Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for The Lower Deck Tap Room

The Lower Deck Tap Room

The Lower Deck Tap Room

Halifax, Nova Scotia
4.8 out of 5 rating, 20 reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.8 out of 5 rating
4.8 out of 5 rating
20 reviews
96% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

20
  • Bianca
    Bianca L. Sent on 13/03/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We loved this venue!

    I can't be happier than I am about this venue. Everything was perfect. Nice atmosphere and the staff made our day run smoothly. Everybody raved about the food!
  • Trevor
    Trevor G. Sent on 02/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect wedding venue

    We had our reception at Lower Deck after a quick ceremony at Citadel Hill. Laura (and before her, Larissa) were amazing coordinators and made sure everything went smoothly. All of the servers and bartenders were friendly and efficient, too. We would definitely recommend this venue for a wedding. Bonus points for being very queer-friendly :)
  • C
    Cory W. Sent on 22/07/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Cocktail Reception

    The Lower Deck served as the perfect cocktail reception venue for our wedding day. The rustic esthetic was what we were looking for, and this was perfected by our decor vendor, One Day Affair, who added lighting, flowers, and more, giving it that extra cozy feel.

    The food choices available ranged in variety so there was something for everyone. We were able to select two signature cocktails for our guests to enjoy which we felt was a cool personal touch. The bar staff were on the ball all night, serving drinks and food constantly; everyone was taken care of. For the music, we were able to connect our own laptop and control the tunes ourselves, allowing our master of ceremony to add their own personal touches to the playlist, stop/start for games, events, etc.

    Last but certainly not least, the Lower Deck team was incredible. They were easy and accommodating to work with; Larissa and Laura were responsive, informative, and above all else super kind!

    We would highly recommend this venue for a wedding reception, or even just a large celebration.



    The Lower Deck Tap Room's reply:

    Hi Cory!

    Thank you so much for your kind review. It was truly a pleasure being a part of your special day, and you have all of our best wishes moving forward!
    Cheers,
    Laura & Larissa
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • IMary
    Mary M. Sent on 09/07/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Personable, professional and involved.

    Larissa and team and The Lower Deck made sure the wedding went smoothly, and helped me come up with the perfect menu and cocktail hour appies! Everyone commented on the food being hot and gourmet, and Larissa paid a lot of detail to the little things. The music at dinner, the seamless transition from events, and her kind demeanour helped a lot! We loved working with the Lower Deck and it was a wedding to remember. She made planning from afar alot easier. She even supported some last minute changes with the wildfires and we really appreciated her kindness around that. Larissa worked with all our other vendors too.
  • Amber-Lyne
    Amber-Lyne B. Sent on 03/05/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Perfect Maritime Location

    When we were looking for venues, something that felt "Nova Scotian" was top of the list.
    The Lower Deck exceeded the expectations.
    Larissa was accommodating and extremely helpful. She answered every single question thoroughly and genuinely wanted to help.
    We were able to deliver items earlier in the week and get in early to decorate thanks to Larissa.

    The food was delicious. The portions were huge, the price reasonable and Larissa was able to accommodate every single request.

    Her and the staff went above and beyond the entire day and made what could've been a stressful day a relaxing one.

    The location is gorgeous, very little decor needed and Larissa is SO helpful. Our guests could not stop talking about the space, the staff and the food.
    We loved every second.

    The Lower Deck Tap Room's reply:

    Thank you both so much! It was a pleasure working with you and I'm so happy to hear that we were able to make your special day as smooth as possible. We had so much fun spending the evening with you and your guests and we wish you all the best in the future!
  • Juli
    Juli G. Sent on 17/01/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Couldn’t be happier

    We could not be happier with our experience with the Lower Deck Taproom. Larissa was amazing - accommodating and easy to communicate with. The menu was extensive and had many options for all tastes. Staff were incredible and the price can’t be beat anywhere in Halifax. A true hidden gem - definitely consider the Taproom for a smaller intimate wedding!
    60 guests - ceremony - cocktail hour - olated dinner - reception dance.
  • Kelly
    Kelly P. Sent on 07/11/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue with really attentive staff

    I'm one of those types of people where one thing goes wrong and everything spirals, so I was absolutely amazed by the team at The Lower Deck and their ability to jump in before I even realized I was getting upset. The backdrop I brought wasn't going to work for the venue and I just said forget it, pack it back up but Larissa swooped in and not only suggested a way we could hang the curtain from the ceiling but hopped up on the ladder and actually did the hanging.

    I didn't expect the level of service we received, the appetizers were brought around to all of the guests rather than just set on the table, and one of the bar staff ran downstairs to get me a sugar free Monster when she didn't have any at the bar. I had just dyed my hair blue a few days before the wedding and the dye started running down my neck. The staff ran and got us baking soda and dish soap and let us use some lemons to clean it up before it ruined my dress.

    All of the food was delicious and they set up the cake for us beautifully. The tables weren't exactly where I thought they'd be so I moved one group from first table to last table the morning of and they took that in perfect stride with no errors made. The day was perfect and I owe it all to the staff at The Lower Deck Tap Room, I highly recommend them on all metrics!

    The Lower Deck Tap Room's reply:

    Thank you so much for the great review Kelly! I'm so glad we helped make your day perfect. You were a delight to work with and all of us enjoyed getting to be part of your special day with your wonderful friends and family. All the best! - The Tap Room Team
  • H
    Hilary D. Sent on 20/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible experience

    Larissa and The Lower Deck team were absolutely amazing. Both us and our guests were well taken care of all evening. Bar staff were super efficient and very friendly! Venue is a great size and the price is a bargain. We can’t say enough good things about our experience. Would absolutely recommend to anyone looking for a venue for their special day.

    The Lower Deck Tap Room's reply:

    Congratulations and thank you so much! It was a pleasure celebrating your special day with you. We're so happy to hear everyone enjoyed themselves!
  • Courtney
    Courtney Sent on 21/08/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best spot for a Wedding in Downtown Halifax

    We had the absolutely best experience! Larissa was so amazing and always answered our questions and put our minds at ease. The venue was beautiful, and the food was DELICIOUS. Could not recommend this place more. Thank you for a magical night ❤️

    The Lower Deck Tap Room's reply:

    Thank you so much Courtney! It was our pleasure to be a part of your special day. Thank you for attaching some photos, they turned out beautiful! All the best
  • T Webber
    Tonya W. Sent on 20/08/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Lower Deck (Downtown Location)

    Absolutely Amazing. We had everything there - Ceremony, Dinner and reception. We kept hearing how great the food, servers, staff, pretty much everyone associated to the Lower Deck was all night.
    The space from Ceremony to dance area was flawless.
    From the several random, late night emails, each one was met with prompt information which put my mind at ease. Could not go wrong choosing this location for whatever your heart desires.

    The Lower Deck Tap Room's reply:

    Thank you so much for the wonderful review Tonya! It was a pleasure to work with you and all of us had a wonderful time being part of your special day.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message