Bloom Field Gardens
3745 Durham Regional Hwy 2 L1B 0R2 Newcastle (Ontario) Map
Write a review Hired? Save

Reviews for Bloom Field Gardens

3.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 3.9
  • Professionalism 3.9
  • Flexibility 3.4
  • Value 3.8
  • Response time 3.8

Awards

16

15 User photos

Bloom Field Gardens 1
Bloom Field Gardens 2
Bloom Field Gardens 3
Bloom Field Gardens 4
Bloom Field Gardens 5
+ 11
Order by:
  • Anthony

    Anthony · Married on 23 of August of 2019

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Not flexible nor a fun vendor

    Where do I begin, venue was not flexible as we lived in Edmonton and had to plan from afar, my wife went to the venue with her mom for a planning session while I was in Edmonton and they made her wait in the car middle of winter! Did not make the process fun at all. Catering was not great, buffet style was not truly buffet; made our guests pick between options, kids plate was 75+ gratuity and taxes, brisket was dry and food was mediocre at best for the cost. Stay away if you can, Venue is beautiful but that’s about it.

    Sent on 11/09/2019
  • A

    Alicia Elliott · Married on 06 of July of 2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Wedding!

    We cannot thank Bloomfield Gardens and their team enough for the amazing wedding they put together for us this past June! From the first time, we saw the place (in the middle of winter) we knew it was the venue for us! Nancy and Katie were so welcoming from the beginning and they made the planning process a breeze. Also a huge thank you to Krista, without you the wedding day wouldn't have run so smoothly and it was great getting to know you through all the planning as well. This venue is really a one-stop-shop. The invitations, all the décor, flowers, cake, DJ are all included in your package, which was amazing. The bridal suite is also great and such a nice place to get ready and relax in. When we had all our planning meetings they really listened to us, because everything turned out beautifully and I wouldn't have changed a thing. The tent looked gorgeous, the flowers were just stunning, (Stacey did a fantastic job putting them together) and the DJ kept the party going all night. Also, Hawley Crescent is an amazing caterer. All our family and friends loved your food, right from the appetizers to the late-night station! I wish I got to eat more of it aha. The venue was a beautiful place for photos, especially for those sunset ones! The team there are so kind, friendly and very creative! We are so happy we had our wedding here and we would highly recommend!

    Sent on 23/10/2019
  • J

    Jennifer Gilmer · Married on 29 of September of 2018

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stress-free Wedding

    We were thrilled with our wedding at Bloom Field Gardens and with the whole team who pulled it off. We were able to focus only on enjoying the day and visiting with our guests, knowing the team was making sure everything was running smoothly. I think our email to them following the big day best summarizes our feelings:

    “Hi Nancy, Katie, Pippa, Jennifer, and team,

    Ken and I just wanted to write to thank you for such an incredible experience and the best wedding we could have imagined last weekend. We were thrilled with every detail, with the support leading up to the event, and all of the awesome service from all staff on the day of. I heard one of your parking attendants even helped change my great uncle’s tire and though it may not have been planned, he was very appreciative as otherwise he would have been pretty stuck.

    Knowing that your team had such a great handle on the details and coordination really allowed us to be stress-free leading up to the big day. We were even able to move houses a couple of weeks before the wedding, which we never could have done without trusting such an awesome team. We hope your final wedding weekend is a great one and that you all get some well-deserved r&r now that the wedding season is over!

    Thanks again, Jen & Ken”

    Sent on 22/10/2018
  • R

    Rebecca Cannon · Married on 22 of September of 2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing from beginning to end!

    Planning a wedding can be one of the most exciting yet stressful experiences. Bloom Field Gardens took away the stressful part and just kept it exciting. From the beautiful venue, the personable staff and helpful planners, our day couldn’t have gone any more perfect. September 22nd 2018 will always bring memories of our wedding day, but it will also bring back memories of Bloom Field and how amazing everything was. We are truly going to miss the back and forth communication with the team, the laughs during our meetings, and the venue itself. All of our friends and family have commented on how breathtaking the entire day was. We can’t get over how seamless and easy our day was because of the teams endless hard work. Our day was absolutely PERFECT and we would recommend Bloom Field Gardens a hundred times over to anyone!

    Sent on 27/11/2018
  • J

    Joanne · Married on 24 of August of 2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joanne and Monica's Wedding

    We will start by saying that our day met our expectations from beginning to end. Nancy and her team embraced our vision. Their attention to detail made it a truly magical day. The flowers and décor were spectacular. Having a choice of her caterers should meet your needs since they are completely different styles of presentation. We chose Table and Loft and we were not disappointed. They were true professionals and the food was amazing! Our guests are still talking about it.
    We liked the fact that there are several packages available to meet our budget. Please note: if you are a micro manager or a DIY bride, this is definitely not the place for you as Nancy and her team will take your idea and run with it.

    Monica and Jo

    Sent on 30/10/2018
  • Claire

    Claire Sturgeon · Married on 17 of August of 2018

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Unprofessional, just want your $$$$

    I hired Bloomfields to prepare my wedding florals, including bulk flowers. I originally made my contract with Len, all of the details were worked out or so I thought. After making the agreement and providing them with $500 deposit several months later I received a phone call that they needed me to come in to do a consult. I was a little confused but I did remember I was supposed to come in and meet with them again to finalize everything. When I arrived I found out Len was no longer an employee at Bloomfields. Jennifer (the floral designer) and Nancy (owner) clearly did not want to honour the contract that was originally made from the moment I arrived. I went over my vision with them again, provided them with photos and even my grandmother's horse shoe that was to go into bouquet. I was told that I would receive an email with the new pricing. This is where things went down hill. First, I receive a phone call asking why I had not replied to her email. Well, because they could not get my email correct despite having already sent multiple emails back and forth with Bloomfields.

    When I finally did get the email it was riddled with mistakes, including my wedding date. I was told it was the pick up date, but even if that was so..this date was incorrect as well as pick up was a day earlier and deleivery was a day later on my actual wedding day for the bouquets etc. My requests for particular flowers were also entirely ignored. I was told Anenomes we're too expensive and they have to order a minimum amount. I offered to buy the extras to use on my head table but still this was not included in my quote. The pricing for my order or bulk flowers had more than doubled from the original agreement that a deposit had been provided for.

    There were many other mistakes that I corrected and send off my reply. I did not hear back from Bloomfields for 7 days, upon not hearing back for this many days I decided that it was probably best for me to ask for deposit back and find someone else to provide the services I required. Once I sent this email I heard back the same day from Nancy who nothing short of rude and unprofessional. She even went as to deny that they didnt reply to me, despite the email chain showing the time line clearly. They took no ownership for their errors, not even so much as an apology.

    Clearly , I was pretty annoyed and this so I followed up letting her know that it was not ok that they refused to take ownership for their mistakes. Reminded them that this was a huge imposition on me with only 50 days to go to my wedding to have to arrange my florals all over again. That we're marking up my bulk order of flowers by over 150% despite and agreement to pay a small fee to order the flowers at bulk peicing with Len (around $600 worth of bulk flowers). I confirmed this by speaking with a major supplier on Pacific Circle in Mississauga (one of bloomfields suppliers).

    Again, Nancy & Bloomfields refused to take any ownership and took it one step further to forward my email and all of my personal information attached to it to this supplier. I have no idea why this was necessary however I don't take kindly to someone not having any value for my private information and releasing it to an uninvolved 3rd party.

    Moral of the story, they are very unprofessional, don't honour their agreements. Between this and the train coming past in the middle of the ceremony I am SO happy I didn't book my wedding with them and it was only my flowers they screwed up.

    I get the impression that they were not making enough money off us, so they just didn't care. As far as I am concerned if you are a local business and local people go out of their way to support you....you should value that business no matter how big or small. I was a regular at their classes, and a regular customer of their floral shop, it's really sad that they didn't value us as customers. Will never do business with them again.

    Sent on 13/09/2018
  • Nickey

    Nickey · Married on 14 of July of 2018

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    LOVED My BGF Bride Experience!

    I am really surprised at some of the reviews on here as my experience was COMPLETELY OPPOSITE of any of the negative that I'm reading. The Bloom Field team was some serious A-players in the business! We booked with them at the beginning of December 2017 and were married July 2018. I had attended two weddings at Bloom Field and had a great experience as a guest so I knew this would be the perfect place to host our crew of 150. BFG offers an 'all inclusive' package. This setup will not be for everyone, but if you are like me who wants allll of the bells and whistles, and yet want nothing to do with sourcing or organizing it - BFG is DEFINITELY the place for you. They have sooo many options to choose from to accommodate a variety of visions, and really, really pour a lot into making your wedding suit your exact style and needs. There is some flexibility for you to add your own 'touch' to the day... for example adding personal signage, bringing in photos from the internet to show what you like or don't, and certainly choosing the style you are aiming for. However, don't expect to know EXACTLY the look of your wedding setup in advance. In my experience, this was a major FUN component to our day. My husband and I absolutely loved that we didn't have to sit there and worry about what our place setting should look like or where a certain table is going to go. They handle all of that jazz and so much more. They gave me a truly beautifullll day... our guests were RAVING about the aesthetics of both the decor, and the grounds overall. Staff kept things running smoothly and the vendors were used through them were top notch. I would not have done one thing differently and if I could relive this experience and day over and over, I certainly WOULD!

    Bloom Field Gardens 6
    Bloom Field Gardens 7
    Bloom Field Gardens 8
    Bloom Field Gardens 9
    Bloom Field Gardens 10
    Bloom Field Gardens 11
    Bloom Field Gardens 12
    Bloom Field Gardens 13
    Bloom Field Gardens 14
    Sent on 09/12/2018
  • Hayley

    Hayley Harmony Married on 13/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Planning my wedding with Bloom Field Gardens has been an absolute delight. Their wedding package looks after all of the most important elements of the wedding (such as the cake/cupcakes, invitations, DJ, bridal suite, flowers and most importantly, the decor!). I can't believe this place is in Durham Region, the service and quality of decor, design and customer experience is top notch, and the price is very reasonable for what you are getting in return! Definitely a well-kept secret in the Greater Toronto Area :)

    Nancy, Katie & Len are the dream team. I've seen them in action and they are absolute professionals. They are true professionals and really make an effort to get to know you and your partner and make your day special and spectacular. After getting many venue recommendations, I am so happy with my choice.

    I can't wait to get married here next year. I'll be sure to post a follow-up review after the big day!

    Sent on 31/10/2017
  • Becky

    Becky Wilson · Married on 14 of October of 2017

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Our wedding was the last of the season this October and although the venue looked beautiful it was not at all what I had dreamed of or asked for when I met with them the prior year and signed the contract. They never responded to any of my emails and continuously tried to blame me for their lack of response or attention. I felt that they didn’t care at all about me or my wedding until about a week before and it was completely stressful. It’s such a shame because the grounds are gorgeous but they were really quite rude when I kept asking about timelines and what I should be doing. They told me I didn’t have to go with their vendors but I had to get mine approved by them first and when I tried to do just that they told me that I couldn’t use anyone other than their vendors. Their were no options other than for photographers. The only saving grace was the caterer, Pilar, the food is what everyone still talks about. The best food they ever had at a wedding and even when my numbers changed last minute she pulled it together and none of my guests knew anything. She was so professional and it was in stark contrast to the behaviour of the bloom fields staff. I had made a found wood sign they promised to place in front of the head table as it had Camp Holt written in wood and our theme was camping. They placed it on top of a tree backdrop face down so you couldn’t even see what it said or that it was a sign at all. If you’re the type of bride who wants a wedding in a box completely done in bloom fields choice of decor, style and theme and you want no to offer no input and have no communication with the people organizing the biggest day of your life then this is the venue for you. The decor manager was so rude to my friends mom who is unfortunately getting married there next year that he made her cry. I feel so bad for anyone who is tricked into signing a contract with this venue because it will completely stress you out and ruin the whole planning process. I would never recommend them to anyone and if I could go back I would have done this completely different and it wasn’t anything we had planned or dreamed of. They also charged us for the use of their pizza oven which was broken on the day of my wedding and completely unusable. They didn’t refund me the money and the nickel and dime you for everything.

    Sent on 28/10/2017
  • Jenna

    Jenna Wilks · Married on 03 of September of 2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had the absolute best experience with Bloom Field Gardens with regard to planning and executing the perfect wedding. Our wedding was September 3, 2017 and was absolutely breath taking. I was the first bride to be married in the new apple orchard ceremony space and left the majority of the décor and styling to Nancy and Len. I could not have been more pleased with how perfect our day was! I am so happy that Nancy and Len were able to take my vision of our wedding and make it even better than I ever could have imagined. I am also very impressed with the flexibility that was given to us with regard to the order of events for the day. It rained all morning and into the early afternoon so I spoke with Nancy and we came up with a back up plan to bump back the ceremony time slightly to make it possible for me to walk down the aisle if it was raining at the time of our ceremony. The tent was also set up in such a way that if the rain absolutely was not going to stop, I would still have an aisle to walk down. Everything about our wedding was absolutely perfect and I wouldn't change a thing! The DJ from the preferred vendor's list (Shawn from Step by Step DJ) also did such an amazing job keeping the party going all night long.

    Bloom Field Gardens 15
    Bloom Field Gardens 16
    Bloom Field Gardens 17
    Bloom Field Gardens 18
    Bloom Field Gardens 19
    Bloom Field Gardens 20
    Sent on 27/09/2017
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.