Weddings

Reviews for Cornerstone Weddings at the Canmore Nordic Centre

Cornerstone Weddings at the Canmore Nordic Centre

Cornerstone Weddings at the Canmore Nordic Centre

Canmore, Alberta
Rating 3.9 out of 5, 13 reviews
View more information

13 reviews

Rated
3.9
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    Rating 3.8 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 3.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 3.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 13

12 User photos

Order by:
  • Crystacv
    Crysta Getting married on 24/08/2022
    Rating 1.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Don’t book here

    I wouldn’t recommend booking your wedding with Cornerstone. My fiancé and I chose the Nordic Centre, we paid our deposit and were given the payment schedule for the remainder of the balance.
    Fast forward to November when we chose to postpone another year just because of the uncertainty of Covid and the restrictions.
    We weren’t comfortable spending $5000-$7000 on a wedding that was limited to the government restrictions of 10 people. And continue to pay for these deposits during the lockdowns.
    After we figured out the new date, I messaged them to book it and they required another $1000 deposit and refused to accept the money they already took.
    We never received a walk-through or any service for that matter. So $700 is now gone because they refuse to work with couples through this pandemic. It’s extremely disappointing and I’m honestly quite disgusted that businesses are taking peoples hard earned money in times like this.
    I’ve rescheduled my photographer, DJ and hair and makeup, all no problem and were able to work with me and use the deposits we already paid for.
    I recommend couples look elsewhere and don’t support companies like this.

    Cornerstone Weddings at the Canmore Nordic Centre's reply:

    Hi Crysta,
    While the review you have written does not describe the situation accurately or fully, we will not respond with specific dates and details of your contract and booking on a public forum.

    However, given that you stated some inaccurate information, we feel the need to clarify the following: couples who had to POSTPONE their wedding due to covid restrictions had the option to choose another date with Cornerstone. We moved (or will) their money paid to a new date. - Cornerstone Weddings
  • Meghan
    Meghan T. Married on 16/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing find of a venue!!

    Cornerstone was incredibly helpful right from the beginning from when we toured the venue to the day after our wedding when we did our decor pick up and paid the bar bill. I can’t say enough great things about their wedding coordinator, Jessica. She made the entire planning process stress free and helped with so many things leading up to the wedding and the day of. The communication was awesome, and any concerns I had were well taken care of. There was a small mix up with our open bar and they were quick to remedy this when we went to pay the bar bill.
    Not to mention the food and dessert were delicious. All of our guests loved it.
    The mezzanine area was just amazing for our small intimate wedding. It was a very nice space to hang out with all of our guests while they flipped the room.
    This place is a hidden gem in terms of getting married in the mountains. Quiet, amazing views, fantastic staff. Highly recommend!

    Cornerstone Weddings at the Canmore Nordic Centre's reply:

    Hi Meghan,
    We are so pleased to hear about your beautiful wedding experience with Jessica and the rest of our team. Thank you for leaving us such a wonderful review and thank you again for trusting our team with such an important day. Our Canmore Nordic Centre is an absolute gem, and we couldn’t have described this venue better ourselves.
    We wish you both nothing but the very best for your beautiful future together!
    - The Cornerstone Weddings Team
  • Ashley
    Ashley S. Married on 02/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing in everyway way! Recommend 100%

    My dream wedding was always the mountains, and I finally had that. We had our ceremony outdoors at Tree Island and it was beautiful!

    The experience prior was great! Kate replied to my every email with questions and concerns with no hesitation. She set up a food tasting, and plan meeting in July which was nice to do!

    Kate and her team were awesome, and made my bridal party feel so comfortable and make sure they all walked down the isle on their que. She was also nice enough to use her phone for our ceremony songs.

    Then, the reception at The Nordic Centre.
    I absolutely LOVED the way the reception was decorated, it was more then I ever expected. Again, Kate and her team were so nice and helpful through the whole thing, and I didn’t have to stress at all. The food was amazing, the welcome drinks were a perfect touch at the beginning, everyone had so much fun and I couldn’t have asked for a better place to have our wedding.
    I highly recommend Cornerstone wedding!

    Cornerstone Weddings at the Canmore Nordic Centre's reply:

    Hi Ashley,

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave our team such a lovely review.

    It was our absolute pleasure to work with you both towards building your dream wedding day. Kate is delighted by your kind words and she absolutely loved working with you both!

    Congratulations again to you both and we wish you both all the happiness in the world as you start the next chapter of your lives!
  • J
    Jade S. Married on 29/05/2021
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Dumpster fire

    I booked a ceremony only, no set up just rented the outdoor space (covid bride). It cost over $500 to have the outdoor space for 3hr for a ceremony - no changes no cancellation. My friend was setting up and was approached by staff (? From the Nordic Centre) and was informed that there was no wedding booked for that day, but they would allow us to continue with things, took my info down and said that I would be contacted on Monday. Monday came and went without any communication so I figured that the weekend staff spoke to other staff and everything was solved. NOPE! 2 weeks post wedding a constable called me - a complaint was filed against us for not having proper permits for the wedding, despite clearly having proper permits in place. I had to send all my communication with Cornerstone to the officer in order for the situation to be resolved. I have yet to hear anything from Cornerstone regarding this mixup that nearly stopped my wedding, and no apology from them for sending law enforcement after me because they didn’t handle their paperwork properly. Thankfully no one else tried to book the same site or else they would have double booked us. Either way, it lead to tons of extra stress and nearly ruined my wedding. And again - ZERO follow up from them regarding their error.
  • Monique
    Monique S. Married on 14/11/2020
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Would Hire Again In a Heartbeat!

    Amazing even with a pandemic. They had the most customizable options for decor rentals out of all the other venues we looked at. They're view and food was amazing and guests couldn't get enough! Their prices were fair and didn't break the bank. We would recommend to anyone!

    Cornerstone Weddings at the Canmore Nordic Centre's reply:

    Hi Monique & Konway,

    It was a great pleasure to work with you both and putting forth your wedding vision! We are so appreciative that you both stood with us through all the ups and downs of the world right now, and we are so glad you were happy with how everything turned out!

    Wishing you all the best in your next chapter in life together!
    Kind Regards,
    Jessica & Cornerstone Weddings Team
  • Emma
    Emma H. Married on 31/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Hallowedding - October 31, 2020

    My now husband, Darren, and I booked Cornerstone Weddings at the Canmore Nordic Centre last year for our big day this past October 31.
    When we first started looking at and hiring vendors, we had no idea that a few months later we would enter a pandemic.
    There has been a lot of up and down emotions this year when it came to planning our wedding. But one thing we could count on was Harry, from Cornerstone Weddings, frequent updates and reassurance that everything was going to work out. We cannot express enough how grateful we are to have had the opportunity to work with Harry and his team. Everyone was quick to respond to emails or phone calls with any questions or concerns that we had. We were continuously updated on health and safety changes and obstacles that we would need to work around.
    The evening before our wedding we dropped off all decor and did a quick run through with Harry on how our big day was going to play out.
    When our day arrived, we had no idea how everything was going to look, the Cornerstone team set everything up for us. And we cannot express enough how incredibly impressed we were with the look of everything.
    When it came to the food we had multiple comments from guests about how good the food was. Comments ranged from "The food was so good!" to "This is the best food I've ever had at a wedding!" and we could not agree more.
    Cornerstone weddings at the Canmore Nordic Centre will definitely be recommended to friends and family as an amazing place to host an event.
    Thank you so much to the entire team!
    You all did an amazing job.

    Emma & Darren

    Cornerstone Weddings at the Canmore Nordic Centre's reply:

    Hi Emma & Darren,

    It was an absolute pleasure to work with you both, it was such a fun wedding to plan with your Halloween theme and spooky decor.

    Thank you for your kind words, it's great that we got to celebrate with you after such a strange, uncertain year.

    I wish you both a wonderful married life together!

    Regards,

    Harry
  • Kate
    Kate M. Married on 10/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Nordic Centre - Beyond Expectations

    The Nordic Centre was the venue for our recent wedding on October 10th and it was an incredible experience. We cannot say enough wonderful things about Harry, Jessica, the chef and the whole staff who handled our day with professionalism and made it easy and seamless. The room itself is stunning with a view that can’t be beat, the food was amazing and the staff were just great! We felt confident every step of the way that any concerns associated with Covid would be dealt without issue and that our constant changes that resulted from the pandemic would be accommodated. We would not hesitate to recommend the Cornerstone Catering team at the Nordic Centre to anyone looking for a venue. We can guarantee that you will not be disappointed.

    Cornerstone Weddings at the Canmore Nordic Centre's reply:

    Hi Kate,

    Thank you for your kind words, it was so much fun working with you and Harold planning and coordinating your special day. I wish you all the best and hope you have a wonderful married life together.

    Harry
  • Taylor
    Taylor Married on 03/10/2020
    Rating 3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Hire a Wedding Planner

    Don't get me wrong our wedding was still amazing but I wish we would have hired a Professional Wedding Planner. I was always under the impression that the staff and coordinators were wedding planners enough though and I trusted them so I never considered it but come our wedding day so many details were missed. Important details like putting my late father in law's photo at the heaven table. A sign was broken by staff, lots of decor wasn't put out right, there wasn't nearly as much staff on then I thought there would be even with covid so drinks were soooooo behind for our guests and I had multiple of them complain to me that night because of it. What bride wants to hear that? Not saying they are bad people because the main person we dealt with was actually very nice but so many things went wrong, little things maybe to some but when you've been planning your wedding for over two years and are excited to work with a company with such high reviews your expectations are very high and I feel like we were let down. It still stresses me out to this day. I can't think about our reception without feeling upset.

    Cornerstone Weddings at the Canmore Nordic Centre's reply:

    Hi Taylor,
    Thank you for leaving a review, it allows us to know how and why we might not be delivering the customer service that we pride ourselves on. We are sincerely sorry that you feel like we let you down, and based on your comments, we can only agree. We did not meet your expectations and as a team we always thrive to exceed them. Once more, our sincere apologies and know that we will also reach out privately.
  • KatelynMacGregor
    Katelynmacgregor Married on 26/09/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing view/ Incredible Team

    We planned our last minute elopement in and Harry helped us plan for our reception (covid friendly). The team was polite and accommodating. The food was amazing! From apps to desserts our guests raved about the taste and presentation.

    Harry the coordinator was so kind to our group. Everyone was blown away by his professionalism and kindness while handling the covid19 rules and guidelines. Harry and his team made our day so special and we can't thank them enough!

    Cornerstone Weddings at the Canmore Nordic Centre's reply:

    Hi Katelyn,

    Thank you for your kind words! It was an absolute pleasure working with you and Shea on your special day, and I wish you a very happy married life together.

    You have a lovely group of family and friends, I'll be sure to pass on their feedback to our chef and kitchen team :)

    Harry
  • M
    Misty Married on 28/08/2020
    Rating 1.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Frustrating ... Disappointing ... Not Worth It!

    We had booked with Cornerstone prior to the pandemic for an August 2020 wedding. The service and professionalism leading up to the pandemic was 5 star however the experience was night and day once COVID came into the picture. I can appreciate that this was an unpredictable and unprecedented event for everyone however, this vendor struggled in comparison to all of the other vendors I worked with.

    My fiancé and I tried to ask to move our date (were willing to keep paying and didn’t want any money back ... we only wanted to move the date as our other vendors 2021 schedules began to fill) however, this particular vendor (and only this vendor) had very strict policies and were completely inflexible. They were essentially asking couples to wait until 4 weeks before their wedding (while requiring them to still pay) and at that point you could postpone or cancel ... anyone who was planning a wedding during 2020 can probably empathize with the stress that this caused. As we got closer and it was clear the original wedding wasn’t going to happen they did allow us to switch to an elopement package and gave back the difference (we did appreciate this gesture and would like to recognize that as one of the positives).

    The real problems came in connection to the day of the elopement. I will start with the positives ... the day of coordinators were friendly and did the set-up for the event which was nice.
    Key complaints:
    1. Considering that they are a catering company as well as the price we paid it would have been lovely to pick our own appetizers. We were not given a choice and the three that were chosen for us seemed like the cheapest items on the menu and they were honestly gross (I could have gotten tastier options from the frozen section at Safeway) ... as the bride I hadn’t eaten a lot so by the end of the ceremony I was starving only to be given a plate of appetizers that I couldn’t even stomach ... I ended up giving my food to my mom. I don’t know why they made the choice to not give the couple any say in the food but it was extremely disappointing ... and left a poor taste in our mouth.
    2. My largest critique was connected to the handling of food allergies ... my fiancé’s mom is deathly allergic to shellfish and we explained this multiple times and they assured us that they made note of the allergy ... although they had another option for his mom to eat EVERYONE else was given shrimp ... my fiancé and I were livid but had just finished saying our “I do’s” and didn’t want to have a conflict with Cornerstone 5 minutes after getting married. The rest of the afternoon & for our pictures we had to keep his mom additionally distanced to ensure that she did not have an anaphylactic reaction. Extremely disappointing and honestly this action was negligent on their end ... out of all the things on your appetizer menu (since we couldn’t pick our own) you went with SHRIMP ... Why!?
    3. As I was getting out of the car I heard my entrance song playing and panicked ... all of the guests and my fiancé were in the ceremony area and I thought that I had missed my cue ... the error left me frazzled right before my walk down the aisle ... considering they had assured us they were taking care of the music you would have hoped they would be mindful of this.

    Honestly ... I had an amazing day but if I could go back I would have chosen not to include Cornerstone as part of my day. As professionals in the wedding industry I expected more and was left very frustrated and disappointed.

    Cornerstone Weddings at the Canmore Nordic Centre's reply:

    HI Misty,

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your wedding experience with Cornerstone.  We are incredibly sorry that we did not meet your expectations regarding the overall experience with us.  We strive very hard to meet and exceed our couples' wedding dreams. Your comments have been discussed with our entire team and have been taken on board to ensure we can improve our services moving forward.I understand that you wish you had not worked with us and once again, I am sorry that you feel this way.  I do sincerely wish you both a very happy future together.

    Pam Horne
    General Manager