Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Savoury Chef

Savoury Chef

Savoury Chef

Vancouver, British Columbia
4.8 out of 5 rating, 19 reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.8 out of 5 rating
19 reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating
84% Recommended by couples

Awards

19
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2014 Winner
  • Adelle
    Adelle Sent on 28/01/2019
    3 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    Disappointing experience

    We hired Savoury Chef to cater our wedding in the spring. I was thrilled and looking forward to working with this company, but was left feeling very disappointed with our experience.

    At the start of our event planning, everything was on track and going smoothly, but as we got closer to our wedding date, we felt that the coordination by Savoury chef became very disorganized.

    We received our final invoice just days shy of our wedding and it was significantly more than we had expected to pay (SC had forgotten to include the chefs and some of the rentals on our previous invoice). We also discovered several other rental/billing errors during our planning, which made us feel uncomfortable, especially when they initially appeared to avoid our requests to look into it.

    The food that was served during our reception was excellent, and the serving staff were great, however they served someone else’s wine during our dinner and cocktail hour (despite being the only vendor with the wine list and responsible for serving the wine). Also, the beef, one of our main courses, was served late and as the last course, when guests had almost finished eating. Even after learning about the wine mixup, our coordinator never acknowledged the error or offered us an explanation.

    Unfortunately, we felt that the new owner and staff were not genuinely interested in our experience nor were they receptive to the feedback that we provided. We were left feeling undeserving of their time despite having spent a considerable amount of money. Savoury chef added a significant amount of unnecessary stress to our wedding planning and day, and based on our experience I cannot recommend them for catering services.

    Savoury Chef's reply:

    Dear Adelle, I am sorry to read that you have ongoing issues with your wedding last June. Our team met with you to address your concerns and we absorbed some costs that were in question, while still providing full service. We responded with action to your emails and direct messages on social media. Then in October I took additional steps to address new issues after you reached out again. We care deeply about providing the highest quality service to all our guests. Kind regards, Anna Wallner, owner, Savoury Chef
  • Lucia
    Lucia L. Sent on 13/11/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amanda helped us with planning and with Kyle helped on the day of, and it was a pleasure to work with both of them. My husband and I wanted to make sure that food and drinks were top notch, and communicated what we had in mind to Amanda. She was fantastic and giving recommendations and teasing details out of us. We also had two bartenders from Savoury Chef (I believe their names were Jordan and Haley) who were phenomenal. Cocktails were how my husband and I met, so we wanted to create a cocktail bar for the wedding, and Jordan and Haley delivered. They were super friendly and got creative and made their own drink specials when prompted. My friends absolutely loved that. The food was also amazing. For people who don't like wedding cakes, I would recommend you get a swath of their desserts instead. Everything was delicious.
  • E
    Emily M. Sent on 28/02/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Mariella handles all decorations and set-up as well which was above and beyond what we could have asked for. The decorations looked fantastic (after having given minimal instruction) and the whole evening went off without a hitch. The staff was so attentive, the moment the ceremony ended, someone was at our side handing us a plate of appetizers and two glasses of wine to enjoy before entering back into the cocktail hour.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Gaylene
    Gaylene M. Sent on 06/03/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Best service and food ever! I knew when we did the tasting that the food from Savoury Chefs would be second to none! They delivered a very classy elegant dinner for our guests and we were blown away by the presentation, taste and excellent service. The staff were amazing, and Barb was so reassuring and even touched base the morning of the wedding ready to pull in extra workers in case we had to move our ceremony indoors because of possible rain. She thought of everything and it needed up not raining so it was a perfect day! Great food, excellent service helped us celebrate the best day of our lives!!! Photos below courtesy of GinGer Photography! Sorry I didn't have any of the dinner on my iPad just the desserts but everything was delicious!
  • A
    Amanda B. Sent on 12/07/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Do not hesitate for one second to book Savoury Chef! They are so amazing at what they do & will exceed your expectations. They were helpful in every aspect of our wedding- the food was AMAZING, literally the talk of the week!

    If you are lucky enough to get Mariella as your event coordinator, you are in such good hands. She is as sweet as she is efficient.

    10/5!!! They really are the best!!!
  • M
    Melissa P. Sent on 18/06/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Perfection!
    Not only was the food AMAZING but beautiful to look at as well.
    Delivery and service was spot on.
    It seemed that magically all of the tables were served at the exact same time.
    Every single thing went smoothly and deliciously.
    Went above and beyond while working with other vendors.
    Made our guests feel welcome
    Our guests our still raving about there amazing meal.
    Thank you so much
    You are the absolute best!!!

  • H
    Hardeep D. Sent on 31/10/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My fiance and I hired Savoury Chef to cater our October 2014 wedding.

    From start to finish, working with Alison and her team was easy and fun!

    Alison was so easy to work with and she easily accommodated any menu changes we needed to make.

    The Savoury Chef team was great on the day of the wedding. The serving staff and bartenders were professional and polite. Everything went smoothly and the food was amazing!!

    We are still getting compliments on the great food at our wedding!

    Savoury Chef's reply:

    Thank you so much for the review, we very much enjoyed being apart of your special day!!
  • [Anonymous] Sent on 30/10/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Savoury chef were simply incredible!

    Kyle and his team performed amazingly from the first time we met them, all the way to the day of our wedding, and knocked it right out of the park.

    They were professional, attentive, courteous and sensitive to the needs of our guests, and we could not have asked for a better caterer.

    Thank you so very much for making our wedding the incredible event that it was!

    The highest of recommendations!

    Savoury Chef's reply:

    We were so fortunate to be apart of your special day! What a perfect setting - the weather, the decor, the tent - and your amazing friends and family.

    Thank you for putting your faith in us!
    Savoury Chef
  • S
    Shereen Sent on 22/10/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    When we first set out with the daunting task of planning our wedding we knew right away that the type of food we served to our guests would be of utmost importance. We were looking for a farm to table experience that would exceed our guests expectations.

    I began calling several catering companies that we felt would fit with our vision and was immediately blown away with Savoury Chef.Their prompt and professional response quickly made me realize that they were who my husband and I wanted to be part of our day.We worked closely with Alison who answered all of our questions with clarity,professionalism and patience. She was very transparent with every detail pertaining to our menu selections,rentals and cost. This was great as we did not have any surprises along the way.

    As you can imagine,planning a wedding is a lot of work and there will be things that you forget to do. It was wonderful that Alison was constantly thinking of everything that we had over looked which made for very smooth planning.

    I woke up the morning of my wedding like every other bride....incredibly nervous. I can honestly say, knowing Alison would be there over seeing everything calmed me down tremendously.Everything from rental setup to catering was executed perfectly!

    Our experience with Savoury Chef was nothing short of AMAZING! Our family and friends are still raving about the quality of food that was served. I am so happy we entrusted Savoury Chef with the most important meal we will ever have.

    THANK YOU...THANK YOU Alison and the entire Savoury Chef team! You made our wedding truly memorable.

    Savoury Chef's reply:

    You and your guests were amazing. Thank you so much for the compliments, we loved helping with your special day!
  • A
    Angie T. Sent on 22/10/2014
    3.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We were married at Science World, a venue with no kitchen, so we looked for the best of the best when it came to catering. The staff at Savoury was extremely professional to deal with, put our minds at ease, and we were 100% confident in our decision to spend $19,500 for 150 people. We had champagne service for the ceremony, wine service and canapes upon arrival to reception, a 3 course meal, and bar service for the evening. Nothing luxurious, but we were promised the service to our guests would be outstanding. Unfortunately, the service on our wedding fell extremely short of our expectations for that investment. There were no servers with wine on trays greeting guests when they arrived. The lineup at the bar was crazy for everyone that had arrived at once. Glassware ran out at the bar so my Mom was drinking wine out of a coffee mug at 9pm. Nobody was told to keep their glasses until it was too late. They told us we ran out of white wine so we sent our wedding coordinator to get 2 more cases and the next day not only were those cases still there unopened, but a case of the original white was there too. Communication was horrible as the staff seemed extremely overwhelmed. Thank goodness for our fabulous coordinator as we had no idea of any issues until the next day. The food was fantastic and came out timely at the head table, but the next day at the gift opening we were told other tables had a 15 minute break between the hot dish potatoes and the meats, so that's all they had for that time. To top it off, the following week while on honeymoon we were sent an additional bill for $161 to cover the "extra staff" they had kept on. With all the shortfalls I was extremely shocked to see this drop in the bucket bill. All gratuities were included in the 20K bill too, at 18%, so we paid $1350 for gratuities to the staff for service that was far from superior.

    Savoury Chef's reply:

    We are so sorry that we dropped the ball on your beverage service and that we have not been able to connect with you in person after the event to apologize. Every team member at Savoury Chef strives to ensure that we exceed your and your guests expectations especially on such an important day. Please contact us directly if there is anything we can do to make amends.

    Kyle Nordman, Owner Savoury Chef
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message