Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Casa Loma

Casa Loma View more information

33 reviews

Rated
3.9
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 3.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.1 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 3.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 3.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 33

12 User photos

  • Brandi
    Brandi J. Getting married on 22/07/2023
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Never get a response

    4 months ago I called here three times, my fiancé called once. We also sent 3 emails with NO response. Really disappointed because this was the place for my dream wedding.
  • Eleni
    Eleni P. Married on 01/07/2022
    Rating 1.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Not accommodating at all for photo permit

    I’m giving Casa Loma 1 star because they are not accommodating in the slightest for brides who aren’t getting married on the grounds. Ever since I was little when my dad used to take us to casa loma I always said to myself That one day I’ll be taking my wedding photos on the beautiful grounds there, i would pay anything. I just got engaged and messaged them right away to get our wedding date photo permit booked. Not knowing they would be booked 3 years in advance I went back and forth with one of the coordinators (who was only in the office every Wednesday) so I had to wait a week every time for a response. Back and forth with this lady for over a month getting my hopes up, told me there was a specific time period I was allowed to take photos on the grounds. It didn’t work for my timeline the day of because my ceremony starts at 2 and I wanted the photo permit from 3-5 or even 4-5pm. I was willing to pay $1000 for 2 hours or 1 hour just to have those special photos I’ve always wanted when I got married.

    After numerous emails back and forth and waiting a week in between for a response. She told me she would ask her event manager or someone superior to give me that one hour time slot just to get a reply the week after that they weren’t going to do anything for me.

    Over a month of constant emails back and forth just to not get anything out of it, I even offered to pay more and nothing. Their photo permits are crazy expensive and they only have a specific time slot of like a few hours tops for people who aren’t getting married there 10-11 & 1-2 I believe. It’s ridiculous the one place I wanted wouldn’t even give me 1 hour.

    I got engaged July 2020 and my wedding is July 2022.
  • Luvleen
    Luvleen Married on 17/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Venue & Very fair venue!

    This has been possibly the most accommodating and professional venue I have worked with throughout this pandemic. Even though it rained the morning of my wedding they were very flexible and accommodating throughout the entire process and everyone loved the glass pavilion! Highly recommended.
  • Jane
    Jane Married on 27/06/2021
    Rating 1.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Please read this before considering

    We had our wedding ceremony at The Gardens of Casa Loma on a Sunday, July 2021. We were in contact with Kathy Lee, the Directing Manager – Sales & Events (Kathy.lee@casaloma.ca). We signed a booking contract with them in February 2021. Our contract included 2 hours rental from 12:30 pm- 2:30 pm, including access to the “Conservatory, Front of the Castle, Terrace and Gardens for a fee of $3300.00 (plus applicable taxes). This package included a Wedding Ceremony and a Photo Shoot.”

    Initially, we planned for our wedding ceremony to take place in the conservatory. However, 1 month prior to our wedding day, Kathy emailed us saying that the Conservatory looked different. It had turned into a restaurant. They removed the fountain and instead they placed an art piece - a skeleton sculpture. We were shocked. Why did they not tell us before that this was going to happen?? We did not want to continue hosting our wedding in the conservatory. We had to change our decor since we decided to move outside into the gardens. During this process, the communication with Casa Loma was VERY poor. You could ask anyone in the community and they will tell you that they are slow and you have to wait a few days for their email replies. They also did not tell us that there will be construction at the front of the castle until 1 month before our wedding.

    Since we moved outdoors, Kathy mentioned that they had clear glass tents in case of rain. We initially thought this was an add on option (as a weather dependent back-up), but instead, this was already set up even though we did not request it. We asked them to kindly take it down for our wedding day, since the weather forecast predicted sunny weather. However, they told us that we have to pay 800 dollars for 1 tent to come down... Why do we have to pay money to take their own tent down?

    In terms of scheduling, they were not flexible at all. Kathy told us there were three time slots for ceremonies: 10am-12pm, 12:30-2:30pm, and one in the evening. We booked it for 12:30-2:30 pm. Kathy told us in the email that our vendors can START setting up at 11 am and then start the CEREMONY at 12:30pm. 1 week prior to our wedding, our coordinator told us that Kathy booked another ceremony in the morning of our wedding day and that she might have double booked us. My husband and I WENT DOWN TO CASA LOMA (we live in London ON) to confirm with Kathy that our vendors can still come set up at 11am. And our guests can still arrive at 12pm. Kathy told us in person that it's still possible and that she will make sure everything will be on time.... HOW??

    On the day of our wedding, our guests and parents got there at 1145 am and saw the previous guests still coming out from the previous ceremony. The previous wedding had not finished. Our guests were asked to come at 12pm. THEY MADE OUR GUESTS WAIT IN THE PARKING LOT FOR OVER 30 MIN ON A HOT DAY. Didn't even offer anything to them. If Kathy could've told us when we were talking to her in person that maybe our ceremony will be delayed, then we would've told us the guests to come later. Our décor only started setting up at 12:30 pm (our original ceremony start time). We started our ceremony at 1:00pm. Guests were finally seated at 1245pm. Our guests couldn't even sign the welcome book until after the ceremony. They were in a rush because they kept telling our guests to leave right after the pictures. We also lost 30 mins of photography time with our guests because we started 30 min late - because Kathy messed up our time. Kathy was NOT seen on our wedding day. No in person apologies. She was hiding from us. They didn't even give us an extra 30 min. They told us to leave at 2:30pm. I would NEVER recommend anyone to work with Casa Loma for their wedding. If it wasn't for our amazing photographer and our kind-hearted wedding coordinator I would've cried on our wedding day. Kathy emailed us afterwards saying that she will waive our guests parking fee (~$200)..... you've got to be kidding me! She took our 30 mins away which is a LOT more expensive than the parking fee.
  • Joel
    Joel W. Married on 29/01/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The perfect fairytale

    Thank you to Glynis and everyone else at Casa Loma for giving us the perfect setting for our wedding!
    We had our ceremony in the conservatory at Casa Loma and we couldn't be happier with how the day turned out. The location is stunning on its own, we only added 2 floral arrangements at the front of the aisle, and it didn't need anything more.
    We also booked our date before covid, and Casa Loma was so accommodating and easy to work with for choosing a new date. There was never a mention of extra fees or increased cost at all, they simply changed our date, and that was it.
    We really appreciate everything that went into making sure we had the perfect wedding day, thank you so much!
  • B
    Brittany Married on 30/05/2020
    Rating 1.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Refuses to refund $30k deposit after 2 years

    Casa Loma is beautiful but the company running it has held $30k+ of ours for over 2 years with no services rendered. The pandemic was unforeseeable, but their refusal to refund money is unprofessional and unacceptable. We have now pursued legal action.

    Casa Loma is a stunning venue and we were very excited to get married there in May 2020. We paid 80% of our deposit for our 150+ guest wedding before COVID hit. They were still shut down by government order all of 2020, so they refused a refund again and offered us another date in 2021. There were no summer Saturdays, which we originally paid for in 2019 when we booked. After a long negotiation (they still have $30k of our money), they gave us August 28, 2021. By early spring we knew it was unlikely to be feasible to host more than 30 people - we planned for 150 guests - we asked - yet again - for a refund. They have refused, offering no comparable dates or a refund.

    We've tried to negotiate but they want thousands of dollars for no services rendered, and have not offered any comparable dates. We've now hired a law firm to help us pursue a refund. It's been quite a mess. Worst of all, Casa Loma was never proactive about reaching out when new government restrictions made it impossible for us to host our event. We had to contact their team over and over and over again to get any answers. It's been a nightmare.

    Casa Loma and venues like it have received government funds to help their business through the pandemic, but brides get no sort of benefit, so I do not understand why we should pay money for services never rendered. A deposit, fine, but thousands of dollars to a caterer with $0 worth of food, it's bad business.

    They are quick to take your money but not to give you any updates or refunds. I would tell brides to RUN! especially in uncertain COVID times. If you already have a contract, make sure there is an iron-clad cancellation clause due to any other pandemic disruptions.
  • Emmafleury222
    Emmafleury222 Married on 31/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect Venue, amazing team

    We knew from our first interaction with Alana, at Casa Loma, that this would be the venue of our dreams. Yes, the venue is stunning, but it was Alana who truly went above and beyond to make our wedding dreams come true. Calm, cool and collected throughout the initial planning stages, through to the end of the evening, Alana remained in control of every element and navigated any hiccups with ease. Very early on, we came to her and asked her for a very tailored meal. She was not phased in the slightest-- she set us up with the unparalleled Chef Richard and we worked as a team to develop a meal that our guests are still talking about. The day of, went seamlessly-- from the amazing valets who helped bring in our stuff, to the wait staff, to Alana steering the ship. It was exactly what we'd hoped for. And the meal.. my goodness, the meal. Chef and team outdid themselves. People could not believe the creativity and the execution. To deliver what we'd asked for hot and ready to 150 guests was no small feat, and people couldn't stop remarking on how delicious it was. The waitstaff always ensured glasses were full, the bar was stocked and plates were being cleared in a respectful and quiet way as not to disturb speeches. Thank you again to this stellar team and to Alana and Chef for leading the way for a magnificent day.
  • Laura
    Laura Married on 13/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dream Come True Fairytale Wedding

    It was our dream to get married in a castle. Casa Loma turned out to be the perfect venue for our ceremony and wedding photos! It is a magnificent castle on a hill overlooking Toronto. Our ceremony was held in the stunning Conservatory with ornate glass doors, marble floors and walls, blooming flowerbeds along both lengths of the room, a beautiful water fountain at the front, gorgeous stained glass windows and a breathtaking stained glass dome on the ceiling allowing for an abundance of natural light. Needless to say, little added decor is required. The castle has a uniquely authentic feel, as it was originally built as a private home. Its architectural grandeur speaks for itself, providing for amazing photography and video both inside and out. Abundant time was allowed for treasured photos in the spectacular Conservatory, the newly renovated bridal suite, and the lovely outdoor grounds with the castle as backdrop.

    A great big thank you to Glynis, our onsite Events Coordinator, who met with us and answered all our questions. Very professional, knowledgeable and reliable. Responded promptly to emails and provided timely followup.

    This beautiful landmark is a historical site open to visitors during the day, so one has to be okay with this. Having said this, the many castle visitors peering into the Conservatory taking photos and video and trying to catch a glimpse of our ceremony made us feel like royalty. Our guests were wowed by the amazing experience. Our onsite day of coordinator, Sera, was a true fairy godmother. She was incredibly attentive and hands on during both ceremony and photography. She made sure everything proceeded smoothly and on time, organizing and ushering in the bridal party and wedding guests, and ensuring that there was minimal interference from castle visitors for outdoor photography and video. Even though we had an allotted time slot, she was very open to suggesting many great photography locations around the castle and never made us feel rushed. On the contrary, her dedication to our happiness was inspiring and magical!

    Thank you for making our dream come true! We would highly recommend this majestic venue to anyone looking for a truly unique and memorable wedding ceremony.
  • D
    Danielle Married on 15/06/2019
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Summer Wedding Casa Loma

    We had our ceremony and reception at Casa Loma this June and it was amazing. We were married in the conservatory with our reception in the library. Our cocktail hour was planned for the terrace although it was misting a bit outside so we used the grand hall and people could go in and out as they pleased. Our venue coordinator Alana was amazing. She was with us from our first site visit and we can’t say enough about her. She always got back to us quickly with our countless questions and gave us great guidance and suggestions related to the venue when it came to our tasting and making decisions.

    Leading up to the day and especially the day of she worked magic. The day ran so smoothly, it’s impressive how quickly they can turn their spaces around between ceremony dinner and dancing.

    Because the venue is a historical site by day there is some limited flexibility in terms of how early you can start your ceremony and how late your function can run (1am). This is just the nature of the venue though and something you have to be ok with when booking.

    The venue itself is beautiful. We didn’t want to have to bring in many decorations and did not need to. The conservatory is a spectacular ceremony space we’ll never forget and we loved the library for our dinner as well. The food was delicious and the staff and service were 5 star all around. We wouldn’t change a thing about our day and will never forget it.