Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Melissa Andre Events

Melissa Andre Events

Melissa Andre Events

Toronto, Ontario
4.9 out of 5 rating, 49 reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2015 Winner
4.9 out of 5 rating
49 reviews
97% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • M
    Melinie S. Sent on 14/01/2019
    1.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Terrible Experience - Stay Away!

    I bought the full wedding planner package for my wedding and to say I was disappointed at the lack of professionalism is an understatement. Melissa barely participated (or showed up) to any of the meetings and had her interns lie about her “car breaking down”, whilst posting about lunches she was having. She continually put other vendors and people looking for her professional advice down which was completely off-putting during a meeting that was supposed to be celebrating a beautiful event. One of the biggest issues I had was that she lied about vendor pricing and I ended up paying so much more than what the vendors actually charged which is ridiculous considering how much the full package is. While I understand there are kick-backs, this should be transparent in the contract. In addition, her staff never visited the wedding venue beforehand, nor did they engage with the venue staff resulting in a significant delay in the reception schedule. She makes her staff/interns (who are lovely) do all of the work, however they are inexperienced and if you are paying for a package of her services, you expect her to deliver accordingly. I found she was more concerned about the celebrity weddings she had done as opposed to planning a beautiful wedding for couples who realistically, contribute to her business. I would highly recommend staying away from her wedding planning services as there are a number of wonderful wedding planners who will take the time to do a beautiful and stunning job for your special day.
  • C
    Chris A. Sent on 19/02/2018
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Stay away! Ruined my day!

    STAY AWAY from this vendor! Flowers ordered and NOT delivered!!! I tried reaching out via email multiple times with no response. I have tried calling all phone #s no one ever answers or responds it has been a week NO RESPONSE!
  • M
    Maxine W. Sent on 22/09/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I didn't know much about what I wanted for my wedding day before I was engaged, but I did know I wanted to use Melissa Andre Events to plan it. Then after we got engaged my now husband and I met with Melissa and were totally sold and excited to be working with her and her team. We knew we wanted someone to help us with the actual planning of our wedding and help carrying the load of all the details, but more than that, we wanted someone to help us design the day. Someone to help bring our vision for the day to the next level.
    Next level it was. Melissa and I were lucky because we also shared a lot of similar interests and vision for the day . She listened to what we liked and didn't and went from there. It was a collaborative effort in many ways. Melissa has so many unique ideas and so many awesome contacts with her vendors that I highly recommend not micro managing her. There were lots of little details and design elements that we didn't even know or ask about and because of that we were able to be SO surprised the day of. It made it all so much more exciting for us. You can leave those things in the hands of Melissa and her team and trust that it will be organized and beautiful and ad so much to the day.
    I can't even tell you how much was taken off our plates by Melissa and her team. They are organized & professional & honest. And while those are all very important qualities in a wedding planner I would say that Melissa Andre and her team are the very best at design and unique ideas and execution. If you want a day that is unlike any other weddings you have attended, this is the company for you. Our day was everything we wanted and more and that is in large part due to Melissa. It was literally a fairytale, the magic of the day combined with the design and incredibly unique details. People are still telling us how beautiful & original the day was. I wish we could get married all over again, and if we could, the first call I would make would be to her...again.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • S
    Saad S. Sent on 07/09/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Melissa and her team are an absolute dream come true! Planning the wedding was a family affair for us, so Sophia and Melissa were especially good at bringing together all of the noise we made. What separates Melissa and her team from other vendors is that MAE isn't wedding planning, it's wedding design. Melissa takes an artistic approach to her weddings which is beyond the logistics-oriented one her competitors emphasize (logistics are an assumed part of wedding planning, what else can you do for us!) We held our event at the Art Gallery of Ontario and needed arrangements for a prayer room, Halal food and outstanding entertainment. Melissa's team went above and beyond to make sure all of our needs were met and that the venue, menu and entertainment were the best our guests had ever seen. We have never attended a wedding like the one Melissa had planned for us and don't think anyone else will be able to either -- it felt like being inside an Oscars AP! Melissa is a visionary wedding planner who will add intellectual and creative depth to any event she touches. Quite literally the most fabulous planner in Toronto!
  • J
    Jen Sent on 04/09/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We highly recommend the full wedding planning services from the MAE team! Specifically, we worked with Sophia who lead and managed the planning and execution of our dream wedding.

    Truthfully, without the help of Sophia, I am confident our wedding would not have been the success it was!

    She was there every step of the way, providing expertise and guidance when we needed, and an overall artistic eye to ensure the aesthetics of the whole event was coordinated and aligned with our vision for the day.

    I think the greatest strengths of the MAE team is firstly their overall creativeness and ability to provide options for you to execute your vision. Secondly, their expertise and relationships in this industry will help connect you to any vendor/supplier/service you dream of. And lastly, their true gift is their logistics and execution skills!! Even if you are someone who enjoys planning a wedding, often times the actual execution is overlooked. Sophia made our day feel seamless, not only for us, but for our guests, our bridal party, our parents. Everyone was able to enjoy themselves, without having to think where/if flowers were delivered on time or if the favours were placed out etc.

    I truly enjoyed working with Sophia and her assistant Thameena. The weeks leading up to the wedding involved numerous emails back and forth and no matter the requests/thoughts that came from us, Sophia & Thameena were always there as a sounding board with a quick response, positive energy, and a solution! I am so grateful for the work they put in and look back wishing we could do it all over again - exactly the same way!

    The only caution I extend is the withdrawal you will feel post-wedding when there isn't someone tending to your every need. I guess that's what your spouse is for...but I'm sure Sophia can attest, mine is not quite as responsive.... :)

    Thank you Sophia! Thank you Thameena! Thank you MAE! xx
  • M
    Michelle V. Sent on 20/06/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Melissa and team created the wedding of our dreams, it was more then we could ever have imagined. Melissa's creative flair and attention to detail were some of many talents she and her team have to offer.
    Melissa has a large group of vendors that are so flexible and talented. She takes pride in her relationships with vendors and clients and truly makes you feel at ease.
    I can confidently say, my wedding would not have been what it was without her and I value the relationship we now have.
    In a heart beat we would do it all again!
  • [Anonymous] Sent on 18/06/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We couldn't have asked for our wedding to be any more perfect than it was. We knew we wanted something outside the box and different from the typical wedding; however, what was executed was beyond anything we had hoped for. Our day was truly perfect and every angle (from car rentals to canapes) were all covered and organized by the team at Melissa Andre Events. It was a dream come true and pure magic!
  • [Anonymous] Sent on 31/12/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My wedding would not have been the amazing day and night that it was without the help of Melissa and her team. I don't know how I would have managed anything from what to write on the invites (both my husband's parents and my parents are no longer together) to helping me wrangle my family members on the day for photos! I always felt that I could count on them whether it was just a quick question over e-mail or a 3 hour meeting at their office (some of my favourite times planning!!). They may have some high-profile clients but I never felt that they pushed me and my fiance aside just because we had a modest budget. They were more than willing to work with my budget and work their magic to make everything stunning! We can't thank them enough!!
  • P
    Priscilla G. Sent on 16/11/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We worked with Melissa and her team to plan and design our wedding this summer! It truly was the best wedding and I couldn't have imagined a prettier one! They presented all of these gorgeous options and were wonderful about creating multiple floor plans and putting together so many beautiful ideas so we were really comfortable and thrilled with the end result! Our wedding was truly unique and we loved the design details and styling they incorporated into the day. I work in the fashion industry and certainly had an aesthetic for how I wanted the wedding to look and feel but they were really able to show me options I didn't even know existed and bring in elements that made everything truly unique and memorable. Melissa and her team were amazing and I will always be thankful to them! They even designed a 30 foot bar and gorgeous lounge in the space that my now-husband totally fell in love with! They really listened to us and surprised us in a good way. Our wedding was even featured in the Style Me Pretty Magazine http://www.stylemepretty.com/2013/11/14/toronto-wedding-at-the-burroughs-building-from-mango-studios/ which was so flattering! They only choose a handful of weddings to feature so we were more than thrilled!
    Priscilla & George Gracon
  • R
    Robyn H. Sent on 15/11/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    In the months leading up to my wedding in September, I was juggling grad school, full-time work and wedding planning. There was no way I could have survived that period and experienced the best day of my life without Melissa Andre and her team - specifically Danielle Barich and Sophia Lal.
    In our initial consultations, Melissa understood what I was looking for completely. She took the playfulness of my initial ideas (a baking theme) and with Danielle/Sophia, elevated and took it to another level. She also understood that I was on a budget, and continually suggested ideas that would result in cost savings.
    Especially in the weeks leading up to the wedding, I was literally sending the team 10+ e-mails a day overanalyzing every little detail. Yet, they were completely patient, responsive, realistic and encouraging. They were also always apologetic if I didn't hear from them for a day or two. They helped me to always keep focus and worry less about the little things, which they ultimately took care of. On the day of, I don't even know how everything came together so smoothly. All I know is that my bridal party/family members were able to relax, and just be my support team. The timing of the agenda played out perfectly, and the transformation of our venue was simply magical.
    We also encountered a problem with one vendor (which was not one of Melissa's recommendations), and after the fact they even helped us to chase down that vendor to rectify the situation. They were there from beginning to end to even the days after.
    So, on two fronts, Melissa and her team transforms your wedding into a dream come true from a design and feasibility perspective, but they also quietly work in the background to take care of all the little nuances that a bride really shouldn't have to worry about on the wedding day. You only get married once and that 'perfect' wedding would just not be the same without MAE.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message