Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant

170 reviews | Nanaimo (British Columbia)
See Photos, Pricing and Details

Reviews for Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Awards

170

24 User photos

Order by:
  • E

    Emily E. · Married on 11/07/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The perfect day

    Barbara went above and beyond for our ceremony. There was many unknowns with Covid, but Barbara was always willing to lend a hand in looking into the restrictions for us. She wrote the most perfect ceremony tailored to us. We couldn’t be happier with Barbara!

    Sent on 19/07/2021
  • Kaylee

    Kaylee · Married on 08/07/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Made me laugh and cry!

    We were lucky enough to get paired up with Barbara through the Vow Cabin elopement package. She sent my fiancé and I homework to fill out and I knew our ceremony was going to be special. On the day of our wedding, she came to let me know that she’s doing things a little differently and will have our three year old involved in the vows. That alone made me cry. When it came to the ceremony, she made us all laugh, smile and cry. It was perfect. She told us stories about our lives and our love. She involved my family which made it even more special. Watching it back makes me so happy we got matched up with her and would recommend her to anyone who’s getting married!

    Sent on 13/07/2021
  • G

    Giovanna M. · Married on 18/06/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing, especially if you have no idea what you are doing

    I wanted to elope with my husband, but had no idea how to start or how to plan a ceremony. Barbara made it super easy, all we had to do was show up and say our vows. If you're awkward like me just do yourself a favour and have Barbara do your ceremony :)

    Sent on 28/06/2021
  • Sarah

    Sarah B. · Married on 13/06/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara Densmore officiant

    Barbara was amazing to work with. Her communication went beyond expectations. Barbara made our ceremony so special, it was personal and unique. She made us feel so comfortable. I would highly recommend her to any friend!

    Sent on 21/06/2021
  • Rita

    Rita H. · Married on 04/06/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Comfortable

    The moment I spoke with Barbara I felt immediately comfortable. She made wonderful suggestions, including our absolutely beautiful beach location for our very private ceremony, as well as a fantastic photographer, Chris Boar. She helped my husband write his vows for which I was beyond grateful. How she was able to put his words into a beautiful vow was so amazing. I cried through the whole thing! This one thing was huge for us because my husband is not a man of many words. She also beautifully incorporated into the ceremony the gorgeous surroundings of water and earth, with lovely ancient Celtic traditions, incorporating rocks from the beach into our ceremony. She was truly a huge part in the success of the day. I would never have thought of these things. Knowing that we were able to tell her what we wanted and have her visualise and then bring it to life, took so much anxiety away from us, and in literally a month's time. Thank you, Barbara, for making our very unique ceremony so easy, carefree and comfortable in the most beautiful setting. Even though it was just us, we're still reeling from the awesome experience. Highly recommend! 👍👏👌🙏

    Sent on 12/06/2021
  • Aimee

    Aimee E. · Married on 01/05/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful celebrant!

    Barbara helped make our very small wedding feel special by including our family in the ceremony. She is personable and helpful about how to navigate a ceremony from start to finish.

    Sent on 11/05/2021
  • Achintya

    Achintya B. · Married on 29/03/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Elopement Ceremony

    Barbara is beyond AMAZING! We couldn’t have dreamt of a better way to get married. She is such a gem of a person too. We wanted a custom Hindu-inspired wedding focusing on the five elements of nature. And she wrote the most beautiful script for us. I cried the first time I read it, her writing, it has that effect on you. She had so beautifully incorporated who we are into the ceremony. She has a questionnaire with a number of questions which took us back on a nice walk down the memory lane and helped us introspect more about our relationship and us. She used this to understand us as a couple and the best part is we answered our questionnaire separately and later she gave us a printed copy as a keepsake which we read after the ceremony. It made us laugh and cry and made our wedding night, even more memorable.
    As our family couldn’t be present, she found a way to beautifully incorporate them into our ceremony and kept them involved in the process. She went beyond her way to surprise us and make our day special by sneaking a video recording of our families and their messages on our wedding. We were so touched.
    Our friends and family saw the video recording of the ceremony and just can’t stop talking about how beautifully she had incorporated us, Hindu traditions, our families, the surroundings and our new homeland into our ceremony. She made it all happen like MAGIC!

    Sent on 23/04/2021
  • Kristin

    Kristin O. · Married on 20/02/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara is absolutely amazing.

    We had Barbara officiate our wedding in Parksville on the beach and she was a key player who helped make it the most special day of our lives. My husband and I had to cancel our church wedding due to COVID and a pregnancy and we decided to elope. When we originally reached out to Barbara, our plan was to elope in June. Then we did our first ultrasound and things became REAL so I reached back our to Barbara and she was able to accommodate us with a ceremony in less than 30 days. It was perfect, it was customized to us, we got to pick what was said and our vows, but Barbara had a ton of examples so there was no pressure of having to come up with anything, it was like selecting from a catalog and then tailoring it to fit us.
    The day of the wedding we decided due to weather patterns in February we should move the ceremony up an hour and called Barbara the morning of.........once again, more than accommodating to our request. We met her at the beach area and she guided us through the most beautiful ceremony. There is no question she is someone who finds special meaning in performing a marriage. Then afterward when we needed witnesses Barbara took it on herself to approach another couple on the beach to sign for us. Afterwards she gave us a copy of the ceremony and vows which at the time seemed like nothing but the next morning once the rush had worn off it really was nice being able to re-read what had been said and take it in fully.
    Without question Barbara is amazing at what she does and a special touch to any wedding ceremony.

    Sent on 23/02/2021
  • Sarah

    Sarah H. · Married on 05/12/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An integral part of our wedding!

    We could not have had a better experience with Barbara as our fabulous celebrant! We met Barbara in January, and in the chaos that was 2020 she helped us create and plan not one, not two, but three wedding ceremonies. Barbara's process really helped us to explore our feelings and intentions for our marriage, and she used that information to create an intimate and personalized wedding ceremony that truly reflected us as people and as a couple. Due to COVID-19, many of our family members and friends couldn't attend our ceremony. Barbara came up with engaging ways to involve everyone from a distance, and even sent some sneak peak photos out after our ceremony! This really took the pressure off of my partner and I to communicate immediately, and allowed everyone to really feel involved and valued.
    Barbara was so professional, flexible and responsive throughout our experience working with her. We can't recommend her highly enough! We look forward to additional opportunities to use her services to celebrate future milestones. Thank you so much Barbara for being such an integral part of our journey this year!

    Sent on 11/12/2020
  • Kaya

    Kaya M. · Married on 22/06/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You will find no one better than Barbara!


    There are no words great enough to describe Barbara’s heartfelt brilliance. She got to know us on a deep level that set the foundation for building a fully customized ceremony that was so real, so us, so profound and moving. During our ceremony, she guided our crossing-over into married life with a beautiful acknowledgment of our family history, our shared values and our hopes for the future. She slowed everything down, helped us breathe and brought us and everyone in attendance into the present moment. The togetherness she cultivated made our ceremony feel sacred, powerful and more meaningful than we could have ever dreamed or imagined. We will hold a special place in our hearts for Barbara always. We are so grateful.

    Sent on 21/07/2021
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.