The Whitewood Barn

21 reviews | Leduc (Alberta)
See Photos, Pricing and Details

Reviews for The Whitewood Barn

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.6
  • Response time 4.8

Awards

21

23 User photos

Order by:
  • Madison

    Madison H. · Getting married on 05/08/2022

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dream Wedding Venue

    I cannot give enough stars for this amazing venue!!
    This place is absolutely gorgeous, the care and love that goes into this place shows.
    From the first moment we stepped onto the lot Chris has welcomed us with open arms and has been phenomenal to work with. We ended up changing our wedding date for 2022 and she's been answering every question, she definitely makes it feel less stressful having it at this venue. The professionalism is incredible, and they genuinely care about people. We understand times are hard with the pandemic, but Chris always makes things positive and the planning is very easy on us to try moving forward.

    Highly recommend this beautiful place!

    Sent on 01/06/2021

    The Whitewood Barn's reply:

    Thank you Madison,
    Your Wedding Day will be wonderful.
    Have an amazing summer...see you soon :-)
    Chris
  • Ashlee

    Ashlee R. · Getting married on 03/07/2022

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lovely visit with Chris!

    Went to see this venue as an option for our wedding! It was a picture perfect fairytale venue location. Every little detail really sets this place apart from other venders- especially the photo booth!
    Unfortunately we are not able to afford such a large and lavish wedding and are deciding to do a small elopement in the mountains!
    (However I was truly heartbroken we could not have our wedding here)

    Sent on 13/05/2021
  • Julie

    Julie R. · Getting married on 02/07/2022

    1.6
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    All about Money and nothing about the happy day

    All about Money and nothing about the happy day- nice person to your face but not workable with. ALL ABOUT $$$$$$$$$$$$$

    Sent on 08/10/2020

    The Whitewood Barn's reply:

    Good Morning Julie... We are quite shocked and saddened that you went out of your way for this post/review, it truly is disheartening and so unfortunate, especially with the way the world is at this time - we had a wonderful visit out here with you. We do understand that you have a very specific budget, and you understood when you came to that wonderful visit, that our pricing was structured as it was. Unfortunately, we can not deviate contract to contract. We were very respectful to you, and understood that you had made the decision to go elsewhere, and ended on a positive note. We wish you nothing but happiness and health, and the very BEST wedding based on your budget.

    In health,

    The Whitewood Barn
  • L

    Lisa C. · Married on 22/05/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Memories for a life time

    What a beautiful day. We will treasure the experience we had at the Whitewood barn forever. From friday night till the end of Saturday we had a personal professional loving touch to our day. I can't say it enough that this was the best experience.. Chris helped us from the receiving of flowers to food to helping at the rehearsal. An incredible beautiful memory.

    Sent on 24/05/2021

    The Whitewood Barn's reply:

    Lisa,
    Thank you for your review. It was truly a perfect day.
    Looking forward to August.
    All the best,
    Jeff and Chris
  • Stacey

    Stacey V. · Married on 31/12/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A beautiful romantic dream

    The Whitewood Barn wedding we had was a dream. They allowed us to create a magical experience for our family. When the world was upside down and restrictions closed in only allowing us 10 people in attendance Chris and The Whitewood Barn made us feel so special and loved. It was truly one of the most romantic and hopeful experiences of our lives.

    Sent on 09/02/2021

    The Whitewood Barn's reply:

    Stacey,
    Your wedding ceremony was truly one of a kind. You have been so patient, and such a joy to work beside. Thank you so very kindly for your kind words. Cheers to an amazing future with your hubby! Looking forward to your reception in December!
  • Debra

    Debra · Married on 28/11/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Venue!

    Chris and Jeff were so helpful and made sure the day of our wedding was everything it could be given the amount of restrictions we had to plan around. It’s an intimate enough setting that it worked with a 9 person guest list. They worked to make sure the design was exactly what we wanted. Last minute details that were not working with us they figured it out and made it perfect. This is a great one stop shop kind of place where you can take photos, use a bridal suite and when restrictions are lifted can accommodate bar and catering services in house.

    Sent on 01/12/2020
  • Luke

    Luke R. · Married on 03/10/2020

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Not a place I would recommend

    I feel beside myself on what to post about this wedding venue. In my experience Chris, her husband, and daughter have made what is suppose to be the happiest time in our lives, absolutely terrible for my fiancé and I, I know there will be some people who disagree and that’s fine, but I feel as though this has to be said, before someone else has to deal with what we have had to deal with.  I also know of other brides dealing with the same disrespect that we are receiving from Chris and her daughter. 

    All we are trying to do is move on. We have done everything we can. 


    We had our wedding booked in June but they had reached out to us, after we had to email them multiple times with no response, ( I HAVE THE EMAILS) stating that they are only allowed to have 5-10 people celebrate our big day with us, this just isn’t an option as they had also said, they are cancelling all April, may and beginning of June weddings. This venue is not cheap as most of you know! So to have a 13000 dollar wedding for 5 people is crazy! We had booked a Saturday wedding, and when we asked Chris the availability for next year, she didn’t even give us dates, she sent us directly to the website. With how much you spend for this venue, you’d think they would try and get you the date you booked for! When we looked up dates, pretty much the only availability were Sunday’s, or week days. The only Saturday that was available was in October. That’s super risky when having an outdoor wedding in Alberta, as we had planned everything for a summer wedding. Dresses , suites .... all for nice weather. We then asked Chris if we could be refunded, but to keep the 2000 dollar deposit and just give us back our first payment! So that we can make other arrangements that suit me and my fiancée. Immediately it turned to her lawyering up, so our options became even more limited. They had given us the option of a voucher! So I took to social media to find a bride that would like to take over the 6250 that we had paid! And we did!!! So we thought this nightmare was over. ..... nope. Chris has told us in multiple emails and phone calls to just find someone. She did not state to us that we we’re not allowed to sell it to someone who has already put a deposit down, and that she had to approve the people who were taking it over. So she shut us and the other bride down. So now we have followed all her rules, did everything we could to accommodate what they had been saying to us, and it still wasn’t good enough for her. From there she decided she didn’t want to speak to us anymore. So the 12 emails I had sent her went un answered, when all I wanted to know was how to proceed. Chris then got a lawyer to contact us and said she will no longer be talking to us. On top of all that she had emailed us three separate dates that we have to send our final deposit in. One stated 30 days out due to the virus instead of her original 60. But we aren’t getting married this year anymore, the next said 60 days prior if we wanted to book next year. Then we get an email from her lawyer saying we have to pay our final payment  by this April 20th, this isn’t just a couple hundred dollars we are talking 7000 plus. Chris has been doing everything she can to wreck our wedding. When I tried to call her, her daughter picked up the phone and began to scream at me, calling me a stupid bitch and blasting me hard, when all I wanted to tel her is that we found someone to take over our voucher. Chris and her family have been a total nightmare in this already shitty situation. I feel and think that If you book through them, or have booked through them, you should do everything in your power to not get on their bad side or you will be dealing with an extremely aggressive family. I’m glad a lot of you brides haven’t experienced this! But there are quite a few who have! I think if I were in the market to book a wedding venue I would be very cautious in spending any money at this one! I think all Buyers should be ware! You will be in for one wild ride! 0 out of 5 stars is what I would like to give them, but it isn’t an option. 

    Chris has also stated to our parents that she doesn’t even want us out there... really makes you feel good when trying to plan a wedding. 


    We are now stuck with a complete legal battle. 


    This is how I feel, and I know This has happened before, I am not the first bride to go through this with her and her family. I feel as though you will fully regret your decision on going to the white wood barn for your wedding! Take it from someone who is going through this, it is not worth it. 

    Sent on 03/04/2020
  • Robyn

    Robyn S. · Married on 03/10/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Wedding Venue!!

    Absolutely gorgeous wedding venue!! Chris and Jeff were amazing to work with, and were so flexible and accommodating throughout all of our Covid related changes. Chris was so helpful with everything and always got back to me very quickly. We loved the stunning outdoor ceremony site and picturesque barn for the reception. The outdoor games for our guests to play were a huge hit. Our guests couldn’t stop talking about how amazing the venue was! Loved having our wedding at the Whitewood!

    Sent on 13/12/2020

    The Whitewood Barn's reply:

    Robyn, your wedding was exceptionally gorgeous. You are such a kind woman inside and out, and we could sure see and feel all the love on your wonderful special day!
  • Meagan

    Meagan S. · Married on 04/09/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing venue!

    My husband and I got married out at Whitewood this past Friday- and it was better than I could have ever imagined! Chris and Jeff were amazing to work with from the very beginning, and took care of everything the day of to ensure we had the best, stress free day! The venue itself is outstanding- from the Bridal room, ceremony location, newly added pergola to the barn, it’s absolutely perfect. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 07/09/2020
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.