Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant
116
Nanaimo V9R4X2 Nanaimo (British Columbia) View map
5.0 out of 5.0
Overall rating:

Reviews of Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant

  • Married on 17/09/2016 From Hugh Stainsby

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We are in our early 50's and wanted to have a wedding celebration that was meaningful and personal to us. Barbara was very professional and personable and together we came up with the perfect ceremony that brought all our friends and family together as a "community". Even the weather cooperated as it rained up until 5 minutes before we walked down the isle (path) to the beach in the beautiful sunshine. Barbara guided us through the process with ideas that led us to creating our own very personal ceremony.
    We at first thought it to be a bit costly but now realize that it was money well spent as we, as well as everyone else there will remember this as a very unique and special day.
    Thank you Barbara!

    Sent on 28/09/2016
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    What an incredible experience with Barbara! We couldn't have asked for anyone more heart felt, personable, professional, fun and down to earth. She was the perfect match for us, so understanding of our needs, flexible with our requests and gave 100% of her attention to the details. We felt so relaxed about the ceremony as she had it all under control, we didn't need to do a thing, apart from remember the rings! What a fantastic experience, we would recommend Barbara hands down for your special day!

    Sent on 19/09/2016
  • Married on 09/09/2016 From Kraig Cooper

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    At first when planning our wedding, we were not all that excited for the wedding ceremony compared to the reception afterwards. That all changed after we started working with Barbara. Not only did she walk us through the process of creating a wedding ceremony but after a little knowledge sharing and prodding, she custom-tailored a ceremony specifically for us that was so beautiful and special that words cannot describe it. Her experience and expertise allowed her to walk us through this whole experience with ease, making it a very enjoyable and meaningful experience for both me and my wife. We cannot thank her enough and would recommend Barbara if you are planning to get married and want your ceremony to be as great the party afterwards.

    Sent on 20/09/2016
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Barbara truly helped us to make our wedding special. We had a very small wedding and it was important that our wedding felt intimate, personal and that it wasn't just a ten minute exchange of legal formalities. Barbara helped us to achieve that, she made it very easy for us to personalize the ceremony and make everyone feel included. Barbara was always available to help us to prepare and did not rush any part of the process. By the time the wedding day came along we felt like we knew her and trusted that our ceremony was in great hands. I would highly recommend Barbara, she had great suggestions and made us feel like our day was special to her as well as to us.

    Sent on 26/09/2016
  • Married on 01/09/2016 From Emily Fowler

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Working with Barbara is beyond phenomenal. She truly understood us and created a ceremony that demonstrated who we truly are, both as individuals and as a couple. Beyond being professional, organized and calming, she is the perfect example of leadership. She listens deeply to desires (both spoken and unspoken), she comes with her own ideas, and she melds it all into the perfect moment. We are truly grateful for her magical abilities.

    Sent on 13/10/2016
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    When we first arranged to meet Barbara, we intended to also interview other celebrants and then decide who was the best match. As we drove away from that meeting, we knew we didn't need to look any further; Barbara was a perfect fit and she understood our vision. She asked the right questions, listened and got to know who we are. She was organized, easy to work with and communicated well with us. We found Barbara to be both fun and professional and our ceremony could not have been more perfect! It was intimate, personal and so completely 'us'.

    Sent on 27/09/2016
  • Married on 20/08/2016 From Donna Panton

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Unique, Meaningful and Full of Love...that is how we would describe our wonderful wedding ceremony on August 20, 2016. Through individual questions provided to us a few months prior to the ceremony, we shared information with Barbara about the journey of finding each other and our love and this allowed her to get to know us and begin the process of creating vows and a ceremony to share with our family and friends. After receiving the first draft from Barbara and with only a few additional meetings via skype to provide our input and make any changes we wanted, we were excited to have a ceremony that was completely unique and reflected who we are as a couple.
    Barbara is extremely gifted and created a ceremony that was perfect for us. Our wedding day was incredible and we heard time and again from our 50 guests that it was truly one of the most beautiful ceremonies they had every attended. We thought so too and are both incredibly happy Barbara was the one to marry us. Thank you Barbara from the bottom of our hearts for being a very important part of our wedding. Doug and Donna xo

    Sent on 24/09/2016
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Barbara helped my partner and I design an inclusive, intimate wedding ceremony that perfectly reflected us both as individuals and as a couple. We started the process by telling her that we wanted a same-sex ceremony that honoured my Chinese-Canadian roots, while being done in a way that still made my American husband and his Midwestern family feel fully included. We ended up with a very personalized ceremony that not only told our story, but helped to incorporate some traditional elements in a very refined, contemporary, and inclusive fashion. We received a lot of compliments about the personal, inclusive nature of our beautiful ceremony and how meaningful it was to everyone there.

    The process of working with Barbara on our ceremony remotely from San Francisco was easy and enjoyable. We would recommend that couples working on customized ceremonies leave themselves plenty of time as the process requires a lot of introspection and soul searching. We started working with Barbara about a year before our wedding. After an initial brainstorming video conference, we spent the next few months reflecting on Barbara's questionnaire. This was easily the most important part of the process as it formed the foundation of everything that followed. The questionnaire was actually a great pre-marriage counseling tool, as it really forced us to reflect on ourselves as individuals and on our relationship with each other. We also really appreciated Barbara's flexibility with the questionnaire. She was more than willing to do multiple calls with my partner as he felt that he could better express himself verbally than in writing. Not too long after we submitted our responses, and several months before the wedding, we received the first draft of the ceremony from Barbara. Barbara captured our personalities and relationship, and designed the ceremony in such a uniquely phenomenal way that after the first draft, we only had to do some very minor fine tuning. We also appreciated Barbara's flexibility in working with a friend of the family to help translate and deliver key parts of our ceremony in Mandarin so that everyone there could follow and feel included in our day.

    If you're willing to put the time and effort into making your special day unique and memorable, we definitely recommend working with Barbara!

    Sent on 20/09/2016
  • Married on 07/08/2016 From Malla Birns

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We highly recommend Barbara Densmore as your Wedding Officiant, she is simply the BEST! Our wedding ceremony was truly memorable, and so much better than what we initially envisioned. Meaningful, Unique, Heartfelt, Captivating and Inclusive are some of the words that come to mind when we reflect back on our wedding day. We connected with Barbara from day one and felt very confident she was the perfect choice for us. Barbara is smart, easy going, down to earth, and is a genuinely lovely person to work with. Early on Barbara gave us "homework", for us it was a bit of a cathartic soul- searching adventure. We really had to dig deep, take accountability, explore what marriage meant to us, our commitment to one another, our journey as a couple, our struggles, love and respect for each other, and the level of participation we wanted from our friends and family. Barbara listened to us and really understood what our vision was. Our wedding ceremony wasn't simple, it had quite a few customs and traditions that we wished to incorporate. After three Skype meetings later, and a handful of revisions, Barbara helped us create the most beautiful 45-minute ceremony that all our guests absolutely loved and embraced. Six weeks later people are still complimenting us, and commenting on how much they enjoyed our wedding ceremony. They also felt very blessed and honoured to be included. We couldn't be more thrilled with the outcome!

    Sent on 23/09/2016
  • Married on 06/08/2016 From Lisa Lui

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Barbara took the time to get to know us as a couple before we committed to anything and it was a great opportunity to see if we would work well together when building our special moment. We're both on the quieter side and not outgoing, so Barbara made us feel very comfortable when opening up to her. When building our ceremony, she offered lots of different options and advice and said there is no "right" way to develop the ceremony as long as it is what "we" wanted. And that is exactly what we got. We didn't want all of the attention on us, and built in the interaction of our friends and family. With Barbara's help, she made the ceremony a lot less intimidating than we initially thought it would be!

    Sent on 29/09/2016

My Awards

116 reviews
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner

2016 COUPLES'
CHOICE

WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2015 Winner

2015 COUPLES'
CHOICE

WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2014 Winner

2014 COUPLES'
CHOICE

WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2013 Winner

2013 BRIDE'S
CHOICE