Century Barn Weddings

19 reviews | Cavan (Ontario)
See Photos, Pricing and Details

Reviews for Century Barn Weddings

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.4
  • Response time 4.8

Awards

19

57 User photos

Order by:
  • K

    Kimberly L. · Married on 18/11/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfectly beyond my expectation

    Professional and very accommodating. It is more than what I was expecting and i am speechless!

    Sent on 18/11/2020
  • Isabelle

    Isabelle B. · Married on 12/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome venue to work with as a caterer

    Diana has been particularly wonderful to work with as we catered an event at Century Barn Weddings, so accommodating and communication was fabulous. Thanks for a great cooperation guys!

    Sent on 16/09/2019
  • Anonymous

    Anonymous U. · Married on 05/09/2019

    1.6
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Beautiful venue, inconsidersate owners, difficult preferred vendor.

    I never intend on or enjoy writing a bad review. I just wish I would've known more about this venue before booking.

    I cant tell you how many times I was disappointed and let down by these people. We were taken advantage of and lied to many times over. The service is SO poor, it blows my mind. My heart is broken about the turn of events leading up to and the day of our wedding. The guests had an amazing time and loved the venue, but unfortunately they made this a terrible experience for the two of us and everyone else involved in the wedding party and parents.

    I actually had a few guests mention to me that, David, the owner was extremely rude as he was quite literally yelling at people to leave right as the clock struck 12am for closing time.  He threatened my husband to make sure everything was loaded up that SAME night (yes, just hours after getting married), something that was not mentioned until the 2 days before the wedding. I still have guests asking "what was his problem?".

    My husband (the groom) and a few of his friends spent the last hour and a half cleaning and loading everything up while eveyone else celebrated. This would have been an absolute deal breaker for us, had we known, and we would not have chosen this venue. We were originally told that if we hired the "day of coordinator" for an additional $1000, that she and her team would take care of set up and tear down, and that we could collect our belongings the following morning before the next couple arrived. My husband and I are so upset about this. That is not how you should spend your wedding night.

    The morning of our wedding, myself and the bridal party began getting ready. I started to notice people coming in and setting up for an event that was for sure not ours. I even had a group of guys approach me (the bride) wondering if I could help show them where to set up chairs for the wedding the day after ours...
    They set up a large white tent right beside the barn, 3 industrial sizes stainless appliances under the gazebo and completely invaded our space for SOMEONE ELSE'S wedding, the next day. We didnt pay that amount of money to accommodate someone else's wedding day.

    I felt terrible.. like this day was not about us anymore, but rather the more important wedding that was after ours. Do you think there may have been some correlation between the next wedding and us having to pack and move all our decor and belongings out with only two days notice?
    These are only concerns and disappointments from the day of event. The planning leading up was made difficult by them as well.

    I wish I had a better review for this place. I even feel bad about leaving this review, but i would feel worse not warning future couples.

    Sent on 12/09/2019

    Century Barn Weddings's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to place a review. As disappointed as it makes us feel, we are grateful for your business and it was a pleasure to meet you both. It saddens us to learn that you feel so unhappy. We know you worked incredibly hard to create your dream day and we did, as well. Every wedding is important to us, and every couple’s happiness is our priority. As you know, a wedding has a lot of moving parts and we strive for excellence with every single wedding because we are thrilled that couples choose our venue to start their married life.

    We have taken your remarks to heart and would like to respond to each of your points. 1. There was clearly a misunderstanding regarding the end of night loading out. We wonder if this was because you were first considered booking your wedding on a Saturday and it may have been mentioned that if there was no event booked the following day, you could leave things overnight at the barn. 2. Regrettably, it was my oversight to not discuss the catering tent for the Saturday wedding with you and I accepted responsibility for this. We had the tent removed immediately and made arrangements to reinstall it on Saturday, at our expense. 3. As for the team coming in to set up for Saturday and interrupting you, I had instructed them to check in at our office upon arrival and unfortunately that did not occur. 4. In regards to Dave asking people to leave at midnight: it was actually 12:15 a.m., 15 minutes past the time when the party must come to a close. Dave gave extra time to you and your guests, thinking it might make up a little for the rain Mother Nature dealt during your ceremony.

    We hope you can understand that nothing was deliberately done to hurt you and we are happy that your guests had an amazing time and loved the venue. We wish you all the best as you continue your life together.

    Susan Stewart
  • Samantha

    Samantha A. · Married on 17/08/2019

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing venue

    This venue is stunning. We loved having this for our wedding day, as if fit our vision perfectly. Susan was wonderful to work with and her barn has so much fun and such a unique place.
    The venue is expensive considering it is only the venue, however for the look it’s amazing.

    Sent on 03/10/2019
  • Jennifer

    Jennifer · Married on 26/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Venue and Wonderful Owners

    Both Susan and Dave were amazing to work with . They both made us feel like we were a part of their family . The venue is absolutely breathtaking and it is flexible for helping making your dreams a reality . Thank you so much from the bottom of our hearts
    Marcus & Jennifer Moss

    Sent on 29/08/2019
  • JOANNE

    Joanne · Married on 21/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Magical venue

    Century Barn is the most beautiful venue, we were lucky enough to have our wedding there in late June and our family and friends are still talking about it. Century Barn uses only the best 5 star venders and Sue and Dave are the most wonderful people. We also had the absolute pleasure of working with Kim to plan our wedding and she helped us to plan the day of our dreams. Everything was great and we would recommend the Century Barn to anyone.

    Sent on 21/07/2019
  • Melissa

    Melissa J. · Married on 20/10/2018

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    October wedding

    We had our wedding at the Century Barn, mid October 2018. The grounds are just beautiful. The barn itself has a magical rustic feel and includes many permanent decorations (chandeliers, lights, mirrors, etc.). The bridal suite was convenient and also beautiful. Our guests are still talking about how nice everything was.

    The only downfall of our wedding is how cold it was. The barn is not heated and despite the portable infrared heaters, it is not enough to heat the room. You can feel the wind coming through the cracks of the barn which made for a constant breeze on some of our guests. Our guests ate their dinner with jackets on and some older guests had to leave early. October has its perks (colours, less busy, etc.) but please consider the weather change at this time of year.

    Sent on 29/10/2018
  • Eren

    Eren M. · Married on 02/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most beautiful venue!

    I had my wedding here in early September and it is the dreamiest venue! I always dreamed of a barn wedding, and Century Barn exceeded all my expectations. From the incredible all-white bridal suite, to the twinkle-lit barn, this venue completely dazzled us and all our guests. Susan and her husband were also so fantastic to work with! They were so personable and accommodating, and made our day so easy and so special! Thank you both so much for everything!

    Sent on 10/10/2018
  • Nicola

    Nicola C. · Married on 03/08/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cosgrove wedding

    Century barn was the perfect venue for our wedding. The rustic look was achieved easily with the amount of permanent decor the barn already has, including the outside where the gardens are well cared for. There is also extra decor other brides leave that can be used also which is good for those last min things you didn't think of. Susan was very responsive and catered to our needs and kept in touch with us throughout the year despite us being overseas. One big advantage is you can bring in pretty much everything else in terms of vendors, although there are recommendations to help. The bridal suite is also beautiful and a great place to get ready in. Ideal that it is moments from the ceremony space.We had the best day and love this venue so much we want to get married again in it!

    Sent on 04/09/2018
  • K

    Katie M. · Married on 20/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Magical experience in rustic barn setting

    My partner and I had our wedding at the Century Wedding Barn last summer. From the planning to the execution we could not have asked for a better venue. In comparison to the other places we had looked at the pricing was extremely competitive which was super helpful because weddings can get $$$. The fact that we were able to start setting up on Friday and had until Sunday to remove everything was also super helpful. The other venues we looked at insisted that everything be done day of which seemed extremely stressful. The magical outdoor setting also made for the most beautiful pictures that we absolutely cherish. There are so many opportunities to capture moments in the the woods, by the pond and in the barn. Overall we were so impressed by the entire experience. Would HIGHLY recommend!

    Sent on 01/05/2019
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.