Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist
Calgary T3K 0N8 Calgary (Alberta) View map

Reviews for Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Response time 4.9

Awards

35 reviews

29 User photos

Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist 1
Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist 2
Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist 3
Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist 4
Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist 5
Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist 6
Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist 7
+23
Order by :
  • Natasha

    Natasha , Married on 28/07/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Amazing hair/makeup :)

    Valerie was great to work with and I would highly recommend her to anyone! On my wedding day, she brought an assistant who did makeup for my mom and sister, while Valerie did hair for all three of us plus my makeup. They both did a great job on everything and my hair and makeup lasted throughout the entire night. Valerie was very prompt, professional and flexible with last minute location changes. Her prices were very reasonable and in fact lower than many other hair and makeup artists without sacrificing amazing quality.

    The wedding of Natasha and Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist 8
    The wedding of Natasha and Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist 9
    The wedding of Natasha and Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist 10
    The wedding of Natasha and Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist 11
    Sent on 28/09/2018
  • Leah S , Married on 09/06/2018

    4.8 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Good
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Highly Recommended!

    I had Valerie and her assistant do makeup/hair for myself, 4 bridesmaids and two mom's. They arrived on time, stayed true to their timelines and did an outstanding job on everyone. My makeup looked fresh for the entire night and I received countless complements on it. I was worried about looking like a clown since I don't usually wear much makeup and have had some bad experiences, but Valerie's style was natural and perfect for my liking. I would definitely recommend her to all brides and bridal parties. Thank you Valerie!

    Sent on 15/06/2018
  • Michelle

    Michelle Carabeo , Married on 14/04/2018

    3.2 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Unacceptable
    • Responsiveness:
      Good
    • Value:
      Acceptable
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Good

    Disappointed

    I would like to first mention that I had a VERY large bridal party, and Valerie and her partner who came were so flexible and accommodating throughout the entire morning.
    As the bride, I wanted an up do so that I wouldn't have to worry about pushing hair out of my face throughout the day. However, my up do was extremely loose and my veil came out literally right after we were announced husband and wife, and I didn't get to wear my veil in most of my pictures. I felt bobby pins poking out of my hair and brushing up against the back of my neck the entire day from ceremony until we went home at 2am after the reception. It was a very irritating feeling throughout the day.
    A few of my bridesmaids were constantly pushing my curls back up because it was coming apart. Good thing some of my bridesmaids had a stash of bobby pins and they attempted to fix it as much as they could before we walked into the reception.
    The service was really great, and Valerie was extremely kind and sweet the entire morning! However I was very disappointed with my hair. I was CONSTANTLY worrying that it would show in all my pictures and my bridesmaids were constantly trying to fix it throughout the day to ease my stress. Every chance I had, I would push my hair back up because I could literally feel it getting looser and looser. It was just an added worry/stress that I didn't need on my most special day :( A few of my bridesmaids were also not very happy with the way their hair turned out. For a bunch of them, it was their first time ever being a bridesmaid and they felt they needed to fix their hair before we left for the ceremony.

    Once again, service, communication, and the fact that Valerie was super duper accommodating was great. However, I was just not happy about my hair at all.

    Sent on 18/04/2018
  • Laura Mills , Married on 24/03/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Amazing hair and make-up!

    Valerie and Suzanne did an amazing job on myself, bridesmaids, mother and MC. We were all a little hesitant to have our make up done due to some horror stories we have heard (face different colour than neck or too pale) but we were all thrilled by the job they did. We looked like ourselves but better! Bright skin and eyes, perfect blending and both the hair and make up lasted all day and night! I would highly recommended them to anyone!

    Sent on 07/04/2018

    Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist's reply:

    Thank you Laura for your lovely review. You and your wedding party were a pleasure to work with. Thank you for putting all of your confidence in us.
    You all looked beautiful! Cannot wait to see your pictures :)
    Congratulations!

  • Patricia

    Patricia Celis , Married on 07/03/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Everything I wanted and more

    Valerie made me feel my best and my most beautiful on my wedding day. I received so many compliments on my hair and makeup, and it truly was everything I envisioned and more. She’s the kind of make up artist who ensures you feel comfortable with what she does or suggests, and I really appreciated that. Thank you Valerie!

    The wedding of Patricia Celis and Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist 12
    The wedding of Patricia Celis and Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist 13
    The wedding of Patricia Celis and Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist 14
    The wedding of Patricia Celis and Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist 15
    The wedding of Patricia Celis and Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist 16
    Sent on 12/03/2018
  • Jessie Solano , Married on 17/02/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Winter Wedding

    Valerie was absolutely wonderful to work with on my wedding day! She truly captured the look I was going for and made me feel comfortable and confident with both my hair and makeup! She was also very professional and kept me calm, as my nerves started kicking in with the chaos and rush right before the ceremony (bridesmaid was late, family was getting moody, we were running later than scheduled,etc). I remember the moment she looked at me and said "Dont worry- everyone will wait for you, its totally ok" (shall we add part-time counselor also? :)). Her prices were also very competitive (compared to some of the exaggerated prices I saw in my search). Overall I would highly recommend working with Valerie- she helped my bridal party and I all feel our best and beautiful on this special day.

    Sent on 31/05/2018

    Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist's reply:

    Thank you Jessie for all your kind words, I am glad I was able to bring you a bit of ease on such an important day of your life. It was truly a pleasure working with you and your lovely friends. Congratulations on your marriage!

  • L. Simmonds , Married on 25/11/2017

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Very Impressed!

    Valerie was amazing to work with! She was friendly, professional and made any and all adjustments that were asked of her. During the trial, she took pictures and made notes of all the details. On our wedding day, she was on time and ready to get started, even texting me when she was on her way to the hotel so I wouldn't be stressed. I would definitely recommend Valerie and would absolutely use her again for a special event.

    Sent on 07/02/2018
  • Sarah , Married on 04/11/2017

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Beautiful Hair and Majeup for a Winter Wedding

    Valarie and her team went above and beyond, my entire bridal party we’re so impressed and absolutely loved the finished result. I had a trial with Valarie a few weeks prior and she was able to replicate the initially look with no concerns! Thank you Valarie for making me look so beautiful on my Wedding day.

    The wedding of Sarah and Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist 17
    The wedding of Sarah and Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist 18
    The wedding of Sarah and Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist 19
    The wedding of Sarah and Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist 20
    The wedding of Sarah and Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist 21
    Sent on 11/02/2018
  • Marilyn

    Marilyn , Married on 23/09/2017

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Valerie was great to work with! Quick to answer emails and gave detailed answers. I felt very comfortable with her during the trial and she was very perceptive to my wants and vision for my wedding day. I felt no pressure from her to do something specific, but she would make recommendations and was willing to show me, on me, and then take it off if I didn't like it. She is very confident in what she does and uses high quality products. She took great notes so on the wedding day, she knew what to do. I felt very beautiful and was comfortable all day! She also did a fantastic job on my bridesmaids and I don't think I've ever seen them look that beautiful. Valerie is very professional, great at what she does, and has a wonderful relaxing/comforting presense. I would recommend her to any bride!

    The wedding of Marilyn and Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist 22
    Sent on 25/10/2017
  • Renée

    Renée T-K , Married on 07/09/2017

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Valerie’s work is amazing, and very reasonable even including travel fees. She was so helpful answering questions and providing advice leading up to the event, and was a very calming presence when I was dying of nerves all morning! I absolutely loved my hair and makeup, and I didn’t sleep one wink the night before so you can imagine the makeup job that lay ahead for this poor lady. You even get a full sized lipstick and blotting papers!

    Sent on 12/12/2017

    Valerie Guzman Makeup Artist's reply:

    Thanks so much for this amazing review! I am so glad I was able to make your day more special and ease your nerves. This means a lot. Thank you and all the best wishes to you Renee.

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.