Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Edmonton, Alberta
4.6 out of 5 rating, 11 reviews
View more information

11 reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.1 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.6 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 11

16 User photos

  • Mary
    Mary Married on 28/05/2022
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Fairmont -May 28 2022

    I got the empire ballroom and it was worth every penny ! The fairmont is absolutely grand ! The hotel service was outstanding ! Initially, I was skeptical when my emails weren’t getting answers, but I’m as bugging them every second day 6 months before the wedding. In the last three month before the wedding , Pat and Angelica had made sure that everything was perfect! All the guests mentioned the food was amazing ! I also enjoyed Rico he was assisting my guests during dinner and he was just incredible. The venue itself -is amazing . You get the ballroom plus the patio which the guest enjoyed ! They got to walk around on the beautiful day and this entire venue was just beautiful. The get ready rooms and the overnight stay was also astounding. Everyone who works at the fairmont was very friendly. We also got to make use of the piano in the hall as well! Overall I couldn’t be more happy getting married here. If you’re debating this venue … just book it !
  • Chariti
    Chariti W. Married on 26/06/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Great Stay-Cation Hotel!

    The Fairmont was fantastic for our wedding weekend! We booked the Lois Hole Suite for 3 nights. I used the suite as a get-ready space with my bridesmaids & all the moms on the morning of our wedding, and then my husband and I spent 2 more nights there together. We are from Edmonton and had our wedding in Devon/Spruce Grove, but it was a lovely little escape for our first few days as newlyweds. The staff were always friendly and smiling every time we saw them. We plan to spend our anniversaries at the Hotel Mac in future years!

    Matt & Chariti Wiles
    Married June 26, 2021

    Fairmont Hotel Macdonald's reply:

    Congratulations Matt & Chariti! Thank you so much for your kind words. We were delighted to be part of your special day and we wish you a lifetime of happiness. We can't wait to have you back for your 1st anniversary.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • April
    April M. Married on 21/09/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Ceremony venue

    Amazing!! Everything was beautiful and perfect. Highly recommend
  • R
    Rinkie L. Married on 03/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic Wedding Venue

    Absolutely amazing in every way. Kasia and Maria are incredible to work with, they were at the top of their game from the beginning to the end. The entire staff were friendly, accommodating and professional. Our guests comments were: "best food ever at a wedding". I highly recommend Fairmont Hotel Macdonald for weddings. It's beautiful and very clean. We had a wonderful wedding reception that we will forever cherish in our hearts.
  • Gwen
    Gwen Married on 25/05/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue and top-notch customer service

    I had my lunch reception at the Wedgewood Room last spring and it was an amazing experience from planning to execution. I worked with Kasia and although she was new to her role, she went above and beyond to make sure everything went smoothly. Kasia always addressed my concerns promptly. The day of, every one of the catering staff provided amazing, tentative service. All the drinks and food were delicious from what the guests told me (the juices especially). The complimentary hotel stay was lovely as well, it was heartwarming to find sweet treats and a bottle of champagne, plus a handwritten card in the room! All in all, I definitely recommend the Edmonton brides out there to choose Fairmont Hotel Macdonald as THE wedding venue.
  • Sabrina
    Sabrina S. Married on 31/08/2018
    2.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.0 out of 5 rating

    Married at hotel Mac

    My husband and I got married at the Fairmont MacDonald, we expected a Fairmont experience going in with the price we were paying. The wedding coordinator was horrible at getting back to emails promptly considering we can so much to coordinate and plan. We talked about the floor plan many times and when my bridal party showed up for the reception, they had to re organize everything because the hotel had made so many mistakes, our photo booth was not set up, even though I had purchased all the equipment, I had no where to put it, so it all went to waste. And random hotel guests that we did not know were allowed to wander through our reception and take pictures of the event!
    It was a beautiful space and the food was amazing, but after all the extra stress I had because of their difficulties, it was not worth it. The bartender was over serving drinks because it was an open bar and they just wanted to charge us as much as they could. Completely shocking.

    Our guests who had allergies were not provided with a dish that they could eat after we were assured that they would. The chef had to come prepare them other food last minute.
  • Allison
    Allison Married on 23/06/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We Wouldn't Have Had It Any Other Way!

    We had the best experience planning and having our wedding at the Fairmont Hotel Macdonald. Julie, the wedding and catering coordinator, and the staff went above and beyond our expectations to make sure we had everything planned the day of. The building itself, the service, and the food were phenomenal. All our guests couldn't stop raving about the food. When we came to our room the night before the wedding they had put a fancy cheese, cracker, and honey (which they make on site or the bees do) platter out for us and after our ceremony there was champagne and strawberries. We were so busy with everything else we forgot our wedding cake at the hotel but we called up the front desk, they sliced it up, and it waiting for us when we stopped by.

    We had a smaller wedding (~35 to 40 people) and we could afford to have the wedding we dreamed of. My advice if you are interested in having a wedding here is to outline a budget before you go look.
  • A
    Alexsis L. Married on 13/01/2018
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful place

    It was such a wonderful place to get married. Their food was soooo great and I could probably give them more than A+. Their service was great as well, such a nice people to be with except while I was booking the space and stuff it wasnt easy to get a hold of them.
  • S
    Samantha W. Married on 30/12/2017
    4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Winter Wedding at Hotel MacDonald

    We had both our ceremony and reception at Hotel MacDonald this past winter. The venue was so beautiful and we took some breathtaking pictures! All of our guests really enjoyed the food. One difficulty we had was staying in the hotel the day before and the day of the wedding. We had to check in/out to different rooms and had some items missing during this process, which delayed part of our wedding.