Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Millbrook Cathedral

Millbrook Cathedral

Millbrook Cathedral

Millbrook, Ontario
4.9 out of 5 rating, 26 reviews
View more information

26 reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 26

35 User photos

  • Sarah
    Sarah Getting married on 22/07/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    SO Grateful!

    My fiance and I are in a unique situation where we are trying to lock down "big" vendors for our 2023 wedding prior to me starting grad school next year. Susan and Liz were so acommodating with allowing us to tour and put our deposit down this year with the provision that if their "deals" changed we could receive the higher amount of the two. They are so responsive to emails and phone calls and answer all of our questions no matter how small or seemingly "silly"! I cannot wait to marry my best friend in this beautiful venue!

    Millbrook Cathedral's reply:

    You guys are such a fun couple. Good luck in school Sarah. We look forward to following your progress.
  • Jennifer
    Jenn Married on 05/08/2022
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Venue is stunning. And they literally take care of everything!

    I was originally going to have a small at home wedding, and in April realized it was way more work than I wanted to do with how busy life was so I contacted and booked into Millbrook Cathedral.

    Because I had planned the officiant and photographer already I brought my own and they gave me a discount on the micro wedding package which was awesome. I did pay for an extra hour since I had my photographer for 6 hours so it allowed us to take our time and really get the photos we wanted.

    The venue was perfect. I showed up with the small little things I wanted set up and a tribute to the grooms parents as they have passed on. They did the incredible service of placing that tribute in the front row. Something I didn't even think of, but they knew just what to do.

    They did all the coordination and just let us relax and enjoy our day with our family. It is an awesome venue and I'm so thankful I got to have our special day in such a special place.

    Millbrook Cathedral's reply:

    We are so trialled we made your day special! It's what we love to do and having such wonderful people to work with like you and James makes it all so meaningful. We wish you a lifetime of perfect days!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • A
    Anthony G. Married on 05/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Very Accommodating, Kind & Helpful

    The staff at Millbrook Cathedral were absolutely amazing from the start of our communication until the end. They were very accommodating, helpful and easy to talk to. They made our planning experience such a smooth process and assisted where they could. We changed a bunch of plans and had to switch things around so many times, but it was met with patience and great communication. My fiancé and I 100% recommend this place.
  • S Ashby
    S Ashby Married on 10/10/2021
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our Perfect Dreamy Fall Wedding

    Millbrook Cathedral was the perfect, dreamy location for our intimate fall wedding on October 10, 2021. We live across the country, so once we fell in love online, we had our parents scout the venue in person. They too loved it.
    Susan (owner), Liz (venue coordinator) and Kristen (bar tender) all worked to make our day reflective of us. We are Trinidadian and they welcomed our outside vendors to make sure we had the food and drinks we know our guests would enjoy. If you decide to go this route, there is a 15% landmark fee (you pay 15% of your caterer’s total invoice to Millbrook); your outside caterer will need $5 million liability insurance coverage and your outside caterer cannot use any kitchen appliances (i.e. stove, oven) except what room may be left in the fridge/freezer that is used by the bar.
    The venue itself doesn’t come with rentals, so as part of your contract with them they rent tables, chairs, linens and other items for you and the cost of those rentals, plus set up and tear down will be charged to you as part of your final bill.
    Our ceremony blended Christian and Jewish elements together and Millbrook Cathedral and Chuppah.ca (of which Susan is also the owner) gave us all the things we needed to create the most beautiful blended ceremony, including throwing in a delicious kosher wine from a notable kosher wine producers.
    Due to the pandemic our cocktail hour was outdoors between the gorgeous cathedral and our reception tent. We had such amazing photos ops on Millbrook’s grounds (swings, woodpile, shed, creek with a bridge, fall foilage) and were so happy for the perfect sunny Fall day that we got. Because we chose to work with our own wedding coordinator the venue coordinator left just after the ceremony but, was on call all night and the other Millbrook staff remained while out other vendors took over.
    Our reception was in a tent from Gervais rentals who made booking, modifying the order as needed and setup/tear down a breeze. If you have to or chose to go the route of a tented outdoor reception, know that your music and bar stop at 11pm due to the town’s by-laws. You can have your day start earlier for an extra fee per hour so that you have as full a day as possible. We opted to do this and it worked out well.
    Planning a wedding in a pandemic was stressful. MC did their best to help us roll with the punches, accommodate the changing restrictions. We did face several hurdles in the last few weeks leading up to our big day but MC resolved all discrepancies quickly and made sure we were set for our perfect wedding day. Susan even intervened when needed and always helped come up with a solution. Even after our wedding day, they promptly provided us with a refund for a podium that the rental company did not deliver.
    We are so happy with how our wedding day at MC unfolded. Our guests are still raving. It was magically memorable and we’d do it all over again if we could. Thank you Millbrook Cathedral for making our perfect day possible!
  • A
    Aimee Married on 09/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Covid Wedding!

    We had planned to have a small wedding due to COVID. We chose one of the pop-up options from Millbrook. Liz and her team made sure that everything was just as we had pictured, despite the small size! I'm so glad we chose this GORGEOUS venue and super helpful team. 10/10!
  • Sarah
    Sarah Married on 02/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Venue

    We fell in love with Millbrook Cathedral and its staff when we first looked at it. Everyone we spoke with was so helpful and accommodating, even throughout the pandemic as our wedding plans changed. Plus, the venue is beautiful and looks stunning in our photos!

    Millbrook Cathedral's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to write these lovely word Sarah! We loved having you 💕 and happy first year anniversary! Susan & Liz
  • Victoria
    Victoria R. Married on 25/09/2021
    3.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Our Wedding we were finally waiting for!

    I've taken some time to reflect after my wedding in order to write a honest review so here it is.
    We originally had our wedding planned elsewhere but due to COVID they were not going to host events so we needed to find another location to keep our second wedding date. I knew about the Millbrook Cathedral already but didn't go with it the first time as our family had experience with the Golf Club we had originally booked. Susan was great and within a few days we booked our wedding at the Cathedral. I explained my needs and how I already had all my vendors booked and signed on with Liz who was the event manager for the venue but also runs a wedding planner business. We ran into a couple of issues because I felt there was a lot of grey area between what Liz was supposed to do as an event manager and what additional services she was providing. I wasn't planning an extravagant wedding and I didn't need anyone to find me vendors as that was set up but rather just making sure the day of flowed so that my family and I didn't have to worry. We parted ways with our contract and I tried to work as professional as possible as I don't like confrontation. Our assumption with the venue was that the chairs that are already set up for micro weddings (white king louis) would be included (so we wouldn't have to pay extra as much as possible). The venue was charging us for the chairs and after a few conversations they made revisions to the estimate. I tried to use as many tables as possible that were already in the venue so I wouldn't have to pay to rent so they were good working with me on that. As like many other weddings there, we were paying close to $10,000 and I wanted to know exactly what was being billed for because I am not someone who likes to throw money away. Some advice: I would look line by line as to what you are being charged because you shouldn't be paying for eg. chairs that are already in the venue... if you wanted different chairs than that's up to you to spend more. During the process Susan let me know that if we over estimated guest count she would never bill for something that wasn't used and she would provide a refund. I'm still waiting for a refund(only because it was approved) for 1 person(including open bar fee) that we found out wouldn't be able to make it to the wedding.
    The weekend finally came, responses from the venue were bleak and I decided to just go with the flow at that point. I was already stressed as I was taking on wedding planning and a busy job so I arrived about 15 mins late to the rehearsal (we get 1 hour anyway). I am not sure what happened exactly before I arrived but members of the bridal party felt uneasy with the tone of the event manager and I got the same remarks from other vendors as well on the day of the wedding. I'm not sure if Liz was taking out anger on others when it should've been on me but it was definitely not professional for someone who claims to be all about professionalism and respect. It really broke my heart and I spent majority of the day apologizing.
    Susan worked with the boys to come up with a plan on the day of when we found out the Province was easing some further restrictions on our day so I really appreciate that. The staff that were there including bartenders, security and a WONDERFUL girl (with blonde hair I can't remember her name) were awesome and I really appreciated them.
    Based on other's reviews I am a bit confused as to how I am writing a review such as this. I would still tell people to look into the Millbrook Cathedral to get married at because it is gorgeous and overall I did have a great time. I would suggest to the venue to not have an event manager selling her wedding planning services on the side as I don't think that is professional and as you can see can run into issues where people still need to work with that person as they are the event manager and do the day to day correspondence.
  • Tara
    Tara Married on 21/08/2021
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Venue & Experience

    Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine I would have the opportunity to get married in such a beautiful space. After the pandemic cancelled our original plans we reached out to Millbrook Cathedral and I'm so glad we did. Susan and Liz ensured that we had a perfect wedding and reception, and were so accommodating along the way. Now I'm trying to convince everyone I know getting married to hold it there as well so I have the opportunity to go back- there's endless configurations to make it a unique set up and space for whatever vision you have. Thank you again!
  • Caitlinn
    Caitlinn H. Married on 14/08/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    elegant, warm and welcoming

    We were very lucky to land a date with Millbrook Cathedral. We didn't expect a long season filled with lockdowns; however Millbrook was dedicated and flexible, never failing as we geared towards new dates. Liz and the team were amazing, ever responsive to our emails and phone calls. We couldn't be happier with administration and management who helped us put together the most beautiful day. The venue was exquisite. We received many compliments on the beautiful stained glass windows, easy and tastefully designed cocktail lounge, and friendliness of the staff. Millbrook has it all.

    Millbrook Cathedral's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to write this! With all the changes being thrown at you and us this season it’s a real pleasure to work with a couple that can roll with the changes with grace and humour. We wish you a lifetime of joy!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message