Pillar and Post

27 reviews | Niagara on the Lake (Ontario)
See Photos, Pricing and Details

Reviews for Pillar and Post

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.5
  • Response time 4.5

Awards

27

9 User photos

Order by:
  • Serena

    Serena G. · Married on 13/02/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very flexible!

    We loved working with Pillar and Post! We had to make many changes to our original plan to due to COVID, and the Vintage Hotels team was consistently flexible and communicative with us.

    Sent on 23/01/2021
  • A

    April · Married on 05/12/2020

    1.6
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    False promises with covid restrictions.

    Due to covid restrictions we could not have the wedding we wanted. The restrictions state that the bar has to close at 9 and our wedding would be over by 10. Family having to sit far apart and many family members feeling uncomfortable coming. The restrictions have left us without the ability to have the wedding we want. We explained the situation and before we made our deposit we were assured a cancellation because of covid wasn’t a problem. Exact quote was “we are vintage, no problem”. Pillar and Post will not reimburse our $2000 deposit. Rather we have been given a year to use a credit for another event. It was so hard to get in touch with anyone for planning or questions. The front desk lost our contract leaving our family continually and unsuccessfully able to book a room with rooms we blocked off. I’m so disappointed, I never would have expected this from Vintage Hotels. We wanted to book a party in the future at Pillar and Post to celebrate but it has been such a negative experience that I’m not sure I could have my wedding or even stay there again.

    Sent on 25/11/2020
  • Ainsley

    Ainsley B. · Married on 01/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dream Wedding

    The Pillar and Post worked tirelessly to make our wedding the perfect day. They are so easy to work with, they work well with other vendors (we used Clippings for the florist and Simply Beautiful for decor). We really had nothing to worry about the day of. Thank you Pillar and Post team!

    Sent on 26/02/2020

    Pillar and Post's reply:

    The room looked amazing and so did you! Thank you very much for your review.
    The Vintage Hotels Wedding Team
  • Jade

    Jade · Married on 26/10/2019

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue with the whole package!

    We recently had our rehearsal dinner & wedding at Pillar & Post and it was wonderful. The day of we felt very taken care of by staff who went above and beyond to create the wedding we envisioned. We had our ceremony in the rose garden and our reception in the upper Canada hall.
    Leading up to the wedding there were hiccups with the venue (I'm sure there always are) and we ended up working with 3 different coordinators, our last one only two weeks before the wedding. Our final coordinator, Rikki, received us as very stressed out clients with a lot of questions (with the change being so close to the wedding date). After one meeting with her we were immediately calmed and felt completely trusting in her abilities! Rikki was friendly and attentive, easy to communicate with and was able to offer us things that had previously been denied (such as help with setting up our decor & having Pillar & Post store it for us overnight to be picked up the next day). Rikki was such a blessing and we were very happy with that change. Unfortunately, prior to Rikki the wedding coordinator seemed uneducated about the property and difficult to reach.

    The night of the rehearsal dinner started a bit rocky. Everything was set up beautifully in a space upstairs. We requested an open bar that we would be paying for at the end of the night so upon entering, I asked the bartender for a glass of wine and she told me the price- I noticed an entire menu with pricing was also set up. I explained to the bartender that guests would not be paying and that we would cover the tab at the end of the night as was planned. There seemed to be a miscommunication because the bar tender told us that's not what she was told to do and was quite rude about it. She ended up grabbing a manager who sorted it out but we found the customer service during that mishap was mainly pushing blame onto my husband and myself instead of just fixing the issue (it was all going to be paid for regardless!). Afterwards, the bartender actually went above and beyond, the service became so much better and she brought me the wine I initially asked for without even being asked a second time! The food was set out before we arrived (bar menu- pizza, wings, nachos, fries, salad etc) which wasn't ideal. We had told staff that we would be eating after the rehearsal so the food ended up sitting out for over an hour. We wish it had been brought after we were done the rehearsal portion. Regardless, the food was delicious!! We enjoyed our rehearsal night anyways and it was a very good set up for us. We would recommend to have it here, just make sure you ask the food to be brought out later!
    The day of the wedding my husband and his groomsmen hung out in the Chicago suite downstairs which they enjoyed. When I arrived just before the ceremony, Rikki (our coordinator) met me at the limo and helped me stay calm. She told us exactly what we'd be doing and walked us to the back of the lobby where she lined myself and my bridesmaids up waiting to go down the aisle! The ceremony space was beautiful - what a perfect venue! We took a lot of photos on site and a few a the park next door.
    Our cocktail hour was in the bar space just outside of the upper Canada hall, it was enjoyable but the space was quite small for the amount of people we had (145). It was difficult to walk through in my wedding dress! The bar service was quick and I saw lots of cocktail servers with plates, I was offered food right away. Staff were so friendly!
    Our reception space was stunning and intimate. It was a perfect size for 145 people. I loved how no one was far away from the head table. The room didn't need a ton of decor because it was already so incredibly beautiful. Staff saved Hors d'oeuvres for the wedding party at the head table on little plates to make sure we got to try everything. The food was phenomenal- a lot of people complemented us that it was the best wedding food they've ever had! Rikki helped the whole night run smoothly and kept us on schedule with everything.
    We had donuts instead of cake, which staff graciously cut for us (so people had options of quarters of donuts as well as whole donuts).
    With our wedding package Pillar & Post gave us 2 nights stay, which we were able to use concurrently, giving one to my parents and kept one for ourselves. The suite was spacious and we were left a bottle of wine. We wish we could have had more time to enjoy it!
    We had so many complements on our entire wedding day. We had an incredible day and truly loved having it at Pillar & Post. We look forward to coming back in the future for anniversaries and special occasions. Thank you Rikki & the Pillar & Post team!!

    Sent on 19/12/2019

    Pillar and Post's reply:

    Congratulations Jade and Devon!

    You looked absolutely stunning on your wedding day! Thank you very much for your wonderful review. Rikki is amazing with all of her couples and she knows how to make the magic happen. It's so wonderful to hear your guests loved the food and enjoyed your reception.
    I have forwarded your review with your feedback to the Pillar and Post.
    Wishing you all the very best, please don't hesitate to reach out to us when your booking your Anniversary stay. I can make a note on your reservation. Enjoy your first Christmas together!

    Lorraine Rutledge and The Vintage Hotels Wedding Team
  • I

    Iman S. · Married on 25/08/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most amazing venue & quality service!

    I had my 3-day long Indian wedding at Vintage Hotels (with the event venues being hosted at both Queens Landing and Pillar & Post). The planning process was seamless with both the sales team (Grace), and the wedding coordinators (Emily & Rikki). The team was extremely organized, responsive (within 24-48 hours, which was a saviour during wedding planning!) and full of solutions to any inquiries or dilemma's I was having. The ultimate focus on planning from the Vintage Hotels team led to the wedding being thrown without a hitch. During the wedding itself, the team didn't forget a single item that I had asked them to set up, and they went above and beyond to ensure guests were welcome, and had all of their needs being met. They knew our key bridal party members and worked with them to ensure that the bride was not bombarded, and were extremely professional along the way. The venue is beautiful, with excellent food, and is most definitely worth it!

    Sent on 15/09/2019
  • Rachel

    Rachel F. · Married on 06/07/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Experience

    I had my wedding at the Pillar and Post on July 6th, 2019 and had an absolutely magical day. The Bridal suite and ready room were fantastic, the ceremony room was perfect, and the reception room was beautiful. I barely needed any decorations because the Upper Canada Hall is so beautiful on it's own. The prices for everything were fairly reasonable compared to the many venues we had looked at and everything went off without any issues on the day of the wedding. The gardens and patio attached to the reception room were stunning and allowed for great photos without having to travel out of our way.

    My only issue was that after the wedding they sent us our final bill with two additional charges, both of which had to be reversed as they were incorrect. The venue did this as soon as I pointed out the error but just make sure to keep a close eye on your bill!

    Overall I'm thrilled with our venue choice!

    Sent on 23/07/2019
  • Ashley

    Ashley R. · Married on 07/06/2019

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Recommend the Rose Garden

    Beautiful ceremony in the rose garden.

    The only issue I had was during our vows some of the guests couldn't hear us because of loud people in the pool behind the rose garden. The day after our wedding we went to the pool and everyone was asked to be quiet because of the ceremony on the other side about to start. I wish we were given that courtesy.

    Sent on 25/06/2019

    Pillar and Post's reply:

    I am sorry Ashley your guests couldn't hear. Every wedding ceremony we have in the Rose Garden we ask our guests in the pool area to be respectful for the short period of time the ceremony is happening. I am so happy to hear you were outside and able to enjoy the beautiful Rose Garden. You will have to visit next June and see the new gardens we are building across the street. Congratulations again on your marriage to your love!
    Sincerely,
    The Vintage Hotels Wedding Team
  • M

    Melissa K. · Married on 11/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely amazing

    Everything was amazing in our experience with this venue and we heard about the same from our guests as well who raves about the quality of the food and drink the ambiance, etc. The on site wedding coordinator Emily was absolutely wonderful to work with and was very patient with my many questions and emails! We are so thrilled with our decision to go with this venue and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to anyone as it was absolutely amazing!

    Sent on 04/06/2019

    Pillar and Post's reply:

    Thank you so much Melissa! We love Emily as she is great to work with and wonderful with each of our couples. I am so happy to hear your wedding day was amazing. Wishing you all the very best. CONGRATULATIONS! Please send us any photo's you would like to share on social media.
    From the Vintage Hotels Wedding Team.
  • Kimberley

    Kimberley H. · Married on 23/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Attention to details and professionalism

    We worked with a number of ladies from the wedding event department but particularily with Emily. She was absolutely lovely and so pleasant to work with! She was quick to answer all my questions and took care of all the details. I didn't meet in person with her until the day prior to the wedding but she already had everything set up exactly as we had discussed. She met with me again the morning of the wedding and was with us coordinating throughout the day. Everything was just perfect, the food was fantastic and the staff was polite and professional. This was an amazing experience full of wonderful memories!!

    Sent on 26/02/2019
  • Olivia

    Olivia B. · Married on 19/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our magical winter wedding

    We got married at Pillar and post in the Olde Library on january 19th 2019. The on site staff for Pillar and Post made our day so unbelievably special. Farin and Emily did phenomenal on site coordination and had fantastic communication with us at every turn. Kristy, the banquet captain, and her team gave us amazing and dedicated service from tasting to rehearsal to dinner the day of. Even Marlene at the front desk and Twyla from housekeeping were so kind, helpful and accommodating as we embarked on this whole affair and made us feel so cared for. We cannot thank the staff enough for how wonderful they made our special

    Sent on 20/01/2019
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.