BlushPretty: Makeup+Hair Artistry
907 College Street West M6H1A1 Toronto (Ontario) View map

Reviews from BlushPretty: Makeup+Hair Artistry

26 reviews
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2015 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0

  • Quality of service

    4.8

    Value

    4.7
  • Professionalism

    4.8

    Responsiveness

    4.9
  • Flexibility

    4.8
  • Ruth Solomon, Married on 13/05/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Bad
    • Responsiveness:
      Acceptable
    • Value:
      Bad
    • Flexibility:
      Bad
    • Professionalism:
      Bad

    My aim in writing this review is to warn those with multiethnic/ kinky hair. This is not a resource for you. Wedding planning is time consuming and as such I am hoping to save others the hassle.

    My MOH contacted stephanie and informed her that I was biracial and that my wedding party was large and diverse in terms of ethnic origins. We were assured that they would be able to accommodate such a group.

    The day of my hair and make up trial, the hair stylist was grossly unprepared because no one had told her that i was biracial and so she did not have the tools needed to style my hair. My makeup trial was great and the artist was very professional.

    When it came time to reschedule my hair trial, I was informed that I would have to pay extra due to my hair type (initially I was quoted the special event pricing because my MOH is a beauty blogger and apart of the Canadian Beauty blogger network). And I was also informed that there was really only one stylist who knew how to handle my hair type and as a result could only do my hair. Which meant that my three cousins would have to find their own hair services for the day of the wedding.

    My main point is this: If you cannot accommodate a party's requests, just say that you can't instead of wasting everyone's time and money. I'm sure if you have naturally straight hair they will be happy to help you. But this is not a service for those of us with curly, kinky hair. Look elsewhere!

    Sent on 03/08/2016

    BlushPretty: Makeup+Hair Artistry's reply:

    Thank you for your feedback Ruth, and my apologies for only responding to this now as I have just come across it.

    I wholeheartedly agree that we let you down and that your feedback left here is fair. We are truly sorry for how your experience came to be and while there is no excuse, I would like to take the opportunity to explain our side of the story.

    To address the situation regarding your trial run, yes, the hair artist that day was unprepared, however that was 110% my fault as her that I failed to understand from your MOH the scope of services you were looking for; and in turn, I failed to properly prepare and inform our hair artist. While I was told and understood you were bi-racial, I was unaware that you were looking for a wash, blowout, and curl into updo. I was also unaware that other members of your bridal party would request similar services.

    Blowouts and updos are something we do provide, however, given that most of our services are provided mobile and on-location, we do not have the resources at any given venue to provide a wash. In addition, as a bridal services company, we often only do the updo styling (not always a blowout), and not the pre-prep (washing).

    With regards to the size of your bridal party, again, you are correct - we were aware of your diverse party, but again, unaware of the full scope of services you were looking for. Most of the communications regarding your wedding date prior to meeting you directly were via brief text messages sent by your Maid of Honour to my phone. Your MOH did mention the diversity, your bridal party size, etc. but other than these particular items, I only understood that you would be looking for our standard services : we come in, provide makeup, style hair into an updo, etc. Given this understanding, I quoted her our rates for services.

    It was only upon our artistry team meeting you during the trial run - and discussing with you further what you were looking for and expecting - did we realize the full scope of the services.

    This is when I emailed you to explain that while our hair artist would be more than happy to work with you and provide all the services you were looking for, but that timewise, it would be best for her to focus on you on your wedding day; that I could arrange for other BP artists to assist with hair, and also suggested additional outside freelancers in our network who can assist with the additional members of your family who would also be looking for a full blowout, straighten/curl, smooth into updo type services. I had advised that we had very limited artists on the team who would be comfortable with bi-racial or ethnic hair, and that I thought this could be an option.

    Regarding the pricing, again, the adjustment came after understanding what would be expected of the team. I definitely agree that it does suck to learn of any added costs after receiving an initial quote.

    We are very embarrassed of how things turned out and apologize for any inconvenience to you and your bridal party, but in the end our suggestions to you in our last set of emails was in hopes of making the situation work without sacrificing time and quality of service to you and your bridal party on the wedding day, not to turn you off or to upset you.

    The actions of our team, and the experience you received is not reflective of how we operate, and in addition, not a reflection of the hair artist or any other BP team artist. I myself as owner accept full responsibility in dropping the ball in the communication in this circumstance and is reflective of my failure to properly communicate with your Maid of Honour.. In hindsight, I realize that I should have asked your Maid Of Honour to put me directly into contact with you prior to your trial run date to nail down the details and to give you the full rundown of what we could and could not do for you. In the end, this perhaps would have avoided us the embarrassment.

    Again I truly thank you for leaving this review and while I cannot change the situation or remedy it now, we do wish you a stellar wedding day.

    All the best,
    Stephanie

  • Katelynn Chisholm, Married on 20/08/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The team at BP are amazing, I was very happy with the whole experience. They were able to travel to my out of town wedding and supply enough artists for my 7 bridesmaids, mother and myself. Laura listened to what I wanted and was able to give me the exact look I was hoping for. I would recommend Blush Pretty to anyone.

    Sent on 18/01/2017
  • Anisah Hassan, Married on 22/07/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    I have nothing but good things to say about Stephanie and her team. I got in touch with Stephanie at the last minute when my plan for hair and makeup fell through and she was very accommodating. We had Erin for makeup and Karla for hair, both of whom were great! They were both great at providing their input on what would work while also listening to what we wanted. We all looked amazing! Definitely would recommend.

    Sent on 24/07/2016
  • Robyn Caton, Married on 16/10/2015

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Stephanie and her team are absolutely fantastic and I would highly recommend them. My wedding was Friday October 16, 2015 and Stephanie, Crista and Rebecca completed hair and makeup on 8 people during the morning of my wedding. They worked really well together and they were able to get us ready to go right on time.

    Throughout the planning process, Stephanie responded to emails very quickly and was always attentive. Whenever I asked a question, I would hear back within 24 hours, usually quicker.

    All of my girls had picked hairstyles from online and showed pictures of what they wanted and we were all happy with the outcome.

    If I had to do it over again, I would choose Blush Pretty. Stephanie was a pleasure to work with!

    Sent on 17/10/2015

    BlushPretty: Makeup+Hair Artistry's reply:

    I am so behind on sending some love back on these reviews - but Bette late than never, right? Robyn, we loved working with you and your bridal party and cannot thank you enough for choosing our team. Thank you so much for letting us be a part of your big day! Cannot wait to see you again in December 2016 for your sister's big day! ;)

  • Maya Darghawth, Married on 03/10/2015

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Good
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Stephanie and her team were amazing to work with! They were really talented and listened to what my bridesmaids and I wanted for our hair and makeup choices. It was very easy working with them, we had Sam (for hair) and Erin (for makeup) and I highly recommend them both!

    Sent on 22/12/2015

    BlushPretty: Makeup+Hair Artistry's reply:

    Hey Maya! We cannot thank you enough for choosing Erin and Samantha and for sharing your special day with us. We also appreciate your support of our business and brand, from attending one of our very first bridal beauty showcases to recommending some 2016 brides ... we are forever grateful. Xoxo, Stephanie and the team!

  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    I had Laura do my hair and makeup and she did an amazing job! She was wonderful to work with both during the trials and on the day. She is incredibly professional and truly talented. My makeup stayed flawless for the entire day and surprisingly, even after dancing! I've never felt more beautiful.

    Sent on 15/12/2015

    BlushPretty: Makeup+Hair Artistry's reply:

    Thank you so much for this review. Even though it's a anonymous - we appreciate everything about it and you! Xx, Stephanie and the team

  • Scarlet Smith, Married on 09/08/2015

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Stephanie is so talented and professional, I'm so glad I found her to do our hair and makeup on my wedding day. My makeup looked natural and beautiful and stayed put all day. My hair was put back into a large, low stunning up-do, and I've received many comments about the photos of my hair since the wedding pics came out. She also did hair and makeup for my bridesmaids and they looked great. Her suggestions for their hairstyles on the day were perfect. Thanks so much Stephanie! I would recommend trusting her on your big day without hesitation.

    Sent on 22/08/2015

    BlushPretty: Makeup+Hair Artistry's reply:

    Scarlett!!! This review gives me the warmest fuzzies! I fully appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. It's amazing what a small world it is (the Crossfields!) and while we weren't aware of the connection at first, I feel like that made it meant to be! You and your wedding party were super delightful! Wishing you and yours all the best! Stephanie

  • Paula Haxton , Married on 25/07/2015

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Stephanie saved my wedding when my original hair and makeup vendor backed out a month before my wedding. She was able to accommodate me at my wedding venue which was 90 minutes north of Toronto. She came to my condo to do my hair and makeup trial and I felt immediately at ease with her. She and her partner did a fantastic job with me and my small bridal party, as well as my Mom. Stephanie always responded promptly to any email or phone call. I would recommend BlushPretty with no hesitation for your wedding!

    Sent on 17/08/2015

    BlushPretty: Makeup+Hair Artistry's reply:

    Hey Paula! I'm late leaving some love on these reviews ... but I'm leaving one regardless. Thank you so much for choosing us. I'm so happy I was able to assist you with your needs and for the opportunity to work with you. We cherish every single bride and are so grateful. All the best to you and yours, stephanie

  • Pamela Chan, Married on 20/06/2015

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Stephanie was outstanding at making me and my bridesmaids beautiful on the wedding day! As a bride who usually wears minimal make-up, she made me feel comfortable with the make-up and created a more "beautiful me" with a natural, glowing look. She really listened to the vision for my bridal day look, took into account my concerns when it came to make up and went out of her way to ensure that I was happy with my make-up. She was easy to work with and worked so efficiently and skillfully ensuring everyone's make up was completed on time and to their liking. Stephanie was also helpful leading up to the wedding day making suggestions on how to prep and prime my skin for the big day. I also appreciated her flexibility with time and location when it came to the wedding day make-up trial and engagement shoot. I highly recommend her services!

    Sent on 11/07/2015

    BlushPretty: Makeup+Hair Artistry's reply:

    Thank you so much for leaving this kind review Pamela! :) You were stunning on your big day and such a pleasure to work with over the year of planning. Your bridal party was great too. Wishing you lots and lots of love and happiness!

    Xoxo
    - stephanie-

  • TheresaAndHugh Cooke-Devlin, Married on 26/09/2014

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Thanks so much to BlushPretty for their beautiful work on our wedding day!

    Brandi, Crista and Karla were amazing - what a team! They were professional, punctual, and efficient. They were also flexible and accommodating - they squeezed in an extra makeup request from one of the bridesmaids and still somehow kept us ahead of schedule! Most important, they made every woman look and feel beautiful! My sisters and I have done our hair and makeup together for a number of family weddings and this is the first wedding that we ALL were thrilled with how we were styled. Each of us felt gorgeous!

    A special thanks goes to Brandi who spent a great deal of time with me during my trial, discussing and working on my look to ensure that I felt comfortable, beautiful, and like myself. Her work on the wedding day itself was perfection, and it was such a relief for me to not have to think twice about my hair and makeup for the rest of the day. Despite many happy tears, the makeup lasted and I felt beautiful until the very end of the reception. Thank you!

    Thanks also to Stephanie for her smooth and efficient coordination of the day and her prompt responses to my questions ahead of the day. She put my mind at ease in the weeks leading up to the wedding, which is enormously appreciated, especially in the midst of wedding planning!

    I will definitely recommend BlushPretty to other brides and to friends and family for special events. Thank you, BlushPretty!

    Sent on 05/10/2014

    BlushPretty: Makeup+Hair Artistry's reply:

    Hello Theresa,

    I just realized I could respond to reviews! I know you posted this awhile back but regardless - THANK YOU - thank you for taking the time to leave this review for the BlushPretty team.

    So happy and honoured that the team made you feel like a dream on your big day. Thanks for choosing us!

    All the best for many years to come!

    xoxo,
    Stephanie+the team

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Send an inquiry through WeddingWire and for each visit or contract with a vendor, you'll have more chances to win. Good luck! + info