeremy, It was wonderful to work with you both towards creating your beautiful day! Your wedding was gorgeous and we thank you so much for this lovely review! Best wishes from everyone at WaterStone!
  • Hailey

    Hailey · Married on 27/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A perfect day at a perfect venue

    Waterstone was everything we dreamed of for our wedding day! Devin was our wedding coordinator and she went above and beyond for our special day! They were very flexible and accommodating in every way! Even let us have our dog in the ceremony which was very important to us! We highly recommend them to everyone!

    Sent on 26/02/2019
  • M

    Megan Woodrow · Married on 05/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Venue

    We got married at Waterstone on October 5. We were so happy with the venue, the food, the staff, everything! I knew I wanted to book Waterstone when I saw it. Is a beautiful place with a gorgeous property. Devin was such a tremendous help through the whole process. She was always so friendly and professional, and always answered my many many emails and questions. I can’t say enough nice things about her. Our guests are still talking about how beautiful the place was and how good the food was. Thank you to Waterstone and to Devin for making our day so great!

    Sent on 24/10/2018

    Waterstone Estate and Farms's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words. Your wedding was truly beautiful in every way! It was an absolute pleasure to work with you and Mark and we wish you every happiness in the future.
  • K

    KARLA · Married on 10/09/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply wondreful!

    It has taken us some time to come up with the words that appropriately fit how much we loved working with the WaterStone Estate and Farms team as we fear anything we say will fall short, so we will briefly describe our experience and hope that our gratitude reaches their whole team.
    From the moment we made our first visit to the beautiful grounds we fell in love with the rolling hills, gazebo, barn and the hall itself which we would call more of a cottage than a hall. We were looking for a barn-like setting as we went for a rustic theme. Although not a typical farm, WaterStone was perfect for us as it was very ellegant yet rustic and simply beautiful.
    We received all of the information that we needed to make our decision on our first meeting and Devin was so kind and patient in answering all of our questions, no matter how silly they seemed.
    Unless you have a specific must have colour scheme that they may not have as a choice, the venue has the linnens, cutlery and other basics that one looks for from a hall. They also have a variety of decor items and lawn games that you can rent. Some places that we looked at had a bridal room/suite, WaterStone had a full basement dedicated to the bride and her ladies. It is complete with a washroom a powder room and a large sitting room whith a huge mirror so you can take a long look at yourself before you go upstairs to make your debut.
    We would recommend that you skip some meals when you go for your food tasting as they really pull out all of the stops so that you can make the best decision for your day. We must have changed our minds about our dinner choices at leat 6 times and not only was Devin super understanding she also replied to our emails within a very quick time frame making the whole process a breeze (at least for us).
    We were also provided with a list of recommended vendors which made our lives so much easier as those vendors were already familiar with the venue and most were reasonably priced.
    We were running behind schedule the day of the wedding and by the time we got there we were relieved to see that the staff had received our flowers for us.
    The space is already so beautiful and in line with what we wanted that we really did not have to do much in terms of decor so we had more than enough time to set up the day of (unfortunately we were unable to set up the night before due to an event they were hosting, which is completely understandable). The space has many windows and a beautiful glass double door that look out onto the property. There are twinkle lights hanging from the ceiling.
    Outside the grounds are simply a gorgeous background for photos, and there is plenty of parking for guests.
    It rained on our wedding day and once again Devin and the rest of the team shone through, they whipped down the seats for our guests in the gazebo before the ceremony took place. They provided us with elegant umbrellas for the wedding party (which are now part of our wedding photos). The staff was so wonderful and friendly, there was not a single complaint from any of our guests at all. The staff was really thoughtful, they brought food and water down to the bridal area as we were drying off after the pictures to make sure we ate something and stayed hydrated. They were so good that we never saw an empty glass/ bottle or dirty plate on a table for long during and after dinner.
    At the end of the night, we were told to leave everything and come back for our things the next morning (as there wasn't an event the next day). To be honest we had left the place downstairs a complete mess and dreading the clean up, so we were pleasently surprised when we came in and everything had been cleaned and packed neatly for us to just load up and go. I really do wish we had been able to give the staff a bigger tip than we did because they all did a magnificent job and we really cannot say enough good things about them or the venue.
    We know this is a long review, but if you're on the fence about renting out this space for your event we hope that it will help with your decision making.

    Best of luck,
    Jason & Karla

    P.S. If any of the WaterStone staff are reading this, thank you so much for having made our wedding day such a wonderful experience that we'll never forget.

    Waterstone Estate and Farms 1
    Waterstone Estate and Farms 2
    Waterstone Estate and Farms 3
    Sent on 14/03/2019

    Waterstone Estate and Farms's reply:

    Hi Karla and Jason, Thank you so much for your kind words. You were absolutely wonderful to work with and your wedding was gorgeous! Please do send photos and we would love to post them on our instagram. You made our day!!!! Best wishes from everyone at WaterStone!
  • A

    Alyssa Marconi · Married on 14/07/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Beautiful venue

    We got married on July 14, 2018 and day was amazing! The venue is beautiful and was more then we could ask for on our special day! Devin and Angie were so helpful throughout the planning process! On the day we had some rain but the we got to have our ceremony outside and the setting was perfect! The staff were great, especially on the day of! Angie went above and beyond making sure our day was perfect and everything was going as planned! We would highly recommend this venue! Thank you for an amazing day we will never forget!

    Sent on 18/01/2019
  • R

    Rosie Langford · Married on 06/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A review for our wedding day

    We absolutely loved our venue for our wedding! We got married at Waterstone estate & farms located in king, just outside of Newmarket,ON. Not only are the grounds absolutely beautiful but the staff is beyond amazing and very accommodating. They also provided us with a wedding coordinator included in the costs and she was phenomenal! Very welcoming from the beginning and helped us along our year long journey of planning our special day. Waterstone is perfect for that rustic country feel and is great for pictures with their beautiful land and their Barn! We got amazing pictures from both!! I highly recommend Waterstone to anyone!

    Waterstone Estate and Farms 4
    Waterstone Estate and Farms 5
    Waterstone Estate and Farms 6
    Waterstone Estate and Farms 7
    Waterstone Estate and Farms 8
    Waterstone Estate and Farms 9
    Waterstone Estate and Farms 10
    Sent on 07/08/2018
  • J

    Jennesa Makarenko · Married on 30/06/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Exactly what we were looking for!

    Daniel and I got married June 1st 2018 at WaterStone Estate. At our first tour, it was an easy decision to have our wedding reception at WaterStone! It was everything we had ever wanted. I loved the size of main room, made it feel cozy and warm with all our friends and family. The property is beautiful and you have it all to yourself! Devin was our wedding planner, and she was AMAZING. So comfortable to be around and she really made Daniel and I feel valued before and during out special day. I highly recommend WaterStone to any of your couples looking for a unique and cozy location to share your special day with the most important people in your life! Lastly, one of our guests booked their wedding there for 2019 because she loved the place so much!

    Waterstone Estate and Farms 11
    Waterstone Estate and Farms 12
    Waterstone Estate and Farms 13
    Waterstone Estate and Farms 14
    Waterstone Estate and Farms 15
    Waterstone Estate and Farms 16
    Waterstone Estate and Farms 17
    Waterstone Estate and Farms 18
    Waterstone Estate and Farms 19
    Waterstone Estate and Farms 20
    Waterstone Estate and Farms 21
    Waterstone Estate and Farms 22
    Waterstone Estate and Farms 23
    Waterstone Estate and Farms 24
    Sent on 12/11/2018
  • Samantha

    Samantha Milligan · Married on 28/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Magical Views and Service

    I got married on April 28, 2018 and could not have been happier with the staff, venue, and food. I could not imagine a more beautiful venue to celebrate my new marriage. I highly recommend waterstone 10/10 if I did it over I would not change a thing!

    Sent on 02/08/2018

    Waterstone Estate and Farms's reply:

    Thanks so much for your kind words. It was an absolute pleasure to work with you and Ryan! All the best in the future and please send us photos of your beautiful day!
  • K

    Katie Duncan · Married on 09/09/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Waterstone has got to be one of the most beautiful wedding venues in the GTA. Driving up to the venue is just incredible.

    I wanted to have my horse on site for the wedding so a barn venue was super important to me. Deborah helped get all the arrangements in place to have him there on the day.

    One thing I would say is that I'm more of a traditional person and I really like to have face to face meetings to go over details so I struggled with the email correspondence that the coordinators at Waterstone preferred. I think it could have been much more efficient if we had meetings face-to-face to go over details.

    We hired another company for our day-of-wedding planning and that really helped alleviate any stresses I was having about getting everything in order for the big day. The combination of our planner and the Waterstone staff made the day flow so perfectly (Devin and Deborah were fabulous helping us get everything organized the day before an the day of).

    The pricing is really fair for all of the value that you get at this venue. Our food was incredible! We had so many compliments on the food from our guests. The bartender was really nice and did a great job for the evening.

    All in all the staff at Waterstone made our day perfect. There's nothing that I can think of that went wrong or caused me stress on the day of the wedding. It was a beautiful day and we're so happy to have been able to host our day at Waterstone.

    Sent on 14/11/2017
  • A

    Amanda Maccallum · Married on 26/08/2017

    1.6
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    I do recommend the site, I just did not like how I was treated....
    we picked this place for the barn and then they decided to restore it and not have it ready on time. She said we could pay an extra $1,500 if we wanted to get married in the barn. So maybe my money would have paid for it to get finished but I highly doubt that.
    Also we paid for a fire pit and that was lit late, and by my father in law.
    She was very scatter brained.
    The place was absoulutly beautiful! So yes I recommend it but the owner was hard to connect with.

    Sent on 06/10/2017

    Waterstone Estate and Farms's reply:

    Hi Amanda and Brad, Thanks for your feedback. As you know, our heritage barn has always been used for photographs but not ceremonies. In early 2017 we shared with everyone that we were beginning a restoration on this historical barn in order to create a ceremony site which we know will be an exciting and beautiful addition to our other 3 beautiful ceremony site options. Restorations on historical buildings are hard to timeline, as there are structural as well as aesthetic renovations to be made, so unfortunately it was not ready for your wedding weekend in August. As we would not have accepted $1,500.00 for use of the heritage barn as a ceremony site, as it was not ready; and you chose our grass terrace which was beautiful for your ceremony, all I could do - and did do - was offer you free use of the barn for anniversary photos, or perhaps a baby naming ceremony that you might have in the future, or other event that you might be taking photos in the future. That offer still stands. I certainly do wish that your suggestion that a historical barn could be restored for $1,500.00 was accurate, but historical restorations are huge projects, and we will indeed be excited to have it ready for ceremonies in 2018. If I had a magic wand with which to have hurried the contractors, I would definitely have used it so that you could have had the barn available for your use. Please let me know if you want to take me up on my offer for a photography session in the barn next year.

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.

Hired this vendor?