Casa Loma
1 Austin Terrace M5R 1X8 Toronto (Ontario) Map · Phone number
Write a review Hired? Save

Reviews for Casa Loma

4.2 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.2
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.0
  • Value 4.2
  • Response time 4.2

Awards

24
Order by:
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 15/06/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Summer Wedding Casa Loma

    We had our ceremony and reception at Casa Loma this June and it was amazing. We were married in the conservatory with our reception in the library. Our cocktail hour was planned for the terrace although it was misting a bit outside so we used the grand hall and people could go in and out as they pleased. Our venue coordinator Alana was amazing. She was with us from our first site visit and we can’t say enough about her. She always got back to us quickly with our countless questions and gave us great guidance and suggestions related to the venue when it came to our tasting and making decisions.

    Leading up to the day and especially the day of she worked magic. The day ran so smoothly, it’s impressive how quickly they can turn their spaces around between ceremony dinner and dancing.

    Because the venue is a historical site by day there is some limited flexibility in terms of how early you can start your ceremony and how late your function can run (1am). This is just the nature of the venue though and something you have to be ok with when booking.

    The venue itself is beautiful. We didn’t want to have to bring in many decorations and did not need to. The conservatory is a spectacular ceremony space we’ll never forget and we loved the library for our dinner as well. The food was delicious and the staff and service were 5 star all around. We wouldn’t change a thing about our day and will never forget it.

    Sent on 08/09/2019
  • Alexis

    Alexis · Married on 27/10/2018

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Engagement Shoot gone wrong

    We booked Casa Loma for our engagement shoot - the grounds and backdrop were perfect for what we wanted to achieve and the venue was available (the other location did not line up). I contacted the venue regarding the shoot and got details regarding a photo permit. This is where I went wrong. I understand the need for a permit, but in our case it was totally not required. We were doing simple engagement photos with one photographer. Neither myself, nor my fiance were in formal attire.

    We arrived onsite and checked in and then were told to basically go around but don't go upstairs. No one accompanied us around or gave us directions. Tours were going through our areas and at several times we had to wait for a tour to get out of the way so we could shoot. At times I saw people taken photos with professional cameras who were clearly tourists and it is doubtful that they had a permit. When we arrived, we saw a bride and groom along with professional lighting, etc. onsite, for that I understand a permit, however, we simply had a camera with a flash.

    To pay over $600 for a permit to have no guidance and not even have parking complimentary is terrible. It would have been better for us to simply have paid admission and then simply taken photos.

    I was unhappy to pay over $600 for basically access into the castle. I understand that there were tours and some people were mindful, while others just stepped in our way. Had someone been with us, they could have geared them away for a brief moment while the photo was taken. No one was walking into the front area where the bride and groom were being shot. Tourists with heavy duty cameras were also walking around there shooting posed photos.

    I do believe that the permit system needs to be reviewed as at no point were we provided with a map, or really any direction other than do not go upstairs. We probably could have continued shooting for 4 hours and no one would have known. I knew about the parking, however, once I saw what is "included" with the permit, I couldn't believe that it wasn't. At hotels, if you eat there, they comp the parking.

    We requested a partial refund and were denied.

    If this is the experience I received in regards to a photo permit, I can't imagine how the service would have been if we held our wedding there.

    Sent on 05/11/2018
  • C

    Clarisse · Married on 18/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Recommended

    The service from the start to the actual wedding day is excellent and above and beyond. Glynis our rep and coordinator and Sera the lady who was there on our wedding day to supervise are very accommodating. The place is really beautiful.

    Sent on 26/08/2018
  • H

    Helena Chow · Married on 11/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect location for our wedding!

    We couldn't be happier with our wedding experience at Casa Loma. Alana, Victoria and the entire team were absolutely wonderful and made our special day memorable, enjoyable, and most importantly stress-free. Alana and the team were fantastic leading up to the day of the wedding and that great level of service continued throughout our wedding day, and beyond it.
    The venue speaks for itself, a beautiful location, and provides the perfect backdrop for wedding photos. All of our guests continually commented on how beautiful the venue was, and the table settings and decorations by the team complemented the space very well.
    The food was fantastic, and received countless comments from our guests as well. The quality was high and the presentation on every plate was beautiful. The pre-wedding tasting was a great experience as well and allowed us to design a perfect menu for our guests (with the help of the sous-chef and Alana). Again, the people involved were incredible and really helped make this a relaxing and easy process.
    There are many things about the people/team, the venue, and the food that we would highlight to anyone interested in Casa Loma as a wedding venue, but that list would be too long to put in this review. The most important thing was that the day went exactly how we had planned, and envisioned it. Again, a big thanks goes out to everyone for their hard work to help plan and execute our dream. Highly recommend as Casa Loma delivers on all aspects that you look for in a perfect wedding.

    Sent on 22/01/2019
  • A

    Amy Wood · Married on 11/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fairytale Wedding Venue

    Victoria, Kelly, and the entire team and staff at Casa Loma and Liberty Group went above and beyond to ensure our wedding day was perfect.
    We had a bit of a hiccup at the start when we had booked our Wedding in October for the beautiful fall colours, but didn’t realize that Casa Loma would be having an annual month-long Halloween event starting the year we booked and the following year when our Wedding was to take place. We reached out to Casa Loma and Kelly Bolt was nothing but accommodating to show us the Castle and how the event would affect us and to give us the best options for our day. We were so grateful for her caring attitude – She immediately put us at ease and truly showed that they cared to make sure our most important day was perfect and that we made the right venue choice.
    Closer to our Wedding Day, in came Victoria – She is a god send! She is a very talented, organized Event Coordinator who knows what she’s doing and you can tell that she also really cares. She is very knowledgeable and quick to respond to any questions. Victoria and Sous Chef Brian joined us at our menu tasting and we were blown away that we showed up at the Blueblood Steakhouse to a table prepared to look just like our Wedding Day, bread basket and all! They even had a few specialty cocktails available for us to try. Brian was incredible, not only did he provide very knowledgeable answers about any dietary restrictions for our guests but offered incredible ideas on the fly to make our dinner that much more special and “us”. The food at Casa Loma is the best you’ll ever have. Just absolutely incredible. All of our guests commented and are still commenting on how much they loved the food and the service – Soup served table side! The meals cooked to perfection and a perfect server to table ratio to ensure not one guest feels left behind. They have a wonderful server named Johnny who served at both our tasting and Wedding Dinner who is so thoughtful, kind and the best server you’ll ever meet. Ask for his specialty tea!
    Victoria was so attentive leading up to our Wedding and the day of and made us feel like we were her only Bride & Groom. We hired our own Event Coordinator for the day, but on the day of Victoria was right there as well to make sure everything ran smoothly and helped with setting up the reception. She was very hands on and made sure we were happy throughout the day and night. There were also multiple supervisors on during the reception in the evening and they were so on top of everything! Bridesmaid with sore feet?, in comes one of the Supervisors to save the day with flip flops! Casa Loma thinks of everything!
    You can’t go wrong with Casa Loma as your venue – It is a dream come true. The Bridal Suites are gorgeous, dinner in the library makes you feel like you’re in Beauty & the Beast (the Brides dream come true) and the conservatory is nothing but beautiful dancing under stained glass. I would highly recommend anyone to book Casa Loma for their day and please don’t forget to ask for Victoria, Brian and Johnny 😊

    Sent on 30/08/2018
  • K

    Kelly-Anne Lahey · Married on 14/10/2017

    1.4
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Our experience with Casa Loma was absolutely abysmal. We selected the venue for the luxurious feel, apparent high level of service, and historical elements. We had a strange feeling after the first meeting when we were accidentally double booked and our planning document was lost. In the following year, we endured three management changes with unique promises to "make our experience better", lost documents, random additional fees previously not mentioned, the "Halloween Haunted Walk" that occurred during our wedding (nobody mentioned this to us before signing the contract), calls and emails that went unanswered for weeks at end, loud music during speeches, disappearing servers, and a very confrontational and belittling sales manager who treated us like cattle vs. clients spending upwards of 50k. I would also like to comment on the positives of the day to provide holistic feedback. Brian, the Banquet Manager, was exceptional. He was attuned to our needs and was always available. The Head Chef was lovely and the food was delicious. The banquet manager & food aside, if we could do it again, we would 100% take our business elsewhere. Leading up to a wedding can be stressful - the ideal venue should alleviate stress by providing sufficient information in a timely fashion. This venue created the majority of our stress as we approached our big day. Highly discourage folks from selecting Casa Loma.

    Sent on 17/12/2017
  • Nhuy

    Nhuy Dien · Married on 20/05/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great place for ceremony and reception. Got very very lucky with 15 months waiting time for a Saturday. Everything from food, venue and service was excellent. Staff was friendly and happy however some bar staff could be a bit friendlier. Many guests complimented how good the food was, service was great and how beautiful the venue was. They had a great time. It is pricer to book compared to other venues but you get what you pay for. Definitely worth it in my opinion. Very highly recommended. Thank you Bruce for helping make our day special.

    Sent on 25/05/2017
  • M

    Maha Sivin · Married on 13/05/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It is an extremely beautiful place to have your wedding. We went with simple decor and it was just perfect. The room where the ceremony is held brings in natural lighting and the pictures came out beautifully. Sera was our supervisor during our wedding day and she was wonderful. She was so helpful, flexible and attentive to our needs. She ushered everyone to their right spots at the right times and ensured the guests visiting the castle did not interfere with the ceremony and the pictures/video.

    Sent on 29/09/2017
  • C

    Chris Dewey · Married on 10/09/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our ceremony in the Conservatory and the reception in the Glass Pavilion. It was so beautiful. The food was delicious, and the service was great. We also used a day-of coordinator through the venue, which I would highly recommend. It was very helpful having someone coordinate the ceremony in particular. There was a beautiful bridal suite where we could get ready and take photos. Our wedding was during the day, so there were tourists there, but they did a great job of blocking off our space and it didn't interfere with our experience. Our guests really loved the space and overall we had a wonderful experience. I would recommend Casa Loma

    Sent on 11/09/2016
  • N

    Nav Bali · Married on 23/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My now husband is from California and when he came down to visit me I took him to Casa Loma as apart of site seeing Toronto. He was in awe! He immediately turned to me and said we were going to get married here. I just laughed it off as we weren't even engaged at that point. I swear he proposed shortly thereafter so he could get married here. Ha! The staff were incredible and Cecil the head chef was amazing! He did a 3 course Indian course that was to die for! Our day of Coordinator, Nilusha, was so helpful and made our day seamless. Everyone said that this was the best wedding they've been to! We are definitely coming back for our 10th wedding anniversary! :) - Nav Bali

    Sent on 28/04/2016
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.