Summerlea Golf Club

10500 Russell Road L9L1B3 Port Perry (Ontario) Map · Phone number
Write a review
6 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
Number of guests 10 to 200
Availability Check your date
Share
  • Information
  • FAQs
  • Photos 43
  • Reviews 6
  • Real Weddings 1
  • Deals 1
  • Menu
  • Map

About Summerlea Golf Club

Located in Port Perry, Ontario, Summerlea Golf Club is an 18-hole golf course and clubhouse that specializes in hosting breathtaking weddings. The golf course is situated in the lovely Ridges of Durham region surrounded by vast meadows fields, majestic forests, and stunning gardens. Such natural beauty is easily accessed from downtown Toronto, making the venue a convenient choice for those seeking to escape the city’s bustle. Couples can expect a warm welcome and attentive service throughout their experience from expert staff.

Facilities and capacity

At Summerlea Golf Course, prospective newlyweds can exchange vows at a hilltop ceremony site that overlooks the stunning grounds. Outfitted with handmade wooden benches and a 150-year-old arbour created from barn beams, it is a characterful space full of romance. Nestled amongst the forest trees and overlooking the reception tent and rolling farmlands, it is a stunning location in which to say “I do”. The ceremony site has a seated capacity of 200 guests. Following their intimate ceremony, the newlyweds and their guests can make their way to the reception tent area and bar lawn. The venue’s beautiful marquee tent has no interior poles, creating an open and inclusive space. A blank canvas, it can be used by couples to bring their creative ideas to life. Furniture is included with the rental of the venue, with enough room in the tent for up to 200 guests. This setting can also be adapted for smaller gatherings. There is parking available on-site.

Services offered

Summerlea Golf Course’s staff provide service with a smile throughout a couple’s wedding journey. The in-house catering team offers homemade dishes focusing on ingredients sourced from local produce. The planning team sits down with each and every couple to learn about their tastes and vision for the day to come. There is a variety of bar options to suit all budgets and event styles, from a toonie bar to an open bar. All of the venue’s wedding packages come complete with linens, tableware, a built-in dance floor, and mood-setting Edison bulb lighting.

  • Number of guests From 10 to 200
  • Type Banquet hall, park/zoo
  • Style Classic, country, garden, rustic, vintage
  • Event Services Bridal suite, catering / bar, clean up, event planning, event rentals, liability insurance, set up
  • Reception Site Fee - Peak Season C$ 1.00
  • Plated Service (per head) C$ 85.00
  • Menu View menu
  • Availability View calendar
More information

More information about Summerlea Golf Club

  • How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
    2
  • What kind of settings are available?
    Covered outdoor
    Indoor
    Uncovered outdoor
  • Which of the following wedding events does your venue service?
    Ceremony
    Reception
    Bridal shower
    Engagement party
    Rehearsal dinner
  • What catering services do you offer?
    Buffet
    Cocktail reception
    Dessert
    Family style
    Hors d'oeuvres
    Plated
    Server(s)
    Stations
    Tastings
  • What bar services do you provide?
    Bartender(s)
    Cash bar
    Champagne toast
    House beer
    House wine
    House liquor
    Limited bar
    Liquor license
    Open bar
    Premium liquor
    Signature drink
    Specialty beer
    Specialty wine
  • What event items are available?
    Altar/arches
    Centerpieces
    Chair covers
    Dance floor
    Decor
    Lighting
    Chairs
    Tables
    Tent accessories
    Tents
  • What food and beverage items are available?
    Barware
    China
    Flatware
    Glassware
    Linens
  • What transportation and access is available?
    Parking
    Wheelchair access
  • Do you have a site fee for wedding receptions at your venue?
    No
  • What is the starting site fee for wedding receptions during off-peak season?
    C$ 1
  • Do you have a site fee for wedding ceremonies at your venue?
    No
  • What is the starting site fee for wedding ceremonies during peak season?
    C$ 1
  • What is the starting site fee for wedding ceremonies during off-peak season?
    C$ 1
  • Which of the following are included in starting site fee?
    Set up
    Clean up
    Event planning
    Chairs
    Tables
    Linens
    China
    Flatware
    Glassware
    Parking
  • What is the average catering price per person for buffet service?
    C$ 85
  • What is the average catering price per person for stations?
    C$ 85
  • What is the average catering price per person for hors d'oeurves?
    C$ 38
  • Which of the following are included in the cost of wedding catering?
    Cake cutting
    Server(s)
    Dessert
  • What is the starting price per person for bar service?
    C$ 6
  • Which of the following are included in the starting price for bar service?
    Limited bar

Did you like this vendor?

Request pricing
Photos 44 photos
Real Weddings 15 photos

6 Reviews for Summerlea Golf Club


3.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 3.7
  • Professionalism 3.7
  • Flexibility 3.7
  • Value 3.7
  • Response time 3.7

5 User photos

Sort by:
  • Francesca

    Francesca S. · Married on 18/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Weddings at Summerlea Golf Club

    I had the opportunity to work with Summerlea Golf Club for some of my clients weddings. Their grounds and ceremony are are incredibly beautiful and picturesque. Their staff and service is one of a kind. Working with me and my staff is always pleasant and seamless. I highly recommend their venue for weddings and golf. xo

    Sent on 31/03/2020
  • Niki

    Niki · Getting married on 11/12/2021

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    horrible experience

    very poor management. AMY MCQUAID is owner, coordinator, manger and she can't handle the venue and answer all the questions. They are not responsive to the calls and emails. she took a deposit without sending a contract (probably for tax and business claims ) and reused to give the money back before one month early notice cancellation . The tent ha not enough facility for a wedding . lights, decors and temperature not designed for out door wedding. Amy is very rude and irresponsible and refused to give the deposit back!!

    Sent on 07/09/2021

    Summerlea Golf Club's reply:

    Thank you for your review Niki, although I will assume that this is actually Zara. Since, in my entire career you are the only unsatisfied Bride I have experienced.

    I would like to respectfully clarify a few facts within your review:

    1. Since you very unfortunately had to cancel your wedding (you said it was because you were afraid it was going to be to cold, even though you booked an outdoor tented venue in October, and your fiancé has since said that you very sadly actually broke up) this review is not based on any actual service.
    2. I very graciously agreed, and indeed e-transferred to you %50 of your deposit back.
    3. I really did do my best to keep up with your communication level, but was receiving on average 4-5 points of contact from you per week (emails, DM’s, phone calls and texts). Most of which came through on the weekends, which is when I am ensuring each and every wedding that happens here is perfect in every way possible. You are correct though, I am the owner, coordinator and manager, so I am not always perfect on getting back to you until mid week when I slow down.
    4. I am very sorry you felt as though the facility was inadequate in terms of lighting, decor and heating. You were on site for a tour when I showed you the lighting included, we also don’t include any decor since everyone has such different tastes (which again, I did mention prior to booking with us). Like many others, I also wish this pandemic was not happening so that we did not have restrictions on us, like only being allowed to have 50% of our walls up in order comply as an outdoor wedding venue. Which means it would be very difficult for us to “ensure” a warm tent in October like you hoped.
    5. I am truly very sorry you felt I was rude, I don’t generally have a rude bone in my body… until I do my very best to be fair, and despite that, receive threats of negative reviews such as this (and now threats of legal action from your now ex-fiancé, since I indeed returned the deposit to you, but he says it should have went to him).
    6. I would like to go ahead and clarify for those reading why I only agreed to returning 50% of Zaras deposit. There are a lot of costs associated with booking and planning a wedding that have now taken place. Which include things like, my team and I’s time responding to the various forms of communication (even if it may not have been as promptly as she may like), the 2 hours spent during a tour, going over the packages, contract details, menu planning, etc, searching for special tables for you as requested, booking in all of the rentals required for this date, scheduling of staff, etc… all of which very unfortunately now has to be undone as well. Of course, this also means that this is now a date that I cannot rebook under such short notice, and that too is a big loss for a small business like mine.

    Sadly, when you threatened to write a review such as this, I did think to myself, perhaps I should eat these costs and give you your money back, that the cost of a bad review is higher then the costs I have already incurred…But, then I thought… that’s not fair. You are welcome to share your negative experience on here, and I am allowed to share my side of the story too.

    Thankfully, I am able to provide 7 years of very satisfied customers reviews in ratio to this one negative. Most of which are not found here online, but in beautifully hand written cards on my office wall ❤️

    Zara, I am very sorry for the hard time you are going through, and wish you all the best.
  • Asghar

    Asghar D. · Married on 03/09/2021

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    I ask every one to read what did Amy do to ruin my wedding day ! All the positive reviews was written by her friends and family

    Thank you for your reply Amy,
    I am very happy google review, allows customers to have brand awareness and better insight.
    1. First of all, by law it’s illegal to share personal information in public. You didn’t protect the privacy of us and disclosed our personal information. I have kept your reply for our record to report …
    2. Regarding my contacts, do you remember the first day you wrote down your personal phone number on a card and emphasized you are welcome to answer all my question since a bride could have many concerns for a wedding day and now are complaining my contacts!!!
    Let me remind you, I sent you in total 2 messages and you never replied!!! Also, some emails never answered. Customer service means professionalism, patience, and a “people-first” attitude. Based on your rely to ZARA, clearly describing to all google reviewers, summerlea has zero customer service.
    3. I was on site for a tour around 2 pm on a day light and you never showed the lightening. You are such a big liar!! Then you assured us the tent is good temperature and always have event even in November. You completely ensured us about the temperature and didn’t say a word about tent allowance to have 50% of walls up. It’s ok if you don’t assure a warm tent but do you accept responsibility if a guest gets cold and has a hard time ?! let me know what responsibility you accept?! Amy, you have zero responsibility!!
    4. I don’t let you fool reviewers. I wish I could record your voice and publish in the web then let the universe know your rude bone in your body. You talked very aggressively with me and my husband after we asked our money. Also cut the phone when my husband called you.
    5. May I ask to let all your reviewer know which special tables I asked for?! and what did you rent for our wedding?! You are a true liar, and I am sure you won’t run your business since you manner is based on fraud and lie. We spend only one hour in your site, reviewed the menu, paid the deposit and never received a contract and details. Let me clear to the universe you were agreed to cancel one month in advance and we exactly informed you one month in advance based on your word.
    6. In our last call you threatened us your lawyer will call me since I add a negative review. I am still waiting for the call and will continue to let the google reviewer know your business is based on fraud and denial.
    Amy, I am very happy you replied my review and now all google reviewer could judge righteously and wish your business all the best.

    Sent on 14/09/2021
  • J

    Jennifer M. · Getting married on 15/10/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply delightful.....

    Our up and coming Fall wedding has been a complete joy to plan with the staff at Summerlea Golf Course. The excitement builds as Amy's creativity leaves me in awe. Details that I couldn't even dream of have been presented to us that exceed our expectations, all at a reasonable price. Mother Nature may send us a curve ball but we know we are in good hands! Simply delightful... we appreciate you and the care you have put into our special day! xo

    Sent on 14/09/2021

Summerlea Golf Club awards

6

Summerlea Golf Club Real Weddings

Promotions from Summerlea Golf Club

  • Summerlea Golf Club 1
    -10%
    Exclusive
    10% discount for WeddingWire couples
    If you found us on WeddingWire we will give you a 10% discount on our services. Remember to show us your voucher when you come see us.

Location of Summerlea Golf Club

10500 Russell Road Port Perry (Ontario) L9L1B3
Location of (Summerlea Golf Club)

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.

Write a review