Studio Lumen
1835 20th Ave NW T2M1H4 Calgary (Alberta) Map · Phone number
Write a review Hired? Save

Reviews for Studio Lumen

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Awards

28

24 User photos

Studio Lumen 1
Studio Lumen 2
Studio Lumen 3
Studio Lumen 4
Studio Lumen 5
+ 20
Order by:
  • MidnightAmythest

    Amy Larsen · Married on 30 of June of 2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Photographers!

    We had the privilege to work with the amazing Jean-Marc and Gillian for our wedding and we had an absolute blast. We always had prompt replies to emails and questions, and it was easy to see from the start (our first meeting) that they both love photography and wished to help make our wedding photography exactly what we wanted it to be. They were so much fun to be around that there was no awkwardness during the photo taking and their personalities were so bright and energetic. They also handled the kids and family very well, so that the many many family photos that we had to do were done in a flash. They were also very open to all our crazy photo ideas and gave just as many ideas in return. When all was said and done, we received our photos super quickly and there were so many! They gave us many options of key shots so that we could pick exactly which position or expression we liked best. We had such a great experience with them and are so happy with their work, we couldn't recommend them more!

    Studio Lumen 6
    Studio Lumen 7
    Studio Lumen 8
    Studio Lumen 9
    Studio Lumen 10
    Studio Lumen 11
    Studio Lumen 12
    Studio Lumen 13
    Studio Lumen 14
    Studio Lumen 15
    Studio Lumen 16
    Studio Lumen 17
    Sent on 11/08/2019

    Studio Lumen's reply:

    Thank you Amy and Evan for these amazing comments, it means so much to us to hear how your experience was and for you to share it. We both had such a great time with you! Thank you again for trusting us to photograph possibly the most important day of your lives!
  • H

    Holly M · Married on 08 of October of 2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful to work with, beautiful photos!

    Gillian and Jean-Marc were a pleasure to work with and made our wedding photography experience so smooth and fun! We purchased their small wedding 4-hour package with a principal and assistant photographer. As we lived out of town, Gillian and Jean-March were happy to meet me with me on Skype to answer any questions and talk about the vision for the day. They were really friendly, personal, professional and attentive and I was bowled over by the customer service. It's so important to have responsive vendors when planning a wedding! Moreover, their pricing was very good value and they had a number of package options depending on length of coverage, number of photographers etc.

    I would really recommend paying for the additional photographer, as you get so many more photos from a different perspective. Very much worth the money.

    Gillian and Jean-Marc kept in touch throughout the planning and answered any questions promptly. They were even lovely enough to ask a makeup artist for some advice for me, as I was doing my own wedding makeup and was worried about photo flash (not an issue, it turns out).

    On the day, Gillian and her assistant photographer arrived well on time and were great fun to work with. They blended in and managed to capture everything as it was, which is exactly what we had asked for. They picked out a good spot for us to take some portraits with a mountain view, and showed a lot of concern for keeping me warm on the freezing cold day! They were good humoured and provided good direction to help us get good shots. They also kept everything on time and made sure we got to actually take part in enjoying our wedding day!

    We received an online low-res gallery around 7 weeks after the wedding, followed by a USB stick with all the high-res copies (around 1200 photos) the week after.

    The photos are beautiful and our friends and family loved them. The photos of our speeches/speech reactions in particular are priceless.

    All in all, Studio Lumen made the photography one of the most stress-free and happy aspects of our wedding experience!

    Studio Lumen 18
    Studio Lumen 19
    Studio Lumen 20
    Studio Lumen 21
    Studio Lumen 22
    Studio Lumen 23
    Sent on 17/12/2018
  • Iola

    Max & Iola · Married on 23 of November of 2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't thank Gillian and Jean Marc enough for their attentive work on our wedding photos. From the moment we met them we felt instantly connected. We were all on the same page right away. They bring their enthusiasm and expertise to the table and it was so easy to work with them. What they do is truly art and we made the best decision in working with them. Our photos were sent to us in a timely fashion and they are all pure magic. We can't wait to work with them again.

    Thank you guys! We are so happy!

    Studio Lumen 24
    Studio Lumen 25
    Studio Lumen 26
    Studio Lumen 27
    Studio Lumen 28
    Studio Lumen 29
    Sent on 09/01/2018
  • Katherine

    Katherine · Married on 03 of September of 2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gillian & Jean-Marc were an absolute pleasure to work with. Minutes into our consultation we were ready to hire them as our photographers. They are both extremely personable, friendly, and professional. Both Gillian & Jean-Marc were extremely responsive to emails and inquiries, making the planning run extremely smoothly. I highly recommend scheduling an engagement shoot as it gives you an opportunity to get a feel for their style, and in turn get some amazing photos. Gillian & Jean-Marc are both extremely talented photographers and will make you feel very comfortable in front of the camera. Leading up to the wedding we did a site visit of our wedding venue so that they would know where to get some of the best shots. On the day of our wedding they were beyond amazing. Every moment was captured perfectly and the photos turned out amazing. We booked them for the full 8 hours (beginning at 2:00 for some getting ready photos, ceremony beginning at 3:00). This was the perfect amount of time as they were able to capture some amazing photos from the dance in addition to all of the Ceremony, Portrait, and Reception photos. Our guests were even raving about how awesome our photographers were, and that they could not wait to see all of the pictures. All of our pictures turned out amazing - and each time I look at them I get to relive each tiny moment that happened on our big day. Highly recommend!

    Check out some of the client slideshows on their website to get an idea of their work:
    http://www.studiolumen.ca/

    Sent on 25/11/2016
  • K

    Khrystyna & Oleksa · Married on 06 of August of 2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jean-Marc took our engagement photos and our wedding photos. He was amazing to work with! He is very professional, and made us feel very comfortable in front of the camera. He took lots of beautiful candid shots that captured the emotion from our wedding day. He also helped to position us so that we caught the best light, and that our pictures were amazing. He is very creative with the angles of that he uses so that the pictures are truly one of a kind and very beautiful. He is very responsive to emails and questions and very helpful in finding the best place to take pictures for your vision. He even met us for coffee before our engagement shoot so that we could go over our vision for the shoot and what we wanted to capture. The pictures turned out amazing, and we are always getting compliments on them. We would recommend him to everyone!

    Sent on 06/12/2016
  • [Anonymous] Married on 29/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the initial contact, we were delighted working with Marc and Gillian at Studio Lumen. They took the time to understand what our vision was for our wedding photography needs and didn't try to sell us on unnecessary or unwanted add-ons. They were responsive, timely, and did a sensational job capturing the best moments of our special day.

    Sent on 22/12/2016
  • A

    Agnes D · Married on 26 of February of 2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Studio Lumen offered us world-class photography and service at our overseas wedding. Coming highly recommended, they not only supported making our vision come alive in the planning up to the wedding (which they managed with upmost professionalism and ease given we were overseas at the time), but they also made everyone feel at ease during a busy wedding with multiple photography locations. As expected, based on their extensive portfolio, their talent took our breath away --- we were ecstatic with our photos and the results of their hard work and tremendous skill. If you are a bride looking for a photographer that truly understands the unique demands of your special day and is looking for someone that can effortlessly tie in with your personal wedding planning, overseas travel or unique photography or videography ideas, this studio is truly a 'one stop shop' that will capture your day in the magic that it was. I will recommend this studio to everyone in my network, as I have not only seen their results but also experienced an amazing day which they made that much more relaxing for my husband and my entire family. Thank you Studio Lumen for the amazing memories you've captured for us! We hope to have you photograph again in another one of our life milestones in the future!

    Sent on 20/12/2016
  • D

    David G · Married on 26 of February of 2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you to Gillian for taking our engagement photo shoot to multiple locations, including the surf! As an Aussie, I needed little convincing by my Canadian wife-to-be that our Canadian photographer could capture us in this 'destination' engagement shoot and wedding.

    Her portfolio is impressive, and she made me feel at ease (despite me being uncomfortable in front of the camera). After scouting out a few locations together, which showed great flexibility and interest in our local neighbourhood, we opted for a sunrise surfing photo shoot followed by a boat ride to the Opera House in Sydney, Australia.

    Gillian, you have captured the essence of "us", and made me feel so comfortable during our engagement shoot, that our wedding was a breeze! The duo-team with yourself and Jean-Marc was the perfect, and the photos really speak for themselves. Thanks for doing such an amazing job!

    Sent on 20/12/2016
  • S

    Shirine Usmani · Married on 26 of September of 2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gillian was an absolute pleasure to work with! We first got to know her during our engagement shoot where she took very natural and scenic photos- just what we were looking for! Her friendly and kind nature made us feel comfortable and at ease immediately! On our wedding day, she captured all the important moments, and a lot of candid moments as well. We love our photographs, and we will cherish the memories for years to come. Gillian is a very talented and creative photographer as well as a wonderful person. We highly recommend her!

    Sent on 14/01/2016
  • A

    Andrea Cyr · Married on 06 of September of 2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Studio Lumen shot my wedding in Toronto just before relocating to Calgary.

    Gillian was an absolute gem to work with throughout the whole process. I actually knew her from working on a project together a few years prior, and when I got engaged she was the first thing I booked before even having a date or a venue set. We had originally talked about doing a 6 hour booking, but a couple weeks beforehand when I knew the day-of schedule a little better I decided I needed 8 hours in order to capture all the important things and she was totally fine with making the change.

    During the wedding, Gillian and her second photographer Jean-Marc blended in so seamlessly that there are photos that I don't even remember being taken. They were not intrusive at all during the ceremony, during speeches or at any point at all. After a bad experience with a different photographer at my sister's wedding a few years ago, my dad took it upon himself to be responsible for capturing every moment, and when even he came over to me at the reception and complimented Gillian and Jean-Marc I knew they were doing an amazing job.

    The finished photos are beautiful. She sent a preview set about a week after the wedding which I shared with our families and the wedding party, and everyone was blown away by how good they were (and they even brought every single one of them to tears again). Seriously, this girl shot HER OWN wedding a couple months ago and the photos are works of art (http://www.theweddingco.com/toronto-photographer-elopes/).

    I'm not the kind of person who relishes being the centre of attention and was somewhat nervous about being the focus of so many pictures, but Gillian made it very easy to relax and just be natural. She actually encouraged my husband and I to just talk to each other and let her and Jean-Mark worry about snapping photos at the right times.

    Sent on 14/11/2015
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.