Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Faye Smith Agency

Faye Smith Agency

Faye Smith Agency

Vancouver, British Columbia
4.9 out of 5 rating, 255 reviews
View more information

255 reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 255
  • WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2013 Winner

37 User photos

  • R
    Rafaela Getting married on 09/10/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hands down the best makeup artist

    Faye is so talented 😍 I can't say enough amazing things about her work. She just master the makeup and hair styling skills flawlessly. I feel so lucky I found her she made me look and feel my absolute best!
    Thanks Faye you are simply the best!

    Faye Smith Agency's reply:

    The pleasure is ALWAYS mine Rafaela! It has been so fun working with you and we cannot wait for the next occasion to work together again.
  • IceLemonade
    Icelemonade Married on 29/07/2022
    1.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    We got HALF the service we paid for!!!

    DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE. We booked 2 makeup artists and 1 hair stylist for a wedding in DT Vancouver. One of the makeup artist was late for half an hour because apparently their reasoning was that she misread the suite number and buzzer... The hair stylist was supposed to show up at 6am, we PAID for extra early morning fees and travel cost, etc, well she didn't show up until 8:20am!!! Apparently there was issue with her car? But it wasn't like we were in the middle of no where, the bridal suite is in DT Vancouver. Well my friend, the bride. was so stressed out at that point literally 2 bridesmaid including me just did our own hair to reassure her that it wasn't a bad start to her wedding day. When this super late hair stylist finally arrived, she had trouble parking as well so we had to go out and get her AND PAID FOR HER PARKING because she had card issues??? We didn't even get an apology. When we complained to the agency, they only refunded us the bare minimum and told us the artist will not pay us back for parking. But like, we paid extra just to cover these extra costs? This entire experience was just so awful, not only was the communication exceptionally terrible, the hair stylist didn't even do a good job on the only one bridesmaid's hair that she did because she arrived so late there was literally no time for anyone else. We will never recommend this service to anyone, and I highly suggest booking elsewhere. The only reason I still gave 3 star for quality of service was because the artist who did the bridal hair and makeup on the bride thankfully knew what she was doing.

    All experiences are real. We have written communication and receipts as proof should anyone wish to reach out to confirm the validity of our experience.

    Faye Smith Agency's reply:

    Hello, and thank you for your review. The circumstances that unfortunately transpired on Fanda's wedding day were out of our control, but we worked really hard and tried our best to make things right, I'm so sorry it wasn't enough.
    One of your stylists was around 15 mins late and she was very apologetic about that, and she did have some issues finding the suite and getting the buzzer to work. That was just human error, but I do believe she still had everyone ready to go on time.
    However, the other stylist you mentioned didn't just have "car issues", she got a flat tire on the Highway (she was driving all the way from Surrey), so she had to wait for Roadside Assistance to come help her and unfortunately that took a very long time. I was in constant communication with her and I tried to keep Fanda updated, but unfortunately there was just no way for us to rush things or to have an exact ETA. It was an accident. We tried our best to find an alternate stylist but as it was a very early morning booking, this turned out to be impossible.
    After speaking to Fanda and having a clear picture about the situation, she was refunded all the services that weren't completed, including any Early Morning Fees or Mobile fees that covered parking, so it was definitely not the bare-minimum.
    I understand this situation was really frustrating, especially on your wedding day, but we really did the best we could to deal with an unforseen situation that was just out of our control, and to make things right for you afterwards.
    All the best.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • C
    Charlene Married on 23/07/2022
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Alice from Faye Smith Agency was amazing

    My stylist Alice was absolutely wonderful.
    She's super skilled, flexible and professional. The trial went super well that she was able to find the perfect look that I like. On the big day, she was on time/early and we finished early; I wasn't rushed and felt I had plenty of time to continue with my prep. The make up and hairdo was spot on with my dress. Highly recommend Alice!

    Faye Smith Agency's reply:

    Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are so happy we had Alice available to work with you on your special day. If you have any feedback on how we can achieve a 5 out of 5 review from you, please do let us know. We are always striving for perfection. =] Congratulations!
  • Eitan
    Eitan B. Married on 16/07/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great makeup

    Jen did a great job with my wedding makeup, looked beautiful. The agency was very responsive, communicative, and flexible. Would recommend!

    Faye Smith Agency's reply:

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write this beautiful review. We are so glad we could be there to make you look and feel absolutely gorgeous on your wedding day. Congratulations!
  • E
    Evita Married on 12/07/2022
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Everything was great, thank you.

    Everything was great, thank you. I would definitely recommend Faye to anyone. Easy to communicate, easy to book an appointment, all details provided. She was so kind, professional and done her job very well. It was a pleasure to work with you. Thank you

    Faye Smith Agency's reply:

    Thank you so much for such a nice review, and thank you for your preference. It was an absolute pleasure to work with you!
  • Paria
    Paria Married on 10/07/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best wedding makeup & hair artist!

    I can't even begin to say enough good things about Faye! She did my wedding hair and makeup, and truly made me feel and look like a princess. Not only is Faye an absolute talent, but she will also listen to all your ideas and ask your opinion throughout the process. I fully enjoyed my trial and of course enjoyed my time with her on my wedding day. She is an absolutely talented, kind and professional artist.

    Don't waste your time looking anywhere else - you've found your gal!!

    Faye Smith Agency's reply:

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write this amazing review! I am so happy I could step in and make your wedding makeup and hair experience a great one. You are truly beautiful and it was a joy working with you. =]
  • Elishea
    Elishea W. Married on 09/07/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing!!!

    Everything with Faye Smith Agency was absolutely amazing. I cannot say enough great things about Faye and her team. If you are getting married in the greater Vancouver area you need to book with Faye and her makeup artists! She and her very talented team do everything from subtle to full glam. Some of my bridesmaids don't wear a lot of makeup so they wanted a more subtle look which they were able to accommodate. As the bride, I wanted a full glam look and Faye delivered! I couldn't be happier with how things turned out. There are many makeup artists out here but Faye and her team are by far the best!

    Faye Smith Agency's reply:

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write this amazing review! We have seen some of your wedding photographs and WOW! You look so amazing. Congratulations on your new marriage. We hope to get to work with you again on more memorable occasions. =]
  • Georgina
    Georgina S. Married on 09/07/2022
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    The worst professional makeup I have ever received!

    I genuinely don't often leave bad reviews, but in this case I feel it’s best to warn other brides-to-be. I had booked Faye Smith Agency for my bridal hair & makeup, as well as for my mother & bridal party. I was left so appalled by the makeup I received at my trial (even after requesting the bright pink cheeks to be reduced, the uneven, men’s-looking eyebrows to be sorted out, the heavy Avril Lavigne-style eyeliner to be reduced, etc), that I ended up canceling my whole booking. Despite booking more than 10 months before my wedding, I was never given the option to choose my MUAH artist. When I expressed how unhappy I was after my trial, they were unable to switch me to a new MUAH artist. We’re not talking just wanting to change the lip colour on the day - I walked out looking like a cross between a drag queen & a clown (nothing wrong with drag queens - but not the caked-on look I was going for on my wedding day!). I did not feel pretty, or look like myself, or like a bride at all. I felt so self conscious walking back through town looking like this. Both my fiancé, my friends & my mom thought it looked awful as well. You don’t want people’s reaction to be, “Whoa, that’s a lot of makeup” - you want them to say, “Wow, you look beautiful”. Within an hour of being home, it had smudged down my face. I couldn’t wait to wash it all off. The MUAH artist & office manager were nice people, but the makeup skills were just not there, & my overall experience was very stressful. To summarise: I do not recommend booking with Faye Smith Agency!

    Faye Smith Agency's reply:

    Georgina, we appreciate this feedback and are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our services. Our goal is to make our brides feel beautiful on their wedding day and we pride ourselves on the work we do to make that happen



    We are sorry we were unable to provide you with other available artist options after you were unhappy with your trial. Destination weddings pose more challenges with artist availability due to long drives, ferry rides and overnight hotel stays being involved. We did try our best to fulfil this request for you. We assure you that you were booked with one of Vancouver's most well-known, skilled and experienced artists who is extremely capable of adjusting your makeup and hair design for you so it is perfect for your wedding day. We have since wrote a wonderful blog for our Brides so they can learn more about the trial process, https://fayesmith.ca/prepare-for-your-wedding-hair-makeup-trial/. We are so we couldn't make you happy.
  • T
    Tracy A. Married on 07/07/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stress Free

    We live out of town and Faye came to our hotel room to do my hair and makeup. I couldn't have been happier with both end results. I highly recommend Faye to anyone looking to get their hair and makeup done, especially for your wedding day!

    Faye Smith Agency's reply:

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and congratulations! I hope your elopement was everything you dreamed of. =)
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message