Conger's Jewellers

1411-A Carling Ave. K1Z 7L6 Ottawa (Ontario) Map
Write a review Hired? Save

About Conger's Jewellers

Established in 1981, Conger’s Jewellers was created by gemologist David Conger in Ottawa. The appointment-only business offers a number of services for soon-to-wed customers. These range from bespoke wedding rings to jewellery re-design and repair. David Conger is a graduate of the Gemological Institute of America (earned in residence, Santa Monica, CA.).

Designs offered

Couples are offered a variety of unique styles. The pieces are normally custom designed. A 3-D model in made prior to the final production of the piece to give you an idea of what to expect. The business offers a lifetime warranty on our custom designs. Products include the following:

  • Canadian diamonds from Ekati and Diavik diamond mine
  • Charles & Colvard Forever One Moissanite
  • Pure Grown Lab Diamonds
  • Recycled and Fairtrade Gold
  • Services Appraisal, cleaning, diamond certification, payment plans, ring sizing, shipping, stone upgrades, warranties
  • Products Antique engagement rings, custom wedding bands, custom engagement rings, designer engagement rings,…View more
  • Avg. Turnaround Time 3-4 weeks

Couples have also viewed:

  • bel.
  • True Bijoux
  • Dixon Jewellers

Did you like this vendor?

Request pricing

6 Reviews for Conger's Jewellers


3.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 3.7
  • Professionalism 3.7
  • Flexibility 3.7
  • Value 3.8
  • Response time 3.7
Sort by:
  • Hope

    Hope Rumford · Married on 27 of April of 2019

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So far, wonderful!

    She listened to what I had in mind and showed me a few settings, and I fell in love with one of their designs! Very helpful and informative, as we were just starting the process, but we were so happy with the friendly and helpful service we kept coming back. We found the perfect diamond close to budget and with the qualities we were looking for, and those we didn't know to look for. I am so excited to see the finished product!!

    Sent on 10/03/2018

    Conger's Jewellers's reply:

    Hi Hope,

    What a pleasant surprise to see your kind words expressing how you felt about the store and my service. It was a joy and pleasure to help you. Thank you very much for allowing us the opportunity to be a part of this special time in your lives! ~ Dina :)
  • G

    Gabrielle Papineau · Married on 22 of August of 2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful engagement ring. Very supportive and helpful through design process. The were recommended to us and we would definitely recommend them to others.

    Sent on 08/01/2015
  • W

    William · Married on 23 of August of 2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Conger's Jewellers was a very warm and welcoming place to experience designing and buying a custom engagement ring! David is an attentive, deeply knowledgeable, and very generous craftsman who takes his time, listens to his customers, and really cares. He was patient and thorough at every step of designing the ring and he never pressured us or tried to sell us on something we didn't want 100%. I would definitely recommend Conger's to friends and family (and already have!).

    Sent on 12/10/2016

    Conger's Jewellers's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to write this kind and thoughtful review of our service William, and for sending your friends and relatives to us. I will do my very best to help. - David
  • J

    Jennifer Low · Married on 05 of May of 2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David was absolutely wonderful, he took my grand-mothers ring and did a custom design from a picture for my engagement band and used the other diamonds to make earrings (with threaded posts so they won't fall out!). Then Congers made a palladium (not platinum) ring for my husband's wedding band as we had a lot of problem finding someone to make what we wanted... palladium is very hard to work with so many jewelers won't take on the challenge.

    The communication, price and service were all wonderful! Highly suggested.

    Sent on 10/05/2012

    Conger's Jewellers's reply:

    Thank you so much Jennifer! It was an honour and a please to make your jewellery for you at this important moment in your life.
    - Dave :)
  • [Anonymous] Married on 25/09/2015

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    -Inventory not very well stocked – we settled on a smaller diamond than we wanted in order to get the desired cut and clarity, because this was all that was available. Additionally, we had to get a Canadian diamond (more expensive) because there were no others that fit our specifications.
    -The ring was ready about 1-2 weeks later than we were told.
    -The initial ring had three spots on the band that were not polished.
    -We took the ring in for repair and it came back looking different. The owner of Congers told us it had been necessary for the goldsmith to do a half-shank and replace the bottom half of the ring, but we had never been informed the ring would be modified in such a drastic way.
    -There were SIX DEFECTS VISIBLE TO THE NAKED EYE: 1) The 18K inscription was missing – only half the K was left (never re-inscribed after the half-shank). 2) The ring was no longer round – parts of the band were thicker or thinner (also because of the half-shank). 3) There were two scratches that were not there on the first ring. 4) The fit was different – less snug than before. 5) The diamond was not as brilliant because the ring was not polished under the diamond. 6) There was a fibre wedged next to the stone. The lack of quality control here is astounding.
    Overall we are extremely disappointed with our Congers experience. We made numerous trips to the jeweller for repairs. We were only engaged a couple months, and my ring spent most of that time at the jeweller's being repaired. Throughout our ordeal, the employees and owner were always friendly, but never apologized or offered any compensation for basically completely botching my wedding ring.

    Sent on 21/12/2015

    Conger's Jewellers's reply:

    We are sorry you feel the way you do about our company and our service. We are surprised because this is 4 months after you told us you were happy with the ring we made you. We would like to acknowledge that we do trip up from time to time, as anyone will, and we feel badly when this happens, but we always try to go the extra mile to help.

    You left us with the impression after we remade your ring in September that you were happy. You examined it carefully in the store and told us it was fine. After reading your comments here, obviously, we were misled and this is not true. We would like to be able to help you. If you come back, we will try to do something further, if we can.

    In terms of the diamond you purchased, you and your husband were offered different diamonds which needed to be a specific size for the ring we were making, and within a price range that was comfortable for both of you. We pride ourselves on staying within a set price range to make everyone's experience enjoyable. Your diamond was not smaller than what you were looking for, and was within the target price range. We discussed Canadian and non Canadian options for the diamond. At least 6 diamonds were offered as possible candidates. These diamonds reflected the restrictions on size, quality and price that are imposed by the ring design and the price range you were comfortable with. After some consideration, your husband emailed us to say he would like to leave a deposit on one of the diamonds. He said he spoke to you and received your approval. We were pleased to know you were also happy but your current comments contradict this. You did not express any concern about the diamond when you emailed us to say "Just wanted to let you know I received the engagement ring and it is gorgeous. I really love how it turned out".

See more reviews

Conger's Jewellers awards

6

Promotions from Conger's Jewellers

Location of Conger's Jewellers

Location of (Conger's Jewellers)
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.