Derek Chan Films
11 Hill Crescent M1M1H7 Toronto (Ontario) View map

Reviews for Derek Chan Films

5.0 / 5 Write a review
  • Quality of service

    5.0

    Value

    5.0
  • Professionalism

    5.0

    Reply

    5.0
  • Flexibility

    5.0
39 reviews
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2015 Winner WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2014 Winner
Order by :
  • Ting Ou , Married on 25/11/2017

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Derek and his partner Cici is wonderful. We had our wedding on Nov 25th 2017 and we cannot stop saying wonderful things about them.

    Originally derek was not our first choice, he was recommended by a friend who have seen them at work before. After being recommend we googled him out, checked a few of his videos and believe it not, my wife, mother in law and mother all cried watching his videos! It was a no brainer that we wanted his services. Our planners reached out and at no point had there been any regret.

    Derek followed me around on my big day and Cici followed my spouse. The video taking is, what it is, but the video itself, was really something else. We asked Derek to have a same day edit for only the ceremony and tea ceremony of our wedding. As we wanted to play it for the guests at our dinner at night. We cried again, all of us. It was very beautiful, funny, and full of love. Not some slide show video, but a story to be told.

    Personally would love to work with Derek again, but not going to be doing another wedding, haha. If ever the time comes for any event, would love to have Derek and Cici's services again.

    Thank you Derek and Cici, that day was very memorable, but more importantly, we will be able to see it, cry over it for the rest of our lives.

    Sent on 04/12/2017
  • Joseph , Married on 20/08/2017

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    most amazing and professional experience

    I would absolutely recommend Derek Chan Films for wedding cinematography. The husband and wife team made us feel absolutely comfortable on our first meeting. They also tried to explore what we like and listened to our stories. The end product is particularly personal. It is like a film created by a close friend who knows you well and it is done in cinema quality. The films are captivating, they tell a romantic and compelling story and we were glued to our seats while watching them. We purchased the love story as well as additional footage prior to the wedding day and of course, the wedding day. Derek and Cece worked tirelessly to capture every special moment. Their artistic interpretation is beyond our expectation. We thought in the beginning that the film will only be used to show to our friends and relatives and then be put away somewhere in the attic. But their products are so entertaining that I will watch them over and over again to relive the special moments. It is definitely worth investing on wedding film and in my opinion, it is even a better investment then wedding album. Again, I'd definitely recommend Derek and Cece.

    Sent on 22/03/2018
  • Areeba

    Areeba Zaheer , Married on 30/07/2017

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Areeba and Fahd- Toronto to LA

    Derek and Cece are nothing short of geniuses. They're able to capture individual moments and create a whole story. My husband and I had a traditional Pakistani wedding and we're going back and forth on picking a videographer that was part of our culture or not. We realized, it's not so much about choosing someone who is familiar with the standard shots but someone who can tell a story. After watching a few of Derek's videos, we were sold and approached them to film our three day event. Derek and Cece sat down with us and went over key things to highlight, important family members, etc. But also wanted to do something crazy and make our video incredibly unique. Aside from the day of events, we met Derek and Cece the day after our wedding at Billy Bishop to take some beautiful Toronto skyline shots . Also, the day after our wedding in Cali Derek and Cece trekked a 5 hour drive to Yosemite National Park, and woke up at 3 AM to get the perfect sunrise shots. These two are incredibly committed to their craft and pour their heart and soul into the work they do. My family and I have probably seen the video close to 100 times and it never gets old. My husband and I now have our wedding to remember forever thanks to Derek Chan Films.

    Sent on 11/08/2018
  • [Private User]

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Derek and his team assisted us with an engagement & wedding video in Bali, Indonesia. Despite it not being our home country, Derek was well-prepared and professional. He scouted destinations ahead of time, planned for transportation for all each of the days we were together, made recommendations on other vendors he felt would fit our needs (make up artist) since we didn't know anybody in Bali or Asia.

    This is our first time being filmed, so we were a little nervous, but he made it a very comfortable experience. The way he guided and directed us resulted in an absolutely beautiful video, and we didn't look nervous at all!

    The quality of his service was top notch. He was reliable and quick to respond to any inquiries throughout the process. I highly recommend him!

    Sent on 19/04/2017
  • Christy X , Married on 12/02/2017

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Working with Derek Chan Films for our engagement shoot in Bali was the BEST decision we've made. After seeing his work, I immediately knew that I had to have Derek at our wedding. We had our engagement shoot in Bali. Derek did extensive research in advance to find the most beautiful spots for our shoot, hidden gem places that we would otherwise never have heard of! Our engagement shoot exceeded our expectation and thanks to Derek & Cece, we had an unforgettable experience. Derek's passion for his work is truly inspiring, which made our whole experience so much more memorable. He is always able to capture the most "EPIC" shots (quoting Derek's words), and the results are absolutely breathtaking. Derek is a true artist and is so good at what he does. On top of that, he is such a pleasure to work with and always made us feel at ease. I cannot say enough amazing things about Derek and his work. A lot of people ask me whether having a video is worth the investment and I tell them absolutely YES! A picture speaks a thousand words, and Derek's videos speaks a million. It's absolutely the best investment we have made and we are so so excited to have Derek at our upcoming wedding to capture the most important moment of our lives.

    Sent on 26/07/2017
  • M Balani , Married on 05/11/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Derek and Cece of Derek Chan Films are awesome! They were an absolute pleasure to work with from start to finish and did AMAZING work using their artistic eye capturing and editing the details of our memorable events.

    At our multi day events they didn't need anything from us and worked as if they weren't even there. This was much appreciated as we didn't want our guest to be distracted or blocked in any way. Indian weddings are big and full of ruckus, and Derek and Cece captured all the important details with minimal preplanning input. They just knew.

    Their team work is great to see and were both super personable. Their video quality and products speak for themselves. Overlaying video from one day with speeches on another telling an amazing story of our wedding week.
    The production and the way details were captured and how they matched perfectly with the music they selected for us touched our hearts, letting us re-live the emotions and our special week again and again.

    They were both super responsive and more than willing to make our memories/video perfect.

    Our only loss is that our video had to end.

    Sent on 10/09/2017
  • Robert Sun , Married on 25/09/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Derek and Cece were amazing videographers. They were very professional and detailed. The camera angles and content they recorded were so artistic. Our videos were spectacular and well choreographed with the music they selected. I highly recommend them to anyone who wants a truly capture the memory of their special day!

    Sent on 25/09/2017
  • Sam Dong , Married on 10/09/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Wedding Video was our number one priority during our wedding planning. We did lots of research and probably watched like 100 Wedding video before deciding to go with Derek Chan. His videos were one of a kind and emotions flow like water and have all the right hooks to get in your heart. His master editing skill perfectly capture all the high points of our wedding day and match it perfectly with the background music he specially picked for us. Derek Cece and Michael were 3 very professional videographer and were a blast to work with. Our SDE was Magically and we don't have word to to describe how much we love it. All our guest were so impress with our video and I will not hesitate a second to recommend Derek Chan Films to any Couple looking for the best Wedding Video ever.

    Thanks Derek and Cece for Capturing our Magically Love Story.

    Sent on 20/04/2017
  • Ran Yan , Married on 03/09/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We are so happy to have chosen Derek Chan and his team for our wedding day videography. When we first watched his wedding clips, we immediately fell in love with his style and after meeting with him and his wife, we knew we were in good hands. The quality of their films speak for itself, and we could not be more happier with the results. Throughout the wedding day, they worked tirelessly behind the scene to produce our "same day edit" which everyone LOVED. I could not believe how well they turned out to be despite such short amount of time. After the wedding day, they even came over to our house to interview us, so we could incorporate it into our long film. Even though the long film did take a while for us to receive, I could not be happier with the result :) If you want a wedding videographer who not only captures your wedding day, but could turn it into a beautiful and elegant story full of emotions, then look no further. Thank you Derek Chan Films for your beautiful work.

    Sent on 16/02/2017
  • Calvin L , Married on 23/07/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We were so happy to secure Derek for our big day; we fell in love with his wedding videos and just knew we had to have him film our wedding. Derek, Cece, and Michael blew us away with their professionalism and artistry. The whole
    team was completely Amazing to work alongside on our wedding- they created the most beautiful same day edit video that our family and friends are still talking about. How they were able to create such an amazing video in one day is unbelievable. We are incredibly happy with Derek's work!

    Sent on 31/07/2016

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.