Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Rouge Restaurant

Rouge Restaurant

Rouge Restaurant

Calgary, Alberta
Rating 4.6 out of 5, 11 reviews
View more information

11 reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.5 out of 5

Awards

  • 11

9 User photos

  • Rebecca
    Rebecca S. Married on 19/05/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great food and venue!

    The crew at Rouge was great. We had to move everything inside due to weather and they dealt really well with my constant check-ins and plans. Our get ready rooms were amazing! They helped setup the extra heaters for the tent and ensured all the rental stuff was setup correctly. The food was amazing and they were able to accommodate all the allergies and food preferences. There was a couple small issues with the menu but they were able to fix one easily and the other we came to an agreement which was great. We highly recommend them for both ceremony and reception!

    Rouge Restaurant's reply:

    Thank you Rebecca & James for trusting us with your big day! We are so happy to be a part of a memory that will last forever.
  • K
    Kl Married on 29/10/2021
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Great team, service, and food!

    We just had our small wedding celebration here for the groom’s family’s friends and was really amazed at the level of service. First off, i originally wanted to book our wedding here but the date was unavailable. Rey the events coordinator was prompt and helpful when i made my inquiry so when we had another wedding event I thought of Rouge.

    Our main server was great! She was patient and attentive with our guests who had limited English and handled everything so professionally and well! I am really impressed by the entire serving team that helped bring all the food so it would be served at the same time and for refills/wine. It was well coordinated and organized and according to the notes our main server made about orders (some guests skipped starter/dessert). We had some hiccups with our wedding elsewhere at another restaurant about dietary restrictions so I just thought certain aspects would be missed because our party was smaller here. They went above and beyond to make a drink for our pregnant guest as they did not have non-alcoholic options on the menu.

    If this means anything, I will say that after hosting our wedding at a different restaurant we really do wish we had it at Rouge. The food and team here at Rouge was so much better and overall great! We wanted to be able to celebrate our anniversary at the restaurant where we held our wedding but after such a disappointment we knew we wouldn’t go back there again. I’m happy to say we will be celebrating at Rouge for our anniversaries to come!
  • R
    Rhea C. Married on 08/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    They are Amazing!

    The people here are very friendly, accomodating! The food is really delicious too and servers are nice and prompt!
    If anyone wants to get marry in their special day once everything settles, this place is definitelyy one of the places people should look up to! They're highly recommended! It's a beautiful place! And we surely had a heart-warm experience for our dinner here. Wish we could do more, and we are hoping to celebrate here again once everything will be back to "normal". Thanks Rouge Restaurant!
  • April
    Married on 06/02/2021
    Rating 3.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    COVID Bride Review

    When my fiance and I booked with Rouge we were beyond excited. I have had many family celebrations there and knew we were in good hands - the food is amazing and the atmosphere was exactly what we were looking for. Unfortunately, due to the COVID pandemic we had to make the decision to cancel our wedding. When I reached out to Olivier, the owner, about this he was understanding. It took a while for them to respond to my request to cancel but eventually I got the confirmation that our reservation has been cancelled. What is extremely unfortunate is now I am left chasing the Rouge team to get my deposit back! They have always been hard to get a hold of but this is getting incredibly frustrating. I would definitely suggest brides that are interested in booking Rouge feel confident in their decision but be prepared to be the nagging bride to get any communication back.
  • Starsandash
    Starsandash Married on 01/09/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Small Covid Wedding

    We had our tiny wedding here during covid, and it was amazing! We had a private room, and an outdoor ceremony. Hand sanitizer was made available by the restaurant and all servers wore masks.
    As for the venue: The gardens are beautiful, We loved the 'arch' tree. The chefs were out in the garden collecting vegetables and herbs for our dinner while we took photos and they were very attentive to to accidentally pop up in the background! The service was wonderful, they were very accommodating with all requests. we had several allergies in the family and they went above and beyond to make delicious alternatives for those who needed them. The groom is allergic to nuts and they made sure everything on the table was safe, down to the home made bread. For a dairy allergy they made sure to provide an excellent alternative to the cheese plate that looked just as good! The shrimp starter was the best thing Ive eaten lately, and all the wine was excellent. The bar is well stocked! We had the place all day, so a small delay in the ceremony was no problem, and the guests lingered till one in the morning with absolutely no pressure to leave. We were able to bring our own music and speaker for our dining room, and the private room for the party to get ready and change was lovely. We were able to safely leave our things overnight and come back the next day to get them, and the servers were able to recommend cab companies to the out of town guests who were unfamiliar with the city. A fantastic venue! We were extremely happy with them.
  • Jacqui
    Jacqui Married on 03/08/2019
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful outdoor venue

    We loved our wedding at Rouge! The venue was gorgeous and the food was so incredible. Rouge is a great venue for those who don't want to coordinate a caterer and still want fabulous food. We had been to so many weddings with mediocre food and so one of our must-haves for our special day was fabulous plates for everyone. Rouge went out of their way to accommodate our guests with food allergies and limitations, and still made everything delicious. The only complaint we have is that leading up to our day it was sometimes difficult to get in touch with the event coordinator in a timely fashion - we know that she had a lot on her plate (pun intended!) and a lot of weddings in the calendar. Otherwise, we were very pleased with our experience. Thank you for helping us make our wedding day wonderful!
  • L
    Leah Married on 20/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Stress free, gorgeous, and delicious!

    We had the absolute best experience with Rouge as our wedding venue! Would recommend 100%!

    Their events coordinator was so incredibly helpful and responsive. We knew right away after touring the venue that we wanted to work with her and the Rouge team. They are incredible pros and you can tell they have done this before... which is a major plus!

    We got married in July with the ceremony outside and dinner on the patio. It...was...gorgeous! Our photos and ceremony were picture perfect and the weather ended up cooperating. They even had a great "rain plan" in place in case it was needed.

    The food was a gourmet experience! They were incredibly accommodating with allergies, dietary restrictions, and picky kids. Lots of food options and, because it's a restaurant, guests didn't have to pick their meal ahead of time. We selected choices we wanted to offer and guests choose when they sit down for dinner.

    I can't say enough nice things about the staff we had on our day either. The service was amazing!

    Price was so reasonable for what we got! They have many options to customize and help you spend no more than you are comfortable with. Really happy with the value for our day!

    If you're looking for an all in one ceremony and reception venue in Calgary, look no further. It's very accessible for out of town guests, but the venue is so private, you feel really secluded.

    Thank you Rouge!
  • M
    Marzieh E. Married on 14/09/2018
    Rating 3.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5

    It’s a beautiful venue for a summer wedding but the service was not as good

    Rouge Restaurant has a beautiful garden for a summer wedding and the food is delicious. However, although we wanted to check the sound system (Rocker plus) during our rehearsal, it wasn't available for us. It was cut so many times during dancing, and most importantly, during my song down the aisle. It was cut multiple times during my walk which was very disappointing.

    Our wedding was in September and it was a cold day. The heating system in the tent was not enough at all! our guests, and ourselves were shivering during whole lunch time, as it took quite some time for all our orders to be ready. They gave us blankets to keep warm, Still it was very cold! I asked one of the servants that it is so cold, can you do anything about it? and he simply said "yes, I feel cold too!" and he left!! I wish they had taken care of the heating system as they assured us about the heating on our rehearsal day which was 2 days before our wedding day.
  • Erin
    Erin H. Married on 01/09/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A perfect venue

    Rouge was the perfect venue for our wedding. We had the ceremony in their gorgeous garden and our photographer was giddy about the number of places to take pictures in the venue itself. Chelsea, the coordinator, was a god send. She took care of everything and made the whole day run so smoothly. She was so professional and truly a joy to work with. The food, wine, atmosphere was incredible. We had quite a few allergies/dietary restrictions and the chef took care of them all and made sure everyone had an amazing meal. The tent fit all 100 of our guests very comfortably and then transformed into a dance floor after dinner. Thank you to the whole team at Rouge for creating such a perfect day for us.
  • K
    Kaede Married on 01/07/2018
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Great venue

    We had the ceremony and the reception at Rouge and it was funtastic!
    Their garden was amazing, and not to mention the food!
    We used upstairs as a getting ready room and it was really nice that we could get everything done at one place.

    Rouge Restaurant's reply:

    Thank you so much, Kaede, for choosing Rouge for your wedding. What a fantastic day! We wish you and Justin all the best, and look forward to seeing you again now that you're part of the Rouge family!