MSlay Studio

51 reviews | Calgary (Alberta)
See Photos, Pricing and Details

Reviews for MSlay Studio

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Response time 4.9

Awards

51

75 User photos

Order by:
  • A

    Anna T. · Married on 27/01/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Talented, and professional.

    Miranda’s not only extremely talented, but also puts her clients first, especially during these complicated times. I would recommend Mslay over, and over again. Thank you Miranda - looking forward to more hair magic from you!

    Sent on 08/01/2021
  • Christina

    Christina N. · Married on 14/09/2020

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Miranda is a gem!

    Our original wedding was supposed to be in November but due to COVID-19, we had to make changes to our plans and decided to have a smaller wedding in September. Miranda was very understanding and accommodating to our changes. Not only was it her flexibility and professionalism that made her easy to work with, but her positive energy and personable character made the process of wedding planning during a pandemic easier for us. She did an incredible job on my and my 3 bridemaids’ hair. All of us have varying lengths, volumes, and types of hair and she was able to transform them all so beautifully. Thank you, Miranda! ❤️

    Sent on 17/09/2020
  • Alana

    Alana · Married on 11/09/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely amazing!

    My experience was great with Miranda! She did an amazing job with my bridal hair! I had 7 bridesmaids, my mom and myself get their hair done and it was all completed in a timely fashion. The entire experience was comfortable and relaxed. I provided her with little direction but when she was done it felt as if she knew exactly what kind of look I wanted to achieve for my wedding day! The booking process was extremely easy and accommodating. Having her do hair at my wedding was one of the best decisions I made while wedding planning. Miranda is a true professional and has a passion for her work. I would highly recommend!!

    Sent on 06/10/2020
  • Miranda

    Miranda B. · Married on 04/07/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Wedding Hair

    Miranda Thomas did hair for me, my mom and my two sisters on my wedding day. We all loved our hair and felt beautiful and confident. She’s the best.

    Sent on 28/07/2020
  • Reanne

    Reanne A. · Married on 27/06/2020

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Stole my deposit and refused to perform services

    Miranda & team were supposed to do hair and makeup for my June 27, 2020 wedding, but instead she stole my deposit and refuses to respond to emails. I’ve included quotes from her emails below.
    My original contract stated that there would be hair for 6 ladies and makeup for 8. When COVID-19 restrictions were put in place, I reached out to ask her what she would be able to accommodate under the circumstances. On May 4, she said:
    I do believe by late June I will be okay to do hair for weddings but I don’t believe makeup will be able to safely or legally work yet.


    At that point I waited to see what the government restrictions looked like closer to our wedding date. When I followed up with her on June 7 she said:
    I will absolutely be able to accommodate to original 6 ladies needing hair including your hair and have you ladies ready for 4:00 (will be there for 12:00 to start styling).
    Unfortunately,
    I will not be able to provide makeup contract bookings for this year as my makeup artists also have other responsibilities that can change with covid changes and aren’t able to commit to any dates for 2020.

    I then pointed out to her that our ceremony was actually at 3:00 – our contract had 2:00 as our deadline to be ready. She responded with:
    I wont be able to accommodate that timing as I have now adjusted your timing to only accommodate 3 ladies and have moved another rescheduled booking to 10am on the same date for another small event.

    I am only available at 12:00 on this date now,
    Please let me know how you would like to move forward I am not sure what is going to be best for you on this day to keep it running smoothly Im sorry Im not able to be more flexible.

    Obviously this didn’t work for our wedding. After a lot more back and forth she finally bailed on me, saying:
    Im sorry but I feel like truthfully we just are not a good fit and it has been alot of work to try and please you and accommodate your changes.
    I will be discussing deposit options with my lawyer in the coming months to see legally how I can help provide some funds back.

    She did not return my deposit, and so I am taking her to small claims court to recoup my deposit. Anyone considering booking her beware!!

    Sent on 10/01/2021
  • Dafne

    Dafne · Married on 30/05/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommend!

    Miranda is such a kind and talented stylist! My wedding party and I were initially drawn to the budget-friendly prices for the high quality styling, but I was sold on the customer service and personalized experience.
    Miranda is a wonderful listener who considered my ideas and made sure I felt confident and happy. She carefully addressed the thinning area around my bangs and made sure the hair would stay in place without being uncomfortable.

    When Miranda did my hair for the engagement shoot, I felt beautiful. I was so impressed that the curly waves held up after several hours of skating and strolling at Lake Louise during winter. I have thick and long hair that usually straightens out right away, but Miranda’s knowledge of hair and the products that keep it healthy was fantastic!

    Due to the pandemic, my husband and I decided to have an intimate legal ceremony in the backyard with our parents as witnesses. Once again, Miranda was able to respond to the situation and my ideas without hesitation. Since my wedding dress didn’t arrive in time and I resorted to wearing my bridal shower outfit, I had a different hairpiece and vision for Miranda to create. She was so kind and positive and really made the crazy day feel fun and special. She gave my mother-in-law and I some tips and worked so quickly, too! Within no time at all, my hair was styled and Miranda even did a bit of styling for the groom :) It was a lovely experience working with Miranda!

    We can’t wait to have Miranda do our hair again for our larger wedding with loved ones.

    I highly recommend Miranda to do your hair for any occasion :)

    Sent on 12/08/2020
  • Hailey

    Hailey M. · Married on 22/05/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely a wonderful experience

    Miranda has been nothing but a absolutely pleasure to deal with, with every appointment and every service! She accompanied odd hours and listen to my exact wants and needs. Was far from disappointed! And she very reasonable priced. I would recommend her to all my family and friends! You will not be disappointed with Miranda!

    Sent on 08/01/2021
  • Nicole

    Nicole · Married on 06/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Experience

    Miranda was a dream come true with our hair. When she told me that she could get all 9 person's hair done that day before noon I was skeptical, however not only did she manage to do it on time, every single girl absolutely loved their hair. All my bridesmaid's were thrilled and my hair was perfect. I received multiple compliments throughout the day. The hair survived the ceremony, windy photos outside, the reception and dancing. Thank you so very much for being so wonderful and providing me with such and incredible experience. You are so talented.

    Sent on 10/12/2019

    MSlay Studio's reply:

    Nicole thank you so much for leaving me such a special review I appreciate it so much and your day was truly incredible!
  • Alli

    Alli (. · Married on 16/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Journey

    My wedding isn’t until November, but I had booked MSlay Studios a few months ago because I was so impressed with her prices, responsiveness, and gallery. I’ve been looking for a new stylist to do my hair - and I thought, why not try going with the person who’s going to do my hair on the day of? I’m so glad I did. Never have I had someone put so much thought and care into something that is an insecurity for me (my hair). Right from the get go, I was comfortable and felt confident that I would leave the chair happy; and I did! I’m so excited to have Miranda be doing my hair now and mine and my girls’ hair for such an important day. 10/10, absolutely recommend. 😊♥️

    Sent on 08/06/2019

    MSlay Studio's reply:

    Alli it has been such a pleasure getting you ready for your special day and watching your vision come together, it will be such an incredible day.
    Thank you for choosing me!
  • K

    Kadie H. · Married on 23/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible stylist, incredible person!

    Miranda is the type of person you’re just naturally drawn to. She is so sweet, and such an amazing stylist. I’ve worked with her multiple times, and she always delivers on my vision. Highly recommend this girl! ❤️

    Sent on 23/10/2019

    MSlay Studio's reply:

    Kadie you are such a beautiful person and talented woman, thank you for this review and I look forward to doing more bridal shoots and weddings with you!
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.