Weddings

Reviews for Melanie's Cakes

Melanie's Cakes

Melanie's Cakes

Newmarket, Ontario
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 45 reviews
View more information

45 reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 45

23 User photos

Order by:
  • Simone
    Simone W. Getting married on 17/09/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Melanie's Cakes is amazing. I sent her some photos of the cake I wanted and added some of my own ideas, and from that she made my wedding cake better than I could have ever imagined. Not only did it look absolutely stunning, but it was absolutely delicious as well. On top of baking the perfect cake, she really helped me out last minute with providing a cake stand and a cake topper to go along with it. She picked up the flowers from my florist on the day of my wedding and she dropped the cake off at the venue. I asked Melanie to send me a picture of my cake when it was ready so I could see it before dinner, and when she did that morning I screamed with Joy at how beautiful it was.

    I would recommend Melanie's Cakes 100% to take the stress of your back and handling everything, as well as helping your dream cake come to life.

    Melanie's Cakes's reply:

    Thank you so much Simone!! Your kind words are why I love what I do.

    I was so happy with how the cake turned out, it was really a pleasure working with you. You have a great eye.

    I wish you and Brad all the best in your future together!
  • Abby
    Abby Married on 23/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dream wedding cake

    Everyone loved the cupcakes and the cake Mel made for our wedding! She was amazing to work with and made the process easy and stress free! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

    Melanie's Cakes's reply:

    Thank you Abby!! I loved working with you - it was truly a pleasure. I can't wait to see photos.

    Wishing you both the best in your life together!!
  • M
    May M. Married on 08/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent service and quality!

    I absolutely recommend this cake shop! You have all in one: Quality Service, professionalism, value, flexibility and quick response! Melanie met all the criterias and more! Her suggestions and thoughtfulness were fantastic! I did not request a wedding cake but a birthday cake and she delivered!
    Thank you Melanie for your outstanding service!
    May

    Melanie's Cakes's reply:

    Aw thank you so much, May!! I was thrilled to take on the challenge and I am so happy I could deliver exactly what you wanted!
  • L
    Linzi Married on 30/01/2021
    Rating 1.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    High price, major disappointment

    I ordered a custom cake that would feed 8-10 people and was quoted $140. I received the cake and while it looks very cute, I was extremely disappointed with the size. The cake meant to feed 8-10 people was 5". How do you feed 8-10 adults with a 5" cake? I explained to Melanie I was disappointed, and the response I received was essentially a math lesson telling me how to cut the cake so each person gets a ration of 1.5" of cake. Outside of the math lesson, this cake will NOT feed 8-10 adults.
    This is what $140 gets you at Melanie's Cakes. Please find somewhere else to get a cake if you're looking to feed more than yourself and maybe one other person. The size of her cakes are laughable, and you will not be able to feed your wedding party at all, unless of course you ration them on cake. Got to make sure no one takes more than their rationed 1.5 inches. So disappointing!
  • Melissa
    Melissa R. Married on 24/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Carrot cake!!

    We did a two tier cake, one layer carrot and 2nd layer vanilla. Both were great but the carrot cake is SO good! So happy I listened to the other reviews which mentioned this. Melanie was quick to respond and easy to work with. Would recommend

    Melanie's Cakes's reply:

    Thank you so much Melissa! I know you didn’t have the best of luck with the state we are in, and I appreciate your flexibility and support. I wish you all the best in your life together!
  • Heather
    Heather G. Married on 08/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful & delicious!

    Melanie's cakes did an excellent job of our wedding cake!! She delivered EXACTLY what I had pictured & it tasted absolutely delicious!! Can't wait for our one year anniversary to cut into our top tier!!

    Melanie's Cakes's reply:

    Congratulations Heather! I am so happy I could deliver on your vision!! Your wedding was beautiful overall.
  • Tricia
    Tricia D. Married on 01/09/2019
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious Macarons and Cake

    Melanie was lovely! Everyone was impressed with the cake topper that we had and only wished that we'd ordered more. Melanie is very talented, listened to our vision and executed it very well. Thank you!!

    Melanie's Cakes's reply:

    Thank you Tricia for your kind review! I loved your vision of grey and gold! It was definitely a fun one to work on with the gold leaf.
    Congratulations!
  • N
    Nurisha W. Married on 30/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Love love loved my cake

    My guests and wedding venue were so shocked when they saw we chose carrot cake as our wedding cake and everyone loved it. Carrot cake is really hard to nail perfectly and Melanie did. Melanie was so easy to work with, she worked within my budget to give me exactly what I wanted, and most of all her cakes tasted amazing. I couldn’t believe how many other vendors told me to call them if my budget increased bc they couldn’t help me. Horrible service. Our hardest choice in the whole process was choosing flavours. Thanks Melanie

    Melanie's Cakes's reply:

    Thank you so much Nurisha! I pride myself in trying to work within a couples budget to the best of my abilities while still meeting their dreams. I am so glad I could help you and create you a beautiful and delicious cake! I wish you all the best in your life together!
  • eugie.joel
    Eugenie L. Married on 24/08/2019
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Lovely cake!

    We requested a small two-tier cake and 24 cupcakes for our wedding with a succulent theme. Unfortunately for us, we were so busy on our day we didn't get to see the final cupcakes or taste the cake. But we tasted them prior and had compliments, so we're assuming everything went well. Melanie was lovely and we got to meet her during our tasting. Cake tasted great then, at least! Really wished we had a picture of the cupcakes at least.

    Melanie's Cakes's reply:

    Thank you Eugenie for the review! I am sorry I also didn't get a chance to take a photo of the cupcakes either and it is too bad your photographer didn't either as I would have loved to see them all set up at the late night station. I am glad your guests enjoyed them though!!
  • Krystan
    Krystan B. Married on 24/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Stunning and yummy

    What a beautiful cake Melanie made for our wedding not only stunning with her hand made sugar flowers that absolutely looked real, but even the taste of her cakes are spot on! I would highly recommend Melanie! Thank you Melanie for making our day even more special!

    Melanie's Cakes's reply:

    Thank you Krystan for your recommendation! Everything came together so beautifully in your reception tent. You had a great vision for your special day and I am glad to have been apart of it. Congratulations to you and Jamie!